DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated August 4, 2026, in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13, 15-16, 20-21, and 25-27 have been amended. Claims 4 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, 13, 15-16, 20-21, 25-27 and 29-32 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13, 15-16, 20-21, 27 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250071665, hereinafter, “Futaki”) in view of Centonza (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2022234540A1, hereinafter, “Centonza”).
Regarding claim 1, Futaki teaches:
A method for wireless communication comprising (Futaki: [0111] FIG. 7 shows an example of signaling between the CU 21 and the DU 22 ... CPC. Fig. 7):
sending, from a centralized unit (CU) to a distributed unit (DU), a request message that includes one or more candidate cells, to request the DU to configure at least one candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells for a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling based mobility (L1/L2 mobility) (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7).
Although Futaki teaches the CU sending to the DU a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for a UE, wherein the control message requests the DU to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE, Futaki does not explicitly teach:
receiving, at the CU from the DU, a response message that includes at least one candidate cell and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell, one or more triggering events, wherein the one or more triggering events are used for the L1/L2 mobility triggered by a user equipment (UE).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Centonza teaches:
receiving, at the CU from the DU, a response message that includes at least one candidate cell and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell, one or more triggering events, wherein the one or more triggering events are used for the L1/L2 mobility triggered by a user equipment (UE) (Centonza: [Page 53, lines 22-35] FIGURE 16 illustrates a method 1400 … a first network node serving a UE and operating as a DU … At step 1420, the first network node transmits to a second network node, operating as a CU, an identifier of the target cell, wherein the identifier of the target cell is to be reported from the second network node to a third network node … a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the target cell and/or a Cell Global Identifier and/or a unique cell identifier enabling the second network node to identify the UE’s serving cell … an identifier of the target cell [i.e., configurations] is performed in response to the triggering of the L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility to a target cell. In some examples, the transmission to the CU of the identifier of the target cell is performed in response to the confirmation that the UE has triggered of the L1/L2 centric inter cell mobility to a target cell, e.g. an acknowledgement the UE transmits in response to the reception of the lower layer signaling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Futaki to include the features as taught by Centonza above in order to ensure that the CU and DU are aware of which node is handling which PCIs related inter-cell mobility operation. (Centonza, ¶ [Page 10, lines 28-30]).
Regarding claim 2, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
wherein the request message comprises at least one of an indication that a procedure is initiated for the L1/L2 mobility, or an indication that the procedure is initiated for a type of the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 [i.e., a type of L1/L2 mobility] … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
wherein the type of the L1/L2 mobility comprises at least one of a mobility triggered by a network (NW), a mobility triggered by the CU (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
sending, from the CU to the UE via the DU, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message for the L1/L2 mobility, wherein the RRC configuration message includes at least one of the at least one candidate cell and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell, or the one or more triggering events for each of the at least one candidate cell (Futaki: [0145] The RAN node (i.e., MN 1 or SN 2) may transmit to the UE 3 in advance configurations for the candidate cells under its control and information for executing L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility [per ¶ [0111, 0124]: MN 1 or SN 2 … may have the CU-DU configuration shown in FIG. 2 … may include a CU 21 and one or more DUs 22. In this case, … supports intra-DU conditional mobility of the UE 3 within a single DU … also supports intra-DU conditional mobility of the UE 3 between DUs … I.e., the DU communicates directly with the UE]. These may be collectively referred to as L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility configuration information (e.g., L1/L2 mobility configuration). Each configuration for a candidate target cell may include, for example, a cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig) (generated by a DU) and a radio bearer configuration (RadioBearerConfig) (generated by the CU). The information for executing L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility may include execution/triggering conditions (generated by a DU or by the CU) … [0148] FIG. 15 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 1501, the UE 3 receives from the serving RAN node (i.e., MN 1 or SN 2) configurations of a plurality of candidate CG sets whose candidate SpCells are different from each other. In step 1502, the UE 3 selects one candidate SpCell by Layer 1/Layer 2 based inter-cell mobility and applies the configuration of the candidate CG set corresponding to the selected candidate SpCell. In other words, the UE 3 switches from the current CG set to the candidate CG set corresponding to the selected candidate SpCell.); and
