Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buckley (US. Pat. 10,752,190).
Regarding claim 1, Buckley teaches a window switch module for operating a plurality of moveable windows 13 in a vehicle, the window switch module comprising: a primary switch 12 configured to selectively open and close each of the plurality of moveable windows; and a plurality of secondary switches (A-D) operatively connected to the primary switch, wherein each secondary switch is configured to select operation of at least one of the moveable windows via actuation of the main switch (Figs. 1-3 and col. 4, lines 20-65).
Regarding claim 11, Buckley teaches a vehicle defining a vehicle interior and comprising: a plurality of moveable windows 13, including a left-front window, a left-rear window, a right-front window, and a right-rear window; a window switch module 11 arranged within the vehicle interior and comprising: a primary switch 12 configured to selectively open and close each of the plurality of moveable windows; and a plurality of secondary switches (A-D) operatively connected to the primary switch, wherein each secondary switch is configured to select operation of at least one of the moveable windows via actuation of the main switch (Figs. 1-3 and col. 4, lines 20-65).
Regarding claim 2, Buckley teaches the window switch module of claim 1, wherein the plurality of moveable windows includes a left-front window, a left-rear window, a right-front window, and a right-rear window Figs. 1-3 and col. 4, lines 20-65).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Buckley teaches the switch module wherein the plurality of secondary switches includes: a first button A configured to select operation of the left-front window via the primary switch; a second button B configured to select operation of the right-front window via the primary switch; a third button C configured to select operation of the left-rear window via the primary switch; and a fourth button D configured to select operation of the right-rear window via the primary switch (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Buckley teaches the window switch module further comprising a tertiary switch (switch 12 acts as a tertiary switch) operatively connected to the primary switch and configured to select a predefined position of at least one of the moveable windows via actuation of the primary switch and at least one of the secondary switches (multi-tap or depression functionality on the selected windows to move them to predefined positions, such as 1 tap gives a ¾ height, 2 taps gives ½ height, see col. 8, lines 10-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Sakai (US. Pat. 7,262,375).
Buckley teaches a master window switch module for operating a plurality of moveable windows 13, including a left-front window, a left-rear window, a right-front window, and a right-rear window in a vehicle, the window switch module comprising: a primary switch 12 configured to selectively open and close each of the plurality of moveable windows; and a plurality of secondary switches (A-D) operatively connected to the primary switch, wherein each secondary switch is configured to select operation of at least one of the moveable windows via actuation of the main switch ((Figs. 1-3 and col. 4, lines 20-65), as required by claim 20; wherein the plurality of secondary switches includes: a first three switch (0, A, C) defining: a first position (position 0) configured to select operation of the left-front window via the primary switch (switch A operates left-front window); a second position (position 0) configured to select operation of the left-rear window via the primary switch (switch C operates left-rear window); and a third position configured to deselect operation of each of the left-front window and the left-rear window via the primary switch in a first mode (position 0 turns off grouping-left-front and left-rear are deselected from simultaneous operation and work individually, see Fig. 3a and col. 4, lines 30-65) and select simultaneous operation of the left-front window and the left-rear window via the primary switch in a second mode (the second mode has two different positions, where all fours switches A-D are grouped together and simultaneously operate, see Fig. 3b; and where switches A-b grouped together and C-D grouped together, see Fig. 3C and col. 4, lines 20-65); and a second three- switch (0, B, D) defining: a first position (position 0) configured to select operation of the right-front window via the primary switch (switch B operates right-front window); a second position (position 0) configured to select operation of the right-rear window via the primary switch (switch D operates right-rear window); and a third position configured to deselect operation of each of the right-front window and the right-rear window via the primary switch in a first mode (position 0 turns off grouping-right-front and right-rear are deselected from simultaneous operation and work individually, see Fig. 3a and col. 4, lines 30-65) and select simultaneous operation of the right-front window and the right-rear window via the primary switch in a second mode (the second mode has two different positions, where all fours switches A-D are grouped together and simultaneously operate, see Fig. 3b; and where switches A-B grouped together and C-D grouped together, see Fig. 3C and col. 4, lines 20-65), as required by claims 3, 12 and 20; wherein the second mode of operation of the first (A, C) and second three switches (B, D) is defined when each of the first three switch and the second three switch is in its respective third position (Fig. 3b), as required by claims 4, 14 and 20.
Buckley does not teach the claimed structure of the secondary switch (three-way switches). However. Sakai teaches a similar window switch module with a primary switch SW3 and a secondary switch SW1, wherein the secondary switch includes a first three-way switches (L1, L4, and center) and a second three-way switches (L2, L3, and center), as required by claims 3, 4, 12, 14, and 20. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sakai in the switch of Buckley to provide an improved ergonomics and user convenience.
Buckley does not teach the following a mirror position regulator, a window operation lockout switch, and a switch configured to operate vehicle door locks.
However. Sakai teaches a similar window module that comprises a mirror position regulator SW4 configured to operate one or more vehicle side mirrors (Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 1-10), as required by claims 7 and 16; further comprising a function selector (SW1 acts as a function selector) configured to select between operation of the primary switch SW1 and the mirror position regulator SW4 (col. 3, lines 10-20), as required by claims 8 and 17; further comprising a window operation lockout switch SW6 (Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 1-10), as required by claim 9 and 18; further comprising a switch configured to operate vehicle door locks (Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 1-10), as required by claims 10 and 19. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add mirror controls, a function selector, window lockout and door lock switches to the window switch panel of Buckley to create a highly integrated multi-functional master control panel on the driver’s door, as is conventional in the automotive art for improved ergonomics and convenience.
Conclusion
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831