DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 08/20/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the objections to Claims have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 08/20/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least reasons as set forth below.
On page 8 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Takahashi uses the signaling strictly to indicate a terminal's capability related to
Maximum Power Reduction (MPR). Reporting a lack of support for a power back-off capability
does not teach or suggest signaling the network to restrict the allocation of specific resource
blocks in the frequency domain. Because Takahashi merely teaches signaling a terminal's
power-reduction capabilities, Takahashi fails to teach or suggest sending, to the network, second signaling indicating whether a resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement. Li is not cited as curing and as cited fails to cure this deficiency . . .
Takahashi uses the bits of the bitmap strictly to indicate a terminal's support for an MPR
specification. Indicating whether a power back-off capability is supported does not teach or
suggest setting bits to indicate a need to restrict the allocation of specific resource blocks in the
frequency domain. Because Takahashi merely teaches setting bits to indicate a terminal's power reduction capabilities, Takahashi fails to teach or suggest setting one or more bits of the field to indicate whether the resource block restriction is needed to meet the emission requirement. Li is not cited as curing and as cited fails to cure this deficiency.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the claimed limitation, “the second signaling indicating whether a resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement” as recited in claim 1, the claim does not require that the second signaling includes an explicit indication that “a resource block restriction” is needed. Because the limitation “whether a resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement” encompasses a case where the second signaling indicates that the resource block restriction is not needed to meet the emission requirement, the claimed limitation is met if the prior art discloses sending a second signaling that indicates that a resource block restriction within the frequency band is not needed to meet the emission requirement.
Takahashi discloses, the UE sending the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” in the RF-Parameters of UECapability information [see e.g., ¶0043-0044 and 0055-0057]. Takahashi further discloses that this sending, or its absence, indicates whether an operation related to changed MPR is supported for the frequency band, and that, in the absence of such an indication, the network identifies that the terminal satisfies the spectrum emission requirements [see e.g., ¶0011, 0058 and 0061], so that the network would identify that no resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement.
Takahashi states:
[0043] . . . the terminal 20 transmits “UECapabilityInformation”, i.e., a report of UE capability to the base station 10. The “UECapabilityInformation” includes the UE capability supported by the terminal 20. The base station 10 identifies the supported UE capability based on the received “UECapabilityInformation” (¶0043);
[0044] . . . the “UECapabilityInformation” includes an information element “RF-Parameters” used to indicate the capability related to the radio communication. The “RF-Parameters” includes an information element “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” indicating a capability related to MPR (Maximum Power Reduction). The “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is a bitmap indicating, in a case where the MPR is introduced or changed in the future, which specification is supported. For example, a leftmost bit of the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” configured for a certain frequency band corresponds to a first specification for that frequency band, and a subsequent bit corresponds to the second specification for that frequency band;
[0057] . . . As illustrated in FIG. 12 , “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” included in the “RF-Parameters” is used for an indication for a case where the MPR or A-MPR supported by the terminal 20, is introduced or changed in a future release version. As explained with reference to FIG. 10 , the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is an information element for indicating a bitmap of eight bits for each frequency band;
[0058] Here, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9 ; the base station may determine that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values; or the base station 10 may assume that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values. The above “all of the NS values” may be NS values corresponding to a particular release version.
Per Applicant’s own specification, an indication that “no modified behavior is needed for the frequency band” means that the “the emission requirement can be met without restricting resource blocks,” whereas an indication that “modified behavior is needed means that the emission requirement “can be met only if resource blocks are restricted” [see the spec. ¶0016 and 0064]. Takahashi’s modifiedMPR-Behaviour indicates, per frequency band, whether an operation related to changed MPR applies, and Takahashi discloses that the terminal satisfies the emission requirement requirement where the MRP specification is not changed [see e.g., ¶0043-0044 and 0061 of Takahashi]. Such an indication of whether modified behavior is needed thus corresponds to an indication of whether a resource block restriction is needed to meet the emission requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US Publication No. 2023/0345231 A1) in view of Li et al (US Publication No. 2020/0022131 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses, a method comprising:
processing first signaling of a network indicating an emission requirement with which a
user equipment (UE) is to comply for a frequency band [abstract; ¶0011 and 0085, a terminal receives from a base station, information for indicating one or a plurality of values indicating requirements related to spectrum emission in a frequency band; further see ¶0050, in a FR1 (Frequency Range 1), the terminal 20 obtains requirements related to spectrum emission via “Network signalling label” indicated by the network];
sending, to the network, second signaling indicating whether a resource block restriction
within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement [see ¶0043, the terminal 20 transmits “UECapabilityInformation”, i.e., a report of UE capability to the base station 10 and ¶0044, the “UECapabilityInformation” includes an information element “RF-Parameters” including an information element “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” indicating a capability related to MPR (Maximum Power Reduction); further seep ¶0057, modifiedMPR-Behaviour” included in the “RF-Parameters” is used for an indication for a case where the MPR or A-MPR supported by the terminal 20, is introduced or changed in a future release version; and ¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the absence of modifiedMPR-Behaviour indicates the network to identify that the terminal satisfies the spectrum emission requirement, so the network would identify that no resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement; in other words, in case where “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is configured in the “RF-Parameters as described in e.g., ¶0055-0056, “in a case where the frequency band is “n41”, the leftmost bit of the bitmap indicates whether a specification related to EN-DC contiguous intraband MPR is supported”, the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour is considered as indicating that NOT all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block restriction)].
