DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 02/07/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 and 9-16 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-8 and 17-20 are canceled. Claims 21-27 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 10 and 22, the claims recite “determine that the event has occurred”. The claims also recite the limitations “extract…” and “transmit…”. It is unclear if the extract and transmit limitations are in response to the occurrence of the event.
Dependent claims 11-15 and 23-27 depend on claims 10 and 22 respectively and they do not clarify the issues, therefore they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrum US 2024/0080195, in view of Parla US 2024/0070315.
As per claim 1, Schrum teaches an apparatus for authentication, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive first authentication information for a user (Schrum paragraph [0033], [0052]-[0054], receive authentication information);
generate an authentication token based on the received first authentication information, wherein the authentication token does not include the first authentication information (Schrum paragraph [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0061], generate authentication token);
receive user information for the user; obtain an identifier token, wherein the identifier token is a composite token and includes an identity token generated based on the received user information; add the authentication token to the identifier token (Schrum paragraph [0033], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0061], obtain composite token which includes user information token and authentication token); and
store the identifier token for authenticating the user (Schrum paragraph [0039]-[0043], [0062]-[0066], storing composite token for authentication).
Schrum does not explicitly disclose anonymous identifier token.
Parla teaches anonymous identifier token (Parla paragraph [0031], [0033], obtaining an anonymous identifier token).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schrum of obtaining a composite token with the teachings of Parla to include obtaining an anonymous identifier token in order to preserve the privacy of the user while still allowing the user access to resources.
As per claim 16, the claim claims a method essentially corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 above, and is rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrum in view of Parla, and further in view of Grodum et al. US 2021/0044580 (hereinafter Grodum).
As per claim 9, Schrum in view of Parla teaches the apparatus of claim 1, a service provider (Schrum paragraph [0044], [0057], [0068], service provider).
Schrum in view of Parla does not explicitly disclose wherein processor is further configured to: receive a request to register for an event from an entity; and
establish a channel for notifying the entity of an occurrence of the event.
Grodum teaches wherein processor is further configured to: receive a request to register for an event from an entity (Grodum paragraph [0031], register for events); and
establish a channel for notifying the entity of an occurrence of the event (Grodum paragraph [0031], notifying occurrence of event).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schrum in view of Parla with the teachings of Grodum to include registering and notifying of events because the results would have been predictable and resulted in the service provider registering for events and being notified of the events.
As per claim 21, the claim claims a method essentially corresponding to the apparatus claim 9 above, and is rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 and 22-27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495