This action is in response to the original filing and the preliminary amendment of 6/5/2024. Claim 1 has been canceled. Claims 2-36 are new. Claims 2-36 are pending and have been considered below.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent Claims 2, 19 and 20 of instant application 18/734,988 include all of the limitations of independent Claims 1, 18 and 19 with the following exceptions:
Claim 2 of instant application 18/734,988 includes the limitation “causing a representation of the item or provider to be included in the feed for the follower user, the feed for the follower user identifying information as relating to items or providers which have not previously been represented”, whereas Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2 includes the limitation “causing a representation of the item or provider to be presented on a new channel designed to display information on items or providers not previously displayed via a screen interface associated with the follower user, the new channel being accessible via input to a new channel selection option presented on a screen interface associated with the follower user;
Claim 2 of instant application 18/734,988 includes the limitation “receiving an indication of input via the screen interface associated with the follower user relating to the item or provider” whereas Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2 includes the limitation “receiving an indication of input via the screen interface associated with the follower user expressing a preference for the item or provider”.
That is, Claim 2 of instant application 18/734,988 is directed to the feed for the follower user, whereas Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2 is directed to a new channel for the follower user. Furthermore, Claim 2 of instant application 18/734,988 is directed to receiving an indication of input from the follower user relating to the item or provider, whereas Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2 is directed to receiving an indication of input from the follower user expressing a preference for the item or provider.
While the above identified limitations are not exactly the same, the limitations of instant application 18/734,988 are broader, and therefore render the claims obvious over the limitations of U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2.
Each of the dependent claims identified above are drawn to the same limitations as the corresponding respective dependent claims, and therefore do not add limitations that render the claims of instant application 18/734,988 non-obvious over U.S. Patent No. US 12,062,056 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14, 19-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2011/0265011 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2014/0207860 A1) and further in view of Barker et al. (US 2012/0066618 A1).
Claim 1. (Canceled)
Claim 2. Taylor discloses a method
for use in a system having a plurality of users, the system comprising at least one database storing an association between individual users of the plurality of users and an item, provider, or other user for which an individual user has expressed a preference, an individual user who expresses a preference for another user being a follower user and the other user being a target user, users in a social networking system operated by a social network provider (P 0017) are connected in a social graph and may communicate and interact with other users of the social network, and may add connections to other users of the social networking system (P 0024) wherein the nodes of the social graph may include users, non-person entities and content items, that can be represented by objects in the social networking system, and an edge between two nodes in the social graph may result from an action that was performed by one of the nodes on the other node (P 0027) such as when a user interacts with an external website expressing an interest in the external website or another entity (P 0034) As a first user establishes a connection with a second user, the first user can be interpreted as being a follow of the second user, furthermore, a user expressing an interest in an entity can be interpreted as expressing an interest, the method comprising acts of:
(A) receiving an indication of input provided via a screen interface associated with a target user, the input relating to an item or provider, a webpage displays a frame for interacting with a node in a social graph associated with the web page, which is outside of a social networking system maintaining the social graph and content including text data, video data, image data or any other data for presentation using a browser application (P 0044) the webpage includes a frame that calls a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) within a domain associated with the social networking system (P 0051) and includes data from the social networking system about an identified node and displayed in the frame (P 0052) and one or action buttons depending on the type of node that allow a user to take a specific action with respect to the node associated with the content shown in the frame (P 0053) and social information obtained from the social networking system, allowing the content of the frame to be personalized for an identified user of the social networking system, such as identifying the number of friends of an identified user of the social networking system who have taken an action associated with an action button or may identify one or more specific friends of the identified user of the social networking system who have taken an action associated with the action button, including expressing interest in the node and identifying a number of friends of the user who have also indicated an interest in the entity type node, and may be personalized, or to friends of an identified user or may be information obtained from all users if a user of the social networking system is unable to be identified (P 0054);
(B) in response to receiving the indication in the act (A), determining whether the item or provider has … been represented in a feed for a follower user of the target user, …, the connections between user can be in both directions (bilateral) (P 0025) the frame in the web page calls a URL in a domain associated with the social networking system to display information from the social networking system (P 0051) the frame includes social information from the social networking system allowing a user to take an action with respect to a node associated with the content of the webpage shown in the frame, wherein the node is an entity type in which a user may express interest (P 0053) the social information identifies a number of friends of the user who have also indicated an interest in the entity type node (P 0054) Since the connections between users is bilateral, the user who is viewing the web page, which includes a specific entity node, is a follower of any one of the friends who are identified in the frame who have expressed an interest in the entity node, and it is clear that the content of the frame includes social information indicating that a connected user has expressed interest in an entity node;
(C) receiving an indication of input via the screen interface associated with the follower user relating to the item or provider, a user may take an action with respect to a node in the frame to allow a user to indicate an interest in the node, wherein the node can be an entity type node (P 0053) As noted above, any user in Taylor may be either a target user or a follower user or a following user since the connections are bilateral, therefore, when the user is following any users in the frame, then the user is a follower user, and the follower user may interact with the action button to express an interest in the content of the webpage displayed in the frame.
