DETAILED ACTION
Applicants response to Restriction Election Requirement (5/4/2026) filed on 9/4/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants have elected Group I, claims 1-8, 11-18 with traverse. Applicants argue that there is no serious search and/or examination burden because all method claims essentially rely on the subject of claims 1-8 for their patentability. The following species have been elected with traverse.
In response to Applicants arguments, it is noted that hundreds of levodopa derivatives have been claimed. The species are independent or distinct because the agents can be different with different structures imparting highly diverse physical and chemical properties, bioavailabilites, receptor affinities, pharmacokinetic profiles, and treatment efficacies. MPEP 809.02(d) states "[w]here only generic claims are presented, no restriction can be required except in those applications where the generic claims recite such a multiplicity of species that an unduly extensive and burdensome search would be necessary if all claimed species were to be examined simultaneously.
As to the use of the compound(s) in treating the disease, different field of search (searching different classes/subclasses) is involved and further it may involve non-prior art issues under 112(1) first paragraph. The prior art applicable to one invention (herein compounds/composition) would not likely be applicable to another invention (herein method of treatment). The restriction requirement is proper and thus made final.
It is noted that the elected species is free of prior art. Therefore the scope of the subject matter was extended or broadened pursuant to MPEP 803.02. The following species will be examined:
wherein R2= H, R6 is CH3(CH2)6-O; R7=R8=CH3(CH2)6.
Claim 7 do not read on the elected species. Claims 7, 19-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Claims 9-10 has been cancelled. Claims 1-8, 11-30 are pending. The claims corresponding to the elected subject matter are 1-6, 8, 11-18 and are herein acted on the merits.
Application Priority
This application filed 06/05/2024 is a Continuation of 18218372, filed 07/05/2023, now U.S. 12036199.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 10/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a limitation, ‘a levodopa derivative comprising a compound’, ‘wherein the compound comprises’. Specifically, the phrase "comprising" renders the products indefinite as the phrase "comprising" can be considered open-ended language when not clearly defined and therefore is including additional subject matter in the derivative of claim 1 that is not described in the instant specification and is not particularly pointed out or distinctly claimed. A derivative is a compound that is synthesized from an identical compound by a chemical reaction with the replacement of one atom or group of atoms. A claim to a chemical compound cannot be open-ended, but must be claimed with precision. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 2 recite a limitation of ‘aggregate’ in the claims. Applicants do not define what aggregate is in the specification. A generic definition of aggregate is ‘a whole formed by combining several (typically disparate) elements’. Claim 1 recite a limitation that the aggregate contains at least 6 carbon atoms which are only bonded to either other carbon atoms or to hydrogen atoms. It is not clear what other atoms are in the aggregate of claims 1 and 2. The upper limit of the number of the carbon atoms in claim 1 is not claimed and is not definite.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites a limitation of ‘indirectly connects’. Applicants have not defined or provided any guidance towards the indirect connection. What is the indirect connection’? Is that connection part of the C4-34 group or how is it connected indirectly? Thus, the metes and bounds of patent protection sought for the instantly claimed formulations have not been defined.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-18 recite a limitation of ‘derivative’ which renders the claims indefinite. It is defined in [0042] of the specification, “The levodopa derivatives, including the compounds as well as pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates, and/or solvates of such compounds, are collectively identified as "Derivatives" or "levodopa derivatives". The Derivatives may include substituents which, in aggregate, contain at least 6 carbon atoms which are only bonded to either other carbon atoms or to hydrogen atoms. This is some of the "fatty" part of the molecules in the present invention. The Derivatives may include substituents which, in aggregate, contain 8-100 carbon atoms which are only bonded to either other carbon atoms or to hydrogen atoms. The definition state that it ‘may include substituents’. Hence it is clear that is not limited those substituents but include other derivative types. Claim 4, recites R6, R7 and R8 comprises a derivative of a saturated or unsaturated fatty acid. According to Hackh's chemical dictionary, "derivative" is defined as a compound, usually organic obtained from another compound by a simple chemical process or an organic compound containing a structural radical similar to that from which it is derived (Hackh's chemical dictionary, 1972). The metes and bounds of the claims are not clearly defined and therefore, claims 1-6, 11-18 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As the Federal Circuit has stated: The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed.
