CTNF 18/735,285 CTNF 85997 DETAILED ACTION In response to communication(s) filed 06/06/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claims 1, 4-9 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, 11, 12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,569,902 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons. Instant claims 1, 6 and 7 disclose as follows: Similarly, patented claim 1 discloses as follows: 1. An electronic equipment configured to be a network side equipment, comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine satellite location information; calculate, based on the determined satellite location information, first information being associated with a first timing advance of a first link which is between the network side equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed; send, to a user equipment, the first information and the satellite location information, for satellite communication between the user equipment and the satellite equipment; receive, from the user equipment, a random access request message to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment; and in response to the random access request message, send, to the user equipment, a random access response message. 6 . The electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive information related to a communication demand from the user equipment ; and send, in response to the received information related to a communication demand, information of the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment to the user equipment. 7 . The electronic equipment according to claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: select the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment based on the information related to a communication demand. 1. An electronic equipment configured to be a network side equipment, the electronic equipment comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive, from a user equipment, a random access request message to request a direct access to a satellite equipment by the user equipment; and in response to the random access request message: send a satellite position information request to the satellite equipment; in response to the satellite position information request, receive a satellite position from the satellite equipment; based on the received satellite position, calculate a time advance between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment; send, to the user equipment, a random access response message that includes control information related to an uplink data transmission directly from the user equipment to the satellite equipment, wherein the control information comprises a physical layer parameter related to the uplink data transmission directly from the user equipment to the satellite equipment, wherein the physical layer parameter comprises each of: information about an uplink transmission power for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about uplink resources for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; and information about the calculated time advance between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the user equipment, information related to a communication demand; select the satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access from a plurality of satellite equipment according to the information related to the communication demand; and send information on the selected satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access, to the user equipment. The claimed invention of the instant application is an obvious variation of the issued patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions. Each and every limitation of instant claims 1, 6 and 7 are incorporated and claimed in the patented invention of claim 1. The terms “satellite location information” and “first information” presented in instant claim 1 are obvious variations of “satellite position information” and “control information” termed in patented claim 1. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other patented invention. Regarding dependent claims 4, 5 and 8: Instant claims 4 and 5 are an obvious variation of patented claim 7. Instant claim 8 is an obvious variation of patented claim 2. Instant claim 9 and 13 discloses as follows: Similarly, patented claim 11 discloses as follows: 9. A user equipment, comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive, from a network side equipment, first information and satellite location information, for satellite communication between the user equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed, wherein the satellite location information is determined by the network side equipment, and the first information is calculated based on the determined satellite location information and is associated with a first timing advance of a first link which is between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment; send, to the network side equipment, a random access request message to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment; receive, from the network side equipment, a random access response message . 13 . The user equipment according to claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send information related to a communication demand to the network side equipment; and receive information of the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment from the network side equipment or from the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment. 11. A user equipment, comprising processing circuitry configured to: send, to a network side equipment, a random access request message to request a direct access to a satellite equipment by the user equipment; and in response to the random access request message, receive, from the network side equipment, control information related to an uplink data transmission directly between the user equipment and the satellite equipment, wherein the control information comprises a physical layer parameter related to the uplink data transmission, wherein the physical layer parameter comprises each of: information about an uplink transmission power for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about uplink resources for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about a time advance between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment; and communicate directly with the satellite equipment based on the control information, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, to the network side equipment, information related to a communication demand so as to enable the network side equipment to select the satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access from a plurality of satellite equipment according to the information related to the communication demand; and receive, from the satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access or the network side equipment, information on the satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access. The claimed invention of the instant application is an obvious variation of the issued patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions. Each and every limitation of instant claims 9 and 13 are incorporated and claimed in the patented invention of claim 11. The term “first information” presented in instant claim 9 is an obvious variation of “control information” termed in patented claim 11. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other patented invention. Regarding dependent claims 14: Instant claim 14 is an obvious variation of patented claim 12. Instant claim 15 discloses as follows: Similarly, patented claim 16 discloses as follows: 15. A wireless communication method executed by an electronic equipment, comprising: determining satellite location information; calculating, based on the determined satellite location information, first information being associated with a first timing advance of a first link which is between the network side equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed; sending, to a user equipment, the first information and the satellite location information, for satellite communication between the user equipment and the satellite equipment; receiving, from the user equipment, a random access request message to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment; and in response to the random access request message, sending, to the user equipment, a random access response message. 16. A wireless communication method performed by an electronic equipment configured to be a network side equipment, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment, a random access request message to request a direct access to a satellite equipment by the user equipment; and in response to the random access request message: sending a satellite position information request to the satellite equipment; in response to the satellite position information request, receiving satellite position from the satellite equipment; based on the received satellite position, calculating a time advance between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment; sending, to the user equipment, a random access response message that includes control information related to an uplink data transmission directly between the user equipment and the satellite equipment, wherein the control information comprises a physical layer parameter related to the uplink data transmission directly from the user equipment to the satellite equipment, wherein the physical layer parameter comprises each of: information about an uplink transmission power for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; information about uplink resources for the user equipment to use when transmitting to the satellite equipment; and information about the calculated time advance between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the user equipment, information related to a communication demand; selecting the satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access from a plurality of satellite equipment according to the information related to the communication demand; and sending information on the selected satellite equipment that the user equipment is to access , to the user equipment. The claimed invention of the instant application is an obvious variation of the issued patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions. Each and every limitation of instant claim 15 is incorporated and claimed in the patented invention of claim 16. The terms “satellite location information” and “first information” presented in instant claim 15 are obvious variations of “satellite position information” and “control information” termed in patented claim 16. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other patented invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Purkayastha et al. (US 2017/0230104 A1) hereinafter “Purkayastha.” Regarding Claim 1, Purkayastha teaches An electronic equipment configured to be a network side equipment (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) , comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine satellite location information (Purkayastha: paragraph 0103, position reference including position information of the satellites) ; calculate, based on the determined satellite location information, first information being associated with a first timing advance of a first link (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, determine whether the handoff time to target satellite needs to be advanced) which is between the network side equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, said handoff to target satellite) ; send, to a user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0149-0151 & Fig. 8, user terminal (UT); see also paragraphs 0080-0082 & Figs. 1 and 4) , the first information and the satellite location information, for satellite communication between the user equipment and the satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0242, sending handoff signaling to the UT including information to communicate with new satellite) ; receive, from the user equipment, a random access request message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, request message sent from UT to network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0152 & 0155, indication of satellite to serve the UT) ; and in response to the random access request message, send, to the user equipment, a random access response message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0151-0155 & Fig. 8, send response message to the UT; see also Figs. 15-17, radio connection reconfiguration message sent to the UT) . Regarding Claim 2, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the random access request message comprises a random access code representing that the user equipment desires to access a satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0152 & 0155, said indication of satellite to serve the UT) . Regarding Claim 3, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send an updated time advance to the user equipment before each uplink transmission of the user equipment or when the user equipment is in a desynchronizing state (Purkayastha: paragraph 0258, send updated handoff information to the UE based on modified handoff time) . Regarding Claim 4, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send the time advance by resources different from those used by the satellite equipment to be accessed (Purkayastha: paragraph 0155, carrier frequenc y at which the next satellite cell (e.g., the cell of the next satellite that will be serving the UT) will be transmitting may also be sent to the UT) . Regarding Claim 5, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send the time advance by time resources different from those used by the satellite equipment to be accessed, or by frequency resources different from those used by the satellite equipment to be accessed (Purkayastha: paragraph 0155, carrier frequenc y at which the next satellite cell (e.g., the cell of the next satellite that will be serving the UT) will be transmitting may also be sent to the UT) . Regarding Claim 6, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive information related to a communication demand from the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0234, determine satellite based on measured channel conditions) ; and send, in response to the received information related to a communication demand, information of the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment to the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0234, generate new satellite based on measurement report) . Regarding Claim 7, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: select the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment based on the information related to a communication demand (Purkayastha: paragraph 0234, generate new satellite based on measurement report) . Regarding Claim 8, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, to the user equipment, switching instruction information representing switching from a satellite equipment currently accessed by the user equipment to another satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0155, handoff to a new or next satellite in list) . Regarding Claim 9, Purkayastha teaches A user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0149-0151 & Fig. 8, user terminal (UT); see also paragraphs 0080-0082 & Figs. 1 and 4) , comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive, from a network side equipment (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) , first information (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, handoff time to target satellite) and satellite location information (Purkayastha: paragraph 0103, position reference including position information of the satellites) , for satellite communication between the user equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, said handoff to target satellite) , wherein the satellite location information is determined by the network side equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0103, position reference including position information of the satellites determined by NAC) , and the first information is calculated based on the determined satellite location information and is associated with a first timing advance of a first link (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, determine whether the handoff time to target satellite needs to be advanced) which is between the network side equipment and the satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, said handoff to target satellite) ; send, to the network side equipment, a random access request message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, request message sent from UT to network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0152 & 0155, indication of satellite to serve the UT) ; receive, from the network side equipment, a random access response message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0151-0155 & Fig. 8, send response message to the UT; see also Figs. 15-17, radio connection reconfiguration message sent to the UT) . Regarding Claim 10, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate, based on the first information, the satellite location information and user equipment location information, a second timing advance of a second link which is between the user equipment and the satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0535, UT that there may be a satellite pointing error that necessitates a change in a handoff time). Regarding Claim 11, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the random access request message comprises a random access code representing that the user equipment desires to access a satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0152 & 0155, said indication of satellite to serve the UT) . Regarding Claim 12, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive an updated time advance from the network side equipment before each uplink transmission of the user equipment or when the user equipment is in a desynchronizing state (Purkayastha: paragraph 0258, receive updated handoff information based on modified handoff time) . Regarding Claim 13, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send information related to a communication demand to the network side equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0234, determine satellite based on measured channel conditions) ; and receive information of the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment from the network side equipment or from the satellite equipment to be accessed by the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0234, generate new satellite based on measurement report) . Regarding Claim 14, Purkayastha teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the network side equipment or from the satellite equipment currently accessed by the user equipment, switching instruction information representing switching from the satellite equipment currently accessed to another satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0155, handoff to a new or next satellite in list) . Regarding Claim 15, Purkayastha teaches A wireless communication method executed by an electronic equipment (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) , comprising: determining satellite location information (Purkayastha: paragraph 0103, position reference including position information of the satellites) ; calculating, based on the determined satellite location information, first information being associated with a first timing advance of a first link (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, determine whether the handoff time to target satellite needs to be advanced) which is between the network side equipment and a satellite equipment to be accessed or already accessed (Purkayastha: paragraph 0241, said handoff to target satellite) ; sending, to a user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0149-0151 & Fig. 8, user terminal (UT); see also paragraphs 0080-0082 & Figs. 1 and 4) , the first information and the satellite location information, for satellite communication between the user equipment and the satellite equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0242, sending handoff signaling to the UT including information to communicate with new satellite) ; receiving, from the user equipment, a random access request message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0133, 0151 & Fig. 8, request message sent from UT to network access controller (NAC) in the ground network (GN)) to request a transmission through the satellite communication by the user equipment (Purkayastha: paragraph 0152 & 0155, indication of satellite to serve the UT) ; and in response to the random access request message, sending, to the user equipment, a random access response message (Purkayastha: paragraphs 0151-0155 & Fig. 8, send response message to the UT; see also Figs. 15-17, radio connection reconfiguration message sent to the UT ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658 A1) teaches a user equipment receiving a random access response message from a base station for uplink transmissions with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network communication (paragraphs 0041-0042). Phuyal et al. (US 2018/0324869 A1) teaches transmitting a timing advance in a RAR message for uplink early data transmission (paragraph 0073). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NAJEEB ANSARI whose telephone number is (571)270-5446. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10am to 2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached at 469-295-9193. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463 /ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 10 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 11 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 12 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 13 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 14 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 15 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 16 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 17 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 18 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 19 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 20 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 21 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 22 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 23 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 24 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 25 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/735,285 Page 26 Art Unit: 2463