Taylor does not disclose determining whether the item or provider has previously been represented in a feed for a follower user of the target user, and if it is determined that the item or provider has not previously been so represented, causing a representation of the item or provider to be included in the feed for the follower user, the feed for the follower user identifying information as relating to items or providers which have not previously been represented, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Wang discloses a social networking system generates stories describing actions performed by users connected to a user and may be included in a news feed presented to the user, stories in news feed of a user are categorized based on source/content, along with actions described in the stories, and is divided into sections displaying one or more categories, a subset of the generated stories describe actions performed by other users or entities directly connected to the user viewing the news feed, wherein some other users or entities may have a soft connection to the user viewing the news feed, and stories may be generated for the viewing user from posts by a local business that users connected to the viewing user have checked into, though the viewing user has not liked or checked in at the business (P 0004) the action log stores information about user actions internal to or external to the social networking system, including viewing content associated with another user (P 0034) wherein a user requests to view content categorized stories in a news feed (P 0062). The categories are analogous to the claimed channel, and when a story is generated from posts by a local business that users connected to the viewing user, directly or through a soft connection, have checked into, that the viewing user has not liked or checked into, then a story is posted to a category for new content, i.e. for content not known or liked or checked into by the viewing user. Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor and Wang, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine determining whether the item or provider has previously been represented in a feed for a follower user of the target user, and if it is determined that the item or provider has not previously been so represented, causing a representation of the item or provider to be included in the feed for the follower user, the feed for the follower user identifying information as relating to items or providers which have not previously been represented with the teachings of Taylor with the motivation to provide the user with more relevant content to overcome the current limitations in social network notifications, for example, when chronological ordering of notifications may not present the most relevant information (Wang: P 0003).
Taylor does not explicitly disclose (D) in response to receiving the indication in the act (C), causing a representation of the item or provider to be included in a feed for a user following the follower user, as disclosed in the claims. That is, while any user in Taylor may follow any other user, i.e. the connections are bilateral, and the connections may be indirect (one or more levels of connection or degrees of separation), Taylor does not explicitly disclose that information or interactions are identified for a user following the follower user. Taylor discloses some embodiments of a social networking system allow the connection to be indirect via one or more levels of connections or degrees or separation (P 0025) various sets of entities with which information can be shared may include, for example, all friends of the user, all friends of friends (P 0036) the social networking system retrieves and stores the tags from the markup language document of the web page to create a node in a social graph (P 0045) a browser executes a widget in a web page to render a frame to include information from the social networking system (P 0051) by communicating a request to the social networking system and the social networking system communicates information about the identified node to the browser (P 0052) a user action on a node is transmitted to the social networking system which records the action, the action being equivalent to any other user interaction with the node from within the social networking system, and an edge between the user and the node is created (P 0072) It is clear that any user in the social graph may interact with an entity on the web page or in the social networking system, and each user’s interaction will be indicated in a frame on the web page being accessed by each user in the social graph including all the users, and further the connections which affect the sharing of data in the frame may include several degrees of separation, including friends and friends of friends and Wang discloses a user may request news feed stories as a web page request for content in a news feed user interface displayed on a browser window operating on the user device (P 0062). However, in the same field of invention, Barker discloses in a method of ranking or filtering new content items for presentation to members of a group of users of a social-networking service, content items that are candidates for presentation to the members are received (P 0026) whenever a group member comments on the idea, all of that group member's followers may be notified of the group member's comment, and upon a posting of one of the followers of the group member, followers of the follower of the group member may be notified of the follower's activity related to the idea, creating a snowball effect of participation in the discussion of the idea (P 0043). Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor, Wang and Barker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine (D) in response to receiving the indication in the act (C), causing a representation of the item or provider to be included in a feed for a user following the follower user with the teachings of Taylor and Wang to provide a more comprehensive system for identifying information of interest to relevant users through inference of relationships not directed connected to a user but may have mutual interests with the user that would not be ascertained through direct connections (Barker: P. 0004).
