DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action on the Merits based on the 18/735,340 application filed on 06/06/2024 and which claims as originally filed have been considered in the ensuing action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024 and 12/11/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A (Fig. 1-7), directed to a rollable exercise mat in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The Applicant states that claims 6-7, 9, 13, and 18-20 are withdrawn as being directed towards a non-elected embodiment. However, claim 8 is dependent upon claim 7 and is also, therefore, withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14-17 are directed to the elected embodiment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 3, reference numeral “134” designated “first side” points to both the left and right side of the exercise mat
In Fig. 6, reference numeral “106” designated “weights” points to two different components
Claim Interpretation
The limitation of “spring biasing mechanism” in claim 15 has not been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as the means (mechanism) plus function (biasing) has been specified with the structure of a spring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “one or more handles” on lines 1-2 lacks clarity, as “one or more handles” have already been claimed in claim 1. Therefore it is unclear if the handles of claim 10 are the same or different than the handles of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “handles” on line 2 lacks clarity, as “one or more handles” have already been claimed in claim 1. Therefore it is unclear if the handles of claim 11 are the same or different than the handles of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kokakis (US 11,000,447).
Regarding claim 1:
Kokakis discloses a weight storage portion (the inside of the fitness roller, see annotated Fig. below; the inside of the roller has been considered a weight storage portion as it is configured to accept handle 4 which in turn accepts weight 3) including one or more weights (weight 3); and an outer shell (the outer portion of the fitness roller, see annotated Fig. below) including one or more handles (handles 4; which are shown as removable, see Fig. 3 specifically).
[AltContent: textbox (opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Weight storage portion)][AltContent: textbox (Outer shell)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2:
Kokakis discloses that the outer shell comprises a removable cover (lacking any other structural or functional limitations cap 6 has been considered a removable cover as it is removable from the fitness roller allowing for weights and other materials to be placed within the fitness roller).
Regarding claim 3:
Kokakis discloses that the removable cover is removable to expose an opening (see annotated Fig. above) in the outer shell, the weight storage portion being accessible through the opening in the outer shell (see Fig. 5, specifically).
Regarding claim 10:
Kokakis discloses that the outer shell comprises one or more handles (please see the 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, for the purposes of examination, the one or more handles have been considered to the be same as those claimed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11:
Kokakis discloses that the outer shell comprises one or more openings (see annotated Fig. above) through which handles (see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, for purposes of examination the one or more handles of claim 1 have been interpreted as the same as those of claim 11) arranged on the weight storage portion are accessible (the handles of Kokakis are removable from the weight storage portion through openings in the outer shell, when the handles are in the stored position, they are arranged on the weight storage portion).
Regarding claim 12:
Kokakis discloses a mat rolling portion (Fig. 4 shows that the fitness roller has a zipper to connect to a mat, which allows the mat to be connected to the fitness roller and rolled into a compact configuration, the zipper and outer surface of the outer shell have been interpreted as the mat rolling portion. The Examiner notes that the mat rolling portion of Applicant’s device is also the outer shell of the device) including an exercise mat (mat 11).
Regarding claim 14:
Kokakis discloses that the weight storage portion is arranged next to the mat rolling portion (see Fig. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokakis (US 11,000,447) in view of Thornton (US 8,769,742). Kokakis discloses the device as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 15-17:
Kokakis fails to disclose that the mat rolling portion is spring loaded by a spring biasing mechanism (claim 15), wherein the spring biasing mechanism is charged when the exercise mat is moved from a rolled to an unrolled configuration (claim 16), and wherein the spring biasing mechanism is moved from an unrolled to a rolled configuration when the spring biasing mechanism is discharged (claim 17).
Thornton discloses an exercise mat with a roll mechanism that comprises a bistable spring band or strip (108) that is connected to the long edge of an exercise mat, that spring loads the mat from a charged unrolled state to an uncharged rolled state (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mat of Kokakis to have the spring biasing member of Thornton to allow for easy roll up of the mat.
Claims 1-3, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokakis (US 11,000,447) in view of Carrasca et al (US 9,028,383).
Regarding claim 1:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis discloses a weight storage portion (handle 4 is configured to accept weights 3 and have been considered a weight storage portion) including one or more weights (weight 3); and an outer shell (the outer portion of the fitness roller, see annotated Fig. below).including one or more handles
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Weight storage portion)][AltContent: textbox (opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer shell)][AltContent: arrow]
In an the alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis fails to disclose that the outer shell including one or more handles.
Carrasca et al discloses an exercise mat that is configured to roll on a cylindrical container, equivalent to Kokakis. Carrasca et al further discloses that the end caps of the cylindrical container are configured to attach to a strap (30) to create a handle for carrying the device when the mat is in the rolled position.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end caps of Kokakis to have an attachment for a strap, as taught by Carrasca et al to allow for the device to be easily transportable.
Regarding claim 2:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses that the outer shell comprises a removable cover (lacking any other structural or functional limitations cap 6 has been considered a removable cover as it is removable from the fitness roller allowing for weights and other materials to be placed within the fitness roller).
Regarding claim 3:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses that the removable cover is removable to expose an opening (see annotated Fig. above) in the outer shell, the weight storage portion being accessible through the opening in the outer shell (see Fig. 5, specifically).
Regarding claim 12:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses a mat rolling portion (Fig. 4 shows that the fitness roller has a zipper to connect to a mat, which allows the mat to be connected to the fitness roller and rolled into a compact configuration, the zipper and outer surface of the outer shell have been interpreted as the mat rolling portion. The Examiner notes that the mat rolling portion of Applicant’s device is also the outer shell of the device) including an exercise mat (mat 11).
Regarding claim 14:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses that the weight storage portion is arranged next to the mat rolling portion (see Fig. 3-5).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokakis (US 11,000,447) and Carrasca et al (US 9,028,383) in view of Peyton (US 10,343,009).
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses the device as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 4:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses that the weight storage portion includes a core (the weight storage portion is a core of the fitness roller).
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified fails to disclose that the core is a foam material.
Peyton discloses a weighted bag having a handle with a foam outer layer (40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handles/weight storage portion of Kokakis to have a foam material layer, as taught by Peyton, for the comfort of the user. It is well known for handles to have a foam layer.
Regarding claim 5:
In an alternative interpretation of Kokakis, Kokakis as modified discloses that the core comprises a cylinder (see Fig. 3-5).
Conclusion
/Megan Anderson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784