DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/734,461 originally filed 06/05/2024. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 11/03/2025 which provides amendments to claims 1, 5, 9, 13, 17 and cancels claims 2, 10, and 18 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Previous Claim Objections
The claims were previously objected to for minor informalities. The office thanks the applicant for addressing these concerns as the claims have been amended to overcome this objection and consequently the previous objection is now hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to provide remarks regarding the reference of Ahn however there are no remaining arguments presented with regard to Fu. The claim language in the final rejection was indicated as being rejected in view of Ahn at paragraph [0093] and [0096] while also indicating that Fu at paragraphs [0023-0027] were relevant. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Fu teaches obtaining absolute coordinate information for each of the connected display devices in any direction according to a detected result of the plurality transceivers. The transceivers in the first display device detects information from the transceivers in the adjacent display devices. The transceivers T1-T4 are disposed in the four corners of each of the display devices D1-D and detect whether there exists any transceiver nearby. As an example, because transceiver T2 of the display device D1 detects no nearby transceiver, the display device D1 may be set as the first display device with a starting coordinate position in the positioning display system. Once the location of the starting coordinate position (or the first display device) in the display system is defined, the second display device adjacent to the first display device will be sequentially defined by transmitting the starting coordinate position of the first display device in either the X-axis or Y-axis directions. This process is repeated for each connected device in each direction. Therefore, Fu teaches to “identify, among the plurality of remaining communication interfaces, a second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal being received through the second communication interface” in any of the four directions. It is therefore respectfully submitted the claims are still broad enough to read on the prior art of record and the rejection will be currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0326092 A1 hereinafter Ahn in view of Wei-Feng Fu U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/02689818 A1 hereinafter Fu.
Consider Claim 1:
Ahn discloses a display device of a modular display device comprising a plurality of display devices, the display device comprising: (Ahn, See Abstract.)
a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided… and configured to communicate with a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device; and (Ahn, [0069], [0078] Referring to FIG. 3, the display apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may include a first interface 110, a second interface 120, a display 130, and a processor 140.”)
at least one processor configured to: identify, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface from among the plurality of communication interfaces, (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0071], “The signal received by the splitter device 20 from the content transmission device 10 may be referred to as a first signal. The splitter device 20 may duplicate the first signal to generate a second signal. The second signal may be a signal for execution of a redundancy function. For example, when the first signal received from the content transmission device 10 is an image signal including information on the image, the splitter device 20 may generate a second signal including information on the same image as the image included in the image signal. Then, the splitter device 20 may transmit the signal received from the content transmission device 10 (the first signal) to the first external device 30-1, and transmit a signal generated by replicating the first signal (the second signal) to the second external device 30-2. The first signal may be referred to as a main signal and the second signal may be referred to as a backup signal. For this operation, the splitter device 20 may include a first interface that can be connected to the first external device 30-1 and a second interface that can be connected to the second external device 30-2.”)
the first communication interface as having received the first signal along a main connection path, (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0072], “The first external device 30-1 may transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the first external device 30-1 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 by wire or wireless communication, and transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 through the wired or wireless communication method to the modular display apparatus 1000. The display apparatus (e.g., a first display apparatus) that received the first signal may transmit the first signal to another display apparatus adjacent the first display apparatus.”)
based on receiving the first signal through the first communication interface, control a plurality of remaining communication interfaces among the plurality of communication interfaces, other than the first communication interface, to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, respectively,
based on controlling the remaining communication interfaces to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, identify, among the plurality of remaining communication interfaces, a second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal being received through the second communication interface, and
identify, based on a second signal transmitted by a sub control box being received through the second communication interface from among the plurality of communication interfaces, the second communication interface as having received the second signal along a sub connection path, (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0073], “The second external device 30-2 may transmit the second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the second external device 30-2 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 in a wired or wireless communication, and transmit a second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000 through the wired or wireless communication method. The display apparatus (e.g., a second display apparatus) that received the second signal may transmit the second signal to another display apparatus adjacent the second display apparatus.”)
