DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13, line 1 “wherein prior to graphitization with a d002 peak. . . “ is unclear. This will be treated as having this peak as a result of graphitization or prior.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra (US Pub.: 2018/0375093).
Mitra describes a method of making hard carbon materials (title) from a furan-ring containing compound (abstract). The method includes a catalyst, which includes oxalic acid, tartaric acid, maleic acid, citric acid, benzoic acid, formic acid and other organic acids (all of them being weaker than oxalic acid) (para 21). This can be considered a polymerization catalyst. The reaction can be combined with a silica source (para. 52). This can be considered an additive. The reaction mixture is then polymerized at a temperature of 60-120 degrees C (para. 21). Next, the polymerized material is then carbonized at a temperature of up to 800 degrees C (para. 21), which is then followed by heating in an inert atmosphere at about >1,000 degrees C (para. 21). The process used can make graphite carbon (para. 24, 35, where it is encouraged to make graphite).
As to Claim 2, Mitra teaches that the furan-ring material can be furfuryl (para. 21).
As to Claim 4, Mitra teaches that the process can include the use of carbon black (para. 41). In addition, a silicon material can be added (para. 19, 22). Further, a metallic Si can be included (para. 32, 51).
As to Claim 5, Mitra teaches that the mixture can include activated carbon (para. 37, 41).
As to Claim 9, since this feature is optional, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this is not a required feature of the claims.
As to Claim 10, Mitra teaches that volatile compounds are released during carbonization from 500-800 degrees (para. 5) and that in their process the polymerized material is tcarbonized at a temperature of up to 800 degrees C (para. 21), which is then followed by heating in an inert atmosphere at about >1,000 degrees C (para. 21). Therefore, although Mitra does not teach SOx and NOx release, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same process used the same way would give-off the same by-products.
As to Claim 11, Mitra teaches intensities at a peak from 20-30 degrees (see Fig. 3, Example 5, 2, 6 and 1 all have peaks that overlap 25 degrees).
As to Claim 12 and 13, the specification of this application states that a d002 peak at 25.56 degrees corresponds to a d-spacing of 2.25 Angstroms (see published specification, para. 53). Therefore, since Mitra teaches intensities at a peak from 20-30 degrees (see Fig. 3, Example 5, 2, 6 and 1 all have peaks that overlap 25 degrees), Mitra also teaches the presence of the same d-spacing peaks.
As to Claim 14, Mitra teaches inclusion of a catalyst (para. 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same catalyst used would improve the product yield.
As to Claims 17, 19 and 20, Mitra teaches that their compound has a capacity of about 1194 mAh/gm (para. 61). Although Mitra does not state that this is the specific capacity, since the composition is the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that that it would have the same specific capacity.
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim “Graphitization behavior of medium-carbon high-silicon steel and its dependence on temperature and grain size”.
Mitra teaches use of metallic silicon (para. 32, 51), but does not further describe this feature.
Kim describes a method of graphitizing carbon (abstract). The method includes an accelerant of graphitization (Introduction, para. 2), which includes an alloying element, such as Si (Introduction, para. 2). Therefore, in their process, Kim teaches combining a carbon source with a silicon source that is bonded to iron (see section 2, para. 1). This can be considered ferrosilicon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a ferrosilicon, as taught by Kim for use with the graphitized carbon of Mitra because Kim explains that these are known to accelerate graphitization.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan (CN 10827007) and in view of Li (CN111732097).
Mitra teaches that their carbon is used for batteries (para. 69, 71). Mitra also teaches that the graphitized carbon is used by heating a carbon precursor, such as furfuryl alcohol (see examples). Mitra does not disclose inclusion of rice straw, hull or husk.
Pan describes a method of processing a carbon raw material for use in batteries (title). In the background, Pan explains that it is known to heat hard carbon to be graphitized at high temperatures for this same use (page 2, para. 1). As an improvement to this prior art, Pan teaches making the carbon-based compound using a simpler method (“Invention content”, para. 1). As to the carbon precursors, Pan teaches that a wide selection of hard carbon precursors can be employed, to include furfuryl alcohol and straw “one kind or more” (page 3, para. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use straw, as taught by Pan for the graphitization of carbon, as taught by Mitra because Pan explains that these are one type of carbon precursor useable in the graphitization process along with furfuryl alcohol.
Pan describes use of straw, but not of rice straw.
Li describes a method of making graphitized carbon (title) using a carbon source (abstract). Li explains a number of different carbon sources can be employed (page 3, para. 6, 7). These include straw (page 3, para. 8), such as rice straw (page 3, para. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use rice straw, as taught by Li for use with the straw of Pan because Li explains that rice straw is a known source of carbon.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 113149000).
Mitra teaches that their process can be encouraged to promote the formation of non-graphitizable carbon and form micro-graphite (para. 35) to produce a high Id/Ig ratio (para. 35). Mitra does not describe a low Id/Ig ratio.
Zhang describes a method of making a graphitized carbon material (title). The process describes employing rice hull in a graphitization process to obtain a high graphitized degree, where the ratio of Id/Ig is about 0.28 (page 3, para. 1). This product is effective for use in electrodes, super capacitors and other products (abstract).
Therefore, since Mitra explains that this process can be optimized to shift the degree of graphitization (para. 35), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the Id/Ig ratio to about 0.28, as taught by Zhang for use with the process of Mitra because Zhang explains that this method makes a graphite-form of carbon useable in a number of applications, including electrodes super capacitors and other uses.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MItra as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (EP 4156324).
Han describes an electrode (abstract) and explains that when the specific surface area is increased, the efficiency of the battery is decreased (para. 44). There are also problems with decreased adhesion to the current collector and degradation of battery capacity (para. 44). As a solution to this, Han explains that the electrode active material can have a specific surface area of 1.1-1.7 m2/g (para. 44). The composition of the electrode can include a graphite-based composition (para. 36) or a treated carbon composition that is then heated to transform the composition (para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease the specific surface area to 1.1-1.7 m2/g, as taught by Han for use with Mitra because a lower specific surface area is known to increase the efficiency of the battery, improve adhesion and lower the degradation of the battery capacity.
Although Han does not state that the specific surface area is determined by nitrogen adsorption, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same means of determining the specific surface area is as effective.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao (CN 102185134).
Mitra teaches that their graphitized carbon is used in a battery electrode with a lithium-component (Claims 9 and 16) and a silicon component (para. 22), but Mitra does not teach what form the lithium is in.
Zhao teaches a method for preparing a lithium-containing electrode that contains silicon (title) and graphitized carbon (abstract). As for the lithium precursor, Zhao teaches that the lithium product can be in the form of lithium cobalt powder (Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include lithium cobalt powder, as taught by Zhao for use with the graphitized carbon used in battery electrode of Mitra because this is a known lithium compound for use in electrodes.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHENG HAN DAVIS whose telephone number is (571)270-5823. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fung Coris can be reached at 571-270-5713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 16, 2026