DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vong et al. (US 20210327111 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Vong) in view of Unity (“The Visual Effect Graph Window”).
Regarding Claim 1, Vong discloses An effect edition method, comprising: (See Abstract, “The method comprises detecting user input activating a text effect selection control.”)
acquiring an effect action object to be added in response to an object addition trigger operation, and (See [0094], “FIG. 6 depicts a user interface 600 which allows for effects to be activated/de-activated and for parameters to be adjusted via a drop-down menu mechanism.” Also, see Fig. 6 showing an effect interface. Consider element 602 from Fig. 6 to correspond with an “effect action object”.
Lastly, see Abstract, “The method comprises detecting user input activating a text effect selection control.” If the text is considered as the object, then a “user input activating a text effect selection control” would imply an “Object addition trigger operation”.)
displaying a visual edition region of an effect edition interface; (See [0081], “Certain effects may be associated with one or more user adjustable parameters.” See Fig. 6 displaying element 606 showing Effect 1, Effect 2, . . . Consider interface menu 606 to correspond to a visual edition region and user interface 600 to correspond to “an effect edition interface”.)
displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome in response to an effect display trigger operation. (See Fig. 8 showing an text effect outcome. That it would be implied that this outcome would be shown once the effect has been selected and activated, and thus be “in response to an effect display trigger operation.”)
However, Vong does not explicitly disclose displaying an object subgraph corresponding to the effect action object in a visual edition region of an effect edition interface;
displaying a logic subgraph corresponding to an effect action logic to be added in the visual edition region in response to a logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object,
and establishing a connection relationship between the object subgraph and the logic subgraph to obtain an effect logic diagram corresponding to the effect action object; and
displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome corresponding to the effect logic diagram in response to an effect display trigger operation.
Unity teaches displaying an object subgraph corresponding to the effect action object in a visual edition region of an effect edition interface; (See Page 1 Paragraph 1, “Unity is the main window for Visual Effect Graph. This is where you can edit Visual Effect Graph Assets, and Subgraph Assets. . .”
See the Figure on Page 1 showing nodes for visual effects in which the user can edit the entry that changes the effects. Consider the “Spawn” Subgraph Element to be the “object subgraph”. In combination with Vong already teaching the visual edition region and effect edition interface, the combined arts would have the object subgraph from Unity be present within the visual edition region.)
displaying a logic subgraph corresponding to an effect action logic to be added in the visual edition region in response to a logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object, (See the Figure on Page 1 showing nodes for visual effects in which the user can edit the entry that changes the effects. Consider the “Initialize Particle”, “Update Particle”, “Quad Output”, etc. as a whole to be the logic subgraph.
Lastly, see Page 3, “To add graph elements, you can use any of the following methods: Right Click Menu : Right click to open the menu, select Add Node, then select the Node you want to add from the menu. This action is context-sensitive, based on the element that is below your cursor, and only provides you with graph elements that are compatible.” This teaches the “logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object”)
and establishing a connection relationship between the object subgraph and the logic subgraph to obtain an effect logic diagram corresponding to the effect action object; and (See the Figure on Page 1 figure showing connections between different nodes and subgraphs. In this case, we can see that there has been a connection established between the “Spawn” subgraph (object subgraph) and the “Initialize Particle”, “Update Particle”, “Quad Output”, . . . elements (logic subgraph). Next, consider the entirety of subgraphs in Figure 1 to correspond to “an effect logic diagram corresponding to the effect action object;”.)
displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome corresponding to the effect logic diagram in response to an effect display trigger operation. (See the Figure on Page 1 corresponding to an effect logic diagram. In combination with Vong already teaching displaying an effect outcome, the combined arts would have the effect outcome of the effect logic diagram be displayed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vong with Unity to include displaying an object subgraph, a logic subgraph, establishing a connection between the object and logic subgraph, and obtaining an effect logic diagram.
The motivation to combine Vong with Unity would have been obvious as both arts are within the field of effect editing and image processing. The benefit of having the object and logic subgraph, as well as effect logic diagram displayed in a connected node manner is that it gives increased flexibility and clarity for the users.
Regarding Claim 2, Vong in view of Unity disclose The effect edition method according to claim 1, wherein, the displaying a logic subgraph corresponding to an effect action logic to be added in the visual edition region in response to a logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object, comprises: displaying at least one candidate effect action logic corresponding to the effect action object, in response to a logic display trigger operation for the effect action object; and (See Vong Fig 6 showing element 612 corresponding to “candidate action logic”. Also see Unity Page 3, “To add graph elements, you can use any of the following methods: Right Click Menu : Right click to open the menu, select Add Node, then select the Node you want to add from the menu.”)
displaying the logic subgraph corresponding to the effect action logic, which is selected, in the visual edition region in response to a logic selection trigger operation for the candidate effect action logic. (See Unity the Figure on Page 1 showing nodes/subgraph for visual effects (logic subgraph) which shows the effect action logic. See Vong Fig. 6 interface menu 606 corresponding to a visual edition region. In this case, the displaying of the logic subgraph would be within the visual edition region and would obviously be in response to a when a candidate effect is selected (a logic selection trigger operation for the candidate effect action logic). The motivation to combine would have been similar that of Claim 1 rejection motivation.)