wherein the main connection path is for sequentially transmitting the first signal transmitted by the main control box to the plurality of display devices, respectively, and (Ahn, [0116-0122], [0117], “The display apparatus 100 may repeatedly execute the first operation and the second operation based on a predetermined period. When the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while executing the first operation, the display apparatus 100 may not execute the second operation afterwards, but continuously receive a signal through the first interface 110 and transmit the first signal 1 to the display apparatus B 100-B through the fourth interface 121. For example, the display apparatus 100 may cease the repeated alternate execution of the first operation and the second operation, and continuously receive signals through the first interface 110 if the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed.”)
wherein the sub connection path is for sequentially transmitting the second signal transmitted by the sub control box to the respective display devices in a reverse order than the main connection path. (Ahn, [0123-0132], [0127], “The sixth display apparatus 100-6 may receive the second signal 2 from the second external device 30-2 through the second interface 120 while executing the second operation. The second signal 2 is an image signal including information on the same image as the image included in the first signal 1, and may refer to a backup signal according to an embodiment. The sixth display apparatus (100-6) may transmit the second signal 2 to the fifth display apparatus 100-5 through the third interface 111.”)
Ahn teaches at least a plurality of communication interfaces being at least however does not appear to teach a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided at four directions based on a front surface of the display device and configured to communicate with a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device; and a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device; and based on receiving the first signal through the first communication interface, control a plurality of remaining communication interfaces among the plurality of communication interfaces, other the first communication interface, to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, respectively.
Fu however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided at four directions based on a front surface of the display device and configured to communicate with a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device; and a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device; and based on receiving the first signal through the first communication interface, control a plurality of remaining communication interfaces among the plurality of communication interfaces, other the first communication interface, to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, respectively. (Fu, [0020-0028], [0026], “In the previous embodiment, for example, the display device D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D7 through its transceivers T1, T2 in the (negative) X-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D7 has a coordinate position (1, 3). Or, the display D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D8 through its transceivers T2, T3 in the (negative) Y-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D8 has a coordinate position (2, 2). Please refer to FIG. 4B, which is a schematic diagram for illustrating the process or mechanism for defining the absolute coordinate information of a plurality of display devices in a positioning display system in accordance with another embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 4B, the display device D6 can diagonally transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D9 through its transceiver T2; and accordingly the display device D9 has a coordinate position (1, 2), which is obtained by subtracting both of the X-axis and Y-axis elements of the coordinate position (2, 3) of the display device D6 by 1. It is to be noted that at least one of the transceivers in one display device is signal connected to the three adjacent transceivers respectively disposed in the three adjacent display devices. For example, as shown in FIG. 4B, the transceiver T4 of the display device D1 is signal connected to the transceiver T1 of the display device D2, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 and the transceiver T3 of the display device D9. In addition, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal transceiver with respective to the transceiver T4 of the display device D1, and the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal display device with respective to the display device D1.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide several communication interfaces on differing sides of the display as this was a known technique taught by Fu and would have been used for the purpose the transceivers in each display device can transmit signals to all the adjacent transceivers, so that some of the display devices may be detected or defined more than one time. In addition, by transmitting signal in a diagonal manner, some advantages can be achieved. For example, the signal transmission time is reduced and the firmware can have better foolproof effect in operation. Additionally, for example, even when the display devices D2, D4 are out of order or experiencing malfunctioning, the display device D3 can have signal or information exchange with the display device D8 and consequentially is able to display a respective part of an image correctly. (Fu, [0026-0027])
Consider Claim 3:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the first signal received through the first communication interface among the plurality of signals, and control the display device based on the first signal received through the first communication interface and ignore remaining signals. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0101], [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: control, based on no signal being received through the first communication interface among the plurality of signals, the display device based on the second signal received through the second communication interface. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of display devices are provided in a matrix form, wherein the first communication interface is provided at a first direction among the four directions, and is configured to receive the first signal from a first display device adjacent to the display device and transmit the second signal to the first display device, wherein the second communication interface is provided at a second direction among the four directions, and is configured to receive the second signal from a second display device adjacent to the display device and transmit the first signal to the second display device, and the four directions comprise an upper side, a lower side, a left side, and a right side based on the front surface of the display device. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0090], [0089], “The display apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may include a plurality of interfaces. Specifically, referring to FIG. 4, the display apparatus 100 may include a first interface 110 and a second interface 120. A first signal 1 may be received through the first interface 110 from the first external device 30-1 or the first display apparatus being adjacent and connected to the display apparatus 100, and the received first signal may be transmitted to the processor 140 through the first interface 110. A second signal 2 may be received through the second interface 120 from the second external device 30-2 or the second display apparatus being adjacent and connected to the display apparatus 100. See also Fig. 4.)
