DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/14/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehead (U.S. Patent No. 5,445,490) in view of Sargent et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0042094).
Regarding claim 1: Whitehead discloses an apparatus for removing a plurality of flexible bindings from a bale of biomass, the apparatus comprising:
a body adapted for operative attachment to a utility vehicle, the body having an outward facing working surface for engaging a first side of the bale, see for example (Fig. 1; via working surface of frame 4 with retaining bodies 6/7);
a movable cutting arm configured to engage and cut the plurality of bindings on a second side of the bale (Fig. 1; via cutting device 10);
a plurality of binding grippers each mounted to and extendable outward from the working surface toward the bale (Figs. 6-7; via grippers 25), each of the binding grippers operative to engage and hold a respective one of the plurality of bindings to facilitate removal of the bindings from the bale following said cutting of the plurality of bindings (via grippers 25 “gripping device 25, which extends across almost the entire height of its essentially plane bearing surface 9 and serves to hold the severed binding wires 11 firmly in place”).
Whitehead may not suggest the amended claim filed on 09/14/2026 referring to each of the grippers comprises a pivotable body coupled at an actuation point. However, Sargent discloses similar apparatus with the use of grippers with pivotable body coupled at an actuation point, see for example (Figs. 5-7; via hooking mechanism 43 and pivotable hooks 48 coupled to actuation point of the actuator bars 72 at bearings 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted Whitehead’s gripping mechanism with another pivotable ones coupled to actuator, as suggested by Sargent, in order to gain more control of the gripping and securely grasp into the bales.
Regarding claim 2: Whitehead discloses that the second side of the bale is opposite the first side of the bale, and wherein the cutting arm is mounted to the apparatus and extends over top of the bale (via portion of the cutting device 10 extends over top of the bale).
Regarding claim 3: Whitehead discloses that the cutting arm is movable vertically to engage and cut each of the plurality of bindings in turn using a single cutting device (via the entire frame 4 with the cutting device 10 are movable vertically).
Regarding claim 4: Whitehead does not disclose that the cutting arm includes a rotating cutting wheel operative to cut each of the plurality of bindings, rather using a cutting blade 12. However, the Office takes an official notice that a use of cutting wheel is very old and well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted Whitehead’s cutting blade 12 by another cutting wheel, as a matter of design choice to be made, in order to come up with more effective cutting mechanism.
Regarding claim 5: Whitehead discloses that the removal of the bindings involves moving of the apparatus away from the bale (intended use of the claimed apparatus, not given much patentable weight; while it is inherent that removal of the bindings will be as a result of moving arms 6/7 away from each other’s).
Regarding claim 6: Whitehead discloses the moving of the apparatus away from the bale is initiated by moving the utility vehicle away from the bale (Fig. 1; inherently at some point fork-lift truck 1 is moved away from the bale).
Regarding claim 7: Whitehead discloses that each of the plurality of binding grippers comprises a pivotable body having an engaging edge configured to engage and hold said respective one of the plurality of bindings due to said pivoting, the pivotable body being controllably actuated by a mechanical actuator, see for example (Fig. 5; via the shown pivoting mechanism around axle 18).
Regarding claim 8: Whitehead discloses the engaging edge is concave, see for example (Figs. 2-5; via the curve-shape sections of 25).
Regarding claim 9: Whitehead discloses that the pivotable body includes a convex edge opposite the engaging edge, the convex edge configured to non-grippingly pass over said respective one of the bindings due to a counter-pivoting in an opposite direction of said pivoting, see for example (Figs. 2-5; via the shown pivotable section with its curved section).
Regarding claim 10: Whitehead further comprising a stationary pad or surface configured to cooperate with at least one of the binding grippers to grippingly engage said respective one of the plurality of bindings (Fig. 1; via the shown surface 8 cooperating with gripper 25).
Regarding claim 11: Whitehead further comprising bale clamps operative to engage and hold the bale when the bale is against the working surface (via “the carrying-device is also provided with certain design elements which a wire-removing device also has to display, namely a clamping mechanism with which the bale is fixed in a certain position”).
Regarding claim 12: Whitehead discloses that the bale clamps comprise a pair of surfaces cooperating to compressingly grip sides of the bale adjacent to the first side of the bale by movement of at least one of the pair of surfaces (Figs. 1-3; via arms 6/7 gripping bale 3).
Regarding claim 13: Whitehead discloses the working surface is substantially planar (Fig. 1; via the shown planar section of frame 4).
Regarding claim 14: Whitehead discloses that the plurality of bindings are spaced apart from one another, and each of the plurality of binding grippers is located for adjacency with, and configured for gripping, a different respective one or more of the plurality of bindings, see for example (Fig. 6; via the shown adjacent binding grippers 25 for different bindings and adjusting lever mechanism 30).
Regarding claim 15: Whitehead discloses that at least one of the pluralities of binding grippers is actuated by a hydraulic, pneumatic or electrical mechanism powered by the utility vehicle (Fig. 6; via piston rod of the pressure cylinder 31).
Regarding claim 16: Whitehead discloses that the bindings are wire, twine, rope or string (abstract; via “binding wires”).
Regarding claim 17: Whitehead discloses that each of the plurality of binding grippers rotates about an axis which is substantially perpendicular to the working surface (Fig. 5; via rotating axle 18 and/or 20).
Regarding claim 18: Whitehead disclosed a method for removing a plurality of flexible bindings from a bale of biomass, the method comprising:
engaging a side of the bale against the working surface of the apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 1-3; via engaging sides of bale 3 using arms 6/7), the apparatus being operatively attached to the utility vehicle (Fig. 1; via attached to fork lift truck) 1;
operating the cutting arm to engage and cut the plurality of bindings (via cutting mechanism 10);
before, during or after said operating the cutting arm, operating the plurality of binding grippers to engage the plurality of bindings (via grippers 25); and
after said operating the cutting arm and said operating the plurality of binding grippers, moving the apparatus away from the bale, to pull the cut bindings away from the bale (inherently truck 1 is moved away with its gripping mechanism 25 after unloading bale 3 and cutting wires 11).
Regarding claim 19: Whitehead further comprising, after moving the apparatus away from the bale, operating the plurality of binding grippers to release the bindings (inherently binding grippers 25 release bindings 11).
Regarding claim 20: Whitehead discloses that one or both of the operating the cutting arm and the operating the plurality of binding grippers is performed during motion of the utility vehicle (inherently arms 6/7 and grippers 25 are capable of being operated while truck 1 is moving).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely sole on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As set forth above the Office believes that the newly added limitations to claim 1 referring to the use of movable or pivotable gripping mechanism in the removing bindings of bales apparatus is old and know, see for example Sargent ‘094 (Figs 5-6; via hooking mechanism 43 and pivotable hooks 48 coupled to actuation point of the actuator bars 72 at bearings 70).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, the cited art in the attached PTO-892 suggesting a use of pivotable and moving gripping mechanism.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited arts in the attached form PTO-892 are related to the same field of the invention of handling of bales and/or binding wires.
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731