DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 19th, 2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Summary
Claims 1-52 have been canceled. Claims 53-75 have been added. Claims 53-75 are pending. Claims 53-75 are under examination and discussed in this Office action.
Specification
The use of terms such as Illumina and Roche 454, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 53-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 53 recites the limitation “identifying a sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof.” It is unclear from this recitation how “a sequence”, which is reasonably interpreted as a single sequence, is being determined from a plurality of nucleic acid molecules when there is no indication that all nucleic acid molecules in the plurality are derived from a single sequence. A plurality of nucleic acid molecules would reasonably result in multiple sequences otherwise. Therefore, the claim is found indefinite. Claims 54-75 are also rejected here for their dependence on claim 53 and not clarifying the identified issue. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “a sequence” will be interpreted as “sequences”.
Claim 71 recites the limitation “wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises a sum of Reads Per Kilobase per Million reads (RPKMs) that is lower than 50,000 across a plurality of CpG islands.” It is unclear from this recitation how any plurality of CpG islands would always result in a sum of RPKMs that is lower than 50,000. A plurality, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, indicates multiple CpG islands are considered in the calculation, but does not clearly define how many are included in “multiple”. Depending on the number of CpG islands included in the plurality, the sum of RPKMs could vary, potentially going over 50,000. For instance, if all CpG islands are considered, it would be reasonable that the sum of RPKMs could exceed 50,000 if the intended plurality is less than all of the CpG islands. Therefore, the claim is found indefinite.
Claims 74 and 75 both claim a fragment fraction score. From the claim language, it is unclear what a fragment fraction score entails given there is no associated math that is also claimed. Turning to the specification, there are embodiments and examples related to fragment fraction score that appear to describe it as a difference between different fractions of sequencing reads from unmethylated cfDNA, wherein those fractions appear to be based on fragment length (Paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0112]-[0114], [0122], [0126]-[0132]). However, none of these descriptions are provided as limiting definitions as they are all referred to as “embodiments” or “examples”, or otherwise described in non-limiting terms. Furthermore, it would be inappropriate to read a specific description into the claims given that, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the claims are found indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the fragment fraction score will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, wherein the score comprises differences in different fractions of fragment length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In making a determination of whether the application complies with the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant is claiming and what Applicant has possession of.
Claim 71 recites the limitation “wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises a sum of Reads Per Kilobase per Million reads (RPKMs) that is lower than 50,000 across a plurality of CpG islands.” The claim as written embraces a method wherein a sum of Reads Per Kilobase per Million reads is calculated for a plurality of CpGs in the remaining nucleic acid molecules. However, there is no further description in the claims related to how to calculate a sum of Reads Per Kilobase per Million reads.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V, v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing that the invention was “ready for patenting” such as by the disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Eiees., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 68, 119 S.Ct. 304, 312, 48 USPQ2d 1641,1647 (1998); Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406; Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm., 927 F. 2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See MPEP § 2163.
Turning to the specification, there is no description that clearly defines or describes how a sum of RPKMs is calculated. The calculation for RPKMs is a known formula: RPKM = numReads / (geneLength/1000 * totalNumReads/1,000,000), as evidenced by Metagenomics (RPKM calculation [online]. Metagenomics, [2026] [retrieved on October 14th, 2026]. Retrieved from: https://www.metagenomics.wiki/pdf/qc/RPKM). There is no description provided in the specification that would indicate how CpG islands are factored into the RPKM calculation in view of this known formula. There are various instances discussing results related to calculating RPKM (see Figures 4, 5, and 7; see paragraphs [0022]-[0024] and [0027]-[0030]), but these instances do not give the mathematical calculation for determining these results. Other mentions of RPKM include describing the sum as claimed (see paragraphs [0009] and [0057]) and briefly mentioning that a calculation has been performed (see paragraphs [0186]-[0187] and [0189]). Again, none of these descriptions provide a calculation for RPKMs that includes how CpG islands are factored into the known formula. Therefore, the Applicant does not have possession of the method as claimed because they do not describe how to calculate the sum of RPKMs as it relates to CpG islands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. While the claim is directed to a process, and therefore meet step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03), the claim recites the natural correlation between cfDNA fragmentation and cancer. Such correlation is a natural phenomenon because it describes a consequence of natural processes in the human body.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test requires a two-pronged analysis. Prong One asks: does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon? As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1), the meaning of “recites” is “set forth” or “describes”. That is, a claim recites a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim. In the instant case, the claims describe a natural phenomenon: the natural correlation between cfDNA fragmentation and cancer.