Claim 3. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further disclose wherein the act (A) comprises receiving an indication of input initiating a conversation regarding the item or provider, and the act (B) comprises causing a representation of the conversation to be included in the feed of information for the follower user, the social graph may include various types of nodes including messages (P 0027), examples of actions taken by a user within the social network may include sending a message and reading a message (P 0033), the social networking system may communicate a message to the user via the frame to confirm that the selected action was taken by the social networking system or communicate a message to the user via the frame to authorize the social networking system to notify friends of the user that the action was taken (P 0075).
Claim 4. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 3, and Taylor, in view of Barker, as cited in the rejection of Claim 2, further discloses wherein the act (D) comprises causing a representation of the conversation regarding the item or provider to be included in the feed of information for the user following the follower user, the social networking system may communicate a message to the user via the frame to confirm that the selected action was taken by the social networking system or communicate a message to the user via the frame to authorize the social networking system to notify friends of the user that the action was taken (P 0075). Barker has been combined with Taylor for limitations directed to information identified for a user following the follower user, for presentation via a screen interface associated with the user following the user and are rejected with the same rationale used in the rejection of Claim 2.
Claim 5. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 4, and Taylor, in view of Barker, as cited in the rejection of Claim 2 discloses wherein the act (B) comprises receiving an indication of input comprising a comment, from the follower user, on the conversation, and the act (D) comprises including the comment in the representation of the conversation caused to be included in the feed of information for the user following the follower user, when an action is selected by a user, the selected action is transmitted to the social networking system and the social networking system then records the action between the user and the node associated with the URL identified by the widget such that the action taken by the user is equivalent to any other user interaction with the node from within the social networking system, and this interaction may create an edge between the user and the node that the user interacted with (P 0072) the social networking system may communicate a message to the user via the frame to confirm that the selected action was taken by the social networking system or communicate a message to the user via the frame to authorize the social networking system to notify friends of the user that the action was taken (P 0075) It is clear that any user in the social graph may interact with entity on the web page and each user’s interaction will be indicated in a frame on the web page accessed by each user in the social graph including all the users. Barker has been combined with Taylor for limitations directed to information identified for a user following the follower user, for presentation via a screen interface associated with the user following the user and are rejected with the same rationale used in the rejection of Claim 2.
Claim 6. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 5, and Taylor discloses wherein the act (B) comprises causing, in response to receiving the indication of the input comprising the comment, the at least one database to store a record of an interaction between the follower user and the item or provider, a user performs an action on a node in the frame and the social networking system records the action (P 0072).
Claim 7. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 5, and Taylor, in view of Barker, as cited in the rejection of Claim 2, discloses wherein the act (D) comprises identifying the follower user as a source of the comment in the representation of the conversation caused to be included in the feed of information for the user following the follower user, the social networking system may communicate a message to the user via the frame to confirm that the selected action was taken by the social networking system or communicate a message to the user via the frame to authorize the social networking system to notify friends of the user that the action was taken (P 0075). Barker has been combined with Taylor for limitations directed to information identified for a user following the follower user, for presentation via a screen interface associated with the user following the user and are rejected with the same rationale used in the rejection of Claim 2.
