DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the amendment filed on 24 July 2026, having claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14, and 16-18 (claims 3, 9, and 15 were canceled).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that the Kim reference discloses a single CSI-RS signal for measurement, and not a plurality of N reference signals as recited in the claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim [0212] teaches two DL reference signals. Thus, Kim’s CSI measurement method may be performed with more than one reference signals. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0239358 A1) (reference disclosed by applicant).
For claims 1, 7, and 13, Kim discloses a communication apparatus (Fig 28, UE or Fig 31, device 100), comprising: at least one processor (Fig 31, processor 102) configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations comprising:
receiving configuration information from a network device (abstract, UE receives configuration information from a base station), wherein the configuration information indicates resources of N reference signals for channel measurement ([0212] two DL reference signals are received from the base station), and N is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein receiving the N reference signals from the network device (abstract, the configuration information comprises N CSI-RS resource groups corresponding to N reference signals transmitted from the base station);
determining channel state indication information that is obtained by the communication
apparatus by measuring the N reference signals based on the configuration information ([0710] UE performs CSI measurement based on the configuration information); and sending the channel state indication information to the network device (abstract, the UE reports the measured CSI to the base station using the N resource groups based on the configuration information).
For claims 2, 8, and 14, Kim discloses the configuration information further indicates one or N resources for interference measurement, and the channel state indication information is obtained by measuring the N reference signals and performing signal detection on the one or N resources for interference measurement based on the configuration information (abstract, wherein a subset of the CSI-RS resource set is used to report channel measurement, and a subset of the CSI-RS resource set is used to report interference measurement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0239358 A1) (reference disclosed by applicant) in view of Bai et al. (US 2024/0340990 A1).
For claims 3, 9, and 15, Kim does not expressly disclose the channel state indication
information does not comprise a channel state information reference signal resource indicator
(CRI).
Bai, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the channel state indication information does not comprise a channel state information reference signal resource indicator (CRI) ([0060] the CSI report sent to the BS comprises one or more channel estimation parameters, wherein CRI is one of the parameters). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to configure the UE in the communication network of Kim to exclude CRI from the CSI report based on the teachings of Bai at the time of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4-6, 10-12, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471