Prong Two of the analysis under step 2A asks: does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the judicial exception? As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2), “Because a judicial exception is not eligible subject matter, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 601, 95 USPQ2d at 1005-06 (quoting Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309, 206 USPQ at 197 (1980)), if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial exception, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See, e.g., RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"); Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility "cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself."). For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B.” The considerations to be used are set forth at MPEP 2106.05(a) through (c) and (e) through (h). Turning to those sections of the MPEP:
MPEP 2106.05(a) has to do with improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. The claim at issue does not improve the functioning of a computer or other technology. While the instant claim recites the step of a fragment fraction score indicating whether a subject has or is at an increased risk of having a cancer, the claim does not improve upon the ability to read a score and determine an outcome. The claim merely uses existing methods for this step. Note that MPEP 2106.05(a) indicates that “[u]sing well-known standard laboratory techniques to detect enzyme levels in a bodily sample” is an example that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology.
MPEP 2106.05(b) has to do with whether the claim involves the use of a particular machine. In this case, the claim does not involve the use of a particular machine. While the instant claim recites the step of a fragment fraction score indicating whether a subject has or is at an increased risk of having a cancer, no such machines are required by the claim, and certainly no particular machines. Even if some conventional machine were recited in the claims, like a computer, further considerations such as the particularity or generality of the recited machine must be taken into account, as well as whether the involvement of the machine is merely extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(g) describes “extra-solution activity”, noting that “[d]etermining the level of a biomarker in blood” is an example of “mere data gathering” which the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity.
MPEP 2106.05(c) has to do with whether the claim involves a particular transformation. Here, the claim does not involve a particular transformation. For example, using a score to indicate a subject has cancer does not transform the score or subject into something else.
MPEP 2106.05(e) has to do with “other meaningful limitations”. The additional limitations imposed upon the natural correlation between cfDNA fragmentation and cancer in the instant case have to do with mixing a subject’s nucleic acid sample with a plurality of nucleic acid molecules not from the subject; depleting the mixture of hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules, leaving behind unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; identifying a sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; processing the sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules to obtain a fragment length profile; and using the fragment length profile to generate a fragment fraction score. These limitations are not considered “meaningful limitations”. MPEP 2106.05(e) states: “The phrase "meaningful limitations" has been used by the courts even before Alice and Mayo in various contexts to describe additional elements that provide an inventive concept to the claim as a whole.” However, as will be discussed below, these limitations do not arrive at an inventive concept. In addition, as has been discussed, they represent insignificant extra-solution activity, i.e. “data gathering”.
MPEP 2106.05(f) raises the question as to whether the additional elements recited in the claim represent “mere instructions to apply an exception”. Here, the judicial exception is the natural correlation between cfDNA fragmentation and cancer. The additional elements recited in the claims (i.e. mixing a subject’s nucleic acid sample with a plurality of nucleic acid molecules not from the subject; depleting the mixture of hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules, leaving behind unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; identifying a sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; processing the sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules to obtain a fragment length profile; and using the fragment length profile to generate a fragment fraction score) do amount to mere instructions to apply the correlation, since sequencing a particular fraction of cfDNA and determining a fragment length profile and fragment fraction score serve as mere conventional steps taken for the purpose of gathering data about the cfDNA fragmentation in a subject, which any practical use of the natural correlation would require.
MPEP 2106.05(g) has to do with whether the additional elements of the claim amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(g) notes that “[d]etermining the level of a biomarker in blood” is an example of “mere data gathering” which the courts have found to be insignificant extra - solution activity. Likewise, MPEP 2106.05(g) notes that “[p]erforming clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation” also represents insignificant extra-solution activity. This aligns closely with the instant claims, where the additional elements of the claims amount to sequencing a particular fraction of cfDNA and determining a fragment length profile and fragment fraction score.
MPEP 2106.05(h) has to do with whether the additional elements amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Here, the recitation of the method being used for targeted detection of circulating tumor DNA, is considered a “field of use”. However, as MPEP 2106.05(h) indications, such limiting to a particular “field of use” does not confer patentability on otherwise ineligible subject matter.
