Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054).
.
6. Regarding Claim 1, Zevenbergen et al discloses end effector(100) comprising first and second frame bodies(210, 218) being connected to each other and angularly adjustable relative to each other, see Fig 1, Fig 2 and Fig 3a.
7. Zevenbergen et al further discloses end effector(1) comprising a plurality of the suction devices(102, 106), connected to the two frame bodies(210, 218) respectively, each of the suction devices including a suction cup(104, 108) including an attachment surface, see Fig 1, Fig 2 and Fig 3a, paragraph 32 lines 11-14 “However, in some implementations, the gripping surfaces may be fixed in orientation relative to one another such that the first direction of suction of the one or more first suction cups 104 and the second direction of the one or more second suction cups 108 remains perpendicular to one another before, during, and after such movement, paragraph 33 lines 1-2 “The first gripping surface 102 may be mounted to the robotic arm 114 by way of a fixed mount”.
8. Zevenbergen et al further discloses end effector(1) comprising first and second frame bodies(210, 218) with attachment surfaces, wherein the attachment surfaces of at least one plurality of the suction devices(104) is angularly adjustable relative to the frame bodies(210, 218), see Fig 1, Fig 2 and Fig 3a, paragraph 32 “The one or more first suction cups 104 and one or more second suction cups 108 may provide suction in respective directions, as shown. The one or more first suction cups 104 may provide suction in a first direction, and the one or more suction cups 108 may provide suction in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction. The first direction and the second directions may be in respective directions away from an object to be gripped by the suction gripper 102. As shown in FIG. 1, the one or more suction cups 104 may provide suction in an upwards (i.e., vertical) direction relative to the box 118, and the one or more suction cups 108 may provide in a rightwards (i.e., horizontal) direction relative to the box 118”.
9. Zevenbergen et al. does not explicitly disclose end effector comprising an attachment surface configured to be airtightly attached to a surface of a glass member.
10. Chen et al discloses an end effector configured to be air-tightly attached to a surface of a glass member, paragraph 62 “The end effectors(160a, 160b)) may be any device capable of engaging and supporting a portion of the glass ribbon, paragraph 64 “The plurality of gripping devices(162a, 162b) may be arranged to allow the end effectors(160a 160b) to secure themselves to the glass ribbon(204).
11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the end effector of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) with a glass carrier as taught by Chen et al. (20220298054) to obtain adjustable and secure gripping of surfaces of glass member.
12. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et al. (JP2000254878).
13. Regarding Claim 2, Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 1.
14. Zevenbergen et al. discloses two frame body(210, 218).
15. Zevenbergen et al. in view of Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose glass carrier wherein each of a plurality of rods are detachable.
16. However, Kimio et al discloses glass carrier wherein each of a plurality of rods are detachable, see Figs 1-3, paragraph 4 “An articulated arm according to the present invention that meets the above object includes a plurality of rod members provided with balls at both ends, a plurality of coupling members(30A-30E) provided with partially spherical seats facing each other at both ends and provided with a pair of half-split coupling pieces(33, 34) into which the balls of the rod members coupled to the partially spherical seats are tiltably fitted, and a fastening means(50) that fastens the pair of coupling pieces to adjust a fastening pressure of the balls mounted on the partially spherical seats, and the plurality of rod members(42B) and the plurality of coupling members are connected in series. The fastening pressure of the fastening means(50) of the connecting member is adjusted to such an extent that the ball is slidable in the partial spherical seat, and the ball fitted in the partial spherical seat is slid in the partial spherical seat and tilted so as to change the angle formed by each rod member and each connecting member”, paragraph 9 lines 3-4 “First, when the screws 51 of the coupling members 30A to 30E
(hereinafter referred to as coupling members X) are loosened”. The coupling member includes separable coupling pieces(33, 34) fastened together by a fastening means(50), hence allowing a detachable connection between the rod members, paragraph 5 “Here, a fixing member provided with a ball that fits into the partially spherical seat of the coupling member disposed on the base side, and a holder member provided with a ball that fits into the partially spherical seat of the
coupling member disposed on the front side may be provided. In this case, the series of the plurality of rod members and the plurality of connecting members”, paragraph 5 “In addition, the fastening means may include an insertion hole that penetrates through a side surface of a central portion of each of the pair of coupling pieces of the coupling member, and a screw that is mounted in the insertion hole and fastens both coupling pieces from both sides”.
17. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize glass carrier of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) with plurality of detachable rods and further modified by Kimio et al (JP2000254878) to facilitate disassembly of the connected members thereby enhancing maintenance and efficient operation of the glass carrier.
19. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et al. (JP2000254878).
20. Regarding Claim 3, Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 2.
22. Kimio et al further discloses glass carrier wherein the plurality of rods are each transversely connected to one another, a plurality of rod members transversely connected to each other through joints (30A-30E), see Figs 1-3, paragraph 4 “An articulated arm according to the present invention that meets the above object includes a plurality of rod members provided with balls at both ends, a plurality of coupling members provided with partially spherical seats facing each other at both ends and provided with a pair of half-split coupling pieces into which the balls of the rod members coupled to the partially spherical seats are tiltably fitted, and a fastening means that fastens the pair of coupling pieces to adjust a fastening pressure of the balls mounted on the partially spherical seats, and the plurality of rod members and the plurality of coupling members are connected in series.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify glass carrier of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) with plurality of rods that are each transversely connected to one another as taught by Kimio et al. (JP2000254878) to facilitate improved gripping thereby enhancing efficient operation of the glass carrier.
23.
24. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054).
25. Regarding Claim 4, Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 1.
26. Zevenbergen et al further discloses end effector(1) wherein the plurality of suction devices(104), are adjustably connected to the two frame bodies(210, 218) see Fig 1, Fig 2 and Fig 3a, paragraph 32 “The one or more first suction cups 104 and one or more second suction cups 108 may provide suction in respective directions, as shown. The one or more first suction cups 104 may provide suction in a first direction, and the one or more suction cups 108 may provide suction in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction. The first direction and the second directions may be in respective directions away from an object to be gripped by the suction gripper 102. As shown in FIG. 1, the one or more suction cups 104 may provide suction in an upwards (i.e., vertical) direction relative to the box 118, and the one or more suction cups 108 may provide in a rightwards (i.e., horizontal) direction relative to the box 118”.
27. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054).in further view of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925)
28. Regarding Claim 5, Zevenbergen et al. in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 4.
29. Van de Plassche discloses end effector(1) wherein the attachment surface of at least one of the plurality of suction devices is angularly adjustable relative to the frame, see Figs 5a-5f, Van de Plassche show an attachment configuration including a cup mounted to an attachment structure such that the attachment surface comprising the suction devices is angularly adjustable relative to the frame, paragraph 7 “ A flexible connection is realized between the suction cup frame and the main frame in the free position of the fixation means by making use of a connecting element which comprises a number of connecting rod parts as well as hinge means for hinging the connecting rod parts together at the end thereof”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify glass carrier of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) with plurality of detachable rods to include at least one of the plurality of suction devices that is angularly adjustable of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925) to facilitate improved gripping thereby enhancing efficient operation of the glass carrier.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et al. (JP2000254878) in further view of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925)
31. Regarding Claim 6, Zevenbergen et al. in view of Chen et al.
discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 4.
Zevenbergen et al. as modified by Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose glass carrier, wherein an adjustable range of the angle between the two frame bodies is larger than an adjustable range of an angle between the attachment surface and the frame.
32. Van de Plassche et al. discloses adjustable range of an angle between the attachment surface and the frame. A hinge means allowing angular movement of the suction cup frame bodies adjustable relative to the fixation means, paragraph 30 “in which position the suction cup assembly(62) has a high degree of freedom to take on various orientations”.
33. Kimio et al. discloses adjustable range of the angle between two frames, paragraph 11 “The center angle α of each of the partial spherical seats A and B provided in each connecting member X needs to exceed at least 180 degrees, and is preferably about 230 degrees”.
35. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify glass career of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) and be motivated to select the angle between the two frame bodies to be larger than the angle between the attachment surface and the frame as taught by Kimio et al (JP2000254878) and Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925 ) to allow for enhanced and optimal positioning of the frame bodies and attachment surface.
36. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et al (JP2000254878) in further view of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925) in further view of Notaras et al.(US20100139936)
37. Reg Claim 7, Zevenbergen et al in view of Chen et al. in further view of Kimio et al discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 3.
