Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, in the reply filed on July 21, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 18-19, and withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 21, 2026.
Regarding claim 18, the elected species does not teach “wherein the low-potential power line comprises a plurality of sub-low-potential power lines that are spaced apart from one another, and the plurality of sub-low-potential power lines are between the plurality of first sub- structures and the second sub-structure that are spaced apart from one another.”
Claim 19 is dependent on claim 18 and thus contains the same missing limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation, “wherein the second sub-structure includes a first sub-structure of the plurality of first sub-structures”. This creates uncertainty over whether the first sub-structure in question should be considered one of the plurality of first sub-structures or part of the second sub-structure.
Claim 22 recites the limitation, “the third inorganic encapsulation layer”, in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 23-24 are rejected because they are dependent on claim 22 and thus inherit the deficiencies of the parent claim. Claims 23-24 are also rejected due to the separate issues detailed below.
Claim 23 recites the limitation, “the third encapsulation layer”, in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation, “the third encapsulation layer”, in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the following will be assumed:
The first sub-structure in claim 17 is part of the plurality of first sub-structures.
The third inorganic encapsulation layer in claims 22-24 was meant to be the second inorganic encapsulation layer.
These rejections may be overcome by:
Rewriting claim 17 to make clear which of the sub-structures the first sub-structure belongs to (e.g., “wherein a first sub-structure of the plurality of first sub-structures further comprises an additional layer on the first sub-structure”).
Either reciting a third encapsulation layer in claim 22 or rewriting claims 22-24 to replace all instances of “the third encapsulation layer” with “the second encapsulation layer”.
Fig. 2 of Ochi, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 16 of Ochi, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 12-13, 16-17, 20-23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ochi et. al., Pub. No. US 2019/0363275, hereafter referred to as Ochi.
Regarding claim 1, Ochi teaches all of the limitations of the claim in Fig. 16, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner: “A display apparatus” ([0246]; Fig. 16, display device 1), “comprising: a substrate comprising a display area” ([0247] and [0252]; Fig. 16, substrate 2 and display region 5) “and a non-display area, the non-display area surrounding the display area” ([0247] and [0252]; Figs. 2 and 16, note that the frame region 6 surrounds the display region 5; also see [0060]: “the organic EL display device 1 includes the display region 5 in which the sub pixels 3 are arranged in a matrix shape and on which an image is displayed, and the frame region 6, which is a peripheral region surrounding the periphery of the display region 5 and on which the sub pixels 3 are not arranged.” and [0245]: “The present embodiment will be described in terms of the differences between the present embodiment and the first to fourth embodiments, and components having the same function as the components described in the first to fourth embodiments are assigned the same reference signs, and a description thereof is omitted.”); “a light-emitting element on the substrate in the display area” ([0054]; Fig. 16, organic EL element 24); “a bank on the substrate” ([0255]; Fig. 16, low bank BK1a); “an encapsulation layer on the light-emitting element” ([0087]; Fig. 16, sealing film 30), “the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, first inorganic layer 31), “an organic encapsulation layer on the first inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, organic layer 32), “and a second inorganic encapsulation layer on the organic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, second inorganic layer 33); “a low-potential power line on the substrate, the low-potential power line overlapping the organic encapsulation layer in the non-display area” ([0087] and [0250]; Fig. 16, organic layer 32 and wiring line L; also see [0253]: “Thus, in the present embodiment also, as described with reference to FIG. 3 in the first embodiment, the second electrode connecting portion 7 that provides the electrical conductivity between the wiring line L and the second electrode 23 is formed”; given that the second electrode 23 is part of the organic EL element 24, the wiring line L does not need to supply a high voltage; also note that the organic layer 32 overlaps the wiring line L); “a dam on the substrate, the dam surrounding the organic encapsulation layer in the non-display area” ([0093] and [0247]: “As illustrated in FIG. 16, on the inside of the bank BK4 (closer to the display region 5) and on the periphery of the display region 5 (namely, in a plan view, on the frame region 6 between the display region 5 and the bank BK4)”; Fig. 16, organic layer 32 and bank BK4; note that the bank BK4 contains the organic layer 32; also see [0245] and Fig. 2, and note that the bank BK4 surrounds all components except for the terminal portion 17T, with said other components having the organic layer 32 disposed on top of them); “and a plurality of structures at a first side of the dam and below the organic encapsulation layer” ([0248] and [0255]; Fig. 16, high bank portion BK1b and banks BK2 and BK3), “the plurality of structures comprising a first structure on the bank” ([0257]; Fig. 16, right-hand of the protrusions t) “and a plurality of second structures on the low-potential power line and at the first side of the dam” ([0248]; Fig. 16, banks BK2 and BK3; note that the banks BK2 and BK3 are disposed above the wiring line L), “wherein an end of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and an end of the second inorganic encapsulation layer overlap an end of the substrate at a second side of the dam that is opposite to the first side” ([0095]; Fig. 16; note that the first and second inorganic layers 31 and 33 end at a terminal portion 17T, which is being interpreted here as part of an end region of the substrate).