receiving, by the CU from the UE, through the DU, a confirmation of the RRC configuration message (Futaki: [0150] The UE 3 (e.g., PHY, MAC, RRC) may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility to the serving RAN node. Alternatively, the serving RAN node may detect the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 from a random access of the UE 3 to the selected candidate cell. The DU of the serving RAN node may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 to the CU. The DU may report this to the CU using an ACCESS SUCCESS message ... Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
sending, from the CU to the DU, one of the at least one candidate cell to request the DU to trigger the L1/L2 mobility, wherein the DU sends L1/L2 signaling to the UE to indicate the at least one candidate cell to be switched to via the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7); or
receiving, at the CU from the DU, the at least one candidate cell to indicate that the at least one candidate cell has been successfully switched to via the L1/L2 mobility, wherein the DU receives L1/L2 signaling from the UE to indicate that the at least one candidate cell has been successfully switched to via the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0150] ... Alternatively, the serving RAN node may detect the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 from a random access of the UE 3 to the selected candidate cell. The DU of the serving RAN node may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 to the CU. The DU may report this to the CU using an ACCESS SUCCESS message. The Serving RAN Node switches from the current CG set to the candidate CG set corresponding to the candidate SpCell selected by the UE 3 based on the report from the UE 3 or the detection by the Serving RAN Node.).
Regarding claim 13, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
wherein the CU and the DU are part of a basestation for communicating with the UE, and the L1/L2 signaling is communicated with the UE; and the CU provides for upper layer support including PDCP and RRC layer, the DU provides for lower layer support including RLC, MAC and Physical layer, and one or more DUs are configured to link with one shared CU (Futaki: [0079] The CU 21 can be a logical node hosting the Radio Resource Control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the gNB (or the RRC and PDCP protocols of the gNB). The DU 22 can be a logical node hosting the Radio Link Control (RLC), Medium Access Control (MAC), and Physical (PHY) layers of the gNB. If the CU 21 is a gNB-CU and the DUs 22 are gNB-DUs, the interfaces 201 can be F1 interfaces. The CU 21 can include a CU-CP and a CU-UP. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Futaki teaches:
A method for wireless communication comprising (Futaki: [0111] FIG. 7 shows an example of signaling between the CU 21 and the DU 22 ... CPC. Fig. 7):
receiving, at a distributed unit (DU) from a centralized unit (CU), a request message that includes one or more candidate cells to request the DU to configure at least one candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells for a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling based mobility (L1/L2 mobility) (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7).
Although Futaki teaches the CU sending to the DU a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for a UE, wherein the control message requests the DU to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE, Futaki does not explicitly teach:
sending, from the DU to the CU, a response message that includes the at least one candidate cell and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Centonza teaches:
sending, from the DU to the CU, a response message that includes the at least one candidate cell and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell (Futaki: [0113] In step 702, the DU 22 sends a response message to the CU 21 … the response message may indicate whether or not the DU 22 has prepared selective cell/CG activation for one or more candidate target cells prepared by the DU 22 [i.e., configured] ... Fig. 7), and one or more triggering events, wherein the one or more triggering events are used for the L1/L2 mobility triggered by a user equipment (UE) (Centonza: [Page 53, lines 22-35] FIGURE 16 illustrates a method 1400 … a first network node serving a UE and operating as a DU … At step 1420, the first network node transmits to a second network node, operating as a CU, an identifier of the target cell, wherein the identifier of the target cell is to be reported from the second network node to a third network node … a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the target cell and/or a Cell Global Identifier and/or a unique cell identifier enabling the second network node to identify the UE’s serving cell … an identifier of the target cell [i.e., configurations] is performed in response to the triggering of the L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility to a target cell. In some examples, the transmission to the CU of the identifier of the target cell is performed in response to the confirmation that the UE has triggered of the L1/L2 centric inter cell mobility to a target cell, e.g. an acknowledgement the UE transmits in response to the reception of the lower layer signaling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Futaki to include the features as taught by Centonza above in order to ensure that the CU and DU are aware of which node is handling which PCIs related inter-cell mobility operation. (Centonza, ¶ [Page 10, lines 28-30]).
