DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on June 5th, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The present application claims priority to provisional application no. 63/523,838, filed on July 28th, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0309115, hereinafter Zhou).
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE), method, and base station in a wireless communication system (paragraph [0064]), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (paragraph [0069], lines 1-3) configured to:
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph [0112], lines 1-9, RRC messages) indicating (i) a payload size of cell discontinuous transmission/reception (DTX/DRX) activation/deactivation downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0251], indicated a payload size for DCI format) for at least one cell group (paragraph [0254], DRX groups) and (ii) a starting position of a cell DTX/DRX information for at least one cell in DCI (paragraph [0251], configuration parameters may comprise ps-positionsDCI-2-6 indicating a location in DCI format 2_6), and
receive, from the base station, the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation DCI (paragraph [0415], activation command may comprise at least one of: a third DCI); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (paragraph [0069], lines 1-3), the processor configured to:
identify the cell DTX/DRX information for the at least one cell in the DCI based on (i) the payload size of the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation DCI (paragraph [0251], indicated a payload size for DCI format) corresponding to the at least one cell group (paragraph [0254], DRX groups) and (ii) the starting position of the cell DTX/DRX information corresponding to the at least one cell (paragraph [0251], configuration parameters may comprise ps-positionsDCI-2-6 indicating a location in DCI format 2_6), and
activate or deactivate a cell DTX/DRX configuration of the at least one cell based on the identified cell DTX/DRX information in the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation DCI (paragraph [0415], activation command may comprise at least one of: a third DCI).
With respect to claims 2, 9, and 16, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein the starting position of the cell DTX/DRX information is configured per serving cell (paragraph [0251], configuration parameters may comprise ps-positionsDCI-2-6 indicating a location in DCI format 2_6).
With respect to claims 3, 10, and 17, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein:
the RRC message includes a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (paragraph [0248]);
the processor is further configured to monitor, based on the RNTI, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for activating or deactivating the cell DTX/DRX information (paragraph [0248]); and
the RNTI is configured per cell group (paragraph [0248]).
With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein:
the RRC message includes a search space identified from a list of search space configurations (paragraph [0300]); and
the processor is further configured to monitor, based on the search space, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for activating or deactivating the cell DTX/DRX information (paragraph [0302]).
With respect to claims 5, 12, and 19, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 4, 11, and 18, wherein the search space includes a DCI format for activating or deactivating the cell DTX/DRX information (paragraph [0302]).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 1 and 8, wherein the processor is further configured to monitor, based on a search space in an active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) (paragraph [0252]), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for activating or deactivating the cell DTX/DRX information indicated by a DCI format (paragraph [0252]).
With respect to claims 7, 14, and 20, Zhou discloses the UE of claims 6, 13, and 20, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the DCI format from a single serving cell of a single cell group (paragraphs [0270] and [0275]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon Patent no. 12,659,877
Moon Patent no. 12,659,967
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2026/0020102
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2025/0280466
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2020/0092814
Khoshkholgh Pat. Pub. 2025/0176067
Tseng Pat. Pub. 2024/0284550
Jung Pat. Pub. 2024/0080771
Islam Pat. Pub. 2022/0159574
6/17/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457