Claim 8. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further discloses wherein the at least one database stores a data object corresponding to each user, item or provider, and the act (B) comprises causing a representation of a data object corresponding to the item or provider to be included in the feed of information for the follower user, each node in the social graph may represent an entity that can act on another node and/or that can be acted on by another node, examples of nodes include users, non-person entities, content items, web pages, groups, events, messages, concepts, and any other things that can be represented by an object in the social networking system (P 0027).
Claim 9. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 8, and Taylor further discloses wherein each data object comprises an object identifier uniquely identifying a corresponding user, item or provider, tags may provide textual titles, labels, and/or descriptions about the node, as well as other information, such as a title, label, unique identifier, micro format, and/or descriptions about the node, as well as other information, such as the type of the node (P 0045).
Claim 10. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 8, and Taylor further discloses wherein the act (B) comprises causing a derivative data object corresponding to the data object to be stored in the at least one database, an action button allows a user to indicate an interest in an entity node (P 0053) the frame may be updated by the social networking system with social information about a node, for example, the social information for a node may identify the number of friends or specific friends of a user who have taken a specific action regarding a node, i.e. users who have indicated an interest in a node (P 0054), if the action selected in the frame is the user expressing an interest in the node, the action is recorded by the social networking system and may be published to a feed associated with the user and the user's profile may be updated to include the affiliation between the user and the node (P 0074) Applicant’s specification discloses: a provider or consumer-user creates a data object related to an item or provider. In a specific embodiment, if another user follows that data object then the system creates a derivative data object specific for and visible to the follower (and his/her followers). The original data object representation (or source data object) can be, for example, liked, listed, or followed by additional users of the system, but in this embodiment, the act of following (i.e., the expression of a system tracking preference) creates a derivative data object and that derivative data object representation is visible to the follower and his/her followers (P 56, L. 23-30); that is, a derivative data object appears to be a data object that is modified with information indicating a following user’s interest in that data object; therefore, in Taylor, the social information related to a node associated with a user’s friends actions on the node, for example, a friend taking an interest in the node, is analogous to the claimed derivative data object.
Claim 11. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further discloses wherein the act (A) comprises receiving an indication of input expressing a preference by initiating a tracking interest in the item or provider, an action button allows a user to indicate an interest in an entity node (P 0053) the frame may be updated by the social networking system with social information about a node, for example, the social information for a node may identify the number of friends or specific friends of a user who have taken a specific action regarding a node, i.e. users who have indicated an interest in a node (P 0054), if the action selected in the frame is the user expressing an interest in the node, the action is recorded by the social networking system and may be published to a feed associated with the user and the user's profile may be updated to include the affiliation between the user and the node (P 0074).
Claim 12. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further discloses wherein the act (B) comprises causing the representation of the item or provider to be included in a feed of information that is customized for the follower user, if the action selected in the frame is the user expressing an interest in the node, the action is recorded by the social networking system and may be published to a feed associated with the user and the user's profile may be updated to include the affiliation between the user and the node (P 0074).
Claim 13. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further discloses wherein the representation of the item or provider included in the feed for the follower user comprises description information regarding the item or provider, purchasing information regarding the item or provider, promotional information regarding the item or provider, an image or video regarding the item or provider, a review regarding the item or provider, information on products relating to the item or provider, and/or comments regarding the item or provider, the frame may be updated by the social networking system with social information about a node, for example, the social information for a node may identify the number of friends or specific friends of a user who have taken a specific action regarding a node, i.e. users who have indicated an interest in a node (P 0054), alternatively, the social networking system generates content by extracting data from the node associated with the URL included in the widget without adding social information associated with the identified user, for example, a title, a description and an image from the node (P 0067) if the action selected in the frame is the user expressing an interest in the node, the action is recorded by the social networking system and may be published to a feed associated with the user and the user's profile may be updated to include the affiliation between the user and the node (P 0074) The title, description and image from the node is equivalent to the claimed description information regarding the item or provider.
