DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. [US 20190280433 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a touch protection sleeve (2, Fig 2)) for an HV header with at least one pin (3) that protrudes along a plugging direction away from a base plate (201) and has a touch protection cap (304, Fig 3) at its distal end, wherein the touch protection sleeve (2) is made from an injection moldable material (plastic material, components formed by molding; see [0016]) and comprises at least one attachment section (mounting hole 202 on mounting plate 201) for attaching the touch protection sleeve (2) to the header, wherein the touch protection sleeve (2) forms a receptacle adapted to surround the pin (3) in a spaced and HV touch protection manner.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) is adapted (via sealing ring 7) to be sealingly mounted to the base plate (201).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises two openings at two opposite ends (bottom opening at the mounting plate 201 and top opening at mating surface 209; see Figures 2-4), wherein one of the openings is adapted to be sealed by the base plate (201, with pin 3 inserted) in the mounted state.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises at least one polarization feature (polygonal structures 302) allowing a mounting to the header at only a limited number of possible rotational positions, preferably only one rotational position (the features are designed to “ensure a single orientation… and effectively prevent mis-installation”; see [0032]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises at least one terminal lock assurance (5 including features 501-506) adapted to block a movement of a terminal lock in a mating connector out of a locking position.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 6, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises at least two terminal lock assurances (features 501-506) which could be used to block a movement of the terminal lock in the mating connector out of a locking position located at different depths along the plugging direction.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 7, Zhang further discloses two terminal lock assurances (features 501-506) are located at different rotational positions.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 6, Zhang further discloses at least one terminal lock assurance (506, 501) is formed as a thickened edge section.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises at least one shield engagement section (207, Fig 4) adapted for engaging a shield sleeve (4).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses a wall section that forms at least one shield engagement section (anti-fault rib 206) also forms a terminal lock assurance (fittingly connected with the shield sleeve 4 so that mis-installation of the shield sleeve 4 is prevented; see [0034]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses the touch protection sleeve (2) comprises at least one wall section (at anti-fault rib 206) with an increased wall thickness, the wall section forming an outwardly protruding protrusion with a blocking face of a shield engagement section (207), wherein the wall section is a base section (formed on the base 201) for at least one attachment section (202).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses an electrically conductive shield sleeve (4) mounted around the touch protection sleeve (2).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses an HV header (1, Fig 1) with at least one pin (3) protruding from a base plate (201), comprising at least one touch protection sleeve (2) according to claim 1 mounted to the base plate (201).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Zhang further discloses a metallic shielding (4), wherein the touch protection sleeve (2) and the metallic shielding (4) can selectively and interchangeably be mounted around the same pin (3) of a header. Zhang invention is designed to solve the problem of existing connectors being “non-universal” and “bulky”. Zhangs design allows for the matching of both 90 degrees and 180 degrees plug sheaths” using the same basic header components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. [US 20190280433 A1] in view of Czech et al. [US 20180034207 A1].
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 3, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the opening associated with the distal end is located entirely in a half space defined by a plane running perpendicular to an axial direction of the pin at a distance of at least 60 % of the length of the pin away from the base plate.
However, Czech discloses a similar touch protection sleeve (32, Fig 1-2) that protrudes further from the housing (16) than the pins (12) to “ensure unwanted contact is prevented”; see [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang as suggested by Czech to provide the opening associated with the distal end is located entirely in a half space defined by a plane running perpendicular to an axial direction of the pin at a distance of at least 60 % of the length of the pin away from the base plate. Zhang utilizes insulating caps (304) for safety principles while Czech suggests safety distance to prevent finger contact. Defining a specific percentage (at least 60%) for the spacing is considered a routine optimization of a result-effective variable to meet industry safety standards for touch protection and would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834