Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, and 5-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,035,117. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Specifically, each of the claimed method of claim 1 in the application including receiving an audio input, generating a low-frequency output, generating a plurality of high frequency outputs, generating a plurality of middle-frequency outputs and transmitting the output to speaker drivers are provided in the limitations of claim 2/1 of US patent 12,035,117. Claim 1 of the patent additionally includes limitations to a first and second geometric model not present in the application claim. Hence the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, “a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim”, In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010. “Thus, the generic invention is ‘anticipated’ by the species of the patented invention” and the instant “application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”). The limitations of claims 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are found in claims 2/1, 4, 5, 1, 7, 8 and 9 of the patent. Each of the claimed steps of claim 11 in the application including receiving an audio input, generating a low-frequency output, generating a plurality of high frequency outputs, generating a plurality of middle-frequency outputs and transmitting the output to speaker drivers are provided in the limitations of claim 12/10 of US patent 12,035,117. Claim 10 of the patent additionally includes limitations to a first and second geometric model not present in the application claim. Hence the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, “a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim”, In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010. “Thus, the generic invention is ‘anticipated’ by the species of the patented invention” and the instant “application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”). The limitations of claims 12, 13, 14 and 15 are found in claims 11, 14, 12/10 and 13 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10-12, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Boothe et al. (US 12/317/028 B2).
Re claim 17: Boothe et al. teaches a speaker system (figure 4) comprising: a first speaker comprising a first plurality of speaker drivers (3a-3f); a memory that stores instructions (column 11, line 64-65); and a processor (column 11, line 67) that is coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions, is configured to: receive an audio input signal (see audio program input to controller (20), figure 2 and a first location that is associated with a location of an audio input signal (predetermined position taught in column 9, lines 25-27); generate a low-frequency output (Low- frequency driver signal), figure 2 based on the audio input signal; generate a plurality of high-frequency outputs based on the audio input signal (High-frequency driver signals), figure 2, the first location, and a plurality of directions (those directions in which the audio is output such as taught in column 10, lines 52-54) at which a plurality of speaker drivers emit audio; generate based on the audio input signal a plurality of middle-frequency outputs that are used to form one or more beam patterns for rendering a sound that is perceived to originate from the first location (see discussion of the renderer in column 9, lines 34-46); and transmit the low-frequency output, the plurality of high-frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs to the plurality of speaker drivers of the speaker, wherein the plurality of speaker drivers emit audio that corresponds to the low-frequency output, the plurality of high- frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs (note that the rendered drives each of the speaker drivers (column 9, lines 39-40 and column 11, lines 32-33).
Re claim 1: Boothe et al. teaches a computer-implemented method (including a memory that stores instructions (column 11, line 64-65) and a processor (column 11, line 67) that is coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions), for generating audio for a speaker comprising: a first speaker (figure 4) comprising a first plurality of speaker drivers (3a-3f); is configured to: receive an audio input signal (see audio program input to controller (20), figure 2 and a first location that is associated with a location of the audio input signal (predetermined position taught in column 9, lines 25-27); generate a low-frequency output (Low- frequency driver signal), figure 2 based on the audio input signal; generate a plurality of high-frequency outputs based on the audio input signal (High-frequency driver signals), figure 2, the first location, and a plurality of directions (those directions in which the audio is output such as taught in column 10, lines 52-54) at which a plurality of speaker drivers emit audio; generate based on the audio input signal, a plurality of middle-frequency outputs that are used to form one or more beam patterns for rendering a sound perceived to originate at the first location (see discussion of the renderer in column 9, lines 34-46); and transmit the low-frequency output, the plurality of high-frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs to the plurality of speaker drivers of the speaker, wherein the plurality of speaker drivers emit audio that corresponds to the low-frequency output, the plurality of high- frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs (note that the rendered drives each of the speaker drivers (column 9, lines 39-40 and column 11, lines 32-33).
Re claim 11: Boothe et al. teaches a non-transitory media storing instructions (column 11, line 64-65) and a processor (column 11, line 67) that is coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions), for generating audio for a speaker comprising: a first speaker (figure 4) comprising a first plurality of speaker drivers (3a-3f); is configured to: receive an audio input signal (see audio program input to controller (20), figure 2 and a first location that is associated with a location of the audio input signal (predetermined position taught in column 9, lines 25-27); generate a low-frequency output (Low- frequency driver signal), figure 2 based on the audio input signal; generate a plurality of high-frequency outputs based on the audio input signal (High-frequency driver signals), figure 2, the first location, and a plurality of directions (those directions in which the audio is output such as taught in column 10, lines 52-54) at which a plurality of speaker drivers emit audio; generating, based on the audio input signal a plurality of middle-frequency outputs that are used to form one or more beam patterns for rendering a sound perceived to originate at the first location (see discussion of the renderer in column 9, lines 34-46); and transmit the low-frequency output, the plurality of high-frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs to the plurality of speaker drivers of the speaker, wherein the plurality of speaker drivers emit audio that corresponds to the low-frequency output, the plurality of high- frequency outputs, and the plurality of middle-frequency outputs (note that the rendered drives each of the speaker drivers (column 9, lines 39-40 and column 11, lines 32-33).