As the Federal Circuit has stated: The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP does state that for a generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number of species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gostelli, the courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872, F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
The factors considered in the Written Description requirement are:
(1) level of skill and knowledge in the art,
(2) partial structure,
(3) physical and/or chemical properties,
(4) functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and
(5) the method of making the claimed invention
The examined claims are directed to:
Level of skill and knowledge in the art:
The level of skill to practice the art of the instantly claimed invention is high and requires a variety of skills usually found in institutions and companies that employ highly trained and skilled scientists to carry out these tasks.
(2) Partial structure: (3) Physical and/or chemical properties: and (4) Functional characteristics:
The scope of claim 1 is broad with respect to the number of compounds as it can be any levodopa derivative as claimed.
Applicants have claimed formula II compounds where R6, R7 and R8 can be any derivative of a saturated fatty acid or fatty alcohol. There are hundreds of saturated fatty acids and fatty alcohols and the number of compounds that fall in this category is quite large.
(5) Method of making the claimed invention:
(a) Actual reduction to practice and (b) disclosure of drawings or structural
chemical formulas:
The specification provides guidance to DB104, a levodopa derivative (Example 1, see structure in page 29) and preparation of Di-lauroxil levodopa docecylester and its HCl salt (See Example 2).
There is no guidance or support for all the compounds as claimed, in particular its aggregates. Further claim 3 recite indirect bonding of R1, R3, R5 C4-34 groups to the carbonyl. Applicants do not provide any guidance to how indirectly C4-34 groups are connected and there are no representative examples of such levodopa derivatives.
The prior art provide examples and guidance to select levodopa derivative compounds (See Hoffmann-La Roche (GB 1347375), Atlas et al. (US 2006/0025385 A1)).
(c) Representative number of samples:
Applicants have provided data for 2 compounds (examples 1 and 2). Art provides some guidance and data for select levodopa fatty acid derivatives (see GB 1347375)
The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim, Vas- Gath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the "written description" inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in tile art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed" (See Vas-Gath at page 1116.)
The description requirement of the patent statue requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.").
Based on the specification as originally filed, one of ordinary skill in the art will not recognize that the applicants were in possession of all the levodopa derivative(s) as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann-La Roche (GB 1347375).
The species elected for examination is:
wherein R2= H, R6 is CH3(CH2)6-O; R7=R8=CH3(CH2)6.
For examination purposes aggregate has been interpreted as the side chain(s) substituent (e.g. -O-(CH2)6-CH3 attached to -CO or (CH2)6-CH3 attached to -COO as in the elected compound above).
Hoffman La Roche phenylalanine derivative(s) of formula (I) are:
The reference teach that R1 represents hydroxy or alkoxy group, R2, R3 can be hydrogen, R4 represents alkananoyl group, R1-R4 or aliphatic portions of the groups R1-R4 each contain up to 18 carbon atoms and its salts (See p 1, lines 13-55).
If in the above formula I of the reference, R1 is CH3(CH2)6-, R3=R2 is H and R4 is CH3(CH2)6- then it is the elected compound.
As to its HCl salt as in claim 9, the reference teaches HCl salts of the compounds (see p 2, line 29).
Further the reference compounds of formula I include:
Further taught is that the phenylalanine esters of formula (I) can be used as medicinal products in the form of pharmaceutical preparations, which contain the compounds or the salts, with a pharmaceutical carrier for enteral or parenteral administration, e.g. gelatin, polyalkylene glycols, vegetable oils, petroleum jelly etc. The pharmaceutical preparations can be in the form of solid tablets, capsules, liquid etc. (See p 10, lines 10-30). The reference teaches that the compounds of formula I are characterized by manifold actions on the nervous system and in particular they possess hypotensive, antipyretic and anti-Parkinson properties (p 10, lines 3-9). In the treatment of Parkinsonism the active ingredient can be administered orally or parenterally (p 10, lines 99-102).
