DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,368,000. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,547,787. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,735,656. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,887,520. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,336,816. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,351. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the frequency" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected based on its dependence upon claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 5, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuroda et al. (Kuroda) (US Pat. No. 5,699,149).
Regarding claim 17, Kuroda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium of a camera device (5), the computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a processor to execute an imaging method (FIG. 9, a program is executed) comprising:
performing an imaging operation which captures a subject image by an image sensor (col. 3, lns. 3-5, an image sensor captures images) and an imaging optical system (col. 6, lns. 41-50, an optical system is used for capturing images); and
performing a distance measurement operation to derive a distance to a subject by emitting a light via an emitter, and receiving a reflected light of the light from the subject via a light receiver (col. 6, lns. 41-46, measuring the distance by emitting the light from the light emission part 3 and detecting the reflected light from the target vehicle by the image sensor 13),
wherein, in a case in which the imaging operation is performed, the shake correction function is synchronized with the distance measurement operation (col. 5, lns. 59-67, by adding such a function (i..e shake correction) for preventing image-blurring (during imaging) due to the vibration of the driving vehicle as used in handy video cameras to the above described embodiments of the distance measurement apparatus for vehicle, the distance measurement is performed so as to extract a clear image of the target vehicle from the image information. In FIG. 10, a mechanical method for correcting the vibration effect on image-blurring is shown).
Regarding claim 2, Kuroda discloses wherein the processor performs derivations of distance multiple times for deriving a final distance on the distance measurement operation (FIG. 3, col. 3, lns. 41-53, the distance measurement is performed repeatedly to determine a valid distance measurement).
Regarding claim 5, Kuroda discloses wherein a drive of the emitter or the light receiver is adjusted according to information of an exposure state of an imaging condition (col. 3, lns. 44-54, In case that the step 105 judges that the measured (distance) value is not valid and that the laser beam is not exposed to the target vehicle, going back to the step 100, the procedures from the step 100 for capturing the image to the step 103 for exposing the laser beam are repeated).
Regarding claim 15, Kuroda discloses wherein the shake correction function is function using a shake correction mechanism moving the image sensor (col. 5, lns. 66-67 - col. 6, lns. 1-20, an mechanical process of shifting the light detection part (4) (i..e. image sensor)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (Kuroda) (US Pat. No. 5,699,149) in view of Yumiki (US 2008/0204565).
Regarding claim 6, Kuroda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above) and wherein the image sensor captures the subject image formed by the imaging optical system (col. 6, lns. 41-50, an optical system is used for capturing images) in the imaging operation.
Kuroda is silent about and an electronic shutter function in the imaging operation.
Yumiki from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses an electronic shutter function in the imaging operation ([0225], an electronic shutter is incorporated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yumiki into the teachings of Karuda for increasing the shutter speed (Yumiki: ABSTRACT).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (Kuroda) (US Pat. No. 5,699,149) in view of Kao et al. (Kao) (US 2011/0304842).
Regarding claim 7, Kuroda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above).
Kuroda is silent about wherein a drive of the emitter or the light receiver is adjusted according to a distance from the digital camera to the subject.
Kao from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a drive of the emitter or the light receiver is adjusted according to a distance from the digital camera to the subject ([0034], [0065], the processor adjusts the main sensing range of the sensor according to the distance between the object and the time of flight system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kao into the teachings of Karuda for saving power during time of flight imaging.
Claim(s) 9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (Kuroda) (US Pat. No. 5,699,149) in view of Tamamura (US 2008/0136939).
Regarding claim 9, Kuroda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above).
Kuroda is silent about wherein the processor is further configured to receive a user instruction regarding whether or not shake correction function is performed.
Tamamura from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a user instruction regarding whether or not shake correction function is performed ([0046], a user selects the shake-compensation mode at the operating part 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tamamura into the teachings of Karuda for allowing manual control of the shake correction processing.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kuroda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above).
Kuroda is silent about wherein the processor is further configured to perform the shake correction function in the imaging operation, in a case in which the processor performs the imaging operation without the distance measurement operation.
Tamamura from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the processor is further configured to perform the shake correction function in the imaging operation, in a case in which the processor performs the imaging operation without the distance measurement operation ([0003], [0024], shake compensation is performed during imaging (without a distance measurement being performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tamamura into the teachings of Karuda for producing blur free images during a regular imaging process (i.e. without performing ranging detection).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (Kuroda) (US Pat. No. 5,699,149) in view of Tashiro (US 2010/0231774).
Regarding claim 12, Kuroda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above).
Kuroda is silent about wherein the distance measurement operation and the imaging operation are synchronized so that the emitter emits the light in a horizontal blanking period or vertical blanking period of the image sensor.
Tashiro from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the distance measurement operation ([0034] distance between the object and the imaging system is determined) and the imaging operation ([0026], an image is captured) are synchronized so that the emitter emits the light in a horizontal blanking period or vertical blanking period of the image sensor ([0034], light is emitted during blanking periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kao into the teachings of Karuda for performing high speed time of flight imaging (Tashiro: [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 10, 11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488