Regarding claim 16, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
wherein the request message comprises at least one of an indication that a procedure is initiated for the L1/L2 mobility, or an indication that the procedure is initiated for a type of the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 [i.e., a type of L1/L2 mobility] … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7), the type of the L1/L2 mobility comprising at least one of a mobility triggered by a network (NW), a mobility triggered by the CU (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message for the L1/L2 mobility, wherein the RRC configuration message includes the at least one of candidate cell, and configurations for each of the at least one candidate cell, or the one or more triggering events for each of the at least one candidate cell; sending, from the DU to the UE, the RRC configuration message for L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0145] The RAN node (i.e., MN 1 or SN 2) may transmit to the UE 3 in advance configurations for the candidate cells under its control and information for executing L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility [per ¶ [0111, 0124]: MN 1 or SN 2 … may have the CU-DU configuration shown in FIG. 2 … may include a CU 21 and one or more DUs 22. In this case, … supports intra-DU conditional mobility of the UE 3 within a single DU … also supports intra-DU conditional mobility of the UE 3 between DUs … I.e., the DU communicates directly with the UE]. These may be collectively referred to as L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility configuration information (e.g., L1/L2 mobility configuration). Each configuration for a candidate target cell may include, for example, a cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig) (generated by a DU) and a radio bearer configuration (RadioBearerConfig) (generated by the CU). The information for executing L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility may include execution/triggering conditions (generated by a DU or by the CU) … [0148] FIG. 15 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 1501, the UE 3 receives from the serving RAN node (i.e., MN 1 or SN 2) configurations of a plurality of candidate CG sets whose candidate SpCells are different from each other. In step 1502, the UE 3 selects one candidate SpCell by Layer 1/Layer 2 based inter-cell mobility and applies the configuration of the candidate CG set corresponding to the selected candidate SpCell. In other words, the UE 3 switches from the current CG set to the candidate CG set corresponding to the selected candidate SpCell.);
receiving, at the DU from the UE, a confirmation of receiving the RRC configuration message; and sending, from the DU to the CU, the confirmation (Futaki: [0150] The UE 3 (e.g., PHY, MAC, RRC) may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility to the serving RAN node. Alternatively, the serving RAN node may detect the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 from a random access of the UE 3 to the selected candidate cell. The DU of the serving RAN node may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 to the CU. The DU may report this to the CU using an ACCESS SUCCESS message ... Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 21, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, one of at least one candidate cell to request the DU to trigger the L1/L2 mobility; sending, from the DU to the UE, a L1/L2 signaling to indicate the one of the at least one candidate cell to be switched to via the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0111] ... In step 701, the CU 21 sends to the DU 22 a CU-DU control message (e.g., F1AP message) indicating a request for a first conditional mobility for the UE 3. The control message requests the DU 22 to prepare one or more candidate target cells for the first conditional mobility for the UE 3 … [0112] In addition, the control message of step 701 includes an indication of selective cell/CG activation. The indication of selective cell/CG activation indicates to the DU 22 that selective cell/CG activation is applied, required, recommended or available … [0142] This example embodiment provides for selective activation of cell groups within a single RAN node (e.g., MN 1 or SN 2) by L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility ... Fig. 7);
receiving, at the DU from the UE, the L1/L2 signaling to indicate that the one of the at least one candidate cell has been successfully switched to via the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0148] … the UE 3 switches from the current CG set to the candidate CG set corresponding to the selected candidate SpCell. [0150] The UE 3 (e.g., PHY, MAC, RRC) may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility to the serving RAN node. Alternatively, the serving RAN node may detect the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 from a random access of the UE 3 to the selected candidate cell. The DU of the serving RAN node may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 to the CU ... Fig. 15); and
sending, from the DU to the CU, the one of the at least one candidate cell to indicate that the one of the at least one candidate cell has been successfully switched to via the L1/L2 mobility (Futaki: [0150] ... Alternatively, the serving RAN node may detect the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 from a random access of the UE 3 to the selected candidate cell. The DU of the serving RAN node may report the execution of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by the UE 3 to the CU. The DU may report this to the CU using an ACCESS SUCCESS message. The Serving RAN Node switches from the current CG set to the candidate CG set corresponding to the candidate SpCell selected by the UE 3 based on the report from the UE 3 or the detection by the Serving RAN Node.).