In addition, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (as set forth in step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test; see MPEP 2106-III) because it is routine and conventional in the prior art to mix a subject’s nucleic acid sample with a plurality of nucleic acid molecules not from the subject; deplete the mixture of hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules, leaving behind unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; identify a sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; process the sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules to obtain a fragment length profile; use the fragment length profile to generate a fragment fraction score; and indicate whether a subject has cancer or not based on the fragment fraction score.
Hite (US 20210214800 A1) teaches a method for nucleic acid processing, comprising: (a) providing a mixture comprising (i) a first plurality of nucleic acid molecules of a nucleic acid sample of a subject and (ii) a second plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is not from said subject (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0078]-[0079]); (b) with aid of said second plurality of nucleic acid molecules, separating said mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules into a partition that is hypermethylated and a partition that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules (Pages 9-10, paragraphs [0076] and [0078]-[0079]); and (c) identifying a sequence of both fractions of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0078]-[0079]). Hite does not directly teach depleting said mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that are hypermethylated, thereby yielding a remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules, and identifying a sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof. However, given Hite’s above teaching of separating hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules from a remainder that is unmethylated or hypomethylated, Hite necessarily teaches depleting a mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that are hypermethylated, thereby yielding a remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules, and identifying a sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof.
Cristiano (Genome-wide cell-free DNA fragmentation in patients with cancer, Nature, May 2019, 570, 385-389, plus methods and supplementary information) teaches a method for using computer processing sequencing data produced from cfDNA to obtain a fragment length profile of a subject (Page 386, column 2, paragraph 2 to Page 387, column 1, paragraph 2; Figures 2 and 3; Methods, Page 1, column 2, Analyses of WGS data from cfDNA). Cristiano further teaches wherein said fragment length profile is used to generate a fragment fraction score (Page 387, column 2, paragraph 3 to Page 388, column 2, paragraph 2). Cristiano further teaches wherein said fragment fraction score indicates whether said subject has or is at an increased risk of having a cancer (Page 388, column 2, paragraph 2).
Therefore, the additional elements beyond the natural correlation do not represent an inventive concept since mixing a subject’s nucleic acid sample with a plurality of nucleic acid molecules not from the subject; depleting the mixture of hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules, leaving behind unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; identifying a sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules; processing the sequence of the unmethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules to obtain a fragment length profile; using the fragment length profile to generate a fragment fraction score; and indicating whether a subject has cancer or not based on the fragment fraction score.
Having considered the factors discussed in MPEP 2106.04(c)(II) and MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c) and (e)-(h), as well as the prior art of Hite and Cristiano, it is clear that the additional elements recited in the claims, whether considered individually or as a combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception in such a way as to provide meaningful limits on the use of the judicial exception. Therefore, claim 75 is rejected here under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53-63, 65-67, and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hite (US 20210214800 A1), as evidenced by Puig (From aging to cancer: a DNA methylation journey, Aging Research, 2012, 4, 1-10).
Regarding instant claim 53, Hite teaches a method for nucleic acid processing, comprising: (a) providing a mixture comprising (i) a first plurality of nucleic acid molecules of a nucleic acid sample of a subject and (ii) a second plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is not from said subject (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0078]-[0079]); (b) with aid of said second plurality of nucleic acid molecules, separating said mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules into a partition that is hypermethylated and a partition that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules (Pages 9-10, paragraphs [0076] and [0078]-[0079]); and (c) identifying a sequence of both fractions of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0078]-[0079]).
Hite does not directly teach depleting said mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that are hypermethylated, thereby yielding a remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules, and identifying a sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof. However, given Hite’s above teaching of separating hypermethylated nucleic acid molecules from a remainder that is unmethylated or hypomethylated, Hite necessarily teaches depleting a mixture of one or more nucleic acid molecules of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that are hypermethylated, thereby yielding a remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is unmethylated or hypomethylated relative to said one or more nucleic acid molecules, and identifying a sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof. Therefore, it would be obvious that Hite accomplishes the method as claimed.
Regarding instant claim 54, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite teaches the method further comprising contacting said mixture with a binder selective for methylated regions of nucleic acid molecules under a sufficient condition for said binder to bind said methylated regions of nucleic acid molecules (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0079]).
Regarding instant claim 55, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) molecules (Page 16, paragraph [0127]).
