DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority claiming 202310699497.X filed June 13 2023 at the People Republic of China Patent Office.
Specification
Abstract is objected to because the abstract has 174 words which is outside the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected because claims 13-25 fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected because door open/close, and rear-mirror unfold/fold as claimed is unclear and indefinite what open/close and unfold/fold include. Does / mean and/or, or, and? For interpretation purpose, open/close or unfold/fold includes open and/or close, and unfold and/orfold Appropriate correction is needed.
Claims 1-20 are rejected because “controller” as recited in claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 12, 16, and 18; “processing unit” as recited in claims 12, 13, and 19; “vibration sensor identification unit” as recited in claims 5 and 17; “linkage operation relationship apparatus” as recited in claim 12; “input interface” as recited in claim 18; and “output interface” as recited in claim 18 trigger 35 USC 112(f) interpretation and there is no corresponding structure from the specification. As such, the scope of all the units as recited might be software or algorithm which requires sufficient and adequate disclosure to perform the respective functions. Claims 1-20 are rejected because they are indefinite for missing sufficient and adequate disclosure from the specification. Appropriate correction is needed.
Dependent claims 2-11, and 13-20 are further rejected based on dependency of respective independent claims.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“controller” as recited in claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 12, 16, and 18 to perform respective function to “control”, “perform”, “alter”, “perform”, “control”, “alter”, and “perform”;
“processing unit” as recited in claims 12, 13, and 19 to perform respective function to “control”, “perform”, and “process”;
“vibration sensor identification unit” as recited in claims 5 and 17 to perform respective function to “store”;
“linkage operation relationship apparatus” as recited in claim 12 to perform function to “defining”
“input interface” as recited in claim 18 to perform function to “receive”;
“output interface” as recited in claim 18 to perform function to “transmit”.
All the above units invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-7, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Austin, et al., US 20240351595 A1 in view of Kitakaze, et al., KR 100470850 B1.
As to claim 1, Austin teaches a human-computer interaction method (300) for a vehicle, the vehicle being provided with a controller (101) and a body of the vehicle being provided with a number of operating regions (102-107) (Fig. 1 and related text shows processing device along with vibration device in a vehicle body), wherein the method comprises:
disposing a number of actuators (209-214) for the number of operating regions
(102-107), each of the number of operating regions (102-107) comprising one
corresponding actuator (209-214) (Figs. 2 and 3 and related text teaches vibration sensor caused by a vehicle user to actuate different vehicle components);
disposing a plurality of vibration sensors (202-207) for the number of operating
regions (102-107), at least one vibration sensor (202-207) being disposed on each of the number of operating regions (102-107) (“By tapping a particular section of the steering device, a user may control a particular setting (e.g., control the vehicle's radio volume) or a particular function (e.g., enable or disable cruise control) of the vehicle”, ¶12); and
monitoring a tapping signal (302) on a corresponding one of the number of
operating regions (102-107) by the at least one vibration sensor (202-207) (“vibration sensors 160 are positioned along a rim of the steering device such that vibration detected by vibration sensors 160 from each different section 250 of the steering device produces a unique combination of vibration information produced by vibration sensors 160. Each unique combination of the vibration information produced from vibration at each different section 250 may correspond to a unique user command. For example, vibration detected at a first section 250 (e.g., top) of the steering device may correspond to a fast forward command (e.g., a user command used to advance or jump ahead when an audio file is being played via an audio system of vehicle 180), while vibration at a second section 250 (e.g., bottom) of steering device may correspond to a rewind command. Thus, based on a section 250 where the vibration is detected, a unique combination of vibration information may be produced, and this unique combination of vibration information may correspond to a unique user command, that may be determined by driver support system 100”, ¶60),
Austin does not explicitly teach the method comprising:
setting a linkage operation relationship between the number of operating regions
(102-107);
wherein the controller (101) is configured to control the number of actuators (209-
214) in the number of operating regions (102-107) based on the linkage operation
relationship and the tapping signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, this matter is taught by Kitakaze that different tappings on a working surface to produce operations according to a conversion table between and a controller to result in operation according to the conversion table (Kitakaze: “percussion sensors A to S which are decentralized and arranged at operation parts 31 (32, 33) recognized to have three areas Z1 to Z3 on the percussion surface and can detect whether a percussion is made. Further, the device is equipped with a trigger conversion part 141 which converts detection signals from the 19 sensors A to S detected at every 1 /60 second into trigger information indicating whether percussion operation starts and a conversion table 116 which shows the relation all combination of pieces of trigger information corresponding to the 19 sensors A to S and an area determined wherein the percussion surface”, abs; Figs. 3c, 7b, 8b and related text; Pages 2-4, 56). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success to modify the method controlling vehicle functions in Austin's teaching to include setting a linkage operation relationship between the number of operating regions; wherein the controller is configured to control the number of actuators in the number of operating regions based on the linkage operation relationship and the tapping signal as taught by Kitakaze to improve driver safety in driving by focusing driving while enabling control of different vehicle function (Austin: ¶2).