Regarding claim 4, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first structure is closer to the display area than the plurality of second structures” (Ochi Fig. 16; note that the high bank portion BK1b is closer to the display area than the banks BK2 and BK3).
Regarding claim 12, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a spacer on the bank” (Fig. 16, left-hand of the protrusions t); “and a planarization layer below the light-emitting element” ([0054]: “…an organic insulating film 17 including a flattening film…”; Fig. 16, organic insulating film 17), “wherein the first structure includes a same material as the spacer” ([0159-0160]: “Next, an organic film (not illustrated) that is formed, for example, by a positive-working photosensitive resin such as an acrylic resin or a polyimide resin, is formed in order to cover the first electrode 21, the organic insulating film 17, and the inorganic insulating films 15 and 16… the banks BK1 to BK4 formed by the above-described organic film are pattern formed by photolithography or the like.”; Fig. 16, protrusions t), “wherein the plurality of second structures include a same material as the spacer and the bank” ([0159-0160]; protrusions t, high bank portion BK1b, banks BK2 and BK3), “and wherein the dam includes a same material as the spacer, the bank, and the planarization layer” ([0159-0160]; protrusions t, high bank portion BK1b, banks BK2, BK3, and BK4).
Regarding claim 13, Ochi teaches all of the limitations of this claim in Fig. 16: “A display apparatus” ([0246]; Fig. 16, display device 1), “comprising: a substrate comprising a display area” ([0247] and [0252]; Fig. 16, substrate 2 and display region 5) “and a non-display area, the non-display area surrounding the display area” ([0247] and [0252]; Figs. 2 and 16, note that the frame region 6 surrounds the display region 5; also see [0060] and [0245]); “a light-emitting element on the substrate in the display area” ([0054]; Fig. 16, organic EL element 24); “a bank on the substrate” ([0255]; Fig. 16, low bank BK1a); “an encapsulation layer on the light-emitting element” ([0087]; Fig. 16, sealing film 30), “the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, first inorganic layer 31), “an organic encapsulation layer on the first inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, organic layer 32), “and a second inorganic encapsulation layer on the organic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, second inorganic layer 33); “a low-potential power line on the substrate, the low-potential power line overlapping the organic encapsulation layer in the non-display area” ([0087] and [0250]; Fig. 16, organic layer 32 and wiring line L; also see [0253]; given that the second electrode 23 is part of the organic EL element 24, the wiring line L does not need to supply a high voltage; also note that the organic layer 32 overlaps the wiring line L); “a first structure on the bank in the non-display area” ([0257]; Fig. 16, right-hand of the protrusions t; note that this can be considered to be within a non-display area due to being to the right of any of the organic EL elements 24); “a plurality of second structures on the low-potential power line in the non-display area” ([0248]; Fig. 16, banks BK2 and BK3; note that the banks BK2 and BK3 are disposed above the wiring line L); “and a dam outside the plurality of second structures, the dam surrounding the organic encapsulation layer in the non-display area” ([0093] and [0247]; Fig. 16, organic layer 32 and bank BK4; note that the bank BK4 contains the organic layer 32; also see [0245] and Fig. 2, and note that the bank BK4 surrounds the bank BK3), “wherein an end of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and an end of the second inorganic encapsulation layer are aligned with an end of the substrate” ([0095]; Fig. 16; note that the first and second inorganic layers 31 and 33 end at a terminal portion 17T, which is being interpreted here as part of an end region of the substrate).