From the teachings of Hoffmann-La Roche a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to arrive at the elected compound because if in formula I, when R1 is CH3(CH2)6-, R3=R4 is H and R4 is CH3(CH2)6- then it is the elected compound. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed compound and its HCl salt with a reasonable amount of success. Thus claim 1 would have been obvious over the reference. As to claim 2, the reference teach that R1, R4 can have aliphatic group, can contain up to 18 carbon atoms. As to claim 3, the elected species formulated from the reference contains R1-C7 group, R3 and R4, C7 group connected directly to the carbonyl to form an ester. As to claim 4, R2 is H, R6 is a derivative of saturated fatty alcohol (O(CH2)6-CH3), R7 and R8, derivative of saturated fatty acid ((CH2)6-CH3) based on the elected compound prepared from the reference’s teachings. As to claim 5, R6 is -O-R9, where R9 is (CH2)6-CH3), R7 and R8 is alkyl group with 7 carbon atoms and is linear, ((CH2)6-CH3). As to claim 6, in the reference compound, R6 is CH3(CH2)6O-. As to claim 8, in the reference compound, R7 and R8 is CH3(CH2)6. As to its HCl salt, the reference teaches HCl salts of the compound(s). Hence a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed HCl salt.
As to claims 11-12, from the prior art teachings a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to formulate a pharmaceutical composition of the phenylalanine derivative compounds/salts, with carriers e.g. a vegetable oil, for oral administration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed composition with a reasonable amount of success and use the derivatives as therapeutic composition for Parkinson’s treatment. As to claim 14, it is known that castor oil is a vegetable oil and hence a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use it as a carrier in the composition.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann-La Roche (GB 1347375) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Yu (US 20160002157 A1).
Hoffmann-La Roche teachings as above. The rejection above is incorporated herein.
The reference is not explicit in teaching the pharmaceutical composition in the form of liposomes, micro particles.
Yu teaches compositions comprising high penetration prodrugs (HPP) for the treatment of Parkinson’s disease. The high penetration prodrugs include:
[0028].
Examples of the compound include:
The reference teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the prodrugs of L-dopa comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, e.g. castor oil [0129], the aerosols can be prepared by liposomal preparation [0133], injectable formulations can be prepared by entrapping the high penetration prodrugs in liposomes or microemulsions [0139], injectable depot forms are made by forming microencapsule matrices of an HPP or in biodegradable polymers such as polylactide-polyglycolide [0139], a tablet may also be formulated as liposomes and/or microspheres [0128].
A person of ordinary skill in the art from the teachings of Yu before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious that select HPP compounds of Yu are levodopa derivatives. From Yu a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to formulate a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compounds of Hoffmann-La Roche with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, e.g. castor oil for oral or injectable or inhalable administration (addressing claims 11, 12 and 14), as liposomes (addressing claim 13) or as microparticles (e.g. microspheres encapsulated in polylactide-polyglycolide polymer, with a pharmaceutical carrier, e.g. polymer for oral administration) of the levodopa derivatives (addressing claims 15-18). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at such pharmaceutical composition with a reasonable amount of success and use it in Parkinson’s therapy. Thus claims 11-18 would have been obvious over the combined prior art teachings.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atlas et al. (US 2006/0025385 A1).
Atlas teach L-Dopa amide derivatives, its salts and its use (Abstract). Atlas provides the following compound(s) for preparation such L-Dopa amide derivatives.
If in the above formula, if R7 alkyl is CH3(CH2)6-, R11 and R10 is CH3(CH2)6- and R8 and R9 is H, then it is the elected species of the instant application. The reference teaches formulation of pharmaceutical compositions comprising acceptable carrier(s), e.g. cellulose derivatives, vegetable oils, PEG, saline buffer, water etc. for oral, injection administration (See [0138], [0140], [0143], [0150-151]); Suitable lipophilic solvents or vehicles include liposomes [0157]; further taught is that the composition includes particles including a slow release carrier (typically, a polymeric carrier), and the compound [0163]; the polymers include polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) [0151], polyethylene glycols [0160]. Pharmaceutical compositions of the present invention may be manufactured by processes well known in the art, e.g., by means of conventional mixing, dissolving, granulating, dragee-making, levigating, emulsifing, encapsulating, entrapping or lyophilizing processes [0148].
