DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim 1, in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 2-3 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the funnel or guide structure must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “guide structure” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, applicant states “but configurable to be of various shapes”, it is unclear if applicant is stating the housing is capable of transforming from one shape to another, or if applicant is attempting the indicate that the housing can be a shape different from a cylinder. It is believed that applicant is attempting to indicate that the housing can be different shapes, not that the housing transforms from one shape to another. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as such.
In claim 1, applicant states an “attachment mechanism” and indicates that it includes “a mechanical clutch”. Later in claim 1, applicant states “a drive mechanism” and indicates that it also includes “a mechanical clutch”. It is unclear if the mechanical clutch for each element is the same, in fact it is unclear if the attachment mechanism itself is different from the recited drive mechanism as the disclosure appears to indicate (see ref 9 also [0021 & 0036] of the published application) that such elements are the same. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as the same.
In claim 1 applicant states “manipulation of the housing in both horizontal and vertical positions”, which would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to mean movement in both the vertical and horizontal direction. However, based on the disclosure, it appears that the clutch does not perform manipulation in horizontal or vertical directions, rather the clutch allows for rotational (see [0024 & 0036] of the published application) movement of the housing. Thus, it is unclear if applicant truly meant to state manipulation in vertical and horizontal directions. For examination purposes, the limitation of manipulation will be understood as rotation of the housing or its components therein.
In claim 1 applicant states “transmitting rotational force from the washing appliance to the canister”. It is unclear the structural differentiation between the canister and the housing as it pertains to the limitation. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as “transmitting rotational force from the washing appliance to the housing”.
In claim 1, applicant states “an access port”, however such a limitation is indented under “a drive mechanism” it is unclear if applicant is claiming the drive mechanism has an access port or such an indention is a typographical error. For examination purposes, the limitation an access port will be understood to not be indented under a drive mechanism as it is believed that access port was meant to be its own bullet and the two limitations following access port are believed to be attributed to the access port.
In claim 1, applicant states “an access port”, it is unclear if an access port is different from the “open top” of the housing or the same. For examination purposes, they will be understood to be the same.
Applicant states “the lock lid or clutch” when referring to a “closure mechanism”. However, the lock lid or clutch was previously recited to as a not positively recited element (see “adapted for closing or sealing with a lock lid and/or clutch”). Based on the phrasing of the limitation which recites such an element as not positively recited, it is unclear if the lock lid or clutch part of the modular washing drum or if it is a component distinct from the modular drum. Examiner is unsure as to whether such a limitation is part of the modular drum or rather part of the main appliance. Applicant’s remarks also appear to indicate that the closure mechanism may not be part of the modular drum (see page 2 of the response to election dated 02/02/2026). Clarification and correction are required. For examination purposes, the limitation of the lock lid will be understood to be present and refer to either a lid of the appliance or the lid of the drum.
Applicant states “incorporating a seal to prevent leakage of liquid during the washing process”. It is unclear as to how a seal can accomplish such a feature when the housing is provided “perforated holes and/or perforated lines enabling free flow of liquid or air in or out during agitation washing”. Is applicant states that the seal seals said holes during washing? The disclosure appears to contradict such a suggestion. Examiner’s best guess is that applicant is attempting to state that the seal prevent leakage from the closure mechanism during washing, and will be interpreted as such for examination purposes.
Applicant states “designed to create…” it is unclear if the fins are designed to perform such a function or actually perform such a function. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as though the fins do perform such a function.
Claim limitations “guide structure” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid any structure that performs the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20150211163A1) in view of Kim (US20200024786A1, hereafter K1) and Lafrenz (US20040195844A1).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a removable drum (abstract, [0015, 0028, & 0035]) comprising: a housing (refs 80 or 180) with a generally cylindrical shape with an open top and a closed bottom (see Figs.3-4 or 7-8) and perforated holes (refs 80a or 180a) which allows flow of liquid or air; a drive mechanism which acts as an attachment mechanism including a mechanical connection (ref 80b or refs 187/182, i.e., reads on mechanical clutch) acting as a driveshaft connection point (see ref 70 attachment to refs 80b or ref 187) to engage with the washing appliance main body for manipulation of the housing (see [0054, 0069, & 0083-0087], in the case of the embodiment defined by Figs.6-8, the second pulsator is part of the housing and rotation of said second pulsator reads on manipulation of the housing); the open top of the housing defines an access port for receiving textiles or garments and the walls or rim of the housing defines a guide structure which facilitates loading of the textiles/garments (e.g., enable placement of garments/textile via the walls and prevent said textiles from entering the tub inadvertently); a closure mechanism defined by a lid (ref 16) to contain textiles within the housing; agitating fins (see grooved interior wall body of ref 80 in Figs.2-3 or ref 183) positioned inside the housing to enhance agitation of the textiles during a cycle and capable of creating at least some amount of turbulence. Kim does not disclose a sealing member or a locking mechanism. Assuming arguendo that lock lid is part of the drum and not the appliance main body, Kim does not disclose such a feature. However, a door for a drum with a sealing member is known in the art, as seen by K1. Further, the use of a locking mechanism for a home appliance is also known in the art as seen by Lafrenz.
K1 discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known that a drum (ref 23) may utilize a door (ref 100) to open and close the drum which is separate from a lid (ref 80) of the cabinet. The door closes the opening of the drum and prevents leakage [0082] via the use of door seals (ref 131 & 132).
Lafrenz discloses an art related home appliance lid (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a locking mechanism (e.g., refs 24/28) for the lid in order to prevent actuation of system elements except when the door is closed and locked for safety reasons [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to incorporate a door for the drum with door seals, as disclosed by K1, in order to prevent undesired leakage from the drum through the door (K1 [0082]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to implement a locking mechanism to secure the door during operation for safety reasons (Lafrenz [0003]).
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711