Regarding instant claim 56, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said nucleic acid sample is a cell-free DNA (cfDNA) sample (Page 16, paragraph [0127]).
Regarding instant claim 57, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said second plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) molecules (Page 11, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding instant claim 58, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said second plurality of nucleic acid molecules does not align to a human genome (Page 11, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding instant claim 59, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said second plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises a fragment length of about 50 basepairs (bp) to about 800 bp (Page 14, paragraph [0114]).
Regarding instant claim 60, Hite teaches the method claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises a fragment length of at least about 300 bp (Page 17, paragraph [0132]).
Regarding instant claim 61, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite does not directly teach wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules is substantially deprived of CpG genomic islands. However, Hite teaches that hypermethylation occurs at CpG islands (Page 9, paragraph [0074]). Therefore, it would be obvious that the partitioning of hypermethylated and hypomethylated nucleic acid molecules, as earlier taught by Hite (Pages 9-10, paragraphs [0076] and [0078]-[0079]), would result in the unmethylated or hypomethylated partition being substantially deprived of CpG islands. This amounts to combining elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Regarding instant claim 62, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises long interspersed nuclear elements (LINEs) (Page 21, paragraph [0171]-[0172]).
Regarding instant claim 63, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite does not directly teach wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises CpG shores. However, as evidenced by Puig, CpG shores may exist in an unmethylated state (Page 20, column 1, paragraphs 3-8; Figure 1A). Therefore, the unmethylated or hypomethylated partition of Hite would reasonably contain CpG shores.
Regarding instant claim 65, Hite teaches the method of claim 53. Hite further teaches method for purifying nucleic acids from bodily fluids, as well as further methods for clean-up steps, as a step prior to partitioning of nucleic acids (Page 17, paragraph [0133]). While this is not taught specifically for purifying the remainder of the first plurality of nucleic acid molecules, it is noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C. Thus, purifying before partitioning is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
Regarding instant claim 66, Hite teaches the method of claim 65. Hite teaches the method further comprising amplifying the remainder of the first plurality of nucleic acid molecules (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0079]). While this is not taught specifically for amplifying the plurality of purified nucleic acid molecules, it is again noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Thus, amplifying after purifying is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
Regarding instant claim 67, Hite teaches the method of claim 66. Hite teaches the method further comprising subjecting amplified nucleic acid molecules or derivative thereof to sequencing (Pages 9-10, paragraph [0079]).
Regarding instant claim 70, Hite teaches the method of claim 53, further comprising using polymerase chain reaction (PCR) to identify said sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof (Page 12, paragraph [0099]).
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hite (US 20210214800 A1), as applied to claims 53-63, 65-67, and 70 above, and further in view of Kennedy (US 20190390253 A1).
Regarding instant claim 64, Hite teaches the method of claim 54. Hite further teaches that the binder (e.g. binding agent) may be antibodies specific to one or more methylated nucleotide bases (Page 11, paragraph [0089]).
Hite does not specifically teach wherein said binder is selected from the group consisting of an anti-5-methylcytosine antibody or a derivative thereof, an anti-5-carboxylcytosine antibody or a derivative thereof, an anti-5-formylcytosine antibody or a derivative thereof, an anti-5- hydroxymethylcytosine antibody or a derivative thereof, an anti-3-methylcytosine antibody or a derivative thereof, and any combinations thereof.
Kennedy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that an antibody preferentially binding to 5-methylcytosine (e.g. anti-5-methylcytosine antibody) can be used to produce partitions of nucleic acid molecules lacking methylation and nucleic acid molecules with methylation (Page 19, paragraph [0172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the binder of Hite with the anti-5-methylcytosine antibody of Kennedy. Since both Hite and Kennedy are in the same field of endeavor (e.g. partitioning of methylated and unmethylated nucleic acids), one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the two teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2141(III)). Hite teaches that an antibody may be used as a binder, and Kennedy introduces an option for the antibody to be an anti-5-methylcytosine antibody.
Claims 68 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hite (US 20210214800 A1), as applied to claims 53-63, 65-67, and 70 above, and further in view of Finkle (US 20210398617 A1, effectively filed June 19, 2020).
Regarding instant claim 68, Hite teaches the method of claim 67.
Hite does not teach wherein said sequencing is performed at a low sequencing depth.