As to claim 2, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein
the controller (101) is configured to perform the following operations: (i) receiving
a monitored tapping signal; (ii) identifying a tapped operating region associated with the
tapping signal; (iii) activating an actuator in the tapped operating region; and (iv) activating actuators in other operating regions associated with the tapped operating region based on the linkage operation relationship (Kitakaze: “method and device for determining a striking operation area that enables detection of an operating area for a manipulator having a single striking surface shape using all information of arranged sensors, thereby enabling area determination with good precision, and that facilitates coping with various area settings without requiring changes to mechanical parts. In order to achieve the above object, according to a first feature of the present invention, the present invention provides a striking operation area determination device for determining a striking area on a striking surface for an operator having a single striking surface formed so as to be recognizable that the surface has i areas, and n (>i) striking sensors distributed about the striking surface and capable of detecting the presence or absence of a strike, the device including a trigger conversion means for converting a detection signal from each of the n striking sensors detected at predetermined intervals into trigger information indicating the presence or absence of a striking operation, and a conversion table indicating a relationship between all combinations of trigger information corresponding to the n striking sensors and an area determined to have been struck among the i areas”, Page 14).
As to claim 3, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein
the linkage operation relationship is defined by a quantity of tapping signals (Kitakaze: Figs. 3c, 7b, 8b and related text; “present invention provides a striking operation area determination device for determining a striking area on a striking surface for an operator having a single striking surface formed so as to be recognizable that the surface has i areas, and n (>i) striking sensors distributed about the striking surface and capable of detecting the presence or absence of a strike, the device including a trigger conversion means for converting a detection signal from each of the n striking sensors detected at predetermined intervals into trigger information indicating the presence or absence of a striking operation, and a conversion table indicating a relationship between all combinations of trigger information corresponding to the n striking sensors and an area determined to have been struck among the i areas”, Page 14),
wherein one tap on each of the number of operating regions (102-107) generates one tapping signal (Kitakaze: Figs. 3c, 7b, 8b and related text; “present invention provides a striking operation area determination device for determining a striking area on a striking surface for an operator having a single striking surface formed so as to be recognizable that the surface has i areas, and n (>i) striking sensors distributed about the striking surface and capable of detecting the presence or absence of a strike, the device including a trigger conversion means for converting a detection signal from each of the n striking sensors detected at predetermined intervals into trigger information indicating the presence or absence of a striking operation, and a conversion table indicating a relationship between all combinations of trigger information corresponding to the n striking sensors and an area determined to have been struck among the i areas”, Page 14).
As to claim 4, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein the controller (101) is configured to: after the first tapping signal is received, monitor a next tapping signal within a preset time window, and activate the number of actuators based on a quantity of received tapping signals after the time window ends (Austin: “probability that the user intends to employ the user command is based on behaviors and/or patterns learned for the user over time. In particular, learned behavior and/or patterns for the user may be collected and generated over time to later predict, when one or more of these behaviors and/or patterns are detected, the likelihood that the user intends to control one or more vehicle settings and/or controls. As an illustrative example, over time, based on observing behavior of a particular user of vehicle 180, driver support system 100 may determine that the user when attempting to control an audio volume within vehicle 180, ninety percent of the time will execute two consecutive taps on a steering device of vehicle 180 using their right hand. As such, in cases where two consecutive fingers taps by a right hand of the user are detected by vibration sensors 160, processing device 105 may assume that the user is more likely than not (e.g., probability is equal to 90%) that the user is intended to adjust audio volume within vehicle 180.”, ¶72).