Consider Claim 6:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the first signal is output by the main control box and sequentially transmitted to the display devices along the main connection path, and wherein the second signal is output by the sub control box and sequentially transmitted to the display devices along the sub connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0093], [0094], [0123], [0127], “The sixth display apparatus 100-6 may receive the second signal 2 from the second external device 30-2 through the second interface 120 while executing the second operation. The second signal 2 is an image signal including information on the same image as the image included in the first signal 1, and may refer to a backup signal according to an embodiment. The sixth display apparatus (100-6) may transmit the second signal 2 to the fifth display apparatus 100-5 through the third interface 111.” See also Figs. 4 and 6.)
Consider Claim 7:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first signal transmitted by the main control box comprises identification information for identifying the main connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0092], [0082], “The display 130 may display an image of an area corresponding to identification information of the display apparatus 100 among the images included in the image signal. For example, if the identification information of the display apparatus is ID 1, the display 130 may display an image of an area corresponding to ID 1 among the images included in the image signal. In this regard, the display apparatus 100 may store identification information of the display apparatus 100.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Ahn discloses a control method of a display device of a modular display device comprising (Ahn, See Abstract.)
a plurality of display devices including the display device and a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device, the method comprising: (Ahn, [0069], “Referring to FIG. 2, a signal transmission system according to an embodiment may include a content transmission device 10, a splitter device 20, a first external device 30-1, a second external device 30-2, and a modular display apparatus 1000.”)
identifying, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface among a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided … on a front surface of the display device, the first communication interface as having received the first signal along a main connection path; (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0072], “The first external device 30-1 may transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the first external device 30-1 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 by wire or wireless communication, and transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 through the wired or wireless communication method to the modular display apparatus 1000. The display apparatus (e.g., a first display apparatus) that received the first signal may transmit the first signal to another display apparatus adjacent the first display apparatus.”)
based on receiving the first signal through the first communication interface, controlling … [a] remaining communication interface (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0073], “The second external device 30-2 may transmit the second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the second external device 30-2 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 in a wired or wireless communication, and transmit a second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000 through the wired or wireless communication method. The display apparatus (e.g., a second display apparatus) that received the second signal may transmit the second signal to another display apparatus adjacent the second display apparatus.”)
wherein the main connection path is for sequentially transmitting the first signal transmitted by the main control box to the display devices, and (Ahn, [0116-0122], [0117], “The display apparatus 100 may repeatedly execute the first operation and the second operation based on a predetermined period. When the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while executing the first operation, the display apparatus 100 may not execute the second operation afterwards, but continuously receive a signal through the first interface 110 and transmit the first signal 1 to the display apparatus B 100-B through the fourth interface 121. For example, the display apparatus 100 may cease the repeated alternate execution of the first operation and the second operation, and continuously receive signals through the first interface 110 if the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed.”)
wherein the sub connection path is for sequentially transmitting the second signal transmitted by the sub control box to the display devices in a reverse order than the main connection path. (Ahn, [0123-0132], [0127], “The sixth display apparatus 100-6 may receive the second signal 2 from the second external device 30-2 through the second interface 120 while executing the second operation. The second signal 2 is an image signal including information on the same image as the image included in the first signal 1, and may refer to a backup signal according to an embodiment. The sixth display apparatus (100-6) may transmit the second signal 2 to the fifth display apparatus 100-5 through the third interface 111.”)