Regarding claim 16, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the plurality of second structures comprise a plurality of first sub-structures having a first height” ([0248]; Fig. 16, bank BK2, height h21) “and a second sub-structure having a second height that is different from the first height” ([0248]: “As illustrated in FIG. 16, the banks BK2 and BK3 are formed such that the height h31 of the bank BK3 is higher than the height h21 of the bank BK2.”; Fig. 16, bank BK3, height h31), “and the plurality of first sub-structures and the second sub-structure are alternately arranged on the non-display area of the substrate” ([0248]; Fig. 16, note that the bank BK2 and the bank BK3 are placed one after the other).
Regarding claim 17, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second sub-structure includes a first sub-structure of the plurality of first sub-structures and an additional layer on the first sub-structure” (Note that, per [0159-0160], both banks BK2 and BK3 are formed from the same material, and thus bank BK3 can be regarded as part of the banks BK2 with an additional layer disposed on top; Fig. 16, banks BK2 and BK3).
Regarding claim 20, Ochi teaches all of the limitations of the claim in Fig. 16: “A display apparatus” ([0246]; Fig. 16, display device 1), “comprising: a substrate comprising a display area” ([0247] and [0252]; Fig. 16, substrate 2 and display region 5) “and a non-display area” ([0247]; Fig. 16, frame region 6); “a light-emitting element on the display area of the substrate” ([0054]; Fig. 16, organic EL element 24); “a dam on the non-display area of the substrate” ([0247]; Fig. 16, bank BK4); “a low-potential power line on the non-display area of the substrate” ([0087] and [0250]; Fig. 16, wiring line L; also see [0253]; given that the second electrode 23 is part of the organic EL element 24, the wiring line L does not need to supply a high voltage); “a plurality of first structures on the low-potential power line in the non-display area and at a first side of the dam” ([0248]; Fig. 16, banks BK2 and BK3; note that the banks BK2 and BK3 are disposed above the wiring line L); “and an encapsulation layer on the light-emitting element” ([0087]; Fig. 16, note that the sealing film 30 is disposed over the organic EL element 24), “the encapsulation layer including an organic encapsulation layer that overlaps the plurality of first structures” ([0087]; Fig. 16, note that the organic layer 32 overlaps the banks BK2 and BK3) “and extends past an end of the plurality of first structures to the dam without extending past an end of the dam” ([0087]; Fig. 16, note that the organic layer 32 contacts the bank BK4 but does not extend completely over it).
Regarding claim 21, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20, further comprising: a bank on the display area and the non-display area of the substrate” ([0255]; fig. 16, bank BK1); “and a second structure on the bank in the non-display area” ([0257]; Fig. 16, right-hand of the protrusions t), “the organic encapsulation layer overlapping the second structure and extending past an end of the second structure” ([0087]; Fig. 16, note that the organic layer 32 overlaps and extends past the right-hand of the protrusions t; note that this can be considered to be within a non-display area due to being to the right of any of the organic EL elements 24), “wherein the plurality of first structures are between the second structure on the bank and the dam” ([0248]; Fig. 16, note that the banks BK2 and BK3 are between the right-hand of the protrusions t and the bank BK4).
