Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition that has, at the smaller depth of the first cosmetic composition, a rounded shape must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Look (US 6695510).
Regarding claim 1, Look discloses a cosmetics product, comprising: a solid cosmetic composition forming a stick and including, in a cosmetically- acceptable medium: at least one first pigment suspended in a first cosmetic composition (16); and a second cosmetic composition (14) which is differentiated from the first cosmetic composition by one or more of color, pigment, or finish (col. 6, ll. 30-46), wherein along a width of a top of the stick, a depth of the first cosmetic composition gradually decreases from a larger depth to a smaller depth (See annotated Fig. 2n below).
Regarding claim 2, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 1, wherein in a cross-section along a plane that is perpendicular to an axis along a length of the solid composition, a boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition has a "V" shape, with two straight lines extending from a point at an angle to each other (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 3, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 1, wherein the gradual decrease is linear and monotonic (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 5, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 1, wherein the second cosmetic composition is colorless (col. 6, ll. 33-36).
Regarding claim 6, Look discloses a cosmetic product, comprising: a solid cosmetic composition forming a stick and including: at least a first cosmetic composition (16) containing, in a cosmetically-acceptable medium, a first pigment, and a second cosmetic composition (14) containing, in a cosmetically-acceptable medium, a second pigment different from the first pigment (col. 6, ll. 30-46), wherein along a width of a top of the stick, a depth of the first cosmetic composition gradually decreases from a larger depth to a smaller depth (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 7, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 6, wherein in a cross-section along a plane that is perpendicular to an axis along a length of the solid cosmetic composition, a boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition has a "V" shape, with two straight lines extending from a point at an angle to each other (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 8, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 6, wherein the gradual decrease is linear and monotonic (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 10, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 6, wherein the second cosmetic composition is colorless (col. 6, ll. 33-36).
Regarding claim 11, Look discloses a cosmetics product, comprising: a dispenser (12); and a solid cosmetic composition forming a stick and housed in the dispenser, and wherein the solid cosmetic composition has a top protruding from the dispenser (Fig. 2n), and wherein the solid cosmetic composition includes, in a cosmetically-acceptable medium: at least one first pigment suspended in a first cosmetic composition (16), and a second cosmetic composition (14) which is differentiated from the first cosmetic composition by one or more of color, pigment, or finish (col. 6, ll. 30-46), wherein along a width of the top of the stick, a first amount of the first cosmetic composition is gradually decreased with respect to a second amount of the second cosmetic composition (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 12, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 11, wherein in a cross-section along a plane that is perpendicular to an axis along a length of the solid cosmetic composition, a boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition has a "V" shape, with two straight lines extending from a point at an angle to each other (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 13, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 11, wherein the gradual decrease is linear and monotonic (Fig. 2n).
Regarding claim 15, Look discloses the cosmetics product of claim 11, wherein the second cosmetic composition is colorless (col. 6, ll. 33-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Look.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14, Look teaches the cosmetics product of claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively, wherein, in a cross-section along a plane that is perpendicular to an axis along a length of the solid cosmetic composition, a boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition has, at the smaller depth of the first cosmetic composition, a rounded shape (Fig. 2h).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the shape of the first and second compositions of Look such that in a cross-section along a plane that is perpendicular to an axis along a length of the solid cosmetic composition, a boundary between the first cosmetic composition and the second cosmetic composition has, at the smaller depth of the first cosmetic composition, a rounded shape, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of selecting a different shape or combining several shapes within the teachings of Look (Figs. 2a-2y and col. 5, ll. 20-45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Ambler, O’Reilly, Kapustin, Chao, Palo, and Costo Lucco references are cited as being directed to the state of the art of cosmetic sticks with more than one composition.
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754