DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunimoto (US 9,736,941 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kunimoto teaches a wiring substrate comprising: a metallic plate (a metal plate 100 and a frame-shaped member 110); a first through-hole (a through-hole 100x) that is formed in the metallic plate (Figs. 2A-2C); an insulating layer (an insulating layer 15) that covers both surfaces of the metallic plate (upper and lower surfaces 100a and 100b) and an inner wall surface of the first through-hole (an inner wall surface 100s) (Figs. 2C-2F); a second through-hole (a through-hole 15x) that is formed on an inner side of the insulating layer in the first through-hole (an inner side of 15 in 100x) (Fig. 2F); a wiring layer (a wiring layer 30 and a wiring layer 60) that is laminated on the insulating layer on both surface sides of the metallic plate (upper and lower surface sides of 100) (Figs. 2H-2M); and feedthrough wiring (a through via 21) that is formed in the second through-hole, and that connects the wiring layer disposed on both surface sides of the metallic plate (Figs. 2H-2M), wherein the metallic plate incudes a bent portion (110) that is bent in a bottomed box shape and that forms a space on one of the surface sides of the metallic plate (a bottomed box shape by 100 and 110 as shown in Fig. 2B prior to the product regions C are cut after Fig. 2T) (Figs. 2A-2T and cols. 7-11).
Regarding claim 2, Kunimoto teaches wherein the metallic plate includes a flange portion (a portion of 100 positioned above 110 as shown in Figs. 2A-2B) that is formed at an outer periphery of the bent portion, and that protrudes in a direction away from the space (Figs. 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 4, Kunimoto teaches wherein the flange portion is divided by way of a slit (the product regions C) (Figs. 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 5, Kunimoto teaches further comprising another insulating layer (an insulating layer 35) that is provided on the wiring layer disposed on another of the surface sides of the metallic plate; another wiring layer (a top portion of a wiring layer 40 on an upper surface of 35) that is provided on the other insulating layer; and via wiring (a portion of 40 within a via hole 35x) that is provided in the other insulating layer, wherein the other wiring layer is connected to the wiring layer by way of the via wiring (Figs. 2N-2R and col. 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is allowable over the cited prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, alone or in combination, and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding an electronic device in claim 7, particularly in combination with the limitation that the electronic component is accommodated in the space, and is electrically connected to the wiring layer disposed on the one of the surface sides of the metallic plate, and the other electronic component is electrically connected to the wiring layer disposed on another of the surface sides of the metallic plate.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kunimoto (US 2017/0179013 A1) and Sato (US 2014/0054080 A1).
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893