DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to applicant’s remarks received on March 30, 2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims, filed on March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A: Applicant’s Remarks
For applicant’s remarks “See Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” filed on March 30, 2026.
A: Examiner’s Response
Applicant argues that the cited references either alone or in combination do not teach, disclose or suggest an audio processor configured to: responsive to transitioning from a low-power state to an active state during a voice call: activate a voice call processing path and a voice activation processing path; process, at the voice call processing path, voice call audio data; and process, at the voice activation processing path, voice activation audio data; and after processing has completed at both the voice call processing path and the voice activation processing path, transition from the active state to the low-power state.
Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments but respectfully disagree. Paragraph 0034 Prakash ‘484 specifically teaches responsive to transitioning from a low-power state to an active state during a voice call. Here, system 100 may decide to transition from the low-power state to the active state based on user prompting (e.g., manual reactivation), internal prompting (e.g., a processing need from an internal resource), etc. If a determination is made that network interface circuitry 114 should continue with low-power operation, then the flow may continue by returning to operation 502. Otherwise, in operation 524 network interface circuitry 114 may transition to the active state.
Paragraphs 0018-0023 of Prakash ‘484 teaches activating a voice call processing path (Fig. 1, Line 122) and a voice activation processing path (Fig. 1, Line between 120 & 112). Here, audio circuitry 112 may comprise circuitry configured to produce sound (e.g., a speaker) or capture sound (e.g., a microphone) and any related supporting resources (e.g., a sound card, amplifier, etc.) Moreover, some or all of audio circuitry 112 may be integrated into system 100, such as in the instance of a cellular handset that includes a built-in speaker and microphone for conducting telephone calls, or may be coupled to system 100 via a wired/wireless connection. In particular, system 100 may be coupled to Internet 116 via wireless connection to access point (AP) 118 (e.g., via WLAN). Presuming that system 100 is in the active state, the received information may generate sound 120 as a result of being processed by system 100 as shown by the line at 122.
Paragraphs 0021 of Prakash ‘484 teaches processing, at the voice call processing path, voice call audio data. Here, presuming that system 100 is in the active state, the received information may generate sound 120 as a result of being processed by system 100 as shown by the line at 122.
Paragraphs 0016 of Prakash ‘484 teaches processing, at the voice activation processing path, voice activation audio data. Here, main platform 102 may comprise circuitry configured to orchestrate operations when system 100 is in the active state. For example, main platform circuitry 102 may interact with audio circuitry 112 and network interface circuitry 114 in providing functionality such as streaming audio from the Internet, conducting a VoIP call, etc.
Furthermore, Paragraphs 0023 of Prakash ‘484 teaches after processing has completed at both the voice call processing path and the voice activation processing path, transition from the active state to the low-power state. Here, main platform 102 may handle most of the processing, for example, by processing path 122 when system 100 is in the active state. However, system 100 may transition to a low-power state at certain instances to conserve power. When transitioning to the low power state, main platform 102 may configure network interface circuitry 114 and/or low power engine (LPE) 140 as shown at 142 and 144. LPE 140 may be an entity in system 100 configured to provide processing functionality when system 100 is in the low-power state.
Thus, the cited references teach, disclose or suggest the Applicant’s claimed invention. Accordingly, it is submitted that the present application is not in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5, 9 & 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US 20170123484 A1 hereinafter, Prakash ‘484) in view of Murgia et al. (US 20120123775 A1 hereinafter, Murgia ‘775).
Regarding claim 1; Prakash ‘484 discloses a device (Fig. 1, System 100);
comprising:
an audio processor (Fig. 1, Main Platform 102. Paragraph 0016)
configured to: responsive to transitioning from a low-power state to an active state during a voice call (i.e. System 100 may decide to transition from the low-power state to the active state. In operation 524 network interface circuitry 114 may transition to the active state. Paragraph 0034):
activate a voice call processing path (Fig. 1, Line 122) and a voice activation processing path (Fig. 1, Line between 120 & 112);
process, at the voice call processing path, voice call audio data (i.e. Presuming that system 100 is in the active state, the received information may generate sound 120 as a result of being processed by system 100 as shown by the line at 122. Paragraph 0021);
and process, at the voice activation processing path, voice activation audio data (i.e. Main platform 102 may comprise circuitry configured to orchestrate operations when system 100 is in the active state. For example, main platform circuitry 102 may interact with audio circuitry 112 and network interface circuitry 114 in providing functionality such as streaming audio from the Internet, conducting a VoIP call, etc. Paragraph 0016);
and after processing has completed at both the voice call processing path and the voice activation processing path, transition from the active state to the low-power state (i.e. Main platform 102 may handle most of the processing, for example, by processing path 122 when system 100 is in the active state. However, system 100 may transition to a low-power state at certain instances to conserve power. When transitioning to the low power state, main platform 102 may configure network interface circuitry 114 and/or low power engine (LPE) 140 as shown at 142 and 144. LPE 140 may be an entity in system 100 configured to provide processing functionality when system 100 is in the low-power state. Paragraph 0023).