As to claim 5, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein each of the plurality of vibration sensors (202-207) comprises a vibration sensor identification unit (705) configured to store a sensor identifier (707) representing a region location of the vibration sensor (Kitakaze: “multiple fingers (or striking members) striking the upper surface sheet material (314) do not all touch the upper surface sheet material (314) at the same time, and reverberation, etc. are also taken into consideration to remove signals that occur repeatedly in a short period of time as noise. The trigger information (Tn) with the chattering removed is input as the final result into the table memory shown in (c) of Fig. 3 (step ST9), and information indicating the corresponding area is output to the evaluation unit (150). FIG. 7 is a drawing showing a variation 1 consisting of areas Z1 to Z3 for the sensor arrangement shown in FIG. 3 (a). FIG. 7 (a) is a plan view
showing the shape of areas Z1 to Z3, and FIG. 7 (b) is a drawing showing a conversion table showing the relationship between the sensor output state and the area determined by the presence of an operation. As shown in Fig. 7, area Z1 is a circular portion with a radius of approximately 1/2 of the upper surface sheet material (314), and areas Z2 and Z3 are divided into two equal parts in the front-back direction (or left-right direction) on the outer circumference thereof. Sensors A to G are included in area Z1, and the outermost sensors H to S are arranged approximately at the center in the diametric direction of areas Z2 and Z3. FIG. 8 is a drawing showing a modified example 2 consisting of areas Z1 to Z4 for the sensor arrangement shown in FIG. 3 (a). FIG. 8 (a) is a plan view showing the shape of areas Z1 to Z4, and FIG. 8 (b) is a drawing showing a conversion table showing the relationship between the sensor output state and the area determined by the presence of an operation.”, Pages 41-42).
As to claim 6, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein the method further comprises:
disposing a number of regional vibration sensors for an operating region of the
number of operating regions (102-107), the number of regional vibration sensors having
the same vibration sensor identifier (Kitakaze: “As shown in Fig. 7, area Z1 is a circular portion with a radius of approximately 1/2 of the upper surface sheet material (314), and areas Z2 and Z3 are divided into two equal parts in the front-back direction (or left-right direction) on the outer circumference thereof. Sensors A to G are included in area Z1, and the outermost sensors H to S are arranged approximately at the center in the diametric direction of areas Z2 and Z3. FIG. 8 is a drawing showing a modified example 2 consisting of areas Z1 to Z4 for the sensor arrangement shown in FIG. 3 (a). FIG. 8 (a) is a plan view showing the shape of areas Z1 to Z4, and FIG. 8 (b) is a drawing showing a conversion table showing the relationship between the sensor output state and the area determined by the presence of an operation. As shown in Fig. 8, areas Z1 to Z4 are divided into four equal parts in a radial shape. Even with these variations1 and 2, the impact area can be properly determined by the conversion table of Fig. 7 (b) and
Fig. 8 (b). In addition, since the sensor arrangement shape of (a) of Fig. 3, i.e., the arrangement of the sensors once set, is not changed at all”, Page 42),
wherein the controller (101) is configured to perform the following operations when a tapping signal monitored by each of the number of regional vibration sensors is received: (i) activating an actuator in the operating region; and (ii) activating actuators in other operating regions associated with the operating region based on the linkage operation relationship (Kitakaze: Fig. 9 shows a third modified example regarding sensor placement and areas. Fig. 9 (a) is a plan view showing the arrangement shape of the sensors, Fig. 9 (b) is a plan view showing the shapes of areas Z1 to Z3, and Fig. 9 (c) is a diagram showing a conversion table showing the relationship between the sensor output state and the area determined by the presence of an operation. As shown in (a) of Fig. 9, areas Z2 and Z3 are formed in a shape that is symmetrical
left and right on a part of the front side of the upper sheet material (314), and area Z1 is
formed in a shape that includes the remaining part, i.e., the center and the front. As shown in (b) of Fig. 9, the number of sensors is 15, sensors A to O, and they are arranged symmetrically on the left and right, and in area Z2, sensors G, L, and N are arranged at approximately equal intervals in the circumferential direction, in area Z3, sensors I, M, and O are arranged at approximately equal intervals in the peripheral direction, in area Z1, sensor H is arranged at the center, and sensors D, E, J, and K are arranged around it, sensors C and F are arranged on the left and right, and sensors A and B are arranged on the front left and right. As shown in the fourth row (arrow position) from the top of the table in (c) of Fig. 9, if only sensors N and O are turned on and outputting “1” as trigger information, the impact position at this time is area Z1. This is because the player recognizes that area Z1 occupies the vicinity of the center, and
therefore, when the player hits the left or right center position even if it is in front, it is natural to treat it as hitting area Z1. This also applies to (c) of Fig. 3 and (b) of Fig. 7. In addition, in (b) of Fig. 8, when at least three or more regions are turned on, it is acceptable to treat region Z1 (or region Z4) as being manipulated.”, Page 44).
