DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
1/ Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent
2/ claims 1-20 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under the combination of prior arts have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lamba (US pg. no. 20110029965).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alasti (US pg. no. 20240349156), further in view of Lamba (US pg. no. 20110029965), further in view of Visa (US pg. pub 20240196304).
Regarding claim 1. Alasti discloses a device ([0036] controller), comprising:
one or more processors ([0036] discloses controller that comprises processor) configured to:
identify attributes of a plurality of network functions ("NFs") (fig. 3, 314, 316, 318 DU (NF)) of a wireless network of a wireless network ([0029] terrestrial cells 112 that match one or more geographic clustering criteria (attribute) may be included in a same cluster. In this illustrated example, there are three clusters 212a, 212b, and 212c. Terrestrial cells 112 that are geographically proximate (identified attribute) can be clustered because there is a higher likelihood of a user device being handed over between those cells; Fig. 3 discloses that each cell 310a-310c of cluster 1 comprises plurality of DU (NF) (DU1-DUn) of the cluster 1 that is determined by geographical attribute. Cell 1 comprises DU1-DUn. All the DU 314 of cluster 1 for each cell of the cluster 1 corresponds to first group of NF. All the DU 316 of cluster 2 for each cell of the cluster 2 corresponds to second group of NF);;
determine, based on the attributes of the plurality of NFs, a plurality of NF groups, wherein a particular NF group, of the plurality of NF groups, includes a particular set of NFs out of the plurality of NFs ([0029] terrestrial cells 112 that match one or more geographic clustering criteria (attribute) may be included in a same cluster. In this illustrated example, there are three clusters 212a, 212b, and 212c (plurality of groups). Terrestrial cells 112 that are geographically proximate (attribute) can be grouped together; fig. 2, and fig. 3, System 300 groups terrestrial cells 310a-310c into cluster_1, groups one or more terrestrial cells in cluster_2 (not illustrated), and groups one or more terrestrial cells in cluster_3. Fig. 3 further discloses that each cell 310a-310c of cluster 1 has a group of plurality of DU (DU1-DUn) of the cluster 1 that is determined by geographical attribute. Each cell of cluster 1 comprises DU1-Dun (NF). All the DU 314 of cluster 1 corresponds to first group of NF. All the DU 316 of cluster 2 for cluster 2 corresponds to second group of NF that are grouped together by geographical location attribute);
But, Alasti does not explicitly disclose:
receive or determine an NF configuration update;
determine that the NF configuration update is applicable to at least a first NF and a second NF of the particular set of NFs;
output… the NF configuration update and information associated with the routing path to the first NF, wherein the first NF applies the configuration update and identifies, based on the routing path, that the second NF is in a next position of the sequence, and outputs the NF configuration update to the second NF;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lamba discloses:
receive or determine an NF configuration update ([0021] Method 100 continues with introducing an upgrade element to a first mobile node (NF) of the plurality of mobile nodes, as indicated by a block 104. [0022] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the first mobile node to at least one other mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes than the first mobile node for use by the at least one other mobile node for effecting the upgrade, as indicated by a block 106. [0023] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the at least one other mobile node to at least one selected remaining mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes not having received the upgrade element).