Ahn teaches at least a plurality of communication interfaces being at least however does not appear to further teach identifying, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface among a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided at four directions based on a front surface in of the display device, and based on controlling the remaining communication interfaces to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, identify, among the plurality of remaining communication interfaces, a second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal being received through the second communication interface.
Fu however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide identifying, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface among a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided at four directions based on a front surface in of the display device, and based on controlling the remaining communication interfaces to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, identify, among the plurality of remaining communication interfaces, a second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal being received through the second communication interface. (Fu, [0020-0028], [0026], “In the previous embodiment, for example, the display device D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D7 through its transceivers T1, T2 in the (negative) X-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D7 has a coordinate position (1, 3). Or, the display D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D8 through its transceivers T2, T3 in the (negative) Y-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D8 has a coordinate position (2, 2). Please refer to FIG. 4B, which is a schematic diagram for illustrating the process or mechanism for defining the absolute coordinate information of a plurality of display devices in a positioning display system in accordance with another embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 4B, the display device D6 can diagonally transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D9 through its transceiver T2; and accordingly the display device D9 has a coordinate position (1, 2), which is obtained by subtracting both of the X-axis and Y-axis elements of the coordinate position (2, 3) of the display device D6 by 1. It is to be noted that at least one of the transceivers in one display device is signal connected to the three adjacent transceivers respectively disposed in the three adjacent display devices. For example, as shown in FIG. 4B, the transceiver T4 of the display device D1 is signal connected to the transceiver T1 of the display device D2, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 and the transceiver T3 of the display device D9. In addition, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal transceiver with respective to the transceiver T4 of the display device D1, and the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal display device with respective to the display device D1.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide several communication interfaces on differing sides of the display as this was a known technique taught by Fu and would have been used for the purpose the transceivers in each display device can transmit signals to all the adjacent transceivers, so that some of the display devices may be detected or defined more than one time. In addition, by transmitting signal in a diagonal manner, some advantages can be achieved. For example, the signal transmission time is reduced and the firmware can have better foolproof effect in operation. Additionally, for example, even when the display devices D2, D4 are out of order or experiencing malfunctioning, the display device D3 can have signal or information exchange with the display device D8 and consequentially is able to display a respective part of an image correctly. (Fu, [0026-0027])
Consider Claim 10:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: identifying, based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal through the second communication interface after the remaining communication interfaces output the first signal, the second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0074], [0079], “The first interface 110 may receive a first signal from the first external device 30-1 or receive the first signal from the other display apparatus (e.g., the first display apparatus) being connected and adjacent to the display apparatus 100. Specifically, when the first interface 110 is in communications connection with the first external device 30-1, the first interface 110 may receive the first signal from the first external device 30-1, and when the first interface 110 is in communications connection with the first display apparatus, the first interface 110 may receive the first signal from the first display apparatus. The first signal may refer to an image signal including information on the image, and also may be a control signal for controlling the display apparatus 100.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: identifying, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the first signal received through the first communication interface; and controlling the display device based on the first signal received through the first communication interface and ignoring remaining signals. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0101], [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: controlling, based on no signal being received through the first communication interface among the plurality of signals, the display device based on the second signal received through the second communication interface. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the plurality of display devices are provided in a matrix form, wherein the first communication interface is provided at a first direction among the four directions, wherein the second communication interface is provided at a second direction among the four directions, wherein the four directions comprise an upper side, a lower side, a left side, and a right side based on the front surface of the display device, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving the first signal from a first display device adjacent to the display device through the first communication interface or transmitting the second signal to the first display device; and receiving the second signal from a second display device adjacent to the display device through the second communication interface or transmitting the first signal to the second display device. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0090], [0089], “The display apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may include a plurality of interfaces. Specifically, referring to FIG. 4, the display apparatus 100 may include a first interface 110 and a second interface 120. A first signal 1 may be received through the first interface 110 from the first external device 30-1 or the first display apparatus being adjacent and connected to the display apparatus 100, and the received first signal may be transmitted to the processor 140 through the first interface 110. A second signal 2 may be received through the second interface 120 from the second external device 30-2 or the second display apparatus being adjacent and connected to the display apparatus 100. See also Fig. 4.)