Regarding claim 22, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20, wherein the encapsulation layer further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, first inorganic layer 31) “and a second inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, second inorganic layer 33) “where the organic encapsulation layer is between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer” ([0087]; Fig. 16, note that the organic layer 32 is between the first inorganic layer 31 and the second inorganic layer 33), “wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the third inorganic encapsulation layer overlap the plurality of first structures and the dam” ([0087] and [0248]; Fig. 16, note that the first inorganic layer 31 and the second inorganic layer 33 overlap the banks BK2, BK3, and BK4; also note that, per the discussion of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), it is assumed for examination purposes that the “third inorganic encapsulation layer” was meant to be the second inorganic encapsulation layer) “and extend past the end of the dam” ([0087] and [0248]; Fig. 16, note that the first inorganic layer 31 and the second inorganic layer 33 extend past the bank BK4).
Regarding claim 23, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 22, wherein an end of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and an end of the third inorganic encapsulation layer are aligned with an end of the substrate at a second side of the dam that is opposite to the first side” ([0095]; Fig. 16; note that the first and second inorganic layers 31 and 33 end at a terminal portion 17T, which is being interpreted here as part of an end region of the substrate; also note that, per the discussion of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), it is assumed for examination purposes that the “third inorganic encapsulation layer” was meant to be the second inorganic encapsulation layer).
Regarding claim 25, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of first structures comprises a first sub-structure” ([0248]; Fig. 16, leftmost two portions of the bank BK3) “and a plurality of second sub-structures” ([0248]; Fig. 16, bank BK2 and the rest of the bank BK3, “the first sub-structure between a first subset of the plurality of second sub-structures and a second subset of the plurality of second sub-structures” ([0248]; Fig. 16, note that the leftmost two portions of the bank BK3 are disposed between the bank BK2 and the rest of the bank BK3).
Regarding claim 26, Ochi further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20, wherein the organic encapsulation layer surrounds each of the plurality of first structures” ([0087] and [0248]; Fig. 16, note that the organic layer 32 surrounds the banks BK2 and BK3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi.
Regarding claim 2, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein a height of the first structure is different from a height of each of the plurality of second structures.”
Ochi, however, discloses a range of 1.5 µm to 3.5 µm for the height h12 of the high bank portion BK1b and a range of 1 μm to 2.5 μm for the height h11 of the low bank portion BK1a ([0100]: “The height of the protrusion t is not particularly limited to a specific value, and is set such that the height h12 of the high bank portion BK1b is greater than h11. As an example, the height h11 of the low bank portion BK1a is formed to be from 1 μm to 2.5 μm, and the height h12 of the high bank portion Bk1b is formed to be from 1.5 μm to 3.5 μm (h11 is less than h12).”). Furthermore, Ochi discloses a range of 1.5 µm to 3.5 µm for the height h21 of the bank BK2 ([0107]: “As an example, the height h21 of the bank Bk2 is formed to be from 1.5 μm to 3.5 μm…”).
If, for example, 1 µm is chosen for h11 and 3.5 µm is chosen for h12, then the height of the protrusion t will be 2.5 µm; this can be made to differ from h21 by choosing, for example, 2 μm for h21. Therefore, the device of Ochi, with this choice of heights, teaches “wherein a height of the first structure is different from a height of each of the plurality of second structures.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have set the heights of the banks BK2 and BK3 so that the height of the protrusion t is higher than that of the bank BK2 because adjusting the heights of the various banks will allow for different boundaries at which the organic layer can be stopped and because current case law holds that the fact that some choices of the heights h21 and h31 of the banks BK2 and BK3 yield a height of the protrusion t that differs from h21 establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 I: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”).
Regarding claim 3, Ochi as applied to claim 2 further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the height of the first structure is greater than the height of each of the plurality of second structures” (Ochi [0107], [0248], and [0255]; Fig. 16, protrusion t, banks BK2 and BK3, heights h21 and h31; note that, using h11 = 1 μm, h12 = 3.5 μm, and h21 = 2 μm, the protrusion has a height of 2.5 μm, which is greater than h21).
