DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trojanowski (Pub. No. US 2017/0310096).
As to claim 1, Trojanowski discloses a decorative panel 18 for assembly on an outlet 12, the outlet comprising multiple body slots (fig. 1), the decorative panel comprising:
multiple slot reserved holes 26, each of the multiple slot reserved holes respectively corresponding to one of the body slots (fig. 1); and
a reinforcement structure 40a located on a side of the decorative panel facing the outlet and surrounding the multiple slot reserved holes, the reinforcement structure abutting an upper surface of the outlet (¶0090);
wherein the surface of the decorative panel is seamless and flat (fig. 3) and covers the outlet except for the multiple slot reserved holes (figs. 1, 3), wherein four peripheries of the decorative panel each include a frame surrounding the outlet (fig. 4, see peripheral wall), and wherein the surface of the decorative panel is devoid of division lines or locking points (fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Trojanowski discloses that the material of the decorative panel is selected from the group consisting of plastic, metal, glass, and ceramic (¶0089).
As to claim 9, Trojanowski discloses that the decorative panel is made of flame-resistant ABS (¶0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowski (Pub. No. US 2017/0310096) in view of Combs (Pub. No. US 2010/0097781).
As to claim 4, Trojanowski discloses a decorative panel 20 for assembly on a switch unit (¶0007-0009),
a reinforcement structure 40a abutting an upper surface of the switch unit;
wherein a surface of the decorative panel is seamless and flat (fig. 3), wherein four peripheries of the decorative panel each include a frame (fig. 4, see peripheral wall) surrounding the switch unit, and wherein the surface of the decorative panel is devoid of division lines or locking points (fig. 3).
However, Trojanowski does not explicitly disclose the switch unit comprising multiple buttons, the decorative panel comprising: a button reserved hole corresponding to said multiple buttons; wherein an overall cross-sectional area of the multiple buttons closely matches across- sectional area of the button reserved hole.
Combs discloses a switch unit (fig. 1) comprising multiple buttons (¶0011), a decorative panel 10 comprising: a button reserved hole 13, 15, corresponding to said multiple buttons (¶0011); wherein an overall cross-sectional area of the multiple buttons closely matches across- sectional area of the button reserved hole (fig. 1; ¶0011 discloses substituting the light switches with push button switches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch unit of Trojanowski comprise multiple buttons and button reserved holes as similarly taught by Combs in order to provide push buttons as on/off switches.
As to claim 7, Trojanowski discloses that the material of the decorative panel is selected from the group consisting of plastic, metal, glass, and ceramic (¶0089).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowski (Pub. No. US 2017/0310096) in view of Eastin (Pub. No. US 2010/0155100).
As to claim 8, Trojanowski does not disclose that a top surface of the decorative panel and each of the frames have a matte texture design.
Eastin discloses a surface of a cover plate having a matte texture (¶0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the top surface of the decorative panel and frames be made to have a matte texture design as similarly taught by Eastin in order to provide a pre-textured surface (¶0007).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowski (Pub. No. US 2017/0310096) in view of Nollen (Patent No. US 3,791,613).
As to claim 10, Trojanowski does not disclose that a surface of the decorative panel is electroplated.
Nollen discloses wall members made of electroplated steel plate (col. 2 lines 21-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surface of the decorative panel of Trojanowski be electroplated as similarly taught by Nollen in order to provide a strong panel that has resistance to corrosion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Trojanowski does not disclose the reinforcement structure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Trojanowski refers to 40a as a retention member, the structure is similar to the instant application. Furthermore, fig. 2 shows ribs extending from retention member 40a to the outer peripheral walls providing further strength. Furthermore, fig. 2 clearly shows the retention member surrounding slots 26. Additionally, since the retention member surrounds the outlet, it would clearly abut an upper or top surface of the outlet.
Applicant argues that Trojanowski does not disclose a surface of the decorative panel being seamless and flat and covering the outlet except for the multiple slot reserved holes. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in figs. 1 and 3, the surface is completely devoid of any lines or locking points and is clearly flat and seamless. Furthermore, Trojanowski discloses that faceplates are typically constructed in the form of a generally flat plate (¶0003).
Applicant argues that Trojanowski does not disclose four peripheries of the decorative panel each including a frame surrounding the outlet. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the figure below, arrow 1, the frame clearly surrounds the outlet and is located on all four peripheries.
[AltContent: textbox (1)][AltContent: arrow]
Applicant argues that Trojanowski in view of Combs does not disclose the claimed button hole structure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Combs clearly discloses that both light switches can be push button switches (¶0011). Fig. 1 of Combs clearly shows switches 12, 14, and holes 14, 15. Therefore, the switches with switch holes would be buttons with button holes. Furthermore, Trojanowski discloses that the cover plate is not limited, and can be for example, used for a light switch, outlet, plug, or any other electrical device (¶0006).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847