40. Kimio et al previously disclose glass carrier wherein each of a plurality of rods(97) are detachably connected to each other by a plurality of multiway connection, see Figs 1-3, comprising a rod member(97) including a rod piece(93) having a connection pin(92) and a hinge portion(94) rotably fitted to the connection pin(92), the hinge portion(94) includes a slot(grove) receiving part with the connection pin, paragraph 15 “A rod member (97) including a rod piece (93) having a connection pin (92) at one end, a hinge portion (94) rotatably fitted to the connection pin (92) at one end, and a rod piece (96) having a ball (95) fitted to a partial spherical seat (30C)(groove) of a connection member (31C) at the other end is provided, and the rod piece (93) and the rod piece (96) are finally fixed to each other by a set screw of the connection pin (92) and the hinge portion (94)”, paragraph 4 “An articulated arm according to the present invention that meets the above object includes a plurality of rod members(97) provided with balls at both ends, a plurality of coupling members provided with partially spherical seats facing each other at both ends and provided with a pair of half-split coupling pieces into which the balls of the rod members coupled to the partially spherical seats are tiltably fitted, and a fastening means that fastens the pair of coupling pieces to adjust a fastening pressure of the balls mounted on the partially spherical seats, and the plurality of rod members and the plurality of coupling members are connected in series.
38. Kimio et al further discloses glass carrier comprising of a groove, see Fig 3, a groove is provided in the connection portion and the connection pin received within the groove and providing hinged connection between the rod piece, paragraph 15 “A rod member (97) including a rod piece (93) having a connection pin (92) at one end, a hinge portion (94) rotatably fitted to the connection pin (92) at one end, and a rod piece (96) having a ball (95) fitted to a partial spherical seat (30C) of a connection member (31C) at the other end is provided, and the rod piece (93) and the rod piece (96) are finally fixed to each other by a set screw of the connection pin (92) and the hinge portion (94)”.
39. Kimio et al further discloses glass carrier comprising a fastening means including screw(51) configured to fasten the coupling members in a desired angular orientation.
40. Van de Plassche et al. discloses glass carrier, wherein the attachment surface of at least one of the pluralities of suction devices is angularly adjustable relative to frame, see Claim 1, a hinge means allowing angular movement of the suction cup frame bodies adjustable relative to the fixation means, paragraph 30 “in which position the suction cup assembly(62) has a high degree of freedom to take on various orientations”,
41. Zevenbergen et al in view of Chen et al. in further view of Kimio et al does not explicitly disclose glass carrier comprising of the grip bar having anti-slip structure thereon; the grip bar is detachably disposed on the plurality of rods by a quick release fastening member.
42. Notaras et al. discloses glass carrier comprising of the grip bar having anti-slip structure thereon; the grip bar is detachably disposed on the plurality of rods by a quick release fastening member, see Fig 2, show a grip bar(13/13A) having an anti-slip structure(12) thereon, the grip bar(13/13A) being detachably disposed on plurality of rods structure(11, 14) by a knob type quick-release fastener.
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify glass carrier of Zevenbergen as modified by Chen with the plurality of rod and plurality of multiway connection and motivated to select the angle between the two frame bodies to be larger than the angle between the attachment surface and the frame of Kimio et al. (JP2000254878) and Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925) with anti-slip grip bar and quick-release fasteners taught by Notaras et al.(US20100139936) to allow for enhanced and optimal positioning of the frame bodies and attachment surface and provide detachable anti-slip griping hence enhancing secured grip of the glass carrier and easy detachment of the grip bar.
44. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view ofVan de Plassche et al. (EP2329925).
45. Regarding Claim 8, Zevenbergen et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 1.
Zevenbergen et al. as modified by Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose glass carrier, wherein each of the two frame bodies includes at least one connection head including a positioning structure, and the positioning structures of the connection heads of the two frame bodies are adjustably positioned to each other.
46. Van de Plassche et al. further discloses, wherein each of the two frame bodies includes at least one connection head including a positioning structure, and the positioning structures of the connection heads of the two frame bodies are adjustably positioned to each other, see Fig 4a and 4b, show two frame bodies( 67-1, 67-2), having a connection head at the end, the connection heads are connected by hinge means(71, 72), and positioning structures are configured in such that the two frame bodies are adjustably positioned to each other, paragraph 27-28 “Figures 4a and 4b show the gripping device 61 according to a third preferred embodiment of the invention in a free position and in a fixed position, respectively. The guide rod 67 is made up of three guide rod parts 67-1, 67-2 and 67-3, which are interconnected via double-acting hinges 71, 72 whose hinge axes are oriented perpendicularly to each other. The double-acting hinges 71, 72 and 73, which introduce two degrees of freedom per hinge”.
47. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925) in further view of Xie(CN104265745)
42. Regarding Claim 9, Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. in further view of Van de Plassche et al. discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 8.
48. Van de Plassche et al. further discloses glass carrier, wherein the connection heads of the two frame bodies are rotatably connected to each other and rotatable about a rotation axis, paragraph 28 discloses a connection head at each end of the frame bodies rotatably connected to one another by a hinge means(71, 72), the connection heads are rotatable relative to each other about the hinge axis. paragraph 27-28 “Figures 4a and 4b show the gripping device 61 according to a third preferred embodiment of the invention in a free position and in a fixed position, respectively. The guide rod 67 is made up of three guide rod parts 67-1, 67-2 and 67-3, which are interconnected via double-acting hinges 71, 72 whose hinge axes are oriented perpendicularly to each other. The double-acting hinges 71, 72 and 73, which introduce two degrees of freedom per hinge”.
49. Van de Plassche et al. in view of Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose glass carrier comprising the positioning structure of the connection head of each of the two frame bodies includes a plurality of teeth arranged around the rotation axis, and the plurality of teeth of the connection heads of the two frame bodies are adjustably positioned to each other.
50. Xie discloses glass carrier comprising a positioning structure with plurality of teeth arranged around the rotation axis, see Fig 16-Fig 19, show a toothed member(10, 11), each having plurality of teeth(24) arranged around the rotation axis, where the first and second toothed members are rotatable relative to each other and their teeth engage each other to give a rotational position, Claim 7 “The method according to claim 1 for high strength quick-release fastener of airplane opening cover, wherein a tooth of the second toothed washer (11) are set with symmetrical two screwing rib blocks (29) and four thread columnar nut (3) end face of the groove, so as to drive the second toothed washer (11) to rotate”.
51. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify the glass carrier of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) with connection heads of the two frame bodies of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925) ( and plurality of toothed positioning structure as tough by Xie(CN104265745) to allow the plurality of teeth of the connection heads to be adjustably positioned to each other hence enhancing effective fastening and operational safety of the glass carrier.
52. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) in view of Chen et al. (20220298054) in further view of Kimio et al. (JP2000254878) in further view of Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925)
53. Regarding Claim 10, Zevenbergen et al. in view of Chen et al. in further view of Van de Plassche et al. discloses glass carrier and all the limitations of claim 8.
Zevenbergen et al. as modified by Chen et al. in further view of Van de Plassche et al. does not explicitly disclose glass carrier, wherein the connection head of each of the two frame bodies is detachable.
54. Kimio et al. discloses glass carrier, wherein the connection head of each of the two frame bodies is detachable, paragraph 4 discloses a detachable connection head, where the ball is received at the end of the rod member with a partial spherical seat formed by coupling pieces that are secured by a fastener allowing detachment of the connected members, see paragraphs 4, “An articulated arm according to the present invention that meets the above object includes a plurality of rod members provided with balls at both ends, a plurality of coupling members provided with partially spherical seats facing each other at both ends and provided with a pair
of half-split coupling pieces into which the balls of the rod members coupled to the partially spherical seats are tiltably fitted, and a fastening means that fastens the pair of coupling pieces to adjust a fastening pressure of the balls mounted on the partially spherical seats, and the plurality of rod members and the plurality of coupling members are connected in series, paragraph 5 “In addition, the fastening means may include an insertion hole that penetrates through a side surface of a central portion of each of the pair of coupling pieces of the coupling member, and a screw that is mounted in the insertion hole and fastens both coupling pieces from both sides”.
55. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify glass carrier of Zevenbergen et al.(US9498887) as modified by Chen et al. (20220298054) and Van de Plassche et al. (EP2329925 ) with detachable connection heads of the two frame bodies as taught by Kimio et al (JP2000254878) to facilitate assembly of the connected members thereby enhancing the movement and efficient operation of the glass carrier.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL T KIO whose telephone number is (571)270-0743. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8a.m -5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert W Hodge can be reached at 571-272-2097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654