As to claim 7, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein the method further comprises:
setting a linkage operation relationship table (607), wherein the linkage operation
relationship table (607) indicates the linkage operation relationship, the linkage operation relationship table (607) is used to represent the linkage operation relationship between the number of operating regions (102-107), and the linkage operation relationship table (607) is stored in a memory (604) of the controller (600) (Kitakaze: Fig. 9 shows a third modified example regarding sensor placement and areas. Fig. 9 (a) is a plan view showing the arrangement shape of the sensors, Fig. 9 (b) is a plan view showing the shapes of areas Z1 to Z3, and Fig. 9 (c) is a diagram showing a conversion table showing the relationship between the sensor output state and the area determined by the presence of an operation. As shown in (a) of Fig. 9, areas Z2 and Z3 are formed in a shape that is symmetrical left and right on a part of the front side of the upper sheet material (314), and area Z1 is formed in a shape that includes the remaining part, i.e., the center and the front. As shown in (b) of Fig. 9, the number of sensors is 15, sensors A to O, and they are arranged symmetrically on the left and right, and in area Z2, sensors G, L, and N are arranged at approximately equal intervals in the circumferential direction, in area Z3, sensors I, M, and O are arranged at approximately equal intervals in the peripheral direction, in area Z1, sensor H is arranged at the center, and sensors D, E, J, and K are arranged around it, sensors C and F are arranged on the left and right, and sensors A and B are arranged on the front left and right. As shown in the fourth row (arrow position) from the top of the table in (c) of Fig. 9, if only sensors N and O are turned on and outputting “1” as trigger information, the impact position at this time is area Z1. This is because the player recognizes that area Z1 occupies the vicinity of the center, and therefore, when the player hits the left or right center position even if it is in front, it is natural to treat it as hitting area Z1. This also applies to (c) of Fig. 3 and (b) of Fig. 7. In addition, in (b) of Fig. 8, when at least three or more regions are turned on, it is acceptable to treat region Z1 (or region Z4) as being manipulated.”, Page 44).
As to claim 11, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein the method further comprises:
using one or more gesture signal sensors to monitor gesture signals on the numberof operating regions (102-107), and after the gesture signals are monitored, activating the number of vibration sensors to monitor tapping signals on the number of operating regions (102-107) (Austin: “the probability that the user intends to employ the user command is based on behaviors and/or patterns learned for the user over time. In particular, learned behavior and/or patterns for the user may be collected and generated over time to later predict, when one or more of these behaviors and/or patterns are detected, the likelihood that the user intends to control one or more vehicle settings and/or controls. As an illustrative example, over time, based on observing behavior of a particular user of vehicle 180, driver support system 100 may determine that the user when attempting to control an audio volume within vehicle 180, ninety percent of the time will execute two consecutive taps on a steering device of vehicle 180 using their right hand. As such, in cases where two consecutive fingers taps by a right hand of the user are detected by vibration sensors 160, processing device 105 may assume that the user is more likely than not (e.g., probability is equal to 90%) that the user is intended to adjust audio volume within vehicle 180”, ¶71).
As to claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, they are system claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective method claims 1, 2, 7, 3, 4, 5, and 6. As such, system claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the claims 1, 2, 7, 3, 4, 5, and 6 and are incorporated herein (see claim 1 above for rationale of obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine).
As to claim 19, Austin modified by Kitakaze teaches the method wherein the controller (600) comprises:
an input interface (602) configured to receive tapping signals from the plurality of
vibration sensors (202-207) (Austin: “Driver support system 100 may include a processing device 105, input/output (I/O) hardware 110, user interface hardware 115, mobility control hardware 120, vehicle systems control hardware 125, a data storage device 130, memory 185, and one or more sensors 190. A local interface 135, such as a bus or the like, may interconnect the various components of driver support system 100”, ¶20);
a processing unit (601) configured to process the tapping signals and generate a
driving signal (Austin: “Driver support system 100 may include a processing device 105, input/output (I/O) hardware 110, user interface hardware 115, mobility control hardware 120, vehicle systems control hardware 125, a data storage device 130, memory 185, and one or more sensors 190. A local interface 135, such as a bus or the like, may interconnect the various components of driver support system 100”, ¶20-23);
an output interface (603) configured to transmit the generated driving signal to the number of actuators (209-214) (Austin: “Driver support system 100 may include a processing device 105, input/output (I/O) hardware 110, user interface hardware 115, mobility control hardware 120, vehicle systems control hardware 125, a data storage device 130, memory 185, and one or more sensors 190. A local interface 135, such as a bus or the like, may interconnect the various components of driver support system 100”, ¶20-23);
a memory (604) configured to store an executable program (606) and a linkage
operation relationship table (607), wherein the processing unit (601) generates the driving signal based on the executable program (606) and the linkage operation relationship table (607), and the linkage operation relationship table (607) is used to represent the linkage operation relationship between the number of operating regions (102-107) (Austin: “Driver support system 100 may include a processing device 105, input/output (I/O) hardware 110, user interface hardware 115, mobility control hardware 120, vehicle systems control hardware 125, a data storage device 130, memory 185, and one or more sensors 190. A local interface 135, such as a bus or the like, may interconnect the various components of driver support system 100”, ¶20; Kitakaze: conversion table memory, Page 52; see claim 1 above for rationale of obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine); and
a bus (605), wherein the processing unit (601), the input interface (602), the output interface (603), and the memory (604) are connected to the bus (605) (Austin: “Driver support system 100 may include a processing device 105, input/output (I/O) hardware 110, user interface hardware 115, mobility control hardware 120, vehicle systems control hardware 125, a data storage device 130, memory 185, and one or more sensors 190. A local interface 135, such as a bus or the like, may interconnect the various components of driver support system 100”, ¶20).
