DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are presented for examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 14-18 and 20 under U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argue that the network 150 in the reference is not equivalent to communication network, however that is not a good assumption, refer to the applicant own specification as shown below which shows the communication network is bus or lines that facilitate communication
For example, as pointed out from the applicant own spec, the communication network is a bus or a line that facilitate communication as shown below.
Applicant state that network 150 is not equivalent the communication network, however that is not the case. As pointed out, it shows that in paragraph 0019, network 150 include the CAN bus and the CAN controller as shown below.
[0019] The computing platform 104 may be further configured to communicate various electronic control units (ECUs) 152 via one or more in-vehicle network 150. The in-vehicle network 150 may include, but is not limited to, one or more of a CAN, an Ethernet network, and a media-oriented system transport (MOST), as some examples.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained, however to help with the prosecution of this application, additional rejection is given below with the prior art provided by the applicant from the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2-5, 7-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano (US Patent Application 20170021905).
As per claim 1, Nakano teaches a low energy system [system shown in figure 3] for waking a powered device [21, fig. 3] of a marine vessel from a sleep state to a wake state, the low energy system comprising [0047, 0051, as pointed out controller 31 having a sleep state and a wake state and send signal to power device 21 to activate the motor of the boat]:
a communication network [305, fig. 3] configured for communicating a signal for waking the powered device [0047, 0051 as pointed out, a signal for returning (activating) the keyless controller 31 from a sleep state to a state in which the authentication process can be executed. Signal lines 305 is used to active the controller then the ECM 21 to power or activate the motor of the boat].
a controller [31, fig. 3] electrically coupled to the powered device, the controller having a sleep state and a wake state [0047, as shown in figure 3, controller 31is connected to motor control 21, where the controller 21 has a sleep state].
wherein the controller is configured to receive the signal within the communication network, and wherein the controller is configured to wake from the sleep state thereof and to wake the powered device from the sleep state thereof when the signal is received, wherein the controller being in the sleep state thereof before the signal is received conserves power for the marine vessel [0047, 0051, as pointed out the controller can be in sleep mode and receive a signal to activate the motor control 21 to start the motor. In this case, the signal flow from the controller to the motor control then activate the motor].
As per claim 18, Nakano teaches a method [method implemented by apparatus shown in figure 3] for conserving power managing a powered device on a marine vessel, the powered device having a sleep state and a wake state, the method comprising [0047, 0051, as pointed out controller 31 having a sleep state and a wake state and send signal to power device 21 to activate the motor of the boat]:
receiving via a controller a signal for waking the powered device from the sleep state thereof, wherein the signal is received via a communication network [0047, 0051 as pointed out, a signal for returning (activating) the keyless controller 31 from a sleep state to a state in which the authentication process can be executed. Signal lines 305 is used to activate the controller then the ECM 21 to power or activate the motor of the boat].
waking the controller from a sleep state thereof when the signal is received [0047, as shown in figure 3, controller 31 is connected to motor control 21, where the controller 21 has a sleep state can wake up from activated signal].
waking the powered device via the controller when the controller is woken, wherein the controller being in the sleep state thereof before the signal is received conserves power for the marine vessel [0047, 0051, as pointed out the controller can be in sleep mode and receive a signal to activate the motor control 21 to start the motor. In this case, the signal flow from the controller to the motor control then activate the motor].
As per claim 3, Takano teaches the powered device includes a marine drive operable to generate propulsion for the marine vessel [as shown in figure 1 shows motor 2 with propeller in the rear bottom of the motor].
As per claim 4, Takano teaches the controller is a first controller, wherein the marine vessel further comprises a second controller [32, fig. 3] configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless key, to determine whether the wireless key meets predetermined criteria [0042, as shown in figure 1, the controller include wireless communication device 32 that communize with the key wirelessly].
to generate the signal when the wireless key meets the predetermined criteria, wherein the signal generated when the wireless key meets the predetermined criteria causes the powered device to wake from the sleep state thereof [0047, as pointed out as a result of the authentication, the device can be activated rom a sleep state to activate the motor].
As per claim 5, Takano teaches wherein the powered device includes a marine drive [0049, as shown in figure 3, engine 25 is connected to the controller via starter 22].
As per claim 7, Takano teaches the second controller is configured to be woken from a sleep state to a wake state thereof via actuation of a button, wherein the second controller is configured to wirelessly communicate with the wireless key when in the wake state of the second controller, and wherein the second controller being in the sleep state conserves power for the marine vessel [0051, controller 31 and controller 21, where the controller 21 can be in inactive or sleep state where it is activated by the button in on position].
As per claim 8, Takano teaches the second controller is configured to be woken via the button without communicating though the communication network [0053, as shown in figure 1, controller 21 can be activated via switch 403].
As per claim 9, teaches the controller is configured to consume less than 0.1 Watt in the sleep state thereof [0047, low power controller in sleep state].