Consider Claim 14:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first signal is output by the main control box and sequentially transmitted to the display devices along the main connection path, and wherein the second signal is output by the sub control box and sequentially transmitted to the display devices along the sub connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0093], [0094], [0123], [0127], “The sixth display apparatus 100-6 may receive the second signal 2 from the second external device 30-2 through the second interface 120 while executing the second operation. The second signal 2 is an image signal including information on the same image as the image included in the first signal 1, and may refer to a backup signal according to an embodiment. The sixth display apparatus (100-6) may transmit the second signal 2 to the fifth display apparatus 100-5 through the third interface 111.” See also Figs. 4 and 6.)
Consider Claim 15:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first signal transmitted by the main control box comprises identification information for identifying the main connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0092], [0082], “The display 130 may display an image of an area corresponding to identification information of the display apparatus 100 among the images included in the image signal. For example, if the identification information of the display apparatus is ID 1, the display 130 may display an image of an area corresponding to ID 1 among the images included in the image signal. In this regard, the display apparatus 100 may store identification information of the display apparatus 100.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Ahn discloses non-transitory computer-readable recording medium including a program which, when executed, by a display device of a modular display device comprising the display device and a plurality of other display devices arranged at different sides of the display device, to perform a control method, the control method comprising: (Ahn, [0149], “The non-transitory computer readable recording medium refers to a medium that stores data and that can be read by devices. In detail, the above-described various applications or programs may be stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium, for example, a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a hard disc, a Blu-ray disc, a universal serial bus (USB), a memory card, a read only memory (ROM), and the like, and may be provided.”)
identifying, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface … based on a front surface of the display device, the first communication interface as having received the first signal along a main connection path; (Ahn, [0079-0086], [0072], “The first external device 30-1 may transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the first external device 30-1 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 by wire or wireless communication, and transmit the first signal received from the splitter device 20 through the wired or wireless communication method to the modular display apparatus 1000. The display apparatus (e.g., a first display apparatus) that received the first signal may transmit the first signal to another display apparatus adjacent the first display apparatus.”)
based on receiving the first signal through the first communication interface, controlling … [a] remaining communication interface(Ahn, [0079-0086], [0073], “The second external device 30-2 may transmit the second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000. Specifically, the second external device 30-2 may be connected to a display apparatus of the modular display apparatus 1000 in a wired or wireless communication, and transmit a second signal received from the splitter device 20 to the modular display apparatus 1000 through the wired or wireless communication method. The display apparatus (e.g., a second display apparatus) that received the second signal may transmit the second signal to another display apparatus adjacent the second display apparatus.”)
wherein the main connection path is for sequentially transmitting the first signal transmitted by the main control box to the display devices, and (Ahn, [0116-0122], [0117], “The display apparatus 100 may repeatedly execute the first operation and the second operation based on a predetermined period. When the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while executing the first operation, the display apparatus 100 may not execute the second operation afterwards, but continuously receive a signal through the first interface 110 and transmit the first signal 1 to the display apparatus B 100-B through the fourth interface 121. For example, the display apparatus 100 may cease the repeated alternate execution of the first operation and the second operation, and continuously receive signals through the first interface 110 if the first signal 1 is identified in the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed.”)
wherein the sub connection path is for sequentially transmitting the second signal transmitted by the sub control box to the display devices in a reverse order than the main connection path. (Ahn, [0123-0132], [0127], “The sixth display apparatus 100-6 may receive the second signal 2 from the second external device 30-2 through the second interface 120 while executing the second operation. The second signal 2 is an image signal including information on the same image as the image included in the first signal 1, and may refer to a backup signal according to an embodiment. The sixth display apparatus (100-6) may transmit the second signal 2 to the fifth display apparatus 100-5 through the third interface 111.”)