Examiner reasonably believes that Prakash ‘484 discloses each and every limitation as expressed above. However, Examiner cites Murgia ‘775 to cure any deficiencies of Prakash ‘484.
Murgia ‘775 discloses a post-noise suppression processing to improve voice quality with a method and system for improving quality of speech communications. The method may be for improving quality of speech communications in a system having a speech encoder configured to encode a first audio signal using a first set of encoding parameters associated with a first noise suppressor. The method may involve receiving a second audio signal at a second noise suppressor which provides much higher quality noise suppression than the first noise suppressor. The second audio signal may be generated by a single microphone or a combination of multiple microphones. The second noise suppressor may suppress the noise in the second audio signal to generate a processed signal which may be sent to a speech encoder. A second set of encoding parameters may be provided by the second noise suppressor for use by the speech encoder when encoding the processed signal into corresponding data.
Prakash ‘484 and Murgia ‘775 are combinable because they are from same field of endeavor of speech systems (Murgia ‘775 at “Technical Field”).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the speech system as taught by Prakash ‘484 by adding a speech as taught by Murgia ‘775. The motivation for doing so would have been because it is advantageous to avoid a misclassification which may result in wasting data and a suboptimal audio signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Prakash ‘484 with Murgia ‘775 to obtain the invention as specified.
Regarding claim 2; Murgai ‘775 discloses wherein the audio processor is configured to perform a silence detection operation in each of the voice call processing path and the voice activation processing path (i.e. The audio processing system 165 may be configured to receive the acoustic signals from an acoustic source via the primary and secondary microphones 155 and 160 (e.g., primary and secondary acoustic sensors) and process the acoustic signals. The primary acoustic signal and the secondary acoustic signal may be processed by the same combination of the transmitting noise suppressor 200 and speech encoder 300 to produce a signal with an improved signal to noise ratio for transmission across a communications network and/or routing to the output device. Paragraph 0041);
and to selectively bypass a noise suppression operation in at least one of the voice call processing path or the voice activation processing path based on the silence detection operation (i.e. The method 600 may commence at operation 605 with providing a first set of parameters associated with a first noise suppressor. The first set of parameters may also be default parameters intrinsic to the speech encoder and its native noise suppressor. The method 600 may proceed with configuring the speech encoder to encoder a first audio signal using the first set of parameters in operation 610. The speech encoder may be tuned to a specific built-in noise suppressor, bypassing the original built-in noise suppressor. See Abstract & Paragraphs 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 3; Murgai ‘775 discloses wherein the audio processor is configured to:
perform a first silence detection operation of the voice call audio data (i.e. The audio processing system 165 may be configured to receive the acoustic signals from an acoustic source via the primary and secondary microphones 155 and 160 (e.g., primary and secondary acoustic sensors) and process the acoustic signals. The primary acoustic signal and the secondary acoustic signal may be processed by the same combination of the transmitting noise suppressor 200 and speech encoder 300 to produce a signal with an improved signal to noise ratio for transmission across a communications network and/or routing to the output device. Paragraph 0041);
and selectively perform, at the voice call processing path, a first noise suppression operation based on the first silence detection operation (i.e. The method 600 may commence at operation 605 with providing a first set of parameters associated with a first noise suppressor. The first set of parameters may also be default parameters intrinsic to the speech encoder and its native noise suppressor. The method 600 may proceed with configuring the speech encoder to encoder a first audio signal using the first set of parameters in operation 610. Paragraphs 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 4; Murgai ‘775 discloses wherein the audio processor is configured to:
perform a second silence detection operation of the voice activation audio data (i.e. The audio processing system 165 may be configured to receive the acoustic signals from an acoustic source via the primary and secondary microphones 155 and 160 (e.g., primary and secondary acoustic sensors) and process the acoustic signals. The primary acoustic signal and the secondary acoustic signal may be processed by the same combination of the transmitting noise suppressor 200 and speech encoder 300 to produce a signal with an improved signal to noise ratio for transmission across a communications network and/or routing to the output device. Paragraph 0041);
and selectively perform, at the voice activation processing path, a second noise suppression operation based on the second silence detection operation (i.e. The method 600 may continue with providing a second set of parameters associated with a second noise suppressor in operation 615 and then reconfiguring the encoder to encode a second audio signal using the second set of parameters in operation 620. The second noise suppressor may be a high quality noise suppressor as compared to the native noise suppressor of the speech encoder. Paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 5; Murgai ‘775 discloses wherein the voice call processing path includes: a first audio silence detector (Fig. 2, Primary Microphone 155) configured to perform a first silence detection operation on the voice call audio data (i.e. The audio processing system 165 may be configured to receive the acoustic signals from an acoustic source via the primary and secondary microphones 155 and 160 (e.g., primary and secondary acoustic sensors) and process the acoustic signals. The primary acoustic signal and the secondary acoustic signal may be processed by the same combination of the transmitting noise suppressor 200 and speech encoder 300 to produce a signal with an improved signal to noise ratio for transmission across a communications network and/or routing to the output device. Paragraph 0041);
a first noise suppressor (Fig. 6, Steps 605-610) configured to selectively perform a first noise suppression operation of the voice call audio data based on the first audio silence detector (i.e. The method 600 may commence at operation 605 with providing a first set of parameters associated with a first noise suppressor. The first set of parameters may also be default parameters intrinsic to the speech encoder and its native noise suppressor. The method 600 may proceed with configuring the speech encoder to encoder a first audio signal using the first set of parameters in operation 610. Paragraphs 0060-0061);
and an encoder (Fig. 1, Speech Encode 300) configured to encode an output of the first noise suppressor (Fig. 1, Speech Encode 300 i.e. The speech encoder 300 may encode a digital audio signal containing speech received from the primary microphone 155 and from the secondary microphone 160 via the transmitting noise suppressor 200. Paragraph 0036);
and wherein the voice activation processing path includes: a second audio silence detector (Fig. 2, Secondary Microphone 160) configured to perform a second silence detection operation on the voice activation audio data (i.e. The audio processing system 165 may be configured to receive the acoustic signals from an acoustic source via the primary and secondary microphones 155 and 160 (e.g., primary and secondary acoustic sensors) and process the acoustic signals. The primary acoustic signal and the secondary acoustic signal may be processed by the same combination of the transmitting noise suppressor 200 and speech encoder 300 to produce a signal with an improved signal to noise ratio for transmission across a communications network and/or routing to the output device. Paragraph 0041);
a second noise suppressor (Fig. 6, Steps 615-620) configured to selectively perform a second noise suppression operation of the voice activation audio data based on the second audio silence detector (i.e. The method 600 may continue with providing a second set of parameters associated with a second noise suppressor in operation 615 and then reconfiguring the encoder to encode a second audio signal using the second set of parameters in operation 620. The second noise suppressor may be a high quality noise suppressor as compared to the native noise suppressor of the speech encoder. Paragraph 0062);
and a keyword detector (fig. 1, Speech Decoder 140) configured to process an output of the second noise suppressor (i.e. The speech decoder 140 may decode an encoded digital signal for playback via the loudspeaker 175. Optionally, the digital signal decoded by the speech decoder 140 may be processed further and "cleaned" by the receiving noise suppressor 135 before being transmitted to the loudspeaker 175. Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 9; Prakash ‘484 discloses a modem (Fig. 4, LPE 140’) configured to initiate transmission of an output signal based on the voice call audio data (i.e. It is also possible for the LPE to receive audio information from the audio circuitry, to generate information for transmission based on the audio information and to store the information into a second memory location. See Abstract).