Regarding claim 27, Futaki discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
wherein the CU and the DU are part of a basestation for communicating with the UE, and the L1/L2 signaling is communicated with the UE; and the CU provides for upper layer support including PDCP and RRC layer, the DU provides for lower layer support including RLC, MAC and Physical layer, and one or more DUs are configured to link with one shared CU (Futaki: [0079] The CU 21 can be a logical node hosting the Radio Resource Control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the gNB (or the RRC and PDCP protocols of the gNB). The DU 22 can be a logical node hosting the Radio Link Control (RLC), Medium Access Control (MAC), and Physical (PHY) layers of the gNB. If the CU 21 is a gNB-CU and the DUs 22 are gNB-DUs, the interfaces 201 can be F1 interfaces. The CU 21 can include a CU-CP and a CU-UP. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
A wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement the method recited in claim 1 (Futaki: [0162] The memory 1705 may store one or more software modules (computer programs) 1706 including instructions and data for performing processing by the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments. In some implementations, the processor 1704 may be configured to load and execute the software module(s) 1706 from the memory 1705, thereby performing the processing of the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments … [0163] When the RAN node 1 is a CU (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) or a CU-CP, the RAN node 1 does not need to include the RF transceiver 1701 (and the antenna array 1702) … [0064] The RAN node 1 may be a Central Unit (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) in a Cloud RAN (C-RAN) deployment, or a combination of a CU and one or more Distributed Units (e.g., eNB-DUs or gNB-DUs) ... Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 30, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
A computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method recited in claim 1 (Futaki: [0161] The memory 1705 is composed of a combination of a volatile memory and a non-volatile memory. The volatile memory is, for example, a Static Random Access Memory (SRAM), a Dynamic RAM (DRAM), or a combination thereof. The non-volatile memory may be a Mask Read Only Memory (MROM), an Electrically Erasable Programmable ROM (EEPROM), a flash memory, or a hard disk drive, or any combination thereof … [0162] The memory 1705 may store one or more software modules (computer programs) 1706 including instructions and data for performing processing by the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments. In some implementations, the processor 1704 may be configured to load and execute the software module(s) 1706 from the memory 1705, thereby performing the processing of the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments … [0163] When the RAN node 1 is a CU (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) or a CU-CP, the RAN node 1 does not need to include the RF transceiver 1701 (and the antenna array 1702) … [0064] The RAN node 1 may be a Central Unit (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) in a Cloud RAN (C-RAN) deployment, or a combination of a CU and one or more Distributed Units (e.g., eNB-DUs or gNB-DUs) ... Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 31, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
A wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement the method recited in claim 15 (Futaki: [0162] The memory 1705 may store one or more software modules (computer programs) 1706 including instructions and data for performing processing by the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments. In some implementations, the processor 1704 may be configured to load and execute the software module(s) 1706 from the memory 1705, thereby performing the processing of the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments … [0163] When the RAN node 1 is a CU (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) or a CU-CP, the RAN node 1 does not need to include the RF transceiver 1701 (and the antenna array 1702) … [0064] The RAN node 1 may be a Central Unit (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) in a Cloud RAN (C-RAN) deployment, or a combination of a CU and one or more Distributed Units (e.g., eNB-DUs or gNB-DUs) ... Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 32, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki further teaches:
A computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method recited in claim 15 (Futaki: [0161] The memory 1705 is composed of a combination of a volatile memory and a non-volatile memory. The volatile memory is, for example, a Static Random Access Memory (SRAM), a Dynamic RAM (DRAM), or a combination thereof. The non-volatile memory may be a Mask Read Only Memory (MROM), an Electrically Erasable Programmable ROM (EEPROM), a flash memory, or a hard disk drive, or any combination thereof … [0162] The memory 1705 may store one or more software modules (computer programs) 1706 including instructions and data for performing processing by the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments. In some implementations, the processor 1704 may be configured to load and execute the software module(s) 1706 from the memory 1705, thereby performing the processing of the RAN node 1 described in the above example embodiments … [0163] When the RAN node 1 is a CU (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) or a CU-CP, the RAN node 1 does not need to include the RF transceiver 1701 (and the antenna array 1702) … [0064] The RAN node 1 may be a Central Unit (e.g., eNB-CU or gNB-CU) in a Cloud RAN (C-RAN) deployment, or a combination of a CU and one or more Distributed Units (e.g., eNB-DUs or gNB-DUs) ... Fig. 17).