Fig. 1 of Wang, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 2 of Wang, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Claims 5-7, 14-15, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of Wang et. al., Pub. No. US 2023/0046867, hereafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 5, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1” but does not teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the substrate in the non-display area, the crack detection part surrounding the dam, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer cover side surfaces of the crack detection part and a top surface of the crack detection part.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the substrate in the non-display area” (Wang [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2, crack detection structure 5; note that the crack detection structure 5 lies outside the display region AA), “the crack detection part surrounding the dam” (Wang [0054], [0071] and [0089]; Figs. 1 and 2, blocking structure 4, consisting of first and second blocking structures 41 and 42; note that the crack detection structure 5 surrounds the blocking structure 4), “wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer cover side surfaces of the crack detection part and a top surface of the crack detection part” (Wang [0053]: “For example, the first encapsulation layer 31 and the third encapsulation layer 33 may include an inorganic material…”; Fig. 2, note that the first and third encapsulation layers 31 and 33 cover the top and side surfaces of the crack detection structure 5).
The crack detection structure of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi as a similar crack detection structure disposed outside of and surrounding the dam and under the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have included a crack detection structure as taught by Wang in the device of Ochi because it would provide a means of detecting damage to the display and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ochi and Wang described in the discussion of claim 5 further teaches “The display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the crack detection part” (Wang [0053]; Fig. 2, note that the first encapsulation layers 31 is in contact with the crack detection structure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein the dam covers an end of the low-potential power line.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “wherein the dam covers an end of the low-potential power line” (Wang [0071] and [0082]; Figs. 1 and 2, blocking structure 4 and power supply signal line VSS; note that the blocking structure 4 covers a portion of the power supply signal line VSS).
The power supply signal line of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi by extending the wiring line L such that it is covered by the bank BK4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have extended the wiring line of Ochi to contact the dam as taught by Wang because such a widened wire would have lower resistance and it would be a simple substitution of one element for another.
Regarding claim 14, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 13” but does not teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the substrate in the non-display area, the crack detection part surrounding the low-potential power line, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the crack detection part.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the substrate in the non-display area” (Wang [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2, crack detection structure 5; note that the crack detection structure 5 lies outside the display region AA), “the crack detection part surrounding the low-potential power line” (Wang [0054] and [0082]; Figs. 1 and 2, crack detection structure 5 and power supply signal line VSS; note that the power supply signal line VSS is on the opposite side of the blocking structure 4 from the crack detection structure 5), “wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the crack detection part” (Wang [0053]; Fig. 2, note that the first encapsulation layers 31 is in contact with the crack detection structure 5).
The crack detection structure of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi as a similar crack detection structure disposed outside of and surrounding the wiring line L and under the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have included a crack detection structure as taught by Wang in the device of Ochi because it would provide a means of detecting damage to the display and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 15, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 13” but does not teach “wherein the dam overlaps an end of the low-potential power line.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “wherein the dam covers an end of the low-potential power line” (Wang [0071] and [0082]; Figs. 1 and 2, blocking structure 4 and power supply signal line VSS; note that the blocking structure 4 covers a portion of the power supply signal line VSS).
The power supply signal line of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi by extending the wiring line L such that it is covered by the bank BK4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have extended the wiring line of Ochi to contact the dam as taught by Wang because such a widened wire would have lower resistance and it would be a simple substitution of one element for another.
Regarding claim 24, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 22”, but does not teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the non-display area of the substrate at a second side of the dam that is opposite to the first side, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the third inorganic encapsulation layer overlap the crack detection part without the organic encapsulation layer overlapping the crack detection part.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “further comprising: a crack detection part on the non-display area of the substrate at a second side of the dam that is opposite to the first side” (Wang [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2, crack detection structure 5; note that the crack detection structure 5 is on the opposite side of the blocking structure 4 from the display region AA), “wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the third inorganic encapsulation layer overlap the crack detection part without the organic encapsulation layer overlapping the crack detection part” (Wang [0053]: “For example, the first encapsulation layer 31 and the third encapsulation layer 33 may include an inorganic material, and the second encapsulation layer 32 may include an organic material.”; Fig. 2, note that the first and third encapsulation layers 31 and 33 overlap the crack detection structure 5, but the second encapsulation layer 32 does not).