Although Takahashi discloses, processing first signaling of a network indicating an emission requirement with which a user equipment (UE) is to comply for a frequency band; sending, to the network, second signaling indicating whether a resource block restriction within the frequency band is needed to meet the emission requirement” as set forth above, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), determining, after the second signaling is sent, an allocation of a resource block within the frequency band; and sending, to the network, uplink traffic by at least using the resource block.
However, Li discloses, determining, after the second signaling is sent, an allocation of a resource block within the frequency band; and sending, to the network, uplink traffic by at least using the resource block [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0106-0114, after a bandwidth capability information is reported (S410), the base station allocates a resource in the subband (S420) and performs resource scheduling (S430), and the terminal transmits a signal based on the allocated resource].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Takahashi with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Li to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Li into the system of Takahashi would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce uplink latency and improve network efficiency through dynamic resource block allocation, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the second signaling includes an indication of a modified maximum power reduction (MPR) behavior [¶0043-0044 and 0057-0058, UECapbilityinofmraiton including modiifedMPR-Behaviour is transmitted as a second signaling].
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 4 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the indication includes a field, wherein one or more bits of the field are set to indicate whether the resource block restriction is needed to meet the emission requirement [¶0043-0044 and 0057-0058, the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is an information element for indicating a bitmap of eight bits for each frequency band].
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 5 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the one or more bits are set to a value indicating that the emission requirement is met without resource block restriction [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the bitmap is set to indicate that all of the NS values are supported for the terminal (i.e., the resource block is unrestricted)].
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 6 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the allocation of the resource block is unrestricted within the frequency band based on the value of the one or more bits [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block is unrestricted) based on the bitmap].
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 5 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the one or more bits are set to a value indicating that the resource block restriction is needed to meet emission requirement [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that in case where “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is configured in the “RF-Parameters as described in e.g., ¶0055-0056, “in a case where the frequency band is “n41”, the leftmost bit of the bitmap indicates whether a specification related to EN-DC contiguous intraband MPR is supported”, the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that NOT all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block restriction) to meet emission requirement].
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 8 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the allocation of the resource block is restricted within the frequency band based on the value of the one or more bits Takahashi discloses, wherein the one or more bits are set to a value indicating that the resource block restriction is needed to meet emission requirement [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that in case where “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is configured in the “RF-Parameters as described in e.g., ¶0055-0056, “in a case where the frequency band is “n41”, the leftmost bit of the bitmap indicates whether a specification related to EN-DC contiguous intraband MPR is supported”, the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that NOT all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block restriction) based on the bitmap].
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Takahashi further discloses, wherein the resource block restriction [see ¶0058 of Takahashi; supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1] is associated with a contiguous set of resource blocks that can be allocated within the frequency band [¶0135, a bandwidth part (BWP) which means a subset of consecutive common RBs; further see [¶0135, a bandwidth part (BWP) which means a subset of consecutive common RBs].
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Takahashi further discloses, wherein the resource block restriction [see ¶0058 of Takahashi; supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1] is associated with a set of resource blocks that can be allocated within the frequency band and that can be configured for the UE [¶0135, a bandwidth part (BWP) which means a subset of consecutive common RBs] based on corresponding subcarrier frequencies [¶0131, a resource block (RB) including one or a plurality of consecutive subcarriers in terms of frequency domain].
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the resource block restriction [see ¶0058 of Takahashi; supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1] is associated with a set of resource blocks that can be allocated within the frequency band and that can be configured for the UE [¶0135, a bandwidth part (BWP) which means a subset of consecutive common RBs] based on a channel within the frequency band [¶0131, a resource block (RB) including one or a plurality of consecutive subcarriers in terms of frequency domain; note that consecutive subcarriers can be read into a channel in a wireless communication].
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a base station, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 14 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 14 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the second signaling indicates that the emission requirement is met without the resource block restriction [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the emission requirement is met with the terminal supporting all of the NS values (i.e., without the resource block restriction)], and wherein the allocation of the resource block is unrestricted within the frequency band based on the second signaling [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block is unrestricted) based on the bitmap].
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 14 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the second signaling indicates that the resource block restriction is needed to meet emission requirement [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that in case where “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is configured in the “RF-Parameters as described in e.g., ¶0055-0056, “in a case where the frequency band is “n41”, the leftmost bit of the bitmap indicates whether a specification related to EN-DC contiguous intraband MPR is supported”, the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that NOT all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block restriction)].
