DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 6 June 2024.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 11 July 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
As to claim 4, applicant specifies “a common end”. The problem here is that applicant has already claimed a first and second AC output end in the independent claim. Though the language itself is not indefinite, it is unclear which part of the specification applicant is referring to, especially since the second AC output node and the common AC output node appear to be the same electrical point in a number of applicant’s figures. As such, it is unclear which portion of the specification seeks protection.
Claims 8, 12, and 16 have similar issues to claim 4 above and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claim(s) 1, 4, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Higaki (US 5111373).
As to claim 1, Higaki discloses (see image below)a power conversion device comprising: an alternating current input end, wherein the alternating current input end of the power conversion device comprises a first input end and a second input end; an alternating current output end, wherein the alternating current output end of the power conversion device comprises a first output end and a second output end; a first filter inductor, wherein the first filter inductor comprises a first inductor winding, a second inductor winding, a third inductor winding, and a first inductor magnetic core; and an AC/AC circuit, wherein the first inductor winding, the second inductor winding, and the third inductor winding are all wound around the first inductor magnetic core, a first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device, a first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device, a second end of the first inductor winding and a second end of the second inductor winding are separately connected to an input end of the AC/AC circuit, a first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device, and the second end of the second inductor winding and a second end of the third inductor winding are separately connected to an output end of the AC/AC circuit.
As to claim 4, Higaki discloses wherein the input end of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first input end (101/2) and a common end (102/3), and the output end (103/7) of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first output end and the common end, the second end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the second inductor winding is connected to the common end of the AC/AC circuit, and the second end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the AC/AC circuit.
As to claim 17, Higaki discloses further comprising: a first filter capacitor (72) that is either connected between the first input end and the first output end of the power conversion device (the capacitor is directly connected to the first output end, and connects to the first input end via items 2/4), or connected between the second end of the first inductor winding and the second end of the third inductor winding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Higaki (US 5111373).
As to claim 2, Higaki makes obvious further comprising a second filter inductor that comprises a fourth inductor winding, a fifth inductor winding, a sixth inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the fourth inductor winding, the fifth inductor winding, and the sixth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the fourth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device through the fifth inductor winding, and the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding. Though not explicitly taught, this could be easily achieved from going to a single phase system as described in Higaki to a polyphase system, which would allow one of ordinary skill use less copper and generate more power. Also, it is old and well known (See §MPEP 2144.03) in the art that a person of ordinary skill can apply single phase inventions to polyphase systems as well. See US 3,686,343 Col. 11 lines 46-52; US 4,176,333 Col. 3 lines 50-55; US 5,854,729 Col. 3 lines 44-57. As such, this is not patentable.
As to claim 13, Higaki makes obvious wherein the first filter inductor further comprises a fourth inductor winding, a fifth inductor winding, a sixth inductor winding, and a seventh inductor winding, the alternating current input end of the power conversion device further comprises a third input end and a fourth input end, and the alternating current output end of the power conversion device further comprises a third output end and a fourth output end, the fourth inductor winding, the fifth inductor winding, the sixth inductor winding, and the seventh inductor winding are all wound around the first inductor magnetic core, a first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device, a first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device, and a second end of the fourth inductor winding and a second end of the fifth inductor winding are separately connected to the output end of the AC/AC circuit, a first end of the sixth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device, a first end of the seventh inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device, and a second end of the sixth inductor winding and a second end of the seventh inductor winding are separately connected to the input end of the AC/AC circuit (this would be obvious by going form single phase to three phase and is explained above).
As to claim 18, Hirgaki makes obvious wherein the power conversion device further comprises a first filter capacitor, and the first filter capacitor is connected between the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device (see claim 17 above).
As to claim 19, Hirgaki makes obvious wherein the power conversion device further comprises a first filter capacitor, and the first filter capacitor is connected between the first input end and the first output end of the power conversion device, is connected between the third input end and the third output end of the power conversion device, is connected between the fourth input end and the fourth output end of the power conversion device, is connected between the second end of the first inductor winding and the second end of the third inductor winding, is either: connected between the second end of the sixth inductor winding and the second end of the fourth inductor winding, or connected between the second end of the seventh inductor winding and the second end of the fifth inductor winding (this appears to be taught by the 1-phase to three phase conversion).
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A (Ref X) in view of Higaki (US 5111373) in view of Sato (US 20110103106).
As to claim 3, Higaki teaches further comprising: a second filter inductor that comprises a fourth inductor winding, a fifth inductor winding, a sixth inductor winding, is connected to the second output end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding, and the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device
Hgaki does not explicitly disclose a seventh inductor winding, and the seventh inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; through the seventh inductor winding.
Sato teaches disclose a seventh inductor winding, and the seventh inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core (Fig. 2, items 16-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use an AC choke as disclosed in Sato to further filter the signal. Since the combination is sort of hard to see, a per phase diagram is shown below.