Regarding Claim 3, Vong in view of Unity discloses The effect edition method according to claim 2, wherein, the displaying at least one candidate effect action logic corresponding to the effect action object, comprises: determining at least one candidate effect action logic corresponding to the effect action object, based on an object type corresponding to the effect action object, and displaying the candidate effect action logic. (See Vong [0096], “Selection of a particular effect menu item 606 causes a specific effect sub-menu 608 to be displayed which includes: an activation/deactivation control 610 which toggles the specific effect on/off, and (where relevant to the particular effect in question) one or more parameter controls 612.”
Also see Unity Page 3, “To add graph elements, you can use any of the following methods: Right Click Menu : Right click to open the menu, select Add Node, then select the Node you want to add from the menu. This action is context-sensitive, based on the element that is below your cursor, and only provides you with graph elements that are compatible.” Here, Unity teaches the candidate elements should be “compatible” and be context sensitive. Compatible would imply some form of object type checking so that the displayed candidate items on the menu are suitable. The motivation to combine would have been similar to that of Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 9, Vong in view of Unity disclose The effect edition method according to claim 1, wherein, the displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome corresponding to the effect logic diagram, comprises: generating an effect execution script corresponding to the effect action object based on the effect logic diagram, executing the effect execution script to obtain the effect outcome, and (See Unity Page 2 under Toolbar Section showing “Compile”. Note that compiling would imply “generating an effect execution script corresponding to the effect action object based on the effect logic diagram, executing the effect execution script to obtain the effect outcome”)
displaying the effect action object with the effect outcome. (Vong already teaches the effect action object in Fig. 6 element 602. Vong also teaches to display an effect outcome, see Fig. 8. The motivation to combine would have been similar that of Claim 1 rejection motivation.)
Regarding Claim 10, Vong in view of Unity disclose An electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement an effect edition method, which comprises: (See Vong [0011], “In a second aspect, the present invention provides a computer processing system comprising: a processing unit; a display; and non-transient computer-readable storage medium storing instructions . . .” Note that a computer system would be implemented on a computer (electronic device).)
acquiring an effect action object to be added in response to an object addition trigger operation, and displaying an object subgraph corresponding to the effect action object in a visual edition region of an effect edition interface; displaying a logic subgraph corresponding to an effect action logic to be added in the visual edition region in response to a logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object, and establishing a connection relationship between the object subgraph and the logic subgraph to obtain an effect logic diagram corresponding to the effect action object; and displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome corresponding to the effect logic diagram in response to an effect display trigger operation. (The above limitations are similar those of Claim 1 and is therefore rejected under as similar rationale as that of Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 contains similar limitations as to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 contains similar limitations as to Claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 contains similar limitations as to Claim 9 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 19, Vong in view of Unity disclose A storage medium, comprising computer executable instructions, wherein, the computer executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, are configured to execute an effect edition method, which comprises: (See Vong [0011], “In a second aspect, the present invention provides a computer processing system comprising: a processing unit; a display; and non-transient computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed by the processing unit, cause the processing unit to:”)
acquiring an effect action object to be added in response to an object addition trigger operation, and displaying an object subgraph corresponding to the effect action object in a visual edition region of an effect edition interface; displaying a logic subgraph corresponding to an effect action logic to be added in the visual edition region in response to a logic addition trigger operation for the effect action object, and establishing a connection relationship between the object subgraph and the logic subgraph to obtain an effect logic diagram corresponding to the effect action object; and displaying the effect action object with an effect outcome corresponding to the effect logic diagram in response to an effect display trigger operation. (The above limitations are similar those of Claim 1 and is therefore rejected under as similar rationale as that of Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 contains similar limitations as to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-8, 13-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4 the cited prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination of elements cited in the claims as a whole. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the limitations: wherein, the logic subgraph comprises at least one logic node; at least one logic node comprises at least one level of node subgraph; and the node subgraph comprises a plurality of child nodes. Thus Claim 4 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claims 5-8, Claims 5-8 are dependent upon the base Claim of 4 and thus also contain allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 contains similar limitations as to Claim 4 and there contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claims 14-17, Claims 14-17 are dependent upon the base Claim of 13 and thus also contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611