DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 06/12/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following:
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on pages 7-9 that neither Dittli nor Yu teaches or suggests a metal plug socket. It is because the rejection does not identify what structure in Yu allegedly corresponds to the claimed "metal plug socket" as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. It is because the applicant did not define why the metal plug socket is being used in the claim. Instead, the applicant claims, "metal plug socket". Yu teaches this limitation (see second paragraph under "Background technology"). Furthermore, Dittli also teaches that the hearing device plug connector is used for connecting a cable of an ITE-component with a BTE-component and the cable has electrical lines for transmitting electrical signals (see paragraph 0042). It clearly means that the hearing device plug has connector that must have metallic connection through which the electrical lines of the cable are connected for transmitting electrical signals. However, for making it more clear examiner applied the teaching of Yu in the Dittli’s invention so that both prior art references can combinedly teach the claimed “metal plug socket”.
Thus, the rejection of the claim will remain. The rejection of the claims 10 and 16 will remain for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittli et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0098589) in view of Yu et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN106558788A).
Regarding claim 1, with respect to Figures 1-4, Dittli teaches an ear-worn hearing device connector comprising:
an electrical connector receptacle connectable to one of a speaker unit or a base unit, the electrical connector receptacle comprising multiple electrical connections/connectors [i.e., contacts] at least partially located in a plug socket comprising a connector plug cavity, the electrical connector receptacle comprising a retention feature integrally formed on a wall portion of the plug socket (fig.2-3; paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0080, 0090, 0091) (Note; In paragraph 90-91, Dittli teaches that in FIG. 2d, the plug component 40 is fully inserted into the socket component 50 and the surfaces 61.2 and 45.1 have essentially complementary curved sections wherein the curved section of surface 45.1 has a concave curvature and the curved section of surface 61.2 has a convex curvature. When the plug component is fully inserted into the socket, the retention feature must be formed such that the catch 60 is held in the latching position by the resilient material of the sealing element 55.);
an electrical connector plug connectable to the other of the speaker unit or the base unit, that is not connected to the electrical connector receptacle, the electrical connector plug comprising a plug body retaining multiple electrical contacts, the plug body comprising a complementary retention feature (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0080, 0090, 0091); and
wherein electrical contacts of the electrical connector plug are electrically connected to corresponding electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle and the retention feature is engaged with the complementary retention feature when the plug body is inserted into the connector plug cavity (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0080, 0090, 0091).
However, Dittli does not specifically teach a metal plug socket. Yu teaches a metal plug socket (abstract; second paragraph under “Background technology”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dittli to incorporate a metal plug socket in Dittli’s invention as taught by Yu. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide proper insulating base and conductive elastic sheet.
Regarding claim 2, Dittli teaches wherein the retention feature is a detent protruding into the connector plug cavity and the complementary retention feature is a recess in the plug body (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091).
Regarding claim 4, Dittli teaches that the electrical connector receptacle further comprising a sealing element 55 in fig.2a-2d [i.e., non-conductive bushing] flexibly retaining the multiple electrical contacts in the connector plug cavity (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Dittli teaches that a housing containing a microphone connected to an electronic circuit, wherein the electrical connector receptacle is integrated with the housing of the base unit and electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle are electrically connected to the printed circuit board/signal processing circuitry [i.e., electronic circuit] (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0002, 0062, 0064).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Dittli teaches that a housing containing a microphone connected to an electronic circuit, wherein the electrical connector receptacle is integrated with the housing of the base unit and electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle are electrically connected to the printed circuit board/signal processing circuitry [i.e., electronic circuit] (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0004-0005, 0025, 0026, 0038, 0062, 0063-0067).
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 3. Furthermore, Dittli teaches a gasket disposed about the plug body (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0035, 0036).