As per claim 10, Takano teaches the controller is a first controller and the powered device is a first powered device, further comprising a second controller electrically coupled to a second powered device of the marine vessel [0046, 0052, as shown in figure 2, controller 5-1 is connected to controller 4-1 and connected to motor 111-1].
the second controller having a sleep state and a wake state, wherein the second controller is configured to receive the signal within the communication network [0052, as pointed out the remote-control ECU activate the onboard ECU to activate the motor].
wherein the controller is configured to wake from the sleep state thereof and to wake the second powered device from the sleep state thereof when the signal is received, wherein the second controller being in the sleep state thereof before the signal is received conserves power for the marine vessel [0021, as pointed out the controller 21 is activated by the controller 31 when the controller 31 is waking from the sleep state by receiving an activation signal].
As per claim 11, Katano teaches the controller is a first controller and the powered device is a first powered device, further comprising a second controller electrically coupled to a second powered device of the marine vessel, the second controller having sleep state and a wake state, wherein the second controller is configured to generate the signal when waking the second powered device such that the first powered device is also woken [0051, the motors are activated based on the activation of the controller 21 from signal receiving from controller 31].
As per claim 12, Katano teaches the second controller is configured to detect a wireless key, to determine whether the wireless key meets predetermined criteria, and to generate the signal when the wireless key meets the predetermined criteria [0021, controller 21 is activated based on authentication signal].
As per claim 13, Takano teaches the controller is a first controller [21-1, fig. 1] and the powered device is a first powered device [25-1, fig. 1], further comprising a second controller [21-2, fig. 1] electrically coupled to a second powered device [25-2, fig. 1] of the marine vessel [1, fig. 1] [0039, as shown in figure 1, the boat include 2 controllers 21’s and 2 motors 25’s where each controller is connected to each motor].
the second controller having a sleep state and a wake state, and further comprising a button operable to wake the second controller, wherein the second controller is configured to generate the signal when the button is actuated such that both the first powered device and the second powered device are woken thereby [0051, as pointed out the controller can be in an inactive state where they can then be receive a signal to be activated and activate the motors].
As per claim 14, Takano teaches the signal is provided as 12 VDC [0045, battery 24 can be a 12 volts battery as shown in figure 3].
As per claim 15, Takano teaches the powered device is one of a plurality of powered devices, and wherein the signal being communicated via the communication network causes all of the plurality of powered devices to be woken from the sleep states thereof [0047, 0051, as pointed and shown in figure 1 and 3, the controller waking from the sleep sate to enable the power devices to function].
As per claims 19 and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 are also anticipated by Takano for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claims 2, 6, 16-17 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano (US Patent Application 20200216018).
As per claim 21, Nakano teaches a method [method shown in figure 8] of controlling a plurality of marine drives [111, 111, fig. 1] of a marine vessel [marine shown on figure 1], the method comprising:
receiving via an authentication device a key input [1, fig. 2] and outputting an authentication signal when the key input matches a predetermined criteria [0071, as pointed out key output signal send authentication signal to the controller where the signal is received and determine if there is a match with the code stored].
waking a first marine drive [111-1, fig. 1] within the plurality of marine drives and a second marine device [111-2, fig. 1] within the plurality of marine drives simultaneously when receiving a request from a first switch [26a, fig. 2] and the authentication signal [0066, 0073, 0081, fig. 9 the motors are started as a result, for example first motor, second motor and so forth, when the switch 26a is in on state and perform authentication as shown in figure 9].
waking a first controller operatively coupled to the first marine device when receiving a request from a second switch [0073, as a result of the authentication at least one of the motors can be started where each motor connected to an ECU as shown in figure 2].
waking a second controller operatively coupled to the second marine device when receiving a request from a third switch [0073, as a result of the authentication at least one of the motors can be started. As shown in figure 2, each ECU is connected to a motor which can active at least one motor or all of them, where each portion of the switch is connected to a respective EECU and motor].
wherein the first controller and the second controller are each different than the authentication device [0046, as shown in figure 2, each ECU 5 is connected to specific marine drive 4, where each can be controlled or activate separately. As shown in figure 2, the portable device 1 which is connected to receiving device 2 that perform authentication are different from the remote-control ECU that connect to outbound motor ECU].
As per claim 2, Takano teaches the communication network includes a CAN bus [0051, control area network communication (CAN)].
As per claim 6, Takano teaches the powered device is a first powered device, and wherein the second controller is configured to wake a second powered device from a sleep state thereof [0073, as a result of the authentication at least one of the motors can be started. As shown in figure 2, each ECU is connected to a motor which can active at least one motor or all of them, where each portion of the switch is connected to a respective EECU and motor].
