DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-32 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boumediene et al. (US 9,995,012).
As concerns claim 29, Boumediene shows a support-wheel assembly (13, 12, 14) for mounting to a moldboard (15), the assembly comprising: a frame base (30, 20, 23, 40, 43) fixed to the moldboard (Fig. 1 & 2); a travel-angle frame (36) attached to the frame base to pivot (via 32) with respect to the moldboard about a travel-angle axis (Fig. 5); a travel-angle actuator (37) configured to pivot the travel-angle frame with respect to the frame base (Fig. 5); a spindle (33) mounted upon the travel-angle frame (Fig. 5); and a wheel (35) rotatably mounted (via 34) upon the spindle (Fig. 5).
As concerns claim 30, Boumediene shows wherein the travel-angle frame comprises: a spindle mount (portion of connector member 36 opposite anchor body that engages actuator 37) for operatively engaging the spindle, the spindle mount being non-rotatably attached with respect to the travel-angle frame to rotate therewith about the travel-angle axis, so that the travel-angle actuator is configured to drive the travel-angle frame to adjust a travel angle of the wheel (Fig. 5).
As concerns claim 31, Boumediene shows wherein the travel-angle actuator is a cylinder (col 5, ln 31-32).
As concerns claim 32, Boumediene shows wherein a proximal end of the travel- angle actuator (37) engages a proximal anchor (Fig. 3 & 5), the proximal anchor being operatively connected (indirectly) to the moldboard (Fig. 1-3).
As concerns claim 38, Boumediene shows a plowing system (10) comprising: a vehicle (A); a moldboard (15) operatively connected to the vehicle (Fig. 1), the moldboard having a wheel-engaging configuration wherein a lower edge of moldboard is placed less than about 18 inches above a level-ground surface (Fig. 1); and a support-wheel assembly (13, 12, 14) for mounting to the moldboard (15), the support-wheel assembly comprising: a frame base (30, 20, 23, 40, 43) fixed to the moldboard (Fig. 1 & 2); a travel-angle frame (36) attached to the frame base to pivot (via 32) with respect to the moldboard about a travel-angle axis (Fig. 5); a travel-angle actuator (37) configured to pivot the travel-angle frame with respect to the frame base (Fig. 5); a spindle (33) mounted upon the travel-angle frame (Fig. 5); and a wheel (35) rotatably mounted (via 34) upon the spindle (Fig. 5); wherein the support-wheel assembly is operatively connected to the moldboard to support the moldboard when the moldboard is in the wheel-engaging configuration (Fig. 1-3).
As concerns claim 39, Boumediene shows wherein the travel-angle frame comprises: a spindle mount (portion of connector member 36 opposite anchor body that engages actuator 37) for operatively engaging the spindle, the spindle mount being non-rotatably attached with respect to the travel-angle frame to rotate therewith about the travel-angle axis, so that the travel-angle actuator is configured to drive the travel-angle frame to adjust a travel angle of the wheel (Fig. 5).
As concerns claim 40, Boumediene shows wherein the travel-angle actuator is a cylinder (col 5, ln 31-32).
As concerns claim 41, Boumediene shows wherein a proximal end of the travel- angle actuator (37) engages a proximal anchor (Fig. 3 & 5), the proximal anchor being operatively connected (indirectly) to the moldboard (Fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 35, 37, 42, 44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boumediene et al. as applied to claims 29 and 38 above, and further in view of Rath (US 4,259,794).
As concerns claims 33 and 42, Boumediene discloses the claimed invention except for a wheel-height actuator configured to move the wheel vertically with respect to the travel-angle frame and thereby to position the wheel at a selected vertical position with respect to the moldboard. Rath teaches a wheel-height actuator (17) configured to move a wheel (11) vertically with respect to a travel-angle frame (21) and thereby to position the wheel at a selected vertical position with respect to a moldboard (Fig. 2 & 3). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Boumediene, as taught by Rath, to include a wheel-height actuator for the expected benefit of moving the wheel vertically with respect to the travel-angle frame and thereby positioning the wheel at a selected vertical position with respect to the moldboard. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a wheel-height actuator to move the wheel vertically with respect to the travel-angle frame and thereby to position the wheel at a selected vertical position with respect to the moldboard would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the support-wheel assembly design.
As concerns claims 35 and 44, the combination teaches wherein the wheel-height actuator includes a cylinder (Rath: hydraulic cylinder 17).