From the teachings of Atlas a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to arrive at the elected compound. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed compound with a reasonable amount of success and use it in the preparation of L-dopa amide derivatives. Thus claim 1 would have been obvious over the reference. As to claim 2, the reference teach that R1, R4 can have aliphatic group, can contain up to 30 carbon atoms. As to claim 3, the elected species formulated from the reference contains R1-C7 alkyl group, R3 and R4, C7alkyl group connected directly to the carbonyl to form an ester. As to claim 4, R2 is H, R6 is a derivative of saturated fatty alcohol (O(CH2)6-CH3), R7 and R8, derivative of saturated fatty acid ((CH2)6-CH3) based on the elected compound prepared from the reference’s teachings. As to claim 5, R6 is -O-R9, where R9 is (CH2)6-CH3), R7 and R8 is alkyl group with 6 carbon atoms and is linear, ((CH2)6-CH3). As to claim 6, in the reference compound R6 is CH3(CH2)6O-. As to claim 8, in the reference compound, R7 and R8 is CH3(CH2)6.
As to its HCl salt, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the salt of the elected compound, e.g. HCl salt because salts confer useful attributes such as improved aqueous solubility, chemical stability etc. Hence one skilled in the art would have been motivated to prepare the salts of the above compound for its chemical stability and use in the preparation of L-dopa amide derivatives. As to claims 11-12, 15-18, the reference teaches composition comprising the compound, an acceptable carrier, e.g. saline or water and a polymer (e.g. polyethylene glycol), suitable for oral, injection administration. As to claim 13, Atlas teach suitable lipophilic solvents include liposomes. Hence a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to arrive at a composition comprising the levodopa derivative compound in the form of liposomes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Note: The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure: AT324316 teach the following compounds and the process of making them for use as agents for treating Parkinson’s disease.
JP 47031950 and JP 47031949, teach 3, 4diacyloxyphenyl alanines. Neidhardt teaches several levodopa derivative compounds (e.g. 2376443-31-9/RN, 2376443-32-0/RN, 2376443-33-1/RN etc.) (Phys Chem. Chem. Phys. 2018, 20, 20371-81).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12/036199 (‘199).
The instant claims are directed to:
The dependent claims are limited to specific compounds. Claims 4 and 5 are to select Formula II compounds.
Claims 11-14 are to a composition comprising the compound, and for specific dosage administration, injectable, inhalable, orally ingestible, topical, composition in the form of liposomes, micelles; the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier is castor oil. Claims 15-18 are to a pharmaceutical composition comprising micro or nano particles, the compound encapsulated in a pharmaceutically acceptable polymer; the composition is injectable, inhalable, orally ingestible or for topical.
‘199 reference claims are directed to:
The dependent claims are to the compound, a composition comprising the compound, and for specific dosage administration, injectable, inhalable, orally ingestible, topical, composition in the form of liposomes, micelles; the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier is castor oil.
The elected compound and select levodopa derivative compounds of formula II of the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘199 reference compound and its composition because the genus of formula II of the instant claims encompass homologs of the reference compound. For example, if in Formula II, R2 is H, R6 is CH3(CH2)6- and R7=R8= CH3(CH2)6-, the elected compound is a homolog (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) of the compound of claims 1 and 2 of the reference claims. For example the reference compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties." In re Deue134 USPQ2d 1210 at 1214. Furthermore MPEP 2144.09 (11) states: "Compounds which are [...] homologs (...) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977)." Structural similarity is the touchstone of the nonobviousness inquiry for patents claiming a novel chemical compound. Eisai Co. v. Dr. Reddy's Laboratories, 533 F.3d1353,1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Thus claims 1-6, 8 would have been obvious over the reference compound. As to the composition claims 11-14, it would have been obvious over the reference claims 4-7.
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12/036199 (‘199) in view of Yu (US 20160002157 A1).
The rejection above is incorporated herein. The reference claims do not disclose the pharmaceutical composition as claimed.
Yu’s teachings as discussed above.
From Yu a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to arrive at the instantly claimed pharmaceutical composition, e.g. microparticles (e.g. microspheres encapsulated in polylactide-polyglycolide polymer, with a pharmaceutical carrier, e.g. polymer for oral administration) of the levodopa derivatives with a reasonable amount of success and use it in Parkinson’s therapy, thus addressing claims 15-18.
Conclusion
/Umamaheswari Ramachandran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627