output… the NF configuration update to the first NF, wherein the first NF applies the configuration update and identifies, based on routing path, that the second NF … and outputs the NF configuration update to the second NF ([0021-0023] Method 100 continues with introducing an upgrade element to a first mobile node ( first NF) of the plurality of mobile nodes, as indicated by a block 104. [0022] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the first mobile node to at least one other mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes than the first mobile node for use by the at least one other mobile node for effecting the upgrade, as indicated by a block 106. [0023] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the at least one other mobile node to at least one selected remaining mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes not having received the upgrade element);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Alasti with Lamba. The modification would allow pipelined based configuration distribution to related nodes in cluster for effective upgrading of nodes in rolling manner.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
identify a routing path associated with the particular set of NFs, wherein the routing path includes a sequence of NFs of the particular set of NFs, wherein the sequence indicates that the first NF is in a primary position of the sequence; and
output, based on the sequence indicating that the primary position of the sequence, communication and information associated with the routing path to the first NF, wherein the first NF applies the configuration update and identifies, based on the routing path, that the second NF is in a next position of the sequence, and outputs communication update to the second NF based on identifying that that the second NF is in the next position of the sequence.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Visa discloses identify a routing path associated with the particular set of NFs ([0120] The IAB nodes 121, 122, which may serve multiple radio sectors, are wireless backhauled to the IAB-donor 120, via one or multiple hops. They form a directed acyclic graph (DAG) topology (routing path) with the IAB-donor at its root), wherein the routing path includes a sequence of NFs of the particular set of NFs([0032-0033] receiving a data packet for a destination donor DU (NF), the data packet including the unique address of the destination donor DU for the data packet and a path identifier identifying the routing path to the destination donor DU; [0033] determining whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU based on the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet and the routing configuration information, and based on the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet and the routing configuration information; [0201] a path identifier (routing path) identifying the routing path to the destination donor DU (NF)), wherein the sequence indicates that the first NF is in a primary position of the sequence ([0201] in step 1301, the IAB network node receives a data packet for a destination donor DU (NF). The data packet includes (e.g. in a header) the unique address of the destination donor DU for the data packet and a path identifier identifying the routing path to the destination donor DU (the nodes in the path identified by the path ID corresponds to sequence of NF). The IAB network then determines (identifying), at step 1302, whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU (NF) based on the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet and the routing configuration information, and based on the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet and the routing configuration information. If it is determined that there is an available routing path, the data packet is routed using the available routing path at step 1305); and
output, based on the sequence indicating that the primary position of the sequence, communication and information associated with the routing path to the first NF, wherein the first NF applies the configuration update and identifies, based on the routing path ([0201] in step 1301, the JAB network node receives a data packet for a destination donor DU. The data packet includes (e.g. in a header) the unique address of the destination donor DU for the data packet and a path identifier (information associated with the routing path) identifying the routing path to the destination donor DU (the nodes in the path identified by the path ID corresponds to sequence of NF receiving communication sequentially towards the destination DU). The IAB network then determines, at step 1302, whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU based on the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet and the routing configuration information, and based on the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet and the routing configuration information. If it is determined that there is an available routing path, the data packet is routed using the available routing path at step 1305. The path information in the packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Visa. The modification would allow using deterministic path to distribute information to a group or cluster of nodes. The modification would allow efficient and directed communication instead of broadcasting or Gossip communication to convey information to target that enables streamlined communication that enables efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Alasti discloses, wherein the plurality of NFs include a plurality of instances of a same particular type of NF (fig. 3 discloses cluster 1 comprises plurality of DU (same type of device that corresponds to NF)).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses device of claim 2.
Alasti discloses, wherein the plurality of instances of the same particular type of NF include a plurality of instances of a Distributed Unit ("DU") (fig. 3 discloses cluster 1 comprises plurality of DU (same type of device that corresponds to NF)).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Alasti further discloses , wherein the particular NF group is a first NF group (fig. 3, discloses cluster 1 comprises cluster of cells and each cell of the cluster comprising cluster of plurality of DU (NF) 314 (first set of group) and DU 316 corresponds to second set of group), wherein the particular set of NFs is a first set of NFs (fig. 3, 314 discloses the first set of DU (NF) cluster), wherein the plurality of NF groups include a second NF group that includes a second set of NFs (fig. 3, 316 discloses the second group of DU (NF)), wherein the attributes of the plurality of NFs include geographical information, and wherein determining the plurality of NF groups includes: determining that the first set of NFs are associated with a first geographical region, and determining that the second set of NFs are associated with a second geographical region ([0029] The terrestrial cells 112 located within the boundary area 208 are logically separated into multiple clusters 212a-212c. Each cluster 212a-212c includes a plurality of terrestrial cells 112 that a geographically near or proximate to one another and are adjacent to the non-terrestrial-only coverage area 210. In various embodiments, an administrator may define which terrestrial cells 112 are within the boundary area 208 and are included in each cluster. In other embodiments, those terrestrial cells 112 that match one or more geographic clustering criteria may be included in a same cluster. In this illustrated example, there are three clusters 212a, 212b, and 212c. Terrestrial cells 112 that are geographically proximate can be clustered because there is a higher likelihood of a user device being handed over between those cells and the non-terrestrial cell as the user device moves in or near the border between the boundary area 208 and the non-terrestrial-only coverage area 210; fig. 3 discloses each cell in a cluster separated by geographical region comprises cluster of DU associated with the cell).