Claims 8, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Austin, et al., US 20240351595 A1 in view of in view of Kitakaze, et al., KR 100470850 B1, further in view of Peng et al., EP4275981 (A1).
As to claim 8, Austin modified by Kitakaze does not explicitly teach the method wherein the number of actuators (209-214) comprise at least one of the following: a vehicle door open/close actuator, a concealed door handle open/close actuator, a window open/close actuator, a charging port cover open/close actuator, a sunroof open/close actuator, an engine hood open/close actuator, a filler cap open/close actuator, a trunk open/close actuator, a rear-view mirror unfold/fold actuator, and a lighting on/off actuator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, this matter is taught by Peng that multi-gesture interaction of a vehicle control system involving “ON/OFF, confirm or short-press adjustment of a certain function, such as voice activate/cancel, music media play/pause, fold/open adjustment on an exterior rear-view mirror. Short-press tactile feedback: vibrate on pressing for once, vibrate on releasing for once (Peng: abs; ¶42). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success to modify the method controlling vehicle functions in Austin modified by Kitakaz's teaching to include number of actuators comprise at least one of the following: a vehicle door open/close actuator, a concealed door handle open/close actuator, a window open/close actuator, a charging port cover open/close actuator, a sunroof open/close actuator, an engine hood open/close actuator, a filler cap open/close actuator, a trunk open/close actuator, a rear-view mirror unfold/fold actuator, and a lighting on/off actuator as taught by Peng to improve driver safety in driving by focusing driving while enabling control of different vehicle function (Austin: ¶2).
As to claim 10, Austin modified by Kitakaze and Peng teach the method wherein the rear-view mirror unfold/fold actuator comprises at least one of the following: a left exterior rear-view mirror unfold/fold actuator, a right exterior rear-view mirror
unfold/fold actuator, and a central interior rear-view mirror unfold/fold actuator (Peng: “ON/OFF, confirm or short-press adjustment of a certain function, such as voice activate/cancel, music media play/pause, fold/open adjustment on an exterior rear-view mirror. Short-press tactile feedback: vibrate on pressing for once, vibrate on releasing for once (abs; ¶42).
As to claim 20, it is a system claim that recites substantially the same limitations as the method claim 8. As such, system claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the claim 8 and are incorporated herein (see claim 8 above for rationale of obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Austin, et al., US 20240351595 A1 in view of in view of Kitakaze, et al., KR 100470850 B1, further in view of Peng et al., EP 4275981 (A1), furthest in view of Seger et al., US 20220410705 A1.
As to claim 9, Austin modified by Kitakaze and Peng does not explicitly teach the method wherein the vehicle door open/close actuator comprises at least one of the following: a left-front door open/close actuator, a right-front door open/close actuator, a left-rear door open/close actuator, and a right-rear door open/close actuator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, this matter is taught by Seger that a vehicle control system using tapping on a button to control vehicle components such as front passenger door open/close (Seger: 205, 271, 358, 456). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success to modify the method controlling vehicle functions in Austin modified by Kitakaz and Peng's teaching to include vehicle door open/close actuator comprises at least one of the following: a left-front door open/close actuator, a right-front door open/close actuator, a left-rear door open/close actuator, and a right-rear door open/close actuator as taught by Seger to improve driver safety in driving by focusing driving while enabling control of different vehicle function (Austin: ¶2).
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/YUEN WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667