DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on July 18, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (hereinafter Kwon) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0385692 A1) in view of VIGER et al. (hereinafter Viger) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0291763 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Kwon teaches and discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions ([0201]) and a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (non-AP MLD/STA MLD/client; figure 1; [0056]) comprising: one or more processors (host processor, figure 1); and memory (inherent component of the non-AP MLD/STA MLD/client; figure 1) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to:
receive, from an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) (access point/AP MLD; figure 1), while in a first power save mode (power save mode, such as a sleep mode or non-wake mode), a beacon frame (beacon, figure 3) comprising a traffic indication map (TIM) element indicating downlink buffered units (BUs) for the non-AP MLD ([0071]; “…A TIM bit corresponding to a non-AP MLD indicates buffered BU status for a non-AP MLD…”), wherein during the first power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames on one of enabled links at least once within a listen interval ([0085]; [0090]; teaches the non-AP MLD receives a beacon comprising TIM indicating downlink BUs and the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for a beacon frame on an enable link within a listen interval); and after receiving the downlink BUs from the AP MLD, switch to a second power save mode ([0087]; [0090]; [0092]; teaches switching to an awake mode after receiving BUs).
However, Kwon may not explicitly disclose wherein during the second power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames at each target beacon transmission time (TBTT) on the enabled links until a timer expires.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Viger teaches and suggests wherein during the second power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames at each target beacon transmission time (TBTT) on the enabled links until a timer expires ([0257]; [0258]; [0322]; “…After successfully completing the negotiation, the non-AP MLD (acting as a TBTT scheduled STA) may go to doze state on certain links (those informed in TWT IE 800 by ML-SCS Descriptor) until its timing synchronization function (TSF) matches the next negotiated wake TBTT provided that the STA is in power save mode, and no other condition requires the affiliated STA(s) to remain awake on those negotiated TWT links. The TBTT scheduled STA shall be in the awake state to listen to Beacon frames transmitted at negotiated wake TBTTs…”; teaches during the awake mode the non-AP STA MLD wakes to listen for beacons at each TBTT until the end or expiration of the negotiated period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate during the awake mode the non-AP STA MLD wakes to listen for beacons at each TBTT until the end or expiration of the negotiated period as taught by Viger with the method and device for power save in multi-link wireless systems as disclosed by Kwon for the purpose of improving multi-link device communication for providing low latency reliable services, as suggested by Viger.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the non-AP MLD to: transmit a frame (trigger frame) to the AP MLD to retrieve the downlink BUs; and receive the downlink BUs from the AP MLD ([0065]; [0067]; teaches the non-AP MLD transmits a trigger frame to retrieve downlink BUs).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the frame to retrieve the downlink BUs is a power save poll frame or a trigger frame ([0065]; [0067]; teaches the non-AP MLD transmits a trigger frame to retrieve downlink BUs).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the non-AP MLD to switch from an active mode to the first power save mode ([0087]; [0090]; [0117]; teaches switching from an awake mode to a power save (PS) mode).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the non-AP MLD to transmit a frame comprising a power management (PM) subfield indicating the switching from the active mode to the first power save mode ([0163]; [0165]; teaches transmitting a frame comprising a power management (PM) subfield indicating the switch from an active mode to PS mode).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to switch to the second power save mode in response to receiving the downlink BUs from the AP MLD ([0087]; [0090]; [0092]; teaches the non-AP MDL switches modes when receiving the downlink BUs).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Kwon discloses power savingh in multi-link wireless systems, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to switch to the second power save mode in response to the downlink BUs comprising at least one latency sensitive BU.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Viger further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to switch to the second power save mode in response to the downlink BUs comprising at least one latency sensitive BU ([0299]; [0300]; [0322]; teaches switching power saving mode in response to low latency data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate switching power saving mode in response to low latency data as taught by Viger with the method and device for power save in multi-link wireless systems as disclosed by Kwon for the purpose of improving multi-link device communication for providing low latency reliable services, as suggested by Viger.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon teaches and discloses an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) (access point/AP MLD; figure 1) comprising: one or more processors (host processor, figure 1); and memory (inherent component of the AP MLD; figure 1) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AP MLD to:
determine: that a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (non-AP MLD/STA MLD/client; figure 1; [0056]) is in a first power save mode (power save mode, such as a sleep mode or non-wake mode); and presence of downlink (DL) bufferable units (BUs) for the non-AP MLD while the non-AP MLD in the first power save mode; transmitting a beacon frame (beacon, figure 3) comprising a Traffic Indication Map (TIM) element indicating the DL BUs for the non-AP MLD ([0071]; “…A TIM bit corresponding to a non-AP MLD indicates buffered BU status for a non-AP MLD…”; [0085]; [0090]; teaches the non-AP MLD receives a beacon comprising TIM indicating downlink BUs and the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for a beacon frame on an enable link within a listen interval); and transmitting the DL BUs ([0085]; [0090]; teaches the non-AP MLD receives a beacon comprising TIM indicating downlink BUs and the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for a beacon frame on an enable link within a listen interval).
