DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application #18735320 filed 06/06/2024. Claims 1-12 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 and 12 recites “first downlink control information (DCI) is the same as second DCI … wherein a frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource is located in an overlapping part between a candidate frequency domain position of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a candidate frequency domain position of a second PDCCH, and a time domain position of the first time-frequency resource is located in an overlapping part between a candidate time domain position of the first PDCCH and a candidate time domain position of the second PDCCH”. It is not clear to examiner if there is any relationship between “the first DCI, second DCI, first PDCCH, second PDCCH” and “first time-frequency resource” with the previously recited MCCH or MTCH or “frequency domain resource”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (FUJISHIRO hereinafter) (US 20190223156 A1, submitted in IDS) in view of SHIN et al. (SHIN hereinafter) (US 20200187170 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 7, FUJISHIRO teaches, A multicast broadcast service sending method, comprising:
receiving indication information from a core network device (FUJISHIRO; The BM-SC 22 manages and allocates TMGI (Temporary Mobile Group Identity), Par. 0046), wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; multicast distribution of an MBMS service is performed by the SC-PTM transmission to a plurality of UEs 100 including a UE in a new category (eMTC UE and/or NB-IoT UE), Par. 0110; The mbmsSessionInfo contains a TMGI and a session ID (sessionId) to identify the MBMS service. The G-RNTI is an RNTI to identify a multicast group (specifically, SC-MTCH addressed to a specific group). The G-RNTI is mapped to the TMGI on a one-to-one basis, Par. 0088);
sending a multicast control channel (MCCH) to the narrowband terminal and the broadband terminal, wherein the MCCH is used to carry configuration information of a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) of the target multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MCCH includes information (SC-MTCH Config) necessary for acquiring the SC-MTCH. The information (SC-MTCH Config) corresponds to the SCPTM configuration information (SCPTM Configuration) illustrated in FIG. 10. Only one SC-MCCH exists in one cell, Par. 0092), ; and
sending the target multicast broadcast service to the narrowband terminal and the broadband terminal on a frequency domain resource corresponding to the MTCH (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MTCH is provided for each MBMS service (TMGI). The SC-MTCH includes data (multicast data) belonging to the corresponding MBMS service, Par. 0093; As illustrated in FIG. 20, in the time direction, the eNB 200 schedules the PDSCH corresponding to the SC-MTCH in subframe #3, Par. 0167; When the TMGI of interest is available in SC-MCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH scrambled with G-RNTI, i.e., SC-PTM in the subframe occasions, Par. 0237).
Although FUJISHIRO teaches one MCCH for the plurality of UEs in Par. 0005, but failed to explicitly teach,
wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service comprises a narrowband terminal and a broadband terminal; and
a first frequency domain resource corresponding to the MCCH or a scheduling bandwidth occupied by the MCCH does not exceed a maximum bandwidth capability of the narrowband terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, SHIN teaches,
wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service comprises a narrowband terminal and a broadband terminal (SHIN; when the multiple UE categories are supported, a method for delivering the UE category information (i.e., UE category information configured for the SC-MTCH (or SC-MTCH (M)PDSCH)) in association with the SC-MTCH is described. Even in this case, the UE category information may be configured for each TMGI, Par. 0609; one RNTI value (i.e., common RNTI) may be configured regardless of the UE category, 0565); and
a first frequency domain resource corresponding to the MCCH or a scheduling bandwidth occupied by the MCCH does not exceed a maximum bandwidth capability of the narrowband terminal (SHIN; In view of utilization of a resource block, it may be efficient to transmit an MCCH (i.e. SC-MCCH) from a single PRB, Par. 0369; when the ENB transmits the control information (i.e., DCI) of the MCCH using multiple PRBs configured semi-statically, each UE may verify (or acquire) by selecting one PRB among multiple PRBs and verify a G-RNTI value configured for each TMGI by decoding the MCCH, Par. 0465).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of FUJISHIRO to include the use of single PRB to transmit MCCH (i.e. SC-MCCH) as taught by SHIN in order to utilize resource block efficiently (SHIN; Par. 0369).