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Alasti further discloses, wherein the particular NF group is a first NF group, wherein the particular set of NFs is a first set of NFs, wherein the plurality of NF groups include a second NF group that includes a second set of NFs (fig. 3, discloses cluster 1 comprises cluster of cells and each cell of the cluster comprising cluster of plurality of DU (NF) 314 (first set of group) and DU 316 corresponds to second set of group).
Lamba discloses, and wherein outputting the NF configuration update to the first NF of the first set of NFs includes forgoing outputting the NF configuration update to the second set of NFs of the second NF group ([0021-0023] Method 100 continues with introducing an upgrade element to a first mobile node ( first NF) of the plurality of mobile nodes, as indicated by a block 104. [0022] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the first mobile node to at least one other mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes than the first mobile node for use by the at least one other mobile node for effecting the upgrade, as indicated by a block 106. [0023] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the at least one other mobile node to at least one selected remaining mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes not having received the upgrade element);
Regarding claim 6. The device of claim 1.
Lamba discloses output, NF configuration update (([0021-0023] Method 100 continues with introducing an upgrade element to a first mobile node ( first NF) of the plurality of mobile nodes, as indicated by a block 104. [0022] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the first mobile node to at least one other mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes than the first mobile node for use by the at least one other mobile node for effecting the upgrade, as indicated by a block 106. [0023] Method 100 continues with communicating the upgrade element from the at least one other mobile node to at least one selected remaining mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes not having received the upgrade element).
Visa discloses, wherein outputting the information associated with the routing path to the first NF is performed prior to outputting the configuration communication to the first NF, wherein the first NF maintains the information associated with the routing path and uses the maintained information when receiving the communication([0024] and [0029] the routing configuration information may comprise a routing configuration table including at least one of entry, each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU (NF) a path identifier field for the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU, a group identifier field for the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU… [0029] The routing configuration table may further comprise a next-hop address field for the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is next in the routing path. Fig. 18 discloses stored routing information in nodes in the group. Distributing the routing information that comprises path ID that is distributed and stored in the nodes prior to communication corresponds to prior to communication).
Regarding claims 8. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing a plurality of processor-executable instruction to:
All other limitations of claim 8 are similar with the limitations of claim 1. The claim is rejected on the same analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9 . The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8.
All other limitation of the claim is similar with the limitations of claim 2. The claim is rejected on the same analysis of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9.
All other limitation of the claim is similar with the limitations of claim 3. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 11. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8.
All other limitation of the claim is similar with the limitations of claim 4. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 12. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8.
All other limitation of the claim is similar with the limitations of claim 5. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 13. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8.
All other limitation of the claim is similar with the limitations of claim 6. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses the method of claim .15
All other limitation of the claims are similar with the limitations of claim 1. The claims are rejected on the same analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses the method of claim 15. All other limitations of claim 16 are is similar with the limitations of claim 2. The claim is rejected on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses the method of claim 15. All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 4. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 18. The combination discloses the method of claim 15. All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 5. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses the method of claim 15. All other limitations of claim 15 are similar with the limitations of claim 6. The claim is rejected based on the same analysis.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alasti (US pg. no. 20240349156), Lamba (US pg. no. 20110029965), and of Visa (US pg. pub 20240196304), further in view of Meyer (US pg. no. 20210111955).
Regarding claims 7, The combination discloses device of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first NF maintains a set of configuration update policies and selectively applies the received NF configuration update based on whether the set of configuration update policies are met.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Meyer discloses wherein the first NF maintains a set of configuration update policies and selectively applies the received NF configuration update based on whether the set of configuration update policies are met ([0041] Each network policy can be expressed as a set of high level rules that can be compiled into configuration instructions for a plurality of services and deployed to each of the managed network devices (NFs) respectively. Policies can be entered in the IPPM service in a number of ways, including from text based files and graphical user interfaces; [0074] discloses the IPPM has an updated configuration waiting. The IPPM can then respond by sending a configuration update to the device. Depending on the capabilities of the device, the configuration update can be in the form of one or more configuration files or a set of commands needed to update the device configuration of each service role).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Meyer. The modification would allow policy based update to differential configurations of target devices. The modifications would allow sending targeted and device specific configuration update.
Regarding claims 14. The combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8.
All other limitation of the claims are similar with the limitations of claim 7. The claims are rejected on the same analysis of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses the method of claim 15.
All other limitation of the claims are similar with the limitations of claim 7. The claims are rejected on the same analysis of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445