As to claim 5, Higaki in view of Sato teaches wherein the first filter inductor further comprises a fourth inductor winding and a fifth inductor winding, and the alternating current output end of the power conversion device further comprises a third output end and a fourth output end, the fourth inductor winding and the fifth inductor winding are both wound around the first inductor magnetic core, a first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device, a first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device, and a second end of the fourth inductor winding and a second end of the fifth inductor winding are separately connected to the output end of the AC/AC circuit (this is similar to the 1-3phase logic above, with the fourth another inductor corresponding to the other output phases).
As to claim 8, Higaki in view of Sato teaches wherein the input end of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first input end and a common end, and the output end of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first output end, a second output end, a third output end, and the common end, the second end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the AC/AC circuit, and the second end of the second inductor winding is connected to the common end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the second output end of the AC/AC circuit, and the second end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the AC/AC circuit (this would be taught by the combination, with the common current/return path of Sato providing a path for circulating current).
As to claim 9, Higaki in view of Sato teaches wherein the first filter inductor further comprises a fourth inductor winding and a fifth inductor winding, and the alternating current input end of the power conversion device further comprises a third input end and a fourth input end, the fourth inductor winding and the fifth inductor winding are both wound around the first inductor magnetic core, a first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device, a first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device, and a second end of the fourth inductor winding and a second end of the fifth inductor winding are separately connected to the input end of the AC/AC circuit (this is taught by the combination above, and the reasons to combine are similar).
As to claim 12, Higaki in view of Sato teaches wherein the input end of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first input end, a second input end, a third input end, and a common end, and the output end of the AC/AC circuit comprises a first output end and the common end, the second end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the second input end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the AC/AC circuit, the second end of the second inductor winding is connected to the common end of the AC/AC circuit, and the second end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the AC/AC circuit (this is similar to claim 4 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6. 7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, the prior art fails to disclose: “further comprising: a second filter inductor that comprises a sixth inductor winding, a seventh inductor winding, an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the sixth inductor winding, the seventh inductor winding, the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, and the tenth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device through the seventh inductor winding, the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, and the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose: “further comprising: a second filter inductor that comprises a sixth inductor winding, a seventh inductor winding, an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, an eleventh inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the sixth inductor winding, the seventh inductor winding, the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, the tenth inductor winding, and the eleventh inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end of the power conversion device through the seventh inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second output end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding, and the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device through the eleventh inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose " further comprising: a second filter inductor that comprises a sixth inductor winding, a seventh inductor winding, an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the sixth inductor winding, the seventh inductor winding, the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, and the tenth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device through the seventh inductor winding, the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, and the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose " further comprising: a second filter inductor that comprises a sixth inductor winding, a seventh inductor winding, an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, an eleventh inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the sixth inductor winding, the seventh inductor winding, the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, and the tenth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the sixth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end of the power conversion device through the seventh inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second output end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding, and the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device through the eleventh inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose " further comprising: a second filter inductor, and the second filter inductor comprises an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, an eleventh inductor winding, a twelfth inductor winding, a thirteenth inductor winding, a fourteenth inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, the tenth inductor winding, the eleventh inductor winding, the twelfth inductor winding, the thirteenth inductor winding, and the fourteenth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end and the second output end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, and the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding; the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device through the eleventh inductor winding, the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device through the twelfth inductor winding, the first end of the sixth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device through the thirteenth inductor winding, and the first end of the seventh inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device through the fourteenth inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose " further comprising: a second filter inductor comprising an eighth inductor winding, a ninth inductor winding, a tenth inductor winding, an eleventh inductor winding, a twelfth inductor winding, a thirteenth inductor winding, a fourteenth inductor winding, a fifteenth inductor winding, and a second inductor magnetic core, wherein the eighth inductor winding, the ninth inductor winding, the tenth inductor winding, the eleventh inductor winding, the twelfth inductor winding, the thirteenth inductor winding, the fourteenth inductor winding, and the fifteenth inductor winding are all wound around the second inductor magnetic core; the first end of the first inductor winding is connected to the first input end of the power conversion device through the eighth inductor winding, the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second input end of the power conversion device through the ninth inductor winding, and the first end of the second inductor winding is connected to the second output end of the power conversion device through the tenth inductor winding; the first end of the third inductor winding is connected to the first output end of the power conversion device through the eleventh inductor winding, the first end of the fourth inductor winding is connected to the third output end of the power conversion device through the twelfth inductor winding, the first end of the fifth inductor winding is connected to the fourth output end of the power conversion device through the thirteenth inductor winding, the first end of the sixth inductor winding is connected to the third input end of the power conversion device through the fourteenth inductor winding, and the first end of the seventh inductor winding is connected to the fourth input end of the power conversion device through the fifteenth inductor winding.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839