DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 30 September 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dias et al (20170275789).
In regards to Claim 10, Dias teaches a braided fabric, comprising:
strands that are braided together to form a sheath (Detail 12; Paragraph 18 teaches braiding);
a conductive strand comprising a metal wire (Detail 8; Paragraph 17 teaches copper filament); and
an electrical component (Detail 2; semiconductor chip) mounted to the conductive strand and surrounded by the sheath (Figure 1).
In regards to Claim 11, Dias teaches the sheath surrounds a longitudinal axis of the braided fabric and wherein the conductive strand comprises an inlaid conductive strand that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figure 1).
In regards to Claim 12, Dias teaches the strands are braided around the inlaid conductive strand (Figure 1, Paragraph 18 teaches braiding).
In regards to Claim 13, Dias teaches the electrical component is soldered to the conductive strand (Paragraph 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al in view of Sloan et al (WO 2021263086).
In regards to Claim 14, while Dias essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach the strands are braided together in a triaxial braid. Sloan, however, teaches that when braiding structures, it is well known to braid them as either biaxial (Figure 1) or triaxial (Figure 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have braided the structure of Dias as a triaxial braid, so as to increase longitudinal strength by adding a third set of strands aligned with the longitudinal axis (Figure 10).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Head et al (20160076178) in view of Sloan et al.
In regards to Claim 15, Head teaches braiding equipment, comprising:
carriers (Detail 114) configured to dispense strands (Detail 112), wherein the carriers move the strands over and under one another to create a braid (Detail 110) with the strands; and
an insertion tool (Detail 140) configured to insert an electrical component (Figure 6, Detail 192) into the braid and to apply a force on the electrical component while the strands are braided around the electrical component (applies a force counter to gravity by holding).
While Head essentially teaches the invention as detailed, it fails to specifically state that the carriers have bobbins to dispense the strands. Sloan, however, teaches that when braiding, it is well known that carriers have bobbins (Figure 4B, Detail 150). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the carriers of Head would contain bobbins, as taught by Sloan, so as to feed the strands in an orderly manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-27, 29, and 30 are allowed.
Claims 16-20 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732