DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the Applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 06/05/2024.
Information disclosed and list on PTO 1449 was considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee Nam Jae (DE102021201252A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lee nam Jae discloses a memory device (Figure 2) comprising:
memory cells (Figure 2, MC) coupled in series between one or more first selection transistors (Figure 2, DST) coupled in series to a source line (Figure 2, SL) and one or more second selection transistors (Figure 2, SST) coupled in series to a bit line (Figure 2, BL); and
a control unit (Figure 1, 35) configured to apply, during a forcing period (Figure 3) that is part of a rising period (Figure 3) during which an increasing erase voltage (Figure 3, Vers) is applied to the bit line (Figure 3, BL1-BLA), an increasing selection voltage (Figure 3, Vs=Vers-V1) to local selection lines coupled to the one or more first selection transistors and the one or more second selection transistors (Figure 3, DSL1,DSL2,DSL3,SSL).
Regarding claim 2, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the control unit is configured to increase the selection voltage in a stepwise manner (Figure 3, T1-T4) during the forcing period.
Regarding claim 3, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the control unit is configured to increase the selection voltage (Figure 3, DS1-DS3, SSL) by at least one step during the forcing period (Figure 3, Vs).
Regarding claim 4, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the forcing period begins after the rising period begins and ends before the rising period ends (Figure 3, Va, V1,V2,V3).
Regarding claim 5, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the control unit is configured to apply a ground voltage (Figure 3, SSL, 0V) to the local selection lines during the rising period until the forcing period begins.
Regarding claim 6, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the control unit is configured to float the local selection lines from an end of the forcing period until an end of an erase period during which a voltage at the bit line is maintained at a target erase voltage.
Regarding claim 16, Lee nam Jae discloses a memory device (Figure 2) comprising:
memory cells (Figure 2, MC) coupled in series between one or more first selection transistors (Figure 2, DST) coupled in series to a source line (Figure 2, SL) and one or more second selection transistors (Figure 2, SST) coupled in series to a bit line (Figure 2, BL); and
a control unit (Figure 1, 35) configured to increase voltages (Figure 3, Vpre) of the local selection lines to a target selection voltage (Figure 3, Vers) during a rising period (Figure 3, (1),(2),(3) during which rising period an increasing erase voltage is applied to the bitline (Figure 3, BL1-BL4), and configured to floating the local selection lines (Figure 3, DSL1,DSL2,DSL3,SSL) before an end of the rising period (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Lee nam Jae discloses wherein the control unit is configured to float the local selection lines (Figure 3, DSL, SSL) until an end of an erasing period (Figure 3, Ve), during which erasing period a voltage at the bit line (Figure 3, Vers) is maintained at a target erase voltage (Figure 3, Vers) after the rising period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee nam Jae as applied to claims 7-10 above, and further in view of Yang (9,490,021).
Lee nam Jae discloses the claimed invention except for the connection unit. Yang discloses a connection unit (figure 5, 320) to connect between global and local selection lines to transfer voltages from global to local memory device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to connect between global and local area in a memory device by a connection unit as taught by Yang, can see explain in claims 11-20 by Yang.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (U.S. 9,490,021).
Regarding claims 11,16, Yang discloses a memory device (Figure 1) comprising:
memory cells (Figure 2B) coupled in series between one or more first selection transistors (Figure 2B, C) coupled in series to a source line (Figure 2B, SL) and one or more second selection transistors coupled in series to a bit line (Figure 2B, BL); and
a control unit (Figure 5, 30) including a connection unit (Figure 5, 320) coupled between global selection lines (Figure 5, GSSL, GDSL) and local selection lines coupled to the one or more first selection transistors (Figure 5, DSL) and the one or more second selection transistors (Figure 5, SSL), configured to enable the connection unit during at least part of a rising period until a forcing period ends (Column 8, lines 15-32), during which rising period an increasing erase voltage is applied to the bit line (Figure 6, BL, Column 8, lines 33-35) and configured to disable the connection unit at an end of the forcing period (Figure 6, Column 8, lines 64067, Column 9, lines 1-25).
Regarding claims 12, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to increase voltages at the global selection lines during the forcing period (Figure 6, DSL, SSL).
Regarding claims 13, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain the global selection lines at a ground voltage during the rising period until the forcing period begins (Figure 6, DSL, SSL, T0-T1).
Regarding claims 14, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to float the local selection lines from the end of the forcing period until an end of an erasing period (Figure 6, DSL).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain voltages of the global selection lines at voltages at the end of the forcing period from the end of the forcing period until an end of an erasing period (Column 7, lines 55-67, Column 8, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to float the local selection lines (Figure 6, DSL) until an end of an erasing period, during which erasing period a voltage at the bit line (Figure 6, BL) is maintained at a target erase voltage (Figure 6, Verase) after the rising period.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses wherein the control unit comprises: a connection unit (Figure 5, 320, NT) coupled between the local selection lines and global selection lines and configured to transfer voltages applied to the global selection lines to corresponding local selection lines (Column 7, lines 40-67, Column 8, lines 1-2); and
a voltage supply unit (Figure 1, 30) coupled to the global selection lines (Figure 5, 310), GSSL, GDSL), wherein the voltage supply unit is configured to increase the voltages at the global selection lines to the target selection voltage during the rising period (Column 7, lines 54-67, Column 8, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to float the local selection lines (Figure 6, DSL) by disabling the connection unit.
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses wherein the voltage supply unit is configured to maintain the global selection lines at the target selection voltage from a time when the local selection lines are floated until an erasing period ends (Column 1, lines 19-29, Column 9, lines 7-12).
/THONG Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827