Regarding claim 13; Prakash ‘484 discloses an application processor (Fig. 1, Multimedia Engine 136) configured to process an output of the voice activation processing path (i.e. Continuing with processing path 122 as illustrated in Fig. 1, a sound-related application executing in application layer 132 may then transmit the audio information received from Internet 116 to multimedia engine 136. Multimedia engine 136 may include decoders, codecs, etc. for processing the audio information. For example, multimedia engine 136 may be responsible for rending audio. Paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 14; Prakash ‘484 discloses one or more microphones (Fig. 1, Audio Circuitry 112) configured to provide input audio data corresponding to the voice call audio data and the voice activation audio data (i.e. As shown at 400, sound may be captured by audio circuitry 112 (e.g., as audio input to a microphone) and may be processed by audio circuitry 112 and/or LPE 140′ in order to generate audio information. Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 15; Prakash ‘484 discloses wherein the audio processor is integrated in a headset device that includes the one or more microphones (i.e. Audio circuitry 112 may comprise circuitry configured to produce sound (e.g., a speaker) or capture sound (e.g., a microphone). An earpiece or headphones including a microphone may be coupled to system 100 via a wire or through a wireless connection like, for example, a Bluetooth wireless connection. Paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 16; Prakash ‘484 discloses wherein the audio processor is integrated in at least one of a mobile phone, a tablet computer device, or a wearable electronic device (i.e. System 100 may also include typically stationary devices like desktop computers, teleconferencing systems, entertainment systems, etc. In the following disclosure references may be made to elements of smartphones. Paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 17; Claim 17 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18; Claim 18 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 2. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19; Claim 19 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1. However, claim 19 further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions to execute the method. Prakash ‘484 discloses at Paragraph 0038 wherein software may be embodied as a software package, code, instructions, instruction sets and/or data recorded on non-transitory computer readable storage mediums.
Regarding claim 20; Claim 20 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 2. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2. However, claim 19 further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions to execute the method. Prakash ‘484 discloses at Paragraph 0038 wherein software may be embodied as a software package, code, instructions, instruction sets and/or data recorded on non-transitory computer readable storage mediums.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 6-8 & 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
2. Claims 7 & 8 depend on indicated objected claim 6. Therefore, by virtue of their dependency, claims 7 & 8 are also indicated as objected subject matter.
3. Claims 11 & 12 depend on indicated objected claim 10. Therefore, by virtue of their dependency, claims 11 & 12 are also indicated as objected subject matter.
Examiners Statement of Reasons for Allowance
The cited reference (Prakash ‘484) teaches wherein a system may configure at least a low power engine (LPE) and network interface circuitry when transitioning from an active state to a low-power state. The network interface circuitry may be configured to receive information from a network and to store any received information containing audio information into a memory location. The LPE may be configured to monitor the memory location, to retrieve the stored information from the memory location, to generate audio information based on the stored information and to provide the audio information to audio circuitry for playback. It is also possible for the LPE to receive audio information from the audio circuitry, to generate information for transmission based on the audio information and to store the information into a second memory location. The network interface circuitry may then retrieve the stored information from the second memory location and transmit the information to the network.
The cited reference (Murgia ‘775) teaches wherein provided are methods and systems for improving quality of speech communications. The method may be for improving quality of speech communications in a system having a speech encoder configured to encode a first audio signal using a first set of encoding parameters associated with a first noise suppressor. A method may involve receiving a second audio signal at a second noise suppressor which provides much higher quality noise suppression than the first noise suppressor. The second audio signal may be generated by a single microphone or a combination of multiple microphones. The second noise suppressor may suppress the noise in the second audio signal to generate a processed signal which may be sent to a speech encoder. A second set of encoding parameters may be provided by the second noise suppressor for use by the speech encoder when encoding the processed signal into corresponding data.
The cited references fail to disclose wherein the voice call processing path includes a synchronizer and the voice activation processing path includes a gate and wherein the synchronizer is configured to send one or more control signals to the gate to synchronize processing at the voice call processing path and at the voice activation processing path; wherein the transitions between the active state and the low-power state of the modem are aligned with transitions of the audio processor between the active state and the low-power state to enable synchronized processing using a low power island. As a result, and for these reasons, Examiner indicates Claims 6-8 & 10-12 as allowable subject matter.
Relevant Prior Art References Not Relied Upon
1. Lee et al. (US 20150379992 A1) - An electronic device which includes a plurality of microphones and an audio data processing module is provided. The plurality of microphones is operatively coupled to the electronic device, and the audio data processing module is capable of being implemented with at least one processor. The audio data processing module recognizes a specified command, based on first audio data collected using a portion of the plurality of microphones and executes a function or an application corresponding to second audio data collected using all the plurality of microphones, when the specified command is recognized.
2. Isaka al. (US 20050055116 A1) - There is disclosed an audio coding apparatus which has a wideband encoder and noise canceller. The encoder includes a high-frequency audio coder and low-frequency audio coder. The low-frequency audio coder includes a low-frequency noise canceller. When the high-frequency audio coder is disabled, the noise canceller is disabled, and allows a digital audio signal to pass through it and outputs that signal to the encoder. When the high-frequency audio coder is enabled, the low-frequency noise canceller is disabled, and allows a digital audio signal to pass through it.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCUS T. RILEY, ESQ.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2654
/MARCUS T RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654