DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election of Group I: Claims 1-19 without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn/cancelled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3, recites the limitation “the second set of antennas” in line 5. It is unclear as to whether “the second set of antennas” in line 5 is related to the “a second set of receive antennas” in claim 1 line 6, if they are the same it is suggested to applicant to change “the second set of antennas” in line 5, to -- the second set of receive antennas--.
Claim 14, recites the limitation “the second set of antennas” in line 3. It is unclear as to whether “the second set of antennas” in line 3 is related to the “a second set of receive antennas” in claim 12 line 4, if they are the same it is suggested to applicant to change “the second set of antennas” in line 3, to -- the second set of receive antennas--.
Claims 4-8 and 15-19 are rejected as being dependent of rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-8, 11-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (WO 2022/160204 A1) in view of Huang et al (US 2022/0329308 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 21, Guo ‘204 teaches, a full-duplex capable wireless device([0016], [0071]-[0073] and Fig. 2, a UE capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code([0133], [0136] and Fig. 8, device 805(UE) including memory 830); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the full-duplex capable wireless device to([0136]-[0137] and Fig. 8, device 805(UE) comprising processor 840): transmit a request for self-calibration resources for self-calibration between a first set of transmit antennas at the wireless device and a second set of receive antennas at the wireless device([0004], [0018], [0078], [0086] and Fig. 4, the UE transmitting scheduling request(SR) to a base station to request resources. The SR message includes an indication of an intended self-interference measurement between a firs TRP configured for transmission and a second TRP configured for reception);
receive a resource allocation that includes the self-calibration resources ([0004], [0018], [0088], [0103] and Fig. 4, the UE receiving grant that schedules the resource for the self-interference measurement by the UE); transmit, using the first set of transmit antennas, one or more reference signals via one or more resources of the resource allocation ([0091], [0093] and Fig. 7, the station granting CSI-RS resource for the self-interference measurement. The UE performs the measurement by transmitting signaling via the CSI-RS resources using the first TRP).
Guo ‘204 does not explicitly teach, determine an estimated channel matrix between the first set of transmit antennas and the second set of receive antennas based at least in part on measurements of the one or more reference signals at the second set of receive antennas.
Huang ‘308 teaches, determine an estimated channel matrix between the first set of transmit antennas and the second set of receive antennas based at least in part on measurements of the one or more reference signals at the second set of receive antennas ([0115], [0171]- [0174] and Fig. 4, calculating self-interference matrix H, according to the UE’s receive and transmit antennas. It further calculates self-interference matrices based on the firs receive-antenna set, second transmit antenna set, and uplink precoding matrix indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘308, since such modification would provide efficient techniques for mitigating self-interference to help enhance system performance and reliability, as suggested by Huang ‘308([0003], [0004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘204 further teaches, wherein, to receive the resource allocation, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the full-duplex capable wireless device to: receive one or more reference signal allocations from a network entity([0088], [0091], [0092], [0128] and Fig. 4, 7, the UE receiving grant that schedules the resource for the self-interference measurement by the UE), and wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted over the one or more reference signal allocations from the first set of antennas( [0091], [0092], [0128] and Fig. 4, 7, the UE 115-b transmits signaling through the sequence of allocated CSI-RS resources . The CSI RS signaling is transmitted using TRP 205-a).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘204 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the full-duplex capable wireless device to: measure one or more channel parameters using the one or more reference signals at the second set of antennas([0088], [0093], [0094], [0132] and Fig. 7, the UE measuring received signal metric level (RSRP) level at the second TRP (TRP 205-b). This measurement being performed using the signaling transmitted via the scheduled CSI-RS resource from the first TRP).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Huang ‘308 further teaches, determine and use an uplink beam for uplink communications and a downlink beam for downlink communications at the wireless device based at least in part on the measurements of the one or more reference signals([0102], [0111], [0121], [0123], Figs. 4, 5, the downlink precoding matrix indicator (PMMI) being measured based on CSI-RS, and the UE determining uplink and downlink precoding matrix).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘308, since such modification would provide efficient techniques for mitigating self-interference to help enhance system performance and reliability, as suggested by Huang ‘308([0003], [0004]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘204 further teaches, wherein the uplink beam and the downlink beam are associated with a same transmission-reception point (TRP) or are associated with different TRPs([0065]-[0066], [0070]-[0073] and Fig.2, transmit and receive beams maybe associated with different TRP or the same TRPs).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Huang ‘308 further teaches, adjust at least one of the uplink beam or the downlink beam based at least in part on the measurements of the one or more reference signals at the wireless device at the second set of receive antennas([0121]-[0123], [0170], [0173] and Fig. 5, the UE selecting PMI based on downlink reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘308, since such modification would provide efficient techniques for mitigating self-interference to help enhance system performance and reliability, as suggested by Huang ‘308([0003], [0004]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Huang ‘308 further teaches, determine an adjusted downlink beam based at least in part on the estimated channel matrix between the first set of transmit antennas and the second set of receive antennas ([0106], [0104], [0115], determining a downlink precoding matrix (downlink beam) based on self -interference matrix); and
determine an adjusted uplink beam based at least in part on the adjusted downlink beam and the estimated channel matrix between the first set of transmit antennas and the second set of receive antennas ([0121], [0123], [0124] and Fig. 4, determining a uplink precoding matrix (downlink beam) based on self -interference matrix).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘308, since such modification would provide efficient techniques for mitigating self-interference to help enhance system performance and reliability, as suggested by Huang ‘308([0003], [0004]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Huang ‘308 further teaches, transmit, to a network entity, an indication of the use of an adjustment process associated with the downlink beam or the uplink beam([0005], [0121], [0127], [0130], the UE transmitting the results of the adjustment process (subset of adjusted/selected matrices ) to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘308, since such modification would provide efficient techniques for mitigating self-interference to help enhance system performance and reliability, as suggested by Huang ‘308([0003], [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘204 further teaches, wherein the resource allocation that includes the self-calibration resources is based at least in part on the request for self-calibration resource ([0086], [0103] and Fig. 4, the UE sends a request and receives resource grant for self-interference measurement).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Raghavan et al(US 2023/0077568 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘204 further teaches, wherein the first set of transmit antennas are associated with a first antenna panel and the second set of receive antennas are associated with a second antenna panel ([0065], [0067], [0073] and Fig. 2, TRP 205-a associated with antenna panel and TRP 205-b associated with another antenna panel).
The combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 does not explicitly teach, wherein the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel are mechanically displaceable at the wireless device.
Raghavan ‘568 teaches, wherein the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel are mechanically displaceable at the wireless device ([0136], UE could have one or more antenna panels that move, e.g., relative to each other, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 teaches all of the claim limitations, Huang ‘308 further teaches, movement of one or more of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel triggers a determination of the estimated channel matrix between the first set of transmit antennas and the second set of receive antennas([0069], [0287], the UE which comprises the antenna panels is mobile, and the movement of the UE may trigger the estimating channel matrices).
The combination of Guo ‘204 and Huang ‘308 does not explicitly teach, wherein the first antenna panel is movable relative to the second antenna panel.
Raghavan ‘568 teaches, wherein the first antenna panel is movable relative to the second antenna panel ([0136], UE could have one or more antenna panels that move, e.g., relative to each other, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Guo ‘204, by incorporating the teaching of Raghavan ‘568, since such modification would enable to enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency by monitoring the physical relationship between first and second antenna elements, as suggested by Raghavan ‘568([0002]-[0004]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474