Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tejeda Del Valle et al (D1,014,987) in view of Rivera (6,189,458) and Williams (2023/0166664). Tejeda Del Valle teaches a portable workstation assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a T-bar frame (a; see annotated figure below) configured for selective attachment relative to an anchor point of a vehicle, the T-bar frame comprising: an attachment arm (b); a crossbar (c) having crossbar length defined along a central axis thereof in between a first crossbar end and a second crossbar end, the crossbar being arranged in an at least substantially perpendicular configuration relative to an arm length defined by an attachment arm central axis of the attachment arm; and a plurality of workstation posts (d) extending from the crossbar in an at least substantially perpendicular direction relative to the central axis of the crossbar, each of the plurality of workstation posts extending from a first post end disposed at a respective location defined along the crossbar length of the crossbar; and a plurality of workstations (e), each of the workstations being configured for selective attachment to a respective workstation post of the plurality of workstation posts defined by the T-bar frame, each of the plurality of workstations comprising: a planar workstation base (f). First for claim 1, Tejeda Del Valle fails to teach apertures through the base and a coupling element between the base and frame for detachable coupling. Rivera teaches a plurality of attachment apertures (apertures for screws 45) extending through a base thickness of a planar workstation base (12); and a workstation coupling element (36) attached to the planar workstation base and configured for engagement with at least a portion of a respective workstation post (2) to facilitate a detachable arrangement of the planar workstation base relative to the respective workstation post. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Tejeda Del Valle by using the workstation coupling elements of Rivera (the screws thereof forming apertures in the bases) between the bases and the posts, to provide detachable workstation bases for storage or repair via the coupling elements. Second for claim 1, Del Valle in view of Rivera fails to teach that the attachment arm comprising a linear element defining (i) a first arm end configured for being attached to the anchor point and (ii) a second arm end opposite the first arm end wherein the second arm end and the cross bar abut at a location along the crossbar length and define an interface between the second arm end and the cross bar opposite the first arm end configured for being attached to the anchor point. Williams teaches an attachment arm (1) comprising a linear element defining (i) a first arm end (a; see annotated figure below) configured for being attached to the anchor point and (ii) a second arm end (b) opposite the first arm end wherein the second arm end and a cross bar (c) abut at a location along the crossbar length and define an interface between the second arm end and the cross bar opposite the first arm end configured for being attached to the anchor point. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera by using an alternate attachment arm on the assembly, i.e. using the attachment arm of Williams in place of the arm presently used, to simplify the attachment of the assembly to the vehicle by using by using a single member attachment arm.
For claim 2, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that each of the workstation posts define a post length extending along a central axis thereof between the first post end engaged with the crossbar and a second post end, wherein each of posts of the plurality of workstation posts is configured for engagement with respective detachable workstation of the plurality of detachable workstations at the second post end thereof.
For claim 3, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that each of the respective workstation posts of the plurality of workstation posts is configured such that the respective second post ends of the plurality of workstation posts each engage the respective detachable workstations at the respective workstation coupling element thereof.
For claim 4, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that each of the workstation coupling elements of the plurality of detachable workstations comprises a workstation pin aperture (44 of Rivera).
For claim 5, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of detachable workstations comprises a first detachable workstation and a second detachable workstation (1,2).
For claim 6, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the first detachable workstation (1) comprises a first planar workstation base defining a first base top surface having a first surface area and the second detachable workstation (2) comprises a second planar workstation base defining a second base top surface having a second surface area, wherein the first surface area is different from the second surface area.
For claim 7, although Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams does not specifically show one base thicker than the other, to make the larger base (2) thicker than the side bases (1,3) would have been an obvious design consideration to allow heavier objects to be placed thereon. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art. MPEP2144.04
For claim 8, although Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams fails to teach three distinct bases, i.e. bases (1,3) are the same while base (2) is larger, Rivera further teaches a base (12) with cup holders. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the base of Rivera on one of the posts (at 1), to provide cup holders with the assembly.
Therefore, each of the plurality of detachable workstations is defined by an at least partially unique configuration wherein one or more workstation characteristic of each detachable workstation is unique relative to the workstation characteristics defined by the other detachable workstations of the plurality of detachable workstations.
For claim 9, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of detachable workstations comprises at least two detachable workstations (1-3).
For claim 10, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of workstation posts of the T-bar frame comprises a first workstation post (for 1) and a second workstation post (for 3).
For claim 11, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the first workstation post (for 1) extends from the crossbar at a first location along the crossbar length of the crossbar and the second workstation post (for 3) extends from the crossbar at a second location along the crossbar length of the crossbar, wherein the first location is at least substantially adjacent the first crossbar end and the second location is at least substantially adjacent the second crossbar end.
For claim 12, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of workstation posts comprises at least two workstation posts (for 1-3).
For claim 13, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that each of the plurality of workstation posts are oriented in an at least substantially parallel configuration relative to one another (Fig. 1 of Tejeda Del Valle).
For claim 14, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of workstation posts are oriented in an at least substantially coplanar configuration (Fig. 1 of Tejeda Del Valle).
For claim 15, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the T-bar frame is configured to attach to the anchor point of the vehicle based at least in part on a fastening element (portion of 1 with hole d receiving pin found in Williams) defined at least substantially adjacent a first arm end of the attachment arm.
For claim 16, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams teaches a hitch pin aperture (d) on the fastening element.
For claim 17, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of attachment apertures of each of the plurality of detachable workstations comprises at least four attachment apertures distributed about the respective planar workstation bases of each detachable workstation (four fasteners 45 of Rivera extend through each of the base forming four holes therein; Fig. 3).
For claim 18, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the plurality of attachment apertures of each of the plurality of detachable workstations is distributed about the respective planar workstation bases of each detachable workstation in a symmetric arrangement (screw holes formed by 45 in the base as shown in Fig. 3 of Rivera).
Alternatively for claims 17 and 18, if the workstation bases (12) of Rivera are employed on the posts, four attachment apertures (22) of each of the plurality of detachable workstations would be distributed about the respective planar workstation bases of each detachable workstation in a symmetric arrangement. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams by using the workstation bases of Rivera therein, to provide cup holders with the assembly.
For claim 19, Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera and Williams further teaches that the attachment arm, the crossbar, and the plurality of workstation posts collectively define a unitary configuration such that the T-bar frame is defined by a singular frame component (Fig. 1 of Tejeda Del Valle).
Response to Arguments
It is agreed that the rejection using Del Valle et al (D1,014,987) in view of Rivera (6,189,458) fails to teach the new limitations found in claim 1. However, as stated above, by using the attachment arm of Williams (2023/0166664) in the assembly of Del Valle in view of Rivera in place of the original arm, the new limitations are met. The examiner contends that it would have been obvious to modify the assembly of Tejeda Del Valle in view of Rivera by using an alternate attachment arm on the assembly, i.e. using the attachment arm of Williams in place of the arm presently used, to simplify the attachment of the assembly to the vehicle by using a single member attachment arm.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wilkens
March 5, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637