DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-18 are pending, claims 2 and 10 have been cancelled, and claims 1, 3-9, and 11-18 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous claim objections and 35 USC 112 Rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “a lesion part” to “the lesion part” (i.e., previously recited in claim 1). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “a threshold value” is unclear. A threshold value was previously recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the threshold value recited in claim 8 is the same as the threshold value recited in claim 1. Dependent claim 9 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2022/0104694), in view of Nishiyama (US 2013/0152020) and Shelton (US 2019/0104919) and Takahashi (US 2023/0337893 | WO 2021/199294A1) and Johnson (US 2019/0183591).
Regarding claim 1, Shelton discloses an endoscopic image observation support device (surgical hub [0562]; 106, figure 2) that supports observation of an image (imaging module 138 coupled to an endoscope [0164], figure 3) captured by an endoscope (124, figure 2), the endoscopic image observation support device comprising: a processor (132, figure 3) configured to: cause a display device (135, figure 3) to display the image (surgical hub…on a display [0562]); set degrees of priority of a plurality of pieces of support information to be displayed on the display device (prioritizing data…prioritize the display data associated with the surgical task [0562]); wherein the plurality of pieces of support information includes at least one of information indicating a position of a lesion part, information indicating a discrimination result (contextual information…type of tissue being operated on [0223]), and information indicating an observation progress state (contextual information…particular step of the surgical procedure that the surgeon is performing [0223]). Shelton is silent regarding cause the display device to display the plurality of pieces of support information based on the degrees of priority; wherein the processor is configured to hide the display of one of the plurality of pieces of support information with a degree of priority lower than a threshold value; wherein in response to determining that a lesion part is detected during the display of the information indicating the observation progress state and the information indicating the position of the lesion part is to be display, the processor is configured to hide the information indicating the observation progress state and only display the information indicating the position of the lesion part on the screen.
Nishiyama teaches a display example of an image observation screen (figure 24). Icons (303a-h, figure 24) have priority levels and are displayed from the top of the screen in accordance with the priority levels ([0131]). The form of the priority display of icons is not limited, where the color, the shape, or the size of icons having higher priority levels may be made different from that of the other icons ([0131]).
Shelton 2019 teaches non-critical aspects may be selectively hidden from view ([0367]), where only the recommendations can be displayed when they are at a priority level above a predefined threshold ([0372]).
Takahashi teaches an endoscope system (100, figure 2) with an information processing device (200, figure 2 | 500, figure 9). The information processing device has a lesion detection unit (220, figures 4 and 9) and a display control unit (240, figures 4 and 9). The lesion detection unit performs detection processing of a lesion site on the images sequentially acquired by the image acquisition unit (210, figures 4 and 9) through image recognition processing ([0052]). An image selection unit (250, figure 9) specifies a plurality of images in which the same lesion site is detected by the lesion detection unit (220, figure 9), and selects one image from the plurality of specified images ([0086]). The image selection unit selects a lesion image having the highest detection accuracy in the detection processing from these plurality of lesion images ([0087]). The display control unit sets only the lesion image selected by the image selection unit ([0089]).
Johnson teaches a robotic surgical system with a user console (100, figure 1a) with a control tower (133, figure 1a) and one or more robotic arms (160, figure 1a). The system may have a GUI to assist a user in performing a surgical procedure ([0057]). The GUI may include a multi-panel display, where different layouts may result from the population of different content ([0058]). A GUI can have various applications displayed in sidebar panels (figure 25) located on either side of a main panel display ([0142]), where a portion or all of a sidebar panel may be selectively hidden to avoid visual distractions ([0142]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to be able to display data based on their priority level as taught by Nishiyama ([0131]). Doing so would display data with higher priority levels different from that of other data ([0131]). It also would have been obvious to modify the device to selectively hide one of the plurality of pieces of support information that are non-critical aspects ([0367]; Shelton 2019). Doing so would selectively communicate support information to a clinician ([0367]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the device to have an information processing device (200, figure 2 | 500, figure 9) as taught by Takahashi. Doing so would provide lesion detection ([0052]), selection of a lesion image having the highest detection accuracy in the detection processing from these plurality of lesion images ([0087]), and display of the selected lesion image ([0089]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the device to selectively hide all of the sidebar panels (or panels/images that are not the main image display with the lesion) as taught by Johnson ([0142]). Doing so would avoid visual distractions ([0142]; Johnson). The modified device would have cause the display device to display the plurality of pieces of support information based on the degrees of priority (form of the priority display…[0131]; Nishiyama); wherein the processor is configured to hide the display of one of the plurality of pieces of support information (selectively hidden [0367]; Shelton 2019) with a degree of priority lower than a threshold value (only display…above a predefined threshold [0372]); wherein in response to determining that a lesion part is detected during the display of the information indicating the observation progress state and the information indicating the position of the lesion part is to be display ([0052]; Takahashi), the processor is configured to hide the information indicating the observation progress state and only display the information indicating the position of the lesion part on the screen ([0142]; Johnson | interpreted the main image with the selected lesion image is displayed, while other information in the side panels are hidden).
Regarding claim 5, Nishiyama further teaches the processor is configured to cause the display device to display the plurality of pieces of support information at positions in accordance with the degrees of priority (displayed from the top of the screen…priority [0131]; Nishiyama).