Ahn however does not appear to teach identifying, based on a first signal transmitted by a main control box being received through a first communication interface among a plurality of communication interfaces respectively provided at four directions based on a front surface of the display device, the first communication interface as having received the first signal along a main connection path; based on controlling the remaining communication interfaces to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, identify, among the plurality of remaining communication interfaces, a second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal being received through the second communication interface.
Fu however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of communication interfaces configured for controlling a plurality of remaining communication interfaces among the plurality of communication interfaces, other the first communication interface, to output the first signal to the plurality of other display devices, respectively. (Fu, [0020-0028], [0026], “In the previous embodiment, for example, the display device D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D7 through its transceivers T1, T2 in the (negative) X-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D7 has a coordinate position (1, 3). Or, the display D6 may transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D8 through its transceivers T2, T3 in the (negative) Y-axis direction; and accordingly the display device D8 has a coordinate position (2, 2). Please refer to FIG. 4B, which is a schematic diagram for illustrating the process or mechanism for defining the absolute coordinate information of a plurality of display devices in a positioning display system in accordance with another embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 4B, the display device D6 can diagonally transmit its coordinate position (2, 3) to the display device D9 through its transceiver T2; and accordingly the display device D9 has a coordinate position (1, 2), which is obtained by subtracting both of the X-axis and Y-axis elements of the coordinate position (2, 3) of the display device D6 by 1. It is to be noted that at least one of the transceivers in one display device is signal connected to the three adjacent transceivers respectively disposed in the three adjacent display devices. For example, as shown in FIG. 4B, the transceiver T4 of the display device D1 is signal connected to the transceiver T1 of the display device D2, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 and the transceiver T3 of the display device D9. In addition, the transceiver T2 of the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal transceiver with respective to the transceiver T4 of the display device D1, and the display device D8 is referred to as a diagonal display device with respective to the display device D1.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide several communication interfaces on differing sides of the display as this was a known technique taught by Fu and would have been used for the purpose the transceivers in each display device can transmit signals to all the adjacent transceivers, so that some of the display devices may be detected or defined more than one time. In addition, by transmitting signal in a diagonal manner, some advantages can be achieved. For example, the signal transmission time is reduced and the firmware can have better foolproof effect in operation. Additionally, for example, even when the display devices D2, D4 are out of order or experiencing malfunctioning, the display device D3 can have signal or information exchange with the display device D8 and consequentially is able to display a respective part of an image correctly. (Fu, [0026-0027])
Consider Claim 18:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising: identifying, based on a feedback signal indicating a receipt of the first signal through the second communication interface after the remaining communication interfaces output the first signal, the second communication interface as having transmitted the first signal along the main connection path. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0096], [0093], “In addition, the first signal may refer to a signal transmitted to a plurality of display apparatuses constituting the modular display apparatus 1000 through a first path (e.g., a forward path). The first path may refer to a path where a signal sequentially passes from the first display apparatus which receives the signal from the first external device 30-1, the plurality of display apparatuses constituting the modular display apparatus 1000 to the nth display apparatus which receives the signal from the second external device 30-2. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2, when the first to ninth display apparatuses are sequentially connected, the first signal may be sequentially transmitted from the first display apparatus to the ninth display apparatus along the first path.”)
