DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to communication entered 11/14/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application, filed 06/05/2024, Pub. No. US 2024/0361310 A1, published 10/31/2024, which claims benefit of 63/624,181, filed 01/23/2024, is a continuation-in-part of 18/195,049, filed 05/09/2023, Pub. No. US 2024/0301490 A1, published 09/12/2024, which claims benefit of 63/339,782, filed 05/09/2022, and a continuation of PCT/US2024/32014, filed 05/31/2024, Pub. No. WO 2025/159784, published 07/31/2025.
Request for Prioritized Examination (Track I Request) filed 06/05/2024 and granted 08/09/2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 10-17 and 30-41 are currently pending. Claims 1-29 have been originally
pending and subject to restriction/election requirement mailed 09/23/2024. Claims 1, 3, 10 and 17 have been amended, and Claims 2, 7-9 and 18-29 have been canceled, as set forth Applicant’s amendment filed 11/25/2024. Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 16 and 17 have been amended; Claim 6 has been canceled; and new Claims 30-35 have been added, as set forth Applicant’s amendment filed 05/19/2025. Claims 10, 14, 17, and 30-35 have been amended; Claims 1 and 3-5 have been canceled; and new Claims 36-41 have been added, as set forth Applicant’s amendment filed 11/14/2025. Claims 13, 14, 16, 34, 35 and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33, 36-39 and 41 are examined.
Election/Restrictions
The Examiner notes that the newly added Claim 40 does not encompass the elected species W, which is optically detectable silica microchip or a set of optically detectable silica microchips, which species W has been elected without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2024.
Accordingly, Claim 40 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to the nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
I. The rejections of Claims 1 and 3-5 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
II. The rejection of Claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of the claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statemen submitted 11/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the Examiner. Please note that Art Unit and Examiner Name have been corrected by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they purport to be color drawings; however, the requirements for having color drawings in an application have not been satisfied. Note, e.g., the references to colors in the drawings at paragraph [0087] of the specification:
Specification filed 06/05/2024; Emphasis added.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12, 15, 31-33, 36-39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The subject matter of Claim 10 is indefinite because it is unclear whether “a population of capture beads” recited in the preamble is the same or different from a genus of the capture beads represented by generic Formula I recited in the body of the claim.
Claims 11, 12, 15, 31-33, 36-39 and 41 are rejected as being dependent upon the rejected Claim 10 and failed to cure the indefiniteness of Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Spuhler et al., WO 2023/154694, published 08/17/2023, priority data: US 63/307,727, 02/08/2022 (IDS filed 08/28/2024); which US counterpart is Spuhler et al., US 2025/0066761 A1, published 02/27/2025.
The Examiner notes that neither application 18/195,049, filed 05/09/2023, Pub. No. US 2024/0301490 A1, published 09/12/2024, nor application 63/339,782, filed 05/09/2022, provide a support for the instantly claimed bead.
Claims 10-12, 15, 31-33, 36 and 37, as recited in independent Claim 10, are drawn to:
Claims 17 and 30, as recited in independent Claim 17, are drawn to:
Spuhler et al., throughout the publication, teach:
Emphasis added.
Therefore, Spuhler et al. teach each and every of element of the instantly claimed capture bead and all elected species except of an optically detectable silica microchip as a label. However, Spuhler et al. teach the use of nanoparticles as labels, whereas silica microchips of up to 2 nm are known in the art:
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Spuhler et al., WO 2023/154694, published 08/17/2023, priority data: US 63/307,727, 02/08/2022 (IDS filed 08/28/2024); which US counterpart is Spuhler et al., US 2025/0066761 A1, published 02/27/2025; as evidenced by Bergo, US 2014/0323330 A1, published 10/30/2014.
The teachings of Spuhler et al., discussed in the 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) rejection above, are incorporated herein in its entirety. Although, as indicated above, in paragraph [0007], Spuhler et al. teach the beads transparent to visible spectrum light, such as, for example, the beads comprising polystyrene, and imaging comprising microscopy, time-lapse imaging microscopy, fluorescence microscopy, multi-photon microscopy, quantitative phase microscopy, surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy, videography, manual visual analysis, automated visual analysis, and combinations thereof (See, for example, Claim 42), this reference does not specifically teach brightfield microscopy as recited in the instant Claim 38.