Claim 14. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, and Taylor further discloses wherein the act (A) comprises receiving an indication of input comprising viewing information regarding the item or provider, commenting on information regarding the item or provider, participating in a dialogue regarding the item or provider, participating in a survey regarding the item or provider, offering an opinion regarding the item or provider, providing a rating of the item or provider, clicking on information regarding the item or provider, and/or requesting information regarding the item or provider, the frame may be updated by the social networking system with social information about a node, for example, the social information for a node may identify the number of friends or specific friends of a user who have taken a specific action regarding a node, i.e. users who have indicated an interest in a node (P 0054).
Claim 19 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim similar to the method claim of Claim 2 and is rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 discloses a system claim similar to the method claim of Claim 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and is rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2011/0265011 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2014/0207860 A1) and Barker et al. (US 2012/0066618 A1) and further in view of Nicholas et al. (US 2008/0126476 A1).
Claim 15. Taylor, Wang and Barker disclose the method of claim 2, but Taylor does not disclose wherein the act (D) comprises causing the representation to be included in a feed of information which includes a plurality of representations, each of the plurality of representations corresponding to a different item or provider, as disclosed in the claims. However, Taylor discloses, a user may take a specific action with respect content shown in the frame, wherein the content may be an entity type (item type) (P 0053) and the frame may display information about one or more uses who have expressed an interest in the content (P 0054) and multiple frames may be displayed for multiple different items (P 0055). That is, although Taylor discloses that the feed may include a plurality of representations, the plurality of representations do not each correspond to a different item or provider, and when multiple frames may be displayed for multiple different items, but Taylor does not disclose that multiple product items may be displayed in one frame. In the same field of invention, Nicholas discloses customizing feed content (P 0008) a user may subscribe to a feed of information (P 0271) wherein the feed may display different items (P 0270, 0273, Fig. 44). Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the act (D) comprises causing the representation to be included in a feed of information which includes a plurality of representations, each of the plurality of representations corresponding to a different item or provider with the teachings of Taylor, Wang and Barker to allow Taylor be more flexible by and simplify the interface by allowing a user and the user’s friends to display and interact with multiple items in a single frame.
Claim 16. Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas disclose the method of claim 15, and Taylor further discloses some embodiments of a social networking system allow the connection to be indirect via one or more levels of connections or degrees or separation (P 0025) Various sets of entities with which information can be shared may include, for example, all friends of the user, all friends of friends, all applications, all external websites or all external systems (P 0036) wherein a user may express an interest in an entity (P 0053) and Nicholas discloses feed content may be ranked (P 0149) individual feed content items may be ranked (P 0217) a feed may be configured to rank or prioritize the feed, to determine how many items should show in a row in a single item window (P 0273). Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein: the user following the follower user comprises a first user; the feed of information for the first user displays the plurality of representations in an order; and the order is defined at least in part by the first user's previously expressed preference for an item or provider corresponding to at least one of the plurality of representations with the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas to allow Taylor be more flexible by and simplify the interface by allowing a user and the user’s friends to display, interact with and rank multiple items in a single frame.
Claim 17. Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas disclose the method of claim 15, and Nicholas further discloses the placement of feed items within a feed may be specified based on several priority factors (P 0249) wherein feed items may be prioritized based on a user profile (P 0311) or recentness they were posted, as well as the quality of the feed source (P 0320) feed items are ranked and feed formatted content is provided to the user based on the ranking including one or more of the following: profiled characteristic response data, explicitly provided feed, feed item rankings, or feed item subset rankings, or feed formatted content recommendations, social network (P 0323). Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the act (D) comprises causing at least some of the plurality of representations to be displayed more prominently in the feed of information than others of the plurality of representations with the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas to allow Taylor be more flexible by and simplify the interface by allowing a user and the user’s friends to display, interact with and rank multiple items in a single frame.
Claim 18. Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas disclose the method of claim 17, and Nicholas further discloses a user may forward a feed item to another user (a friend) to be included in the friend’s feed (P 0378). Therefore, considering the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein: the user following the follower user comprises a first user; and the at least some of the plurality of representations which are caused to be displayed more prominently each correspond to an item or provider not previously represented in a feed of information for the first user with the teachings of Taylor, Wang, Barker and Nicholas to allow Taylor be more flexible by and simplify the interface by allowing a user and the user’s friends to display, interact with and rank multiple items in a single frame.
Conclusion
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 10/16/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145