As per claim 16, Takano teaches the controller is configured to be woken via each of receiving the signal via CAN bus, receiving the signal as 12 VDC, and a button electrically coupled to the controller other than through the communication network [0051, control area network communication and 12volt battery connected as shown in figure 2].
As per claim 17, Takano teaches the powered device is one of a plurality of powered devices and the controller is one of a plurality of controllers configured to wake the plurality of powered devices, each of the plurality of controllers being configured to be woken from a sleep state thereof via each of actuation of a button electrically coupled thereto than through the communication network, receiving the signal via CAN bus, and receiving the signal as 12 VDC [0070, start and stop switch which activate the motor via communication area network].
As per claim 22, Takano teaches the second switch and the third switch are among a plurality of switches corresponding to the plurality of marine drives such that each of the plurality of marine drives is independently wakable therewith [0067, 0069, as shown in figure 2, the system includes multiple switches such as 27a, 27b, 27c that connect to specific remote ECU to remote motor board ECU to activate the connected motor].
As per claim 23, Takano teaches the key input is receivable via a smartphone [0046, remote key which includes smart key].
As per claim 24, Takano teaches receiving the request from the second switch wakes the first controller without waking the second controller [0067, 0069, as shown in figure 2, multiple switches activate specific ECU then active specific motor].
As per claim 25, Takano teaches receiving the request from the second switch wakes the first controller without the authentication device outputting an authentication signal [0067-0069, switch 27a or so perform activation such as star/stop without authentication].
As per claim 26, Takano teaches the key input is a first key input and the predetermined criteria is a first predetermined criteria, further comprising receiving via the first controller a second key input and outputting an authentication signal when the second key input matches a second predetermined criteria [0071, 0083, 0086, key input match the authentication code].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 9, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tillman (US Patent Application 20200223376).
As per claim 1, Tillman teaches a low energy system [100, fig. 1] for waking a powered device [102, fig. 1] of a marine vessel from a sleep state to a wake state, the low energy system comprising [0013, system 100 shown in figure 1, where the method is implanted in figure 2, where the power device is viewed as a boat or a vehicle as pointed out form the listed paragraphs]:
a communication network [150, fig. 1] configured for communicating a signal for waking the powered device [0021, device 150 is viewed as the vehicle network communication device that send signals to the ECU to control the ECU to wake up from sleep].
a controller [126, fig. 1] electrically coupled to the powered device, the controller having a sleep state and a wake state [0021, as pointed out the ECU can be in sleep states where it can then receive a wake signal].
wherein the controller is configured to receive the signal within the communication network, and wherein the controller is configured to wake from the sleep state thereof and to wake the powered device from the sleep state thereof when the signal is received, wherein the controller being in the sleep state thereof before the signal is received conserves power for the marine vessel [0022-0025, as pointed out the ECU can be in sleep mode where it can then receive a wakeup signal, to control the vehicle or the boat to turn on].
As per claim 2, Tillman teaches the communication network includes a CAN bus [0012, 0019, as shown in figure 1, in-vehicle network 150 can be a CAN bus interface].
As per claim 9, Tillman teaches, wherein the controller is configured to consume less than 0.1 Watt in the sleep state thereof [0021, power saving process as low power mode].
As per claim 14, Tillman teaches the signal is provided as 12 VDC [0023, as pointed out and shown in figure 1, the device can be battery powered].
As per claim 15, Tillman teaches the powered device is one of a plurality of powered devices, and wherein the signal being communicated via the communication network causes all of the plurality of powered devices to be woken from the sleep states thereof [0021-0024 and shown in figure 2-3, send signals to wake up the system].
As per claim 16, Tillman teaches the controller is configured to be woken via each of receiving the signal via CAN bus, receiving the signal as 12 VDC, and a button electrically coupled to the controller other than through the communication network [0012, 0019, as shown in figure 1 CAN communication interface with the controller].
As per claim 17, Tillman teaches the powered device is one of a plurality of powered devices and the controller is one of a plurality of controllers configured to wake the plurality of powered devices, each of the plurality of controllers being configured to be woken from a sleep state thereof via each of actuation of a button electrically coupled thereto other than through the communication network, receiving the signal via CAN bus, and receiving the signal as 12 VDC [0021, 0023-0024, so the vehicle which an be a boat it is an off state where a signal can be turn on for the vehicle to be on the on state after receiving the wakeup signal from the controller via a CAN communication interface].
As per claims 18 and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 18 and 20 are also anticipated by Tillman for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillman (US Patent Application 20200223376) in the view of Inoue (US Patent Application 20230249573).
As per claim 3, Tillman does not teach the powered device includes a marine drive operable to generate propulsion for the marine vessel.
However, Inoue teaches the powered device includes a marine drive operable to generate propulsion for the marine vessel [0018, fig. 1, as shown in figure 1, watercraft 100 include propulsion device 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Tillman to include the method of Inoue in order to control the propulsion device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176