However, as evidenced by Bergo, imaging by brightfield microscopy of TENTAGEL® beads, which beads comprise a polystyrene core with grafted polyethylene glycol (PEG) and are also employed in the instant application, is well-known in the art:
Emphasis added.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the beads, taught by Spuhler et al., which beads comprise polystyrene are imageable by brightfield microscopy.
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Brower et al., WO 2020/243160 A1, published 12/03/2020; which US counterpart is Brower et al., US 2022/0235406 A1, published 07/28/2022.
Brower et al., throughout the publication, teach:
Emphasis added.
Therefore, Brower et al. teach each and every of element of Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33 and 36-38 and all elected species except of an optically detectable silica microchip as a label.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33, 36-38 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Spuhler et al., WO 2023/154694, published 08/17/2023, priority data: US 63/307,727, 02/08/2022 (IDS filed 08/28/2024); which US counterpart is Spuhler et al., US 2025/0066761 A1, published 02/27/2025; as evidenced by Bergo, US 2014/0323330 A1, published 10/30/2014, further in view of Vijayan et al., US 2019/0093103 A1, published 03/28/2019 (IDS filed 08/28/2024).
The teachings of Spuhler et al. and Bergo, discussed in the 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) rejections above, are incorporated herein in its entirety.
Although, as indicated above, in paragraphs [0004] and [0005], Spuhler et al. teach a particle comprising one or more detectable moieties, and a particle indexing oligonucleotide, wherein the particle indexing oligonucleotide comprises a particle type identifier (PTI), wherein the particle type identifier identifies the one or more detectable moieties associated with the particle, this reference does not specifically teach that the particle type identifier ( = the capture bead index in the context of Claim 41) comprises a plurality of oligonucleotide strands sequentially attached to each other, and wherein each oligonucleotide strand, of the plurality of oligonucleotide strands, corresponds to a different optically detectable label of the set of optically detectable labels.
However, as evidenced by Vijayan et al., throughout the publication, and, for example, at FIG. 7, creating a bead-bound concatenated DNA barcode was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of skill in the art to implement a bead-bound concatenated DNA barcode for identifying more than the one detectable moiety associated with the particle, taught by Spuhler et al., wherein DNA barcode modules identifying the detectable moieties are assembled in a row in order to create the particle type identifier oligonucleotide.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 30-33, 36-39 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 30-36 of copending Application No. 18/734,832 (‘832 application), Pub. No. US 2024/0327824 A1, published 10/03/2024 (PTO-892 mailed 02/18/2025); a Notice of Allowance mailed 10/24/2025.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from
each other because ‘832 application claims an optically labeled perturbation bead comprising the structural elements of the instantly claimed capture bead:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
At pages 11 and 13 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that:
Emphasis added.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
First, Applicant’s argument is not sustainable at least because it is limited to the only embodiment of Spuhler et al. shown at FIG. 7 and does not take into consideration other embodiments shown, for example, at FIGs. 1 and 2 of Spuhler et al. as follows:
Second, as indicated above, Spuhler et al., throughout the publication, and, for example, in paragraph [0070] teach a nucleotide sequence configured to hybridize with at least one perturbation component of one or more perturbation components released from a cell during the assay, wherein the one or more perturbation components comprise mRNA released from the cell, and wherein the second nucleotide sequence comprises a poly-T oligonucleotide configured to hybridize with a poly-A region of the mRNA:
Spuhler et al., paragraph [0070]; Emphasis added.
Double Patenting
At page 14 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because, according to MPEP § 804 I.B.1, complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is either a reply by Applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action:
“A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Therefore, an application must not be allowed unless the required compliant terminal disclaimer(s) is/are filed and/or the withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) is made of record by the examiner. See MPEP § 804.02, subsection VI, for filing terminal disclaimers required to overcome nonstatutory double patenting rejections in applications filed on or after June 8, 1995.” Emphasis added.
Accordingly, the rejections of the claims are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GALINA M. YAKOVLEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678