Specifically for claim 7, FUJISHIRO teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and at least one memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the communication apparatus to (FUJISHIRO; a UE, Par. 0110).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 8, FUJISHIRO-SHIN teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communication apparatus according to claim 7 respectively, wherein the indication information comprises at least one indicator, there is a correspondence between the at least one indicator and an identifier of at least one multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; The G-RNTI is mapped to the TMGI on a one-to-one basis, Par. 0088), and the at least one multicast broadcast service comprises the target multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MCCH is used for a UE 100 that is to receive an MBMS using SC-PTM, Par. 0071).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 9, FUJISHIRO-SHIN teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communication apparatus according to claim 7 respectively, wherein the first frequency domain resource corresponding to the MCCH is a maximum bandwidth that can be occupied by the MCCH (SHIN; In view of utilization of a resource block, it may be efficient to transmit an MCCH (i.e. SC-MCCH) from a single PRB, Par. 0369).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 10, FUJISHIRO teaches, A multicast broadcast service sending method, comprising:
receiving indication information from a core network device (FUJISHIRO; The BM-SC 22 manages and allocates TMGI (Temporary Mobile Group Identity), Par. 0046), wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; multicast distribution of an MBMS service is performed by the SC-PTM transmission to a plurality of UEs 100 including a UE in a new category (eMTC UE and/or NB-IoT UE), Par. 0110; The mbmsSessionInfo contains a TMGI and a session ID (sessionId) to identify the MBMS service. The G-RNTI is an RNTI to identify a multicast group (specifically, SC-MTCH addressed to a specific group). The G-RNTI is mapped to the TMGI on a one-to-one basis, Par. 0088) ;
sending a first multicast control channel (MCCH) to the narrowband terminal (FUJISHIRO; The base station sets a first period to the first radio terminal … as an SC-MCCH change period in which the configuration information of the SC-MTCH can be changed, Par. 0005);
sending a second MCCH to the broadband terminal (FUJISHIRO; The base station sets a first period to the first radio terminal, and sets a second period to the second radio terminal as an SC-MCCH change period in which the configuration information of the SC-MTCH can be changed, Par. 0005; Fig. 15; The plurality of SC-MCCHs include a first SC-MCCH in which the CE level 1 is applied, and a second SC-MCCH in which the coverage enhancement technique is not applied, Par. 0122), wherein the first MCCH is used to carry first configuration information of a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) of the target multicast broadcast service, and the second MCCH is used to carry second configuration information of the MTCH (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MCCH includes information (SC-MTCH Config) necessary for acquiring the SC-MTCH. The information (SC-MTCH Config) corresponds to the SCPTM configuration information (SCPTM Configuration) illustrated in FIG. 10. Only one SC-MCCH exists in one cell, Par. 0092), and a frequency domain resource that corresponds to the MTCH and that is configured by using the first configuration information is the same as a frequency domain resource that corresponds to the MTCH and that is configured by using the second configuration information (FUJISHIRO; As illustrated in FIG. 20, in the time direction, the eNB 200 schedules the PDSCH corresponding to the SC-MTCH in subframe #3, Par. 0167 [Note that Fig. 20 shows same frequency domain resource for MTCH]); and
sending the target multicast broadcast service to the narrowband terminal and the broadband terminal on the frequency domain resource corresponding to the MTCH (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MTCH is provided for each MBMS service (TMGI). The SC-MTCH includes data (multicast data) belonging to the corresponding MBMS service, Par. 0093; As illustrated in FIG. 20, in the time direction, the eNB 200 schedules the PDSCH corresponding to the SC-MTCH in subframe #3, Par. 0167; When the TMGI of interest is available in SC-MCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH scrambled with G-RNTI, i.e., SC-PTM in the subframe occasions, Par. 0237).
FUJISHIRO failed to explicitly teach,
wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service comprises a narrowband terminal and a broadband terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, SHIN teaches,
wherein the indication information indicates that a receiver of a target multicast broadcast service comprises a narrowband terminal and a broadband terminal (SHIN; when the multiple UE categories are supported, a method for delivering the UE category information (i.e., UE category information configured for the SC-MTCH (or SC-MTCH (M)PDSCH)) in association with the SC-MTCH is described. Even in this case, the UE category information may be configured for each TMGI, Par. 0609; one RNTI value (i.e., common RNTI) may be configured regardless of the UE category, 0565).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of FUJISHIRO to include the use of single PRB to transmit MCCH (i.e. SC-MCCH) as taught by SHIN in order to utilize resource block efficiently (SHIN; Par. 0369).
Specifically for claim 10, FUJISHIRO teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and at least one memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the communication apparatus to (FUJISHIRO; a UE, Par. 0110).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 11, FUJISHIRO-SHIN teaches, The method according to claim 4 and The communication apparatus according to claim 10 respectively,
wherein the indication information comprises at least one indicator, there is a correspondence between the at least one indicator and an identifier of at least one multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; The G-RNTI is mapped to the TMGI on a one-to-one basis, Par. 0088), and the at least one multicast broadcast service comprises the target multicast broadcast service (FUJISHIRO; The SC-MCCH is used for a UE 100 that is to receive an MBMS using SC-PTM, Par. 0071).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference HU et al. (US 20230403727 A1) teaches in Fig. 3 Par. 0032-0033 that “the first BWP and the second BWP are shared between the RedCap UE and the NR UE ... Once the BWPs have been configured, the UEs receives the MCCH and MTCH on the configured BWPs”.
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416