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 16 as set forth above.
Takahashi discloses, wherein the allocation of the resource block is restricted within the frequency band based on the second signaling [¶0058, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that in case where “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is configured in the “RF-Parameters as described in e.g., ¶0055-0056, “in a case where the frequency band is “n41”, the leftmost bit of the bitmap indicates whether a specification related to EN-DC contiguous intraband MPR is supported”, the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that NOT all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block restriction) based on the bitmap].
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi discloses, an apparatus [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; terminal 20], comprising:
processing circuitry configured to be communicatively coupled with a transmitter and to
perform operations [FIG. 14; its related descriptions; ¶0068, control unit 240/processing circuitry coupled with a transmitting unit and to perform operations; note that every terminal device has at least one processor].
Since claim 19 recites similar feature to claim 1 without additional features, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Claims 2, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US Publication No. 2023/0345231 A1) in view of Li et al (US Publication No. 2020/0022131 A1) and further in view of Tervo et al (US Publication No. 2023/0156630 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Takahashi in view of Li does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tervo discloses, wherein a power class of the UE is associated with a maximum power reduction (MPR) [¶0030, for power class 3 (handheld UE), the MPR values are defined in the 3GPP Specification], and wherein the emission requirement is met without an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) [¶0036, the Total MPR may be determined based on RI-MPR and MPR values (e.g., without the A-MPR value); note that the MPR is used to meet emission requirements].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Tervo in the system of Takahashi in view of Li in order to provide the system with enhanced flexibility in selecting a total maximum power reduction value [e.g., ¶0036 of Tervo].
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 16 as set forth above.
Although Takahashi in view of Li discloses, wherein the allocation of the resource block is unrestricted within the frequency band [see ¶0058 of Takahashi, in a case where the “modifiedMPR-Behaviour” is not configured in the “RF-Parameters”: the base station 10 may identify that the terminal 20 supports all of the NS values that are specified for the corresponding frequency band, and are explained with reference to FIG. 7 and FIG. 9; which means that the bitmap of modifiedMPR-Behaviour (i.e., second signaling) is considered as indicating that all of the NS values are supported (i.e., resource block is unrestricted) based on the bitmap] and wherein the uplink traffic is received . . . [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0106-0114, after a bandwidth capability information is reported (S410), the base station allocates a resource in the subband (S420) and performs resource scheduling (S430), and the terminal transmits a signal (i.e., uplink traffic from the terminal is received) based on the allocated resource], Takahashi in view of Li does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tervo discloses, wherein a power class of the UE is associated with a maximum power reduction (MPR) [¶0030, for power class 3 (handheld UE), the MPR values are defined in the 3GPP Specification],
wherein the uplink traffic is received without an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) [¶0036, the Total MPR may be determined based on RI-MPR and MPR values (e.g., without the A-MPR value); note that the MPR is used to meet emission requirements].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Tervo in the system of Takahashi in view of Li for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, Takahashi in view of Li discloses, the method of claim 1 and particularly, “the second signaling indicates that the resource block restriction is needed to meet the emission requirement as set forth above.
Takahashi in view of Li does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tervo discloses, wherein the second signaling indicates that the resource block restriction is needed to meet the emission requirement without an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Tervo in the system of Takahashi in view of Li for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US Publication No. 2023/0345231 A1) in view of Li et al (US Publication No. 2020/0022131 A1) and further in view of Tervo et al (US Publication No. 2023/0156630 A1) and further in view of “PC2 A-MPR for bands n7 and n28”, 3GPP TSG-RAN4 Meeting #108bis Xiamen, China, 9-13 October 2023 (R4-2316694) (hereinafter “3GPP1”).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi in view of Li and Tervo discloses, the method of claim 2 as set forth above.
Takahashi in view of Li and Tervo does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but 3GPP1 discloses, wherein the first signaling indicates that the frequency band is frequency band number twenty-eight (n28) [section 2.2, while dual duplexer assumption has been applied for LTE and PC3 for NR, the actual design trends are moving towards a single duplexer which covers the full band n28], wherein the power class is a power class two (PC2) or a power class three (PC3) [section 2.2, while dual duplexer assumption has been applied for LTE and PC3 for NR, the actual design trends are moving towards a single duplexer which covers the full band n28], and wherein the uplink traffic is transmitted from the UE to the network by using at least a full-band duplexer of the UE [section 2.2, while dual duplexer assumption has been applied for LTE and PC3 for NR, the actual design trends are moving towards a single duplexer which covers the full band n28].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a well-known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well-established standard of providing the above-mentioned well-known feature, as taught by 3GPP1 in the system of Takahashi in view of Li and Tervo, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility between telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers, thereby providing users with easier and faster seamless transition regardless where the users are located in the country/world
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469