Regarding claim 11, Dittli teaches the non-conductive bushing comprising a recess forming a portion of the connector plug cavity, the multiple electrical contacts located on a portion of the non-conductive bushing defining the connector plug cavity (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091),
the electrical connector plug comprising a contact carrier protruding from the plug body and retaining the multiple electrical contacts of the electrical connector plug (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091),
wherein electrical contacts of the electrical connector plug are electrically connected to corresponding electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle when the contact carrier protruding from the plug body is inserted into the recess of the non-conductive bushing (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0078, 0080, 0081, 0087, 0090, 0091, 0096).
Regarding claim 13, Dittli teaches the electrical connector receptacle further comprising a detent protruding from a wall portion of the metal plug socket and into the connector plug cavity, and the electrical connector plug further comprising a recess into which the detent extends when the plug body is inserted into the connector plug cavity, wherein the detent and recess cooperate to securely fasten the electrical connector plug to the electrical connector receptacle (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 3. Furthermore, Dittli, teaches a body-worn unit comprising a housing containing electrical or mechanical hearing device parts (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0004, 0007, 0058, 0062) and an electrical connector receptacle connected to the body-worn unit and comprising:
a metal plug socket comprising a plug cavity proximate an opening of the plug socket, and a detent protruding from a wall portion of the plug socket into the plug cavity (fig.2-3; paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0080, 0090, 0091, 0097);
multiple electrical contacts, a first contact portion of each electrical contact extending into the plug cavity, and a second contact portion of each electrical contact accessible from an exterior of the plug socket (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0025, 0026, 0040-0042, 0080, 0090, 0091).
Claims 3, 5-7, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittli et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0098589) in view of Yu et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN106558788A) further in view of AKITANI et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,566,286).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 17, Dittli in view of Yu does not specifically teach that the metal plug socket and the detent constitute a unitary deep-drawn article. AKITANI teaches that the metal plug socket and the detent constitute a unitary deep-drawn article (paragraph under “USE”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dittli in view of Yu to incorporate the feature of the metal plug socket and the detent constituting a unitary deep-drawn article in Dittli’s invention in view of Yu’s invention in order to provide excellent stability and drawability, without impairing basic property of the plate material, and improved tensile strength, yield strength, and elongation rate.
Claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 3. Furthermore, Dittli teaches wherein the complementary retention feature is a recess in the plug body and the retention feature is a detent protruding into the connector plug cavity (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091).
Regarding claim 6, Dittli teaches a gasket disposed about the plug body and located between the connector plug cavity and the plug body when the electrical connector plug is connected to in the electrical connector receptacle (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0035, 0036, 0090, 0091).
Regarding claim 7, Dittli teaches the non-conductive bushing comprising a recess forming a portion of the connector plug cavity, the multiple electrical contacts located on a portion of the non-conductive bushing defining the connector plug cavity (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091),
the electrical connector plug comprising a contact carrier protruding from the plug body and retaining the multiple electrical contacts of the electrical connector plug (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091),
wherein electrical contacts of the electrical connector plug are electrically connected to corresponding electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle when the contact carrier protruding from the plug body is inserted into the recess of the non-conductive bushing (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0080, 0090, 0091).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Dittli teaches that the body-worn unit is a behind-the-ear (BTE) unit, the hearing device parts comprising a microphone connected to an electronic circuit, wherein the electrical connector receptacle is integrated with the housing and electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle are electrically connected to the electronic circuit (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0002, 0025, 0042, 0062, 0064).
Regarding claim 20, Dittli teaches that the body-worn unit is a receiver-in-canal (RIC) unit further comprising an electrical cable assembly extending from the housing, the hearing device parts comprising a sound-producing transducer, the electrical connector receptacle connected to the electrical cable assembly, wherein the sound-producing transducer and electrical contacts of the electrical connector receptacle are electrically connected to conductors of the electrical cable assembly (fig.2a-fig.2d; paragraphs 0025, 0026, 0040-0042, 0062, 0064).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD S ELAHEE/
MD SHAFIUL ALAM ELAHEE
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2694
August 25, 2026