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki-Centonza in view of Byun et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230292219, hereinafter, “Byun”).
Regarding claim 11, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki-Centonza does not explicitly teach:
sending, from the CU to the DU, an indication to indicate to the DU to stop sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Byun teaches:
sending, from the CU to the DU, an indication to indicate to the DU to stop sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility (Byun: [0190] The purpose of the UE Context Modification procedure is to modify the established UE Context, e.g., establishing, modifying and releasing radio resources. This procedure is also used to command the gNB-DU to stop data transmission for the UE for mobility. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Futaki-Centonza to include the features as taught by Byun above in order to efficiently provide a multicast and broadcast service. (Byun, ¶ [0015]).
Regarding claim 25, Futaki-Centonza discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Futaki-Centonza does not explicitly teach:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, an indication that the DU should stop sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering L1/L2 mobility; and
stopping sending, from the DU to a user equipment (UE), L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Byun teaches:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, an indication that the DU should stop sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering L1/L2 mobility (Byun: [0190] The purpose of the UE Context Modification procedure is to modify the established UE Context, e.g., establishing, modifying and releasing radio resources. This procedure is also used to command the gNB-DU to stop data transmission for the UE for mobility. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling.); and
stopping sending, from the DU to a user equipment (UE), L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility (Byun: [0192] Upon reception of the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall perform the modifications, and if successful reports the update in the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Futaki-Centonza to include the features as taught by Byun above in order to efficiently provide a multicast and broadcast service. (Byun, ¶ [0015]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki-Centonza-Byun in view of Jin et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200374947, hereinafter, “Jin”).
Regarding claim 26, Futaki-Centonza-Byun discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Futaki-Centonza-Byun does not explicitly teach:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, an indication that indicates the DU should restart sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility; and restarting sending, from the DU to the UE, the L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jin teaches:
receiving, at the DU from the CU, an indication that indicates the DU should restart sending L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility; and restarting sending, from the DU to the UE, the L1/L2 signaling for triggering the L1/L2 mobility (Jin: [0147] (1) An inter-DU (inter-DU) and intra-CU (intra-CU) movement scenario [i.e., mobility]. That is, inactive UE has moved from a camped source DU 1 to a new DU 2 (new serving DU), but the inactive UE does not move out of a serving area of a camped source CU 1. When the inactive UE expects to resume to a connected state, the CU 1 requests the DU 2 to set up a context for the UE, for example, setting up a configuration for a related bearer (DRB and/or SRB), allocate a resource, and serve the user. In this case, the CU needs to notify the DU 2 of previous context information of the DU 1 (for example, configuration information of the bearer), so that the DU 2 performs differentiated configuration based on the configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Futaki-Centonza-Byun to include the features as taught by Jin above in order to ensure normal communication. (Jin, ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416