Finkle, in a reasonably pertinent field, teaches wherein sequencing of cfDNA is performed at a low sequencing depth (Page 3, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sequencing of Hite with the low sequencing depth of Finkle. Since Finkle teaches on detection of methylation in cfDNA, which is reasonably pertinent to the method of Hite, one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the two teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “low-pass whole genome methylation sequencing data can be used to classify a cancer status of a subject, monitor cancer therapy, or monitor for cancer recurrence, despite generating very few reads at each genomic locus” (Page 5, paragraph [0048]).
Regarding instant claim 69, Hite teaches the method of claim 67.
Hite does not teach wherein said sequencing is performed at a sequencing depth of from 0.1X to 10X.
Finkle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein sequencing is performed at a sequencing depth of less than 3X (Page 3, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sequencing of Hite with the sequencing depth of Finkle. Since Finkle teaches on detection of methylation in cfDNA, which is reasonably pertinent to the method of Hite, one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the two teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “low-pass whole genome methylation sequencing data can be used to classify a cancer status of a subject, monitor cancer therapy, or monitor for cancer recurrence, despite generating very few reads at each genomic locus” (Page 5, paragraph [0048).
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hite (US 20210214800 A1), as applied to claims 53-63, 65-67, and 70 above, and further in view of MEDIPS.CpGenrich (MEDIPS.CpGenrich: Calculates CpG enrichment of provided short reads compared to... [online]. rdrr.io, [2020] [retrieved on October 13th, 2026]. Retrieved from: https://rdrr.io/bioc/MEDIPS/man/MEDIPS.CpGenrich.html).
Regarding instant claim 72, Hite teaches the method of claim 53.
Hite does not teach wherein said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules comprises a CpG enrichment score that is lower than 2.
MEDIPS.CpGenrich, in a reasonably pertinent field, teaches calculating a CpG enrichment score as a quality check for immunoprecipitation of methylated DNA fragments (Page 1). MEDIPS.CpGenrich teaches the function counts a number of different metrics, resulting in dividing the relative frequency of CpGs in regions of interest by the relative frequency of CpGs of the reference genome (Page 1). While MEDIPS.CpGenrich does not directly teach on a CpG enrichment score that is lower than 2, it is clear from the teachings of MEDIPS.CpGenrich that a relevant score is dependent upon how many CpGs are present in the input data. Therefore, it would be obvious that regions with less CpGs would result in a lower enrichment score. It is noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Thus, the claimed score merely represents routine optimization of the method of the cited prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the method of Hite with the CpG enrichment score calculation of MEDIPS.CpGenrich. Since MEDIPS.CpGenrich teaches on evaluating CpG enrichment in immunoprecipitation experiments, which is reasonably pertinent to the method of Hite, one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the two teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a quality check for CpG enrichment (MEDIPS.CpGenrich, Page 1).
Claims 73-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hite (US 20210214800 A1), as applied to claims 53-63, 65-67, and 70 above, and further in view of Cristiano (Genome-wide cell-free DNA fragmentation in patients with cancer, Nature, May 2019, 570, 385-389, plus methods and supplementary information).
Regarding instant claim 73, Hite teaches the method of claim 53.
Hite does not teach wherein the method further comprises (d) computer processing said sequence of said remainder of said first plurality of nucleic acid molecules or derivatives thereof to obtain a fragment length profile of said subject.
Cristiano, in a reasonably pertinent field, teaches a method for using computer processing sequencing data produced from cfDNA to obtain a fragment length profile of a subject (Page 386, column 2, paragraph 2 to Page 387, column 1, paragraph 2; Figures 2 and 3; Methods, Page 1, column 2, Analyses of WGS data from cfDNA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Hite with the fragment length profiling of Cristiano. Since Cristiano teaches on determining fragmentation profiles from sequenced cfDNA, which is reasonably pertinent to the method of Hite, one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the two teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because fragmentation profiling can determine cancer-derived pattens and indicate the tissue source of cfDNA (Cristiano, Page 386, column 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding instant claim 74, Hite, in view of Cristiano teaches the method of claim 73. Cristiano further teaches wherein said fragment length profile is used to generate a fragment fraction score (Page 387, column 2, paragraph 3 to Page 388, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding instant claim 75, Hite, in view of Cristiano, teaches the method of claim 74. Cristiano further teaches wherein said fragment fraction score indicates whether said subject has cancer (Page 388, column 2, paragraph 2).
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
/ALLISON E SCHLOOP/Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683