However, Kwon may not explicitly disclose wherein during the first power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames at each target beacon transmission time (TBTT) on enabled links until a timer expires; and a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) for the non-AP MLD; and transmitting the DL BUs during the TWT SP.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Viger teaches and suggests wherein during the first power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames at each target beacon transmission time (TBTT) on enabled links until a timer expires; and a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) for the non-AP MLD; and transmitting the DL BUs during the TWT SP ([0257]; [0258]; [0322]; “…After successfully completing the negotiation, the non-AP MLD (acting as a TBTT scheduled STA) may go to doze state on certain links (those informed in TWT IE 800 by ML-SCS Descriptor) until its timing synchronization function (TSF) matches the next negotiated wake TBTT provided that the STA is in power save mode, and no other condition requires the affiliated STA(s) to remain awake on those negotiated TWT links. The TBTT scheduled STA shall be in the awake state to listen to Beacon frames transmitted at negotiated wake TBTTs…”; teaches during the awake mode the non-AP STA MLD wakes to listen for beacons at each TBTT until the end or expiration of the negotiated period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate during the awake mode the non-AP STA MLD wakes to listen for beacons at each TBTT until the end or expiration of the negotiated period as taught by Viger with the method and device for power save in multi-link wireless systems as disclosed by Kwon for the purpose of improving multi-link device communication for providing low latency reliable services, as suggested by Viger.
Regarding claim 9, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to receive a frame (trigger frame) from the non-AP MLD, during the TWT SP, to retrieve the downlink BUs ([0065]; [0067]; teaches the non-AP MLD transmits a trigger frame to retrieve downlink BUs).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the frame to retrieve the downlink BUs is a power save poll frame or a trigger frame ([0065]; [0067]; teaches the non-AP MLD transmits a trigger frame to retrieve downlink BUs).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to receive, from the non-AP MLD, a frame comprising a power management (PM) subfield indicating a switch by the non-AP MLD from an active mode to a second power save mode ([0163]; [0165]; teaches transmitting a frame comprising a power management (PM) subfield indicating the switch from an active mode to PS mode).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein during the second power save mode the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for beacon frames on one of the enabled links at least once within a listen interval ([0085]; [0090]; teaches the non-AP MLD receives a beacon comprising TIM indicating downlink BUs and the non-AP MLD wakes to listen for a beacon frame on an enable link within a listen interval).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to transmit a beacon frame comprising a TIM element comprising a TIM bit associated with the non-AP MLD set to 0, based on determining absence of DL BUs for the non-AP MLD ([0067]; [0068]; [0085]; teaches the AP MLD setting in a TIM element TIM bits set to 1 based on the BUs).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon, as modified by Viger, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to transmit a beacon frame comprising a TIM element comprising a TIM bit associated with the non-AP MLD set to 1, based on determining presence of DL BUs for the non-AP MLD and that the non-AP MLD is in the first power save mode ([0067]; [0068]; [0085]; teaches the AP MLD setting in a TIM element TIM bits set to 1 based on the BUs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 3, 2026