Consider Claim 19:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising: identifying, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the first signal received through the first communication interface; and controlling the display device based on the first signal received through the first communication interface and ignoring remaining signals. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0101], [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising: controlling, based on no signal being received through the first communication interface among the plurality of signals, the display device based on the second signal received through the second communication interface. (Fu, [0020-0028], Ahn, [0100], “For example, when a clock signal is identified in the first signal 1 transmitted to the first interface 110 while the first operation is being executed, the processor 140 may not execute the second operation afterwards, and keep receiving a signal through the first interface 110. For this operation, the first operation may include a code for identifying the clock signal.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0326092 A1 in view of Wei-Feng Fu U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/02689818 A1 as applied to claim 1 and 9, respectively, above, and further in view of Date U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0164326 A1 hereinafter Date.
Consider Claim 8:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the display device of claim 1, however does not appear to further detail further comprising: a memory storing priority order information for the respective communication interfaces, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: control, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the display device based on a signal received through a predetermined communication interface among the plurality of signals according to the priority order information, and update, based on the first signal transmitted by the main control box being received through the first communication interface, a priority order corresponding to the first communication interface in the priority order information.
Date however teaches that it was a technique known in the art to provide a memory storing priority order information for the respective communication interfaces, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (Date, [0062], “FIG. 9 shows a hardware configuration of the multi-display adaptor according to this embodiment. A communication interface 31 for conducting communication with the network, a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 32 for performing the arithmetic operation, a memory 33 for storing the internal data, etc.”)
control, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the display device based on a signal received through a predetermined communication interface among the plurality of signals according to the priority order information, and update, based on the first signal transmitted by the main control box being received through the first communication interface, a priority order corresponding to the first communication interface in the priority order information. (Date, [0068-0069], [0072], “FIG. 12 shows a configuration of the mapping table 3b included in the multi-display adaptor according to this embodiment. Based on the connection notified from each display, the number of hops from the multi-display adaptor 20 to each display is determined. This information is held in the mapping table 3b, and based on the number of hops, the packets addressed to a display having a larger number of hops, i.e. a display distant in terms of network are output in priority. Specifically, the data are packetized in the memory 30 and sent to the communication interface 34 in the descending order of priority. Thus, the packets high in priority are output first.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide priority order corresponding to the communication interfaces as this was a known technique in view of Date and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of the relative positions of displays connected by a network can be grasped automatically, and an image can be displayed on the desired display. (Date, [0015])
Consider Claim 16:
Ahn in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 9, however does not specify wherein the display device comprises priority order information for the respective communication interfaces, and wherein the method further comprises: based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the display device based on a signal received through a predetermined communication interface among the plurality of signals according to the priority order information; and updating, based on the first signal transmitted by the main control box being received through the first communication interface, a priority order corresponding to the first communication interface in the priority order information.
Date however teaches that it was a technique known in the art to provide wherein the display device comprises priority order information for the respective communication interfaces, and wherein the method further comprises: (Date, [0062], “FIG. 9 shows a hardware configuration of the multi-display adaptor according to this embodiment. A communication interface 31 for conducting communication with the network, a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 32 for performing the arithmetic operation, a memory 33 for storing the internal data, etc.”)
controlling, based on a plurality of signals being received through the plurality of communication interfaces, the display device based on a signal received through a predetermined communication interface among the plurality of signals according to the priority order information; and updating, based on the first signal transmitted by the main control box being received through the first communication interface, a priority order corresponding to the first communication interface in the priority order information. (Date, [0068-0069], [0072], “FIG. 12 shows a configuration of the mapping table 3b included in the multi-display adaptor according to this embodiment. Based on the connection notified from each display, the number of hops from the multi-display adaptor 20 to each display is determined. This information is held in the mapping table 3b, and based on the number of hops, the packets addressed to a display having a larger number of hops, i.e. a display distant in terms of network are output in priority. Specifically, the data are packetized in the memory 30 and sent to the communication interface 34 in the descending order of priority. Thus, the packets high in priority are output first.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide priority order corresponding to the communication interfaces as this was a known technique in view of Date and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of the relative positions of displays connected by a network can be grasped automatically, and an image can be displayed on the desired display. (Date, [0015])
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626