The crack detection structure of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi as a similar crack detection structure disposed outside of and surrounding the dam and such that the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers overlap it, but not the organic encapsulation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have included a crack detection structure as taught by Wang in the device of Ochi because it would provide a means of detecting damage to the display and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 29, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20” but does not teach “wherein a portion of the dam overlaps the low-potential power line.”
Wang, on the other hand, does teach “wherein the dam covers an end of the low-potential power line” (Wang [0071] and [0082]; Figs. 1 and 2, blocking structure 4 and power supply signal line VSS; note that the blocking structure 4 covers a portion of the power supply signal line VSS).
The power supply signal line of Wang can be incorporated into the device of Ochi by extending the wiring line L such that it is covered by the bank BK4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have extended the wiring line of Ochi to contact the dam as taught by Wang because such a widened wire would have lower resistance and it would be a simple substitution of one element for another.
Fig. 10 of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Claims 8, 9, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of Kim et. al., Pub. No. US 2024/0276766, hereafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 1”, but does not teach “wherein the plurality of second structures comprise: a plurality of first sub-structures; and a second sub-structure between a first subset of the plurality of first sub-structures and a second subset of the plurality of first sub-structures, and wherein a height of each of the plurality of first sub-structures is different from a height of the second sub-structure.”
Kim, on the other hand, does teach “wherein the plurality of second structures comprise: a plurality of first sub-structures” (Kim [0149]; Fig. 10, first dam DAM1 and third dam DAM3); “and a second sub-structure between a first subset of the plurality of first sub-structures and a second subset of the plurality of first sub-structures” (Kim [0149]; Fig. 10, second dam DAM2; note that the second dam DAM2 is between the first and third dams DAM1 and DAM3), “and wherein a height of each of the plurality of first sub-structures is different from a height of the second sub-structure” (Kim [0153]: “The height of the second dam DAM2 may be less than the height of the first dam DAM1.” and [0155]: “The height of the third dam DAM3 may be greater than the height of the first dam DAM1 and the second dam DAM2.”).
The structures of differing heights of Kim can be incorporated into the device of Ochi by making one of the portions of one of the banks BK2 or BK3 a different height from the rest.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have made one of the portions of one of the banks in the device of Ochi a different height as taught by Kim because it would allow for the organic material to be disposed within one of several different areas, each inside of one of the structures, and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ochi and Kim described in the discussion of claim 8 teaches “The display apparatus of claim 8” but does not teach “wherein a height of the dam is greater than the height of each of the plurality of first sub-structures.”
Kim, on the other hand, does teach “wherein a height of the dam is greater than the height of each of the plurality of first sub-structures” (Kim [0149] and [0157]: “The height of the fourth dam DAM4 may be greater than the height of the third dam DAM3.”; Fig. 10, fourth dam DAM4).
The height of the dam in the device of Kim can be incorporated into the combined device of Ochi and Kim described in the discussion of claim 8 by making the bank BK4 taller than the banks BK2 and BK3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have made the bank BK4, which functions as a dam, in the combined device of Ochi and Kim described in the discussion of claim 8 with a greater height than the other banks as taught by Kim because it would provide another option for which area to fill with the organic material, and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 30, Ochi teaches “The display apparatus of claim 20” but does not teach “wherein a height of the dam is greater than a height of each of the plurality of structures.”
Kim, on the other hand, does teach “wherein a height of the dam is greater than the height of each of the plurality of first sub-structures” (Kim [0149] and [0157]: “The height of the fourth dam DAM4 may be greater than the height of the third dam DAM3.”; Fig. 10, fourth dam DAM4).
The height of the dam in the device of Kim can be incorporated into the device of Ochi by making the bank BK4 taller than the banks BK2 and BK3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have made the bank BK4, which functions as a dam, in the device of Ochi with a greater height than the other banks as taught by Kim because it would provide another option for which area to fill with the organic material aside from the areas defined by the other banks BK2 and BK3, and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Conclusion
/R.E.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818