Re claim 2: note in Booth et al. (figure 2) the plurality of outputs are used to drive speaker drivers
Re claim 18: the directions of emitting sounds by the first through fourth drivers are taught by those directions of the front-firing, back-firing, and side-firing speaker arrangements taught in column 10, lines 52-54
Re claim 5: note in Boothe et al. (column 8, line41-45) at least one audio can be is directly emitted to a listener satisfying the alternative language as set forth.
Re claim 6: note in the discussion in column 8, lines 39-52 there is no delay between providing signals from each driver to the listener, therefor satisfying as set forth concurrently arrive at the listener.
Re claim 10: the directions of emitting sounds by the first through fourth drivers are taught by those directions of the front-firing, back-firing, and side-firing speaker(s) arrangements taught in column 10, lines 52-54
Re claim 12: note in Boothe et al. the audio signal is adjusted by applying filters (column 8, lines 34-35) based on a characteristic of a speaker, for example a speaker that is capable of producing low-frequencies only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boothe et al. in view of Butler et al. (US 2018/0077491 A1).
Re claim 20: The teaching of Boothe et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Boothe et al. does not teach a second speaker having similar operations as the first speaker. Butler et al. teaches in a similar environment that single speaker can be expanded to include a two-speaker arrangement (paragraph [0025], lines 1-5) which as disclosed to provide a 3D audio in order to be more enveloping and realistic auditory experience for audiences. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate this teaching of two speaker arrangement as taught by Bultler each having specifics as taught in Boothe et al. to predictably provide a 3D audio in order to be more enveloping and realistic auditory experience for audiences. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 16: Claim 16 written using method steps correspond to those features discussed with respect to claim 20 and are satisfied by Boothe et al. in view of Butler et al. for similar reasonings.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boothe et al. in view of Crockett (US 10,440,492 B2).
Re claim 13: the teaching of Boothe et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Boothe et al. does not teach that the emitted audio includes both audio that is directly provided to a listener and audio that is reflected off a surface before reaching the listener. Crockett teaches in a similar to provide both direct audio and reflected audio to a listener (see figure 16A) to account for surfaces of a room in order to provide a spatial environment in a home environment that contains these reflecting surfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at before the filing of the invention to incorporate a teaching of Crockett into the arrangement of Boothe et al. to predictably provide both direct audio and reflected audio to a listener to account for surfaces of a room in order to provide a spatial audio in a home environment that contains these reflecting surfaces. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-9, 14-15 and19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note for any claim having a double patenting rejection, the rejection must be overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The claimed speaker system including those features as provided in claim 18/19 which in combination additionally includes a fifth speaker driver and a sixth speaker drive that emit sounds in the directions as set forth in claim 19 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed method including those features of claim 1 used in combination with summing the low-frequency output, a respective middle-frequency output of the plurality of middle-frequency outputs, and a respective high-frequency output of the plurality of high-frequency outputs to generate an audio output signal; and transmitting the audio output signal to a respective one of the plurality of speaker drivers as set forth in claim 3 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. . The claimed method including those features of claim 1 used in combination, wherein generating the plurality of middle-frequency outputs is further based on a second location associated with a region where the emitted audio should not be perceived as originating the sound as set forth in claim 4 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed method including those features of claim 1 used in combination wherein generating the plurality of middle-frequency outputs is further based on a location of each speaker driver included in the plurality of speaker drivers, a model of one or more surfaces in proximity to the plurality of speaker drivers, and a second location associated with a listening position as set forth in claim 7 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claims 8-9 depend upon those features of claim 7/1. The claimed arrangement including those features of claim 11 used in combination wherein generating the plurality of middle-frequency outputs is further based on a location of each speaker driver included in the plurality of speaker drivers, a model of one or more surfaces in proximity to the plurality of speaker drivers, and a second location associated with a listening position as set forth in claim 14 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claims 15 depend upon those features of claim 14/11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re the Double Patenting Rejection: Applicants response does not overcome this rejection.
Re claims 1, 11 and 17 based on the primarily used reference to Booth et al.: Applicant argues that Boothe does not teach that the render uses the mid-range bands to render a sound perceived to originate from a location associated with the audio signal. Examiner does not agree, since it is clear from the Boothe that the renderer can include a beamforming operation for processing the audio signals (column 9, lines 34-46), which would include each of high range, low range as well as mid-range frequencies. Although Boothe discloses the use of filters as argued, Boothe also teaches that the renderer can include beamforming operations. Applicant argues that claim 1, 11 and 17 expressly require filters that cause a listener to perceive the sound as originating from a specific location. It is noted that none of claims 1, 11 and 17 set forth limitations directed to filters used in a manner as argued. Applicant also argues that Boothe does not teach to generate middle-frequency outputs that are used to form beam patterns for rendering. Although Boothe teaches the use of filters, these filters are used in conjunction with a renderer for producing beam patterns for each of the frequency ranges, including mid-range frequencies (column 9, lines 34-46) and in which these beam patterns used in providing a sound perceived to originate at the predetermined location
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 6/23/26