DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority as a continuation-in-part of application no. 18/370,341 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,042,685) and for priority to provisional application no. 63/444,671 filed 10 February 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“one or more contact pockets integrated into one or more interior side walls of the barbell body collar” in claim 1. In view of the filed drawings, it is unclear how the contact pockets are on “one or more interior side walls” of the circular body. That is, Figure 2A of the drawings references “interior side walls 220,” but appears to show only one interior wall that defines the circular shaped cavity. It is unclear how a circular cavity has “one or more interior side walls.”
“one or more contact patches slide out of the one or more contact pockets without needing to unfasten or disassemble the one or more contact patches from the one of more contact pockets in the barbell body collar to remove the one or more contact patches” in claim 1. At least Figure 4 shows wherein the contact patches 150 do need to be disassembled from the barbell body collar by removal of the retention ring 190. The Figures do not appear to show wherein the contact patches slide out of the pockets without unfastening or disassembly.
“wherein a lowermost surface of the attached bottom element is straight edged … or convex shape” in claim 10. The drawings show wherein the surface is concave, but do not show wherein the surface is straight edged or convex.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 12-13, “and removable contact patch” should read --removable contact patch--
Claim 6, line 1, “That apparatus” should read --The apparatus--
Claim 7, line 4, “a second pocket” should read --a second pocket of the one or more contact pockets--
Claim 7, line 6, “adjustable fastener holes” should read --fastener holes--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “two dynamic contact patches” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if these two contact patches are part of the “one or more contact patches” recited previously in claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends, or are other, separate structures.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “at least one dynamic contact patch” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if this contact patch is part of the “one or more contact patches” recited previously in claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends, or is another, separate structure.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the contact patch of the one or more contact patches” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the “first contact patch” or “second contact patch” recited previously in claim 7, upon which claim 9 depends, or to another, separate structure. Antecedent basis for this limitation can be found in claim 8, but claim 9 does not depend on claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the attached bottom element” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Antecedent basis for this limitation can be found in claim 9, but claim 10 does not depend on claim 9.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the contact patch” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the “first contact patch” or “second contact patch” recited previously in claim 7, upon which claim 11 depends, or to another, separate structure. Antecedent basis for this limitation can be found in claim 8, but claim 11 does not depend on claim 8.
The term “approximately” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “approximately T-shaped” is rendered indefinite by use of the term “approximately.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 11,052,276) in view of Coury (US 2019/0046831)
Regarding claim 1, Baker teaches an apparatus comprising:
a barbell body collar (weight plate 1) (Fig. 2: The weight plate l fastens to the barbell bar 19 and can be used as a barbell collar to prevent other weights from sliding off of the barbell bar.), wherein the barbell body collar comprises:
a front surface (Fig. 2);
a cavity (barbell hole 1A) extending through the barbell body collar (Fig. 3);
one or more fastener holes (mounting areas 1E, 1F) integrated into a top outer surface of the barbell body collar (Figs. 4, 5 show the mounting areas 1E, 1F extending from a top outer surface of the weight plate to the barbell hole 1A to accommodate the pull rod tube 8 and pull rod 7.);
one or more contact pockets (mounting area 1C) integrated into one or more interior side walls of the barbell body collar (Fig. 5 shows the mounting area 1C integrated into the inner wall of the barbell hole 1A.);
one or more contact patches (lock plate 13), wherein the one or more contact patches is removably held inside of and retained within the one or more contact pockets integrated into the one or more interior side walls of the barbell body collar (Figs. 4, 5 show the lock plate 13 retained within the mounting area 1C via the lock assembly case 2.), wherein the one or more contact patches is removable (Fig. 5 shows wherein the lock plate 13 is removable.), wherein the one or more contact patches slide out of the one or more contact pockets without needing to unfasten or disassemble the one or more contact patches from the one or more contact pockets in the barbell body collar to remove the one or more contact patches (Fig. 5 shows the lock plate 13 sliding out of the mounting area 1C without unfastening or disassembly of the lock plate 13 directly from the mounting area 1C. That is, the lock plate 13 is inside of the lock assembly case 2 which is unfastened from the mounting area 1C such that the lock plate 13 itself is not unfastened or disassembled from the mounting area 1C. The lock plate 13 is not directly fastened to the mounting area 1C; therefore, it does not require unfastening from the mounting area 1C.); and
one or more adjustable fasteners (rod 7 and lever 6) insertable into the one or more fastener holes integrated into the top outer surface of the barbell body collar (Figs. 4, 5), wherein the one or more adjustable fasteners are configured to adjust a position of the one or more contact patches, wherein the one or more adjustable fasteners is configured to cause one or more of the one or more contact patches to advance forward to bite down onto a barbell and to retract away from the barbell (Col. 5, lines 44-60.).
Baker does not expressly teach wherein the one or more contact patches are replaceable with another removable contact patch.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Coury teaches a barbell body collar for securing weights on a barbell comprising one or more contact patches (gripper 64) that are removable and replaceable with another removable contact patch (Fig. 4. Para. [0038]: “The gripper 64 could be removed and replaced as necessary.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking plate 13 to be replaceable, as taught by Coury, with the predicted result of providing replaceable parts that can be interchanged for maintenance purposes such that the weight plate can be continued to be used when the locking plate is worn down or broken (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Regarding claim 2, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising, one or more energizers, wherein the one or more energizers are springs (springs 10) (Baker: Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a contact patch of the one or more contact patches comprises a top surface that acts as a load bearing surface and a bottom surface that acts as a contact surface that contacts the barbell (Baker: Annotated Fig. 7 below shows the locking plate 13 having a top surface and a bottom surface that contacts the barbell. While Fig. 7 shows the bottom surface at the top, Fig. 2 shows wherein the weight plate 2 can be in the opposite configuration such that the bottom surface would be at the bottom of the locking plate 13.).
Regarding claim 10, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein a lowermost surface of the attached bottom element is straight edged, concave shaped, or convex shaped (Baker: Annotated Fig. 7 above with regards to claim 8 shows the bottom surface having a concave shape.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 11,052,276) in view of Coury (US 2019/0046831) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Smalley (NPL, a copy of which is provided with this office action).
Regarding claim 3, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Baker does not teach wherein the one or more energizers are wave springs.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Smalley teaches wherein wave springs can be used in place of coil springs (see NPL provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the springs of Baker by replacing them with wave springs as taught by Smalley. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more compact, light-weight spring, as suggested by Smalley (see NPL provided).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-7, and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more adjustable fasteners comprise a handle (pull lever 6), wherein the handle is accessible from an outer surface of the barbell body collar (Baker: Fig. 2.).
Baker in view of Coury does not teach an attachable rotatable screw, wherein the handle is configured to tighten and release the attachable rotatable screw.
Claim 5 depends directly from claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Baker in view of Coury teaches [the] apparatus of claim 1, wherein the barbell body collar comprises at least one dynamic contact patch that is configured to be dynamically moveable forward and back using the one or more adjustable fasteners (Baker: Fig. 2).
Baker in view of Coury does not teach another contact patch of the one or more contact patches is static and does not move forward and back.
Regarding claim 7, Baker in view of Coury teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first pocket of the one or more contact pockets integrated on the barbell body collar is configured to receive a first contact patch of the one or more contact patches and is aligned with a first fastener hole of the one or more fastener holes (Baker: Figs. 2, 4-5).
Baker in view of Coury does not teach wherein a second pocket on the barbell body collar is configured to receive a second contact patch of the one or more contact patches and is aligned with a second fastener hole of the one or more adjustable fastener holes on the barbell body collar.
Claims 9 and 11 depend directly from claim 7.
Conclusion
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784