As concerns claims 37 and 46, the combination teaches wherein a proximal end of the wheel-height actuator (Rath: 17) engages a wheel-height anchor (Rath: 18) operatively connected to the travel-angle frame (Rath: Fig. 2 & 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34, 36, 43, 45, 47 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not appear to anticipate and/or render obvious:
a) a support-wheel assembly for mounting to a moldboard, the support-wheel assembly comprising: a frame base fixed to the moldboard; a travel-angle frame attached to the frame base to pivot with respect to the moldboard about a travel-angle axis; a travel-angle actuator configured to pivot the travel-angle frame with respect to the frame base; a spindle mounted upon the travel-angle frame; a wheel rotatably mounted upon the spindle, wherein the travel-angle frame comprises: an anchor body configured to engage a distal end of the travel-angle actuator; and a spindle mount for operatively engaging the spindle, the spindle mount being non-rotatably attached with respect to the travel-angle frame to rotate therewith about the travel-angle axis, so that the travel-angle actuator is configured to drive the travel-angle frame to adjust a travel angle of the wheel; a wheel-height actuator configured to move the wheel vertically with respect to the travel-angle frame and thereby to position the wheel at a selected vertical position with respect to the moldboard; and a spindle arm operatively connected to the spindle, the spindle arm defining a spindle portion including the spindle, an intermediate portion extending transversely from the spindle portion, and a mounting portion extending transversely from the intermediate portion, the spindle arm being pivotably mounted in a spindle mount; wherein the wheel-height actuator is configured to pivot the spindle arm about the spindle mount, rotating the spindle portion of the spindle arm to position the wheel at the selected vertical position.
b) a support-wheel assembly for mounting to a moldboard, the support-wheel assembly comprising: a frame base fixed to the moldboard; a travel-angle frame attached to the frame base to pivot with respect to the moldboard about a travel-angle axis; a travel-angle actuator configured to pivot the travel-angle frame with respect to the frame base; a spindle mounted upon the travel-angle frame; a wheel rotatably mounted upon the spindle; a sensing device operatively connected to the moldboard; and a wheel-angle driver operatively connected to the travel-angle actuator, wherein the sensing device is configured to detect movement of the moldboard with respect to a frame and to cause a proportional movement of the travel-angle actuator such that the wheel is maintained in alignment parallel to the frame during extension and retraction of the moldboard.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that Boumediene fails to disclose, teach or suggest a frame base fixed to the moldboard, a travel-angle frame attached to the frame base to pivot with respect to the moldboard about a travel-angle axis, and a travel-angle actuator configured to pivot the travel-angle frame with respect to the frame base, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Boumediene shows wherein the blade support (43) is fixed to the plow blade (50), the blade support (43) is fixed in at least one direction to the u-shaped frame (40), the u-shaped frame (40) is fixed in at least one direction to the horizontal beam (23) via the flanges (24), the horizontal beam (23) is fixed to the columns (20), and the wheel support (30) is fixed in at least one direction to the columns (20). Furthermore, the claim does not require that the frame base be a single member directly connected to the moldboard, and the claim does not limit the interpretation that multiple members being fixed in at least one direction relative to one another and to the moldboard corresponds to the frame base fixed to the moldboard. Therefore, Boumediene meets the claim language.
Boumediene shows wherein the connector member (36) is pivotally attached to the wheel support (30), which forms a portion of the frame base, and the connector member (36) pivots with respect to the multiple members (30, 20, 23, 40, 43) forming the frame base and the plow blade (50) about a generally vertical axis. Furthermore, the claim does not require that the connector member be directly adjacent the moldboard while pivoting about the axis, and the claim does not limit the interpretation that the connector member can be pivotally mounted to the wheel support and pivot with respect to the other multiple members forming the remaining portions of the frame base and the moldboard. Therefore, Boumediene meets the claim language.
Boumediene shows wherein the actuator (37) pivots the connector member (36) with respect to the wheel support (30), which forms a portion of the frame base. As stated above, the claim does not require that the frame base be a single member directly connected to the moldboard, and the claim does not limit the interpretation that multiple members being fixed in at least one direction relative to one another and to the moldboard corresponds to the frame base fixed to the moldboard. Thus, as shown in Fig. 5, the actuator pivots the connector member with respect to a portion of the frame base, and which the connector member also pivots with respect to the moldboard. Therefore, Boumediene meets the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672