Regarding claim 6, Nishiyama further teaches the processor is configured to cause the display device to display the plurality of pieces of support information in sizes in accordance with the degrees of priority (size of…priority levels [0131]; Nishiyama).
Regarding claim 7, Nishiyama further teaches the processor is configured to cause the display device to display the plurality of pieces of support information at luminances in accordance with the degrees of priority (not limited…color…priority levels [0131]; Nishiyama | luminance or brightness of a color can be a way to indicate a priority level).
Regarding claim 11, Shelton further discloses the processor is configured to change the degrees of priority in accordance with an operation state of the endoscope (contextual information…particular step of the surgical procedure that the surgeon is performing [0223]; Shelton | interpreted the “operation state” to be the current status/step of the instrument).
Regarding claim 12, Shelton further discloses the processor is configured to determine the operation state of the endoscope based on the image (image data…procedure has commenced [0238]; Shelton).
Regarding claim 13, Shelton further discloses the operation state of the endoscope is whether an observed site and/or a lesion part is being observed (image data…determine contextual information regarding type of procedure being done; determine patient’s lung…compare to the step [0238]; Shelton).
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi further teaches the operation state of the endoscope is whether a region in which a lesion part is detectable is being observed ([0052] | sets only the lesion image [0093]; Takahashi).
Regarding claim 15, Shelton further discloses the operation state of the endoscope is whether there is an unobserved site (determine contextual information regarding type of procedure being done; determine patient’s lung…compare to the step [0238]; Shelton | interpreted the operation state of the endoscope would also determine if something did not happen, i.e., the site is not detected/seen/commenced).
Regarding claim 16, Shelton further discloses the operation state of the endoscope is whether treatment is being performed (contextual information…step of the surgical procedure [0223]; Shelton | the step can indicate if treatment is occurring at that point).
Regarding claim 17, Shelton further discloses the processor is configured to change the degrees of priority when a specific piece of support information is updated (surgical hub…intraoperative data…[0482]; Shelton).
Regarding claim 18, Shelton discloses an endoscope system comprising: an endoscope (endoscope [0159]); a display device (135, figure 3); and the endoscopic image observation support device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2022/0104694) and Nishiyama (US 2013/0152020) and Shelton (US 2019/0104919) and Takahashi (US 2023/0337893) and Johnson (US 2019/0183591) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Popovic (US 2015/0112126).
Regarding claim 3, Shelton, Nishiyama, Shelton 2019, Takahashi, and Johnson disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding the information indicating the observation progress state is displayed using a progress bar.
Popovic teaches a live view image (320, figure 3) is overlaid on the composite image ([0040]). A progress bar is implemented showing a progress length (324, figure 3) against a total length (see 326, figure 3). As the composite image (322, figure 3) is traversed, the portion of the total length that is isolated is indicated or calculated as a percentage ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device to use a composite image (322, figure 3) and live view (320, figure 3) to create/implement a progress bar (324 and 326, figure 3) as taught by Popovic. Doing so would show indicate the progress in the procedure ([0040]). The modified device would have the information indicating the observation progress state (contextual information…particular step of the surgical procedure that the surgeon is performing [0223]; Shelton) is displayed using a progress bar (see 322 with 324 and 326, figure 3; Popovic).
Regarding claim 4, Shelton, Nishiyama, Shelton 2019, Takahashi, and Johnson disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding the information indicating the observation progress state is displayed using a schema diagram of an observation target organ.
Popovic teaches a live view image (320, figure 3) is overlaid on the composite image ([0040]). A progress bar is implemented showing a progress length (324, figure 3) against a total length (see 326, figure 3). As the composite image (322, figure 3) is traversed, the portion of the total length that is isolated is indicated or calculated as a percentage ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device to use a composite image (322, figure 3) and live view (320, figure 3) to create/implement a progress bar (324 and 326, figure 3) as taught by Popovic. Doing so would show indicate the progress in the procedure ([0040]). The modified device would have the information indicating the observation progress state (contextual information…particular step of the surgical procedure that the surgeon is performing [0223]; Shelton) is displayed using a schema diagram of an observation target organ (see live view 320 overlaid on composite image 322, figure 3; Popovic).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2022/0104694) and Nishiyama (US 2013/0152020) and Shelton (US 2019/0104919) and Takahashi (US 2023/0337893) and Johnson (US 2019/0183591)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elbaz (US 2019/0269485).
Regarding claim 8, Shelton, Nishiyama, Shelton 2019, Takahashi, and Johnson disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding the processor is configured to emphasize the display of one of the plurality of pieces of support information with a degree of priority higher than a threshold value.
Elbaz teaches a display that emphasizes flagged regions using animation, such as flashing, or color ([0380]). A region is flagged if it is outside a set threshold ([0378]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to use a set threshold to establish a degree of higher priority as taught by Elbaz ([0378]). Doing so would emphasize one of the plurality of pieces of support information that are above a set threshold ([0378] and [0380]). The modified device would have the processor is configured to emphasize (emphasize…animation [0380]; Elbaz) the display of one of the plurality of pieces of support information with a degree of priority higher than a threshold value (flag…set threshold [0378]).
Regarding claim 9, Elbaz further teaches the processor is configured to blink the display (animation…flashing [0380]; Elbaz) of the one of the plurality of pieces of support information with the degree of priority higher than the threshold value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
July 15, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795