DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Application No.18735395 filed on 06/06/2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024, and 09/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-3, 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 11: The term “minimize” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “minimize” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the term “minimize” is understood as “to reduce”.
Regarding claims 3 and 12: Claims 3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recites “….wherein the dimension of the plurality of second blades is determined…”
The element has no antecedent basis in the claim. Further, it is not clear what dimension is being claimed? Is it the radial thickness? Axial thickness? Circumferential thickness? Please advise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lap Keung Chan (GB 2385715; Hereinafter, “Chan”) in view of Mok et al. (US 2007/0133347; Hereinafter, “Mok”).
Regarding claim 1: Chan discloses a centrifugal fan (23) for cooling an electrical machine (motor; page 1, line 1), the centrifugal fan (23) being configured to rotate around a rotating axis (of shaft 18), and the centrifugal fan (23) comprising:
a first ring (30) comprising an air inlet (the central opening of ring 30) configured to face a rotor (19) of the electrical machine to receive air (drawing air over the winding; page 1, line 21-23); a second plate (26) spaced apart from the first plate (30) in a direction parallel to the rotating axis (fig. 1-2); a plurality of first blades (27) arranged between the first plate (30) and the second plate (26); and a plurality of second blades (28) arranged on a side of the second plate (26) away from the first plate (30) and configured to reduce an air pressure in vicinity of the second plate (as it reduces the air tunnels and exhaust the air from radial opening 25; page 2, lines 17-30).
Chan does not disclose that element 30 is plate shaped.
Mok discloses a fan (50) having a first plate (54; fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the ring (30) of the centrifugal fan of Chan as plate shaped as disclosed by Mok to increase the robustness of the device by providing a wider installing surface on the rotor.
Regarding claim 2/1 (as best understood): Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that the plurality of second blades (28) is dimensioned (understood as sized) to minimize a resultant pressure (the air pressure at the commutator side) applied to the centrifugal fan (23) in the direction parallel to the rotating axis (by expelling the air radially from opening 25).
Regarding claim 3/1 (as best understood): Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that the dimension of the plurality of second blades (28) is determined based on an outer diameter of the centrifugal fan, a width of the centrifugal fan in the direction parallel to the rotating axis and a distance between the centrifugal fan and an end cover of the electrical machine close to the centrifugal fan (since doing so controls the amount of air the second blades move; page 3, lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 7/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that each of the plurality of second blades (28) extends in a radial direction (fig. 1-2) with respect to the rotating axis (18).
Regarding claim 8/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that the plurality of the second blades (28) is distributed symmetrically (fig. 2) on the second plate (26) with respect to the rotating axis (18).
Regarding claim 9/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that the number (since each 27 has a corresponding 28 as seen in fig. 2) of the second blades (28) is the same as the number of the first blades (27).
Regarding claim 10/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses an electrical machine (motor; page 1, line 1), comprising: a housing (10) including two end covers (the closed end having holes 24, and cover 11 on the right side of fig. 1) at two axial ends of the housing (10); a rotor shaft (18) rotatably arranged in two sleeve bearings (journal bearings 16-17 which are sleeve bearings) at the two end covers (fig. 1); and the centrifugal fan (23), wherein the centrifugal fan (23) is arranged around the rotor shaft (18).
Regarding claim 11/10/1 (as best understood): Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that the plurality of second blades (28) is dimensioned (understood as sized) to minimize a resultant pressure (the air pressure at the commutator side) applied to the centrifugal fan (23) in the direction parallel to the rotating axis (by expelling the air radially from opening 25).
Regarding claim 12/10/1 (as best understood): Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that the dimension of the plurality of second blades (28) is determined based on an outer diameter of the centrifugal fan, a width of the centrifugal fan in the direction parallel to the rotating axis and a distance between the centrifugal fan and an end cover of the electrical machine close to the centrifugal fan (since doing so controls the amount of air the second blades move; page 3, lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 16/10/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that each of the plurality of second blades (28) extends in a radial direction (fig. 1-2) with respect to the rotating axis (18).
Regarding claim 17/10/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that the plurality of the second blades (28) is distributed symmetrically (fig. 2) on the second plate (26) with respect to the rotating axis (18).
Regarding claim 18/10/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that the number (since each 27 has a corresponding 28 as seen in fig. 2) of the second blades (28) is the same as the number of the first blades (27).
Claims 5, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Mok and in further view of Xue et al. (US 2013/0251560; Hereinafter, “Xue”).
Regarding claim 5/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further discloses that each of the plurality of first blades (27) is integrally formed (fig. 2) with a respective one of the plurality of second blades (28);
Chan in view of Mok does not disclose that the second plate comprises a plurality of mounting holes each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade.
Xue discloses that the second plate (22) comprises a plurality of mounting holes (corresponding to tabs 32; para [0026] and fig. 3) each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade (para [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the centrifugal fan of Chan in view of Mok with the second plate comprises a plurality of mounting holes each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade as disclosed by Xue to ease the installation and maintenance of the fan.
Regarding claim 14/10/1: Chan in view of Mok discloses the limitations of claim 10 and Chan further discloses that each of the plurality of first blades (27) is integrally formed (fig. 2) with a respective one of the plurality of second blades (28);
Chan in view of Mok does not disclose that the second plate comprises a plurality of mounting holes each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade.
Xue discloses that the second plate (22) comprises a plurality of mounting holes (corresponding to tabs 32; para [0026] and fig. 3) each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade (para [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the centrifugal fan of Chan in view of Mok with the second plate comprises a plurality of mounting holes each arranged to support the respective first blade and the respective second blade as disclosed by Xue to ease the installation and maintenance of the fan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4/1, 6/5/1, 13/10/1, 15/14/10/1 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED ELNAKIB whose telephone number is (571)270-0638. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00AM-4:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834