DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 introduces “one or more redundancy signals” in line 10, however, the claim also introduces “one or more redundancy signals” in line 5. It is unclear if the applicant is introducing new redundancy signals or referring back to the redundancy signals already claimed. For the purposes of examination the claim is interpreted as requiring “the one or more redundancy signals” in line 10.
Claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohan (US 4,560,343) in view of Kaplan (US 2010/0075264 A1).
With respect to claim 1 Bohan discloses a gas ignition system for a gas cooking appliance, comprising: an ignition component [reference character 32] configured to provide a feedback signal [reference characters 67 or 82] indicative of a temperature of the ignition component [see column 2 line 55 through column 3 line 3]; a gas valve [reference character 45] configured to provide gas to the ignition component based at least in part on an enable signal [reference character 71]; and an ignition controller [reference character 53] operably coupled to the ignition component and the gas valve, the ignition controller comprising: an enable circuit [see Figs. 3-5] configured to provide the enable signal based at least in part on the feedback signal.
Bohan does not disclose that gas valve provides gas to the ignition component based on one or more redundancy signals and one or more redundancy circuits configured to provide one or more redundancy signals based at least in part on the feedback signal.
Kaplan discloses an ignition control circuit that includes a main processor [reference character 106] and a supervisory processor [reference character 108] that each independently receive a feedback signal (interpreted as the enable and redundancy signals) from a flame sense electrode [reference character 110] and the gas valves [reference character 102 and 104] provide gas to the igniter based on the enable and redundancy signals [via reference characters 116 and 118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the ignition control system taught by Bohan by including a redundant ignition control and flame monitoring circuit, as taught by Kaplan, in order to provide redundant and fail safe operation [see Abstract of Kaplan].
With respect to claim 2 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose a first redundancy circuit configured to provide a first redundancy signal based at least in part on the feedback signal [see Fig. 1 of Kaplan].
Neither Bohan nor Kaplan disclose a second redundancy circuit configured to provide a second redundancy signal based at least in part on the feedback signal. However, providing a second redundancy circuit involves an obvious duplication of the essential working parts of the invention, where providing a second redundancy circuit would provide secondary redundancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention was to provide a second redundancy circuit, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With respect to claim 3 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan, as described in the rejection for claim 2, would require that the enable circuit, the first redundancy circuit, and the second redundancy circuit are independent electrical pathways of the ignition controller. Since the enable and redundancy circuit by Kaplan are independent a person having ordinary skill in the art would also make the second redundancy circuit independent.
With respect to claim 4 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals are provided based at least in part on a comparison of the feedback signal to a threshold [see column 6 lines 18-27 of Bohan, where the threshold is binary between the presence or absence of a flame rectification signal] indicative of an ignition temperature of the ignition component.
With respect to claim 7 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals are provided based at least in part on a call for heat signal [reference characters 66 and 81 of Bohan], the call for heat signal indicating that the gas valve corresponds to the ignition component.
With respect to claim 8 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the ignition component comprises: a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) HSI [see column 4 line 3] operable to ignite the gas at an ignition temperature, wherein the feedback signal is indicative of a temperature of the positive temperature coefficient (PTC) HIS [see column 2 line 55 through column 3 line 3].
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohan (US 4,560,343) in view of Kaplan (US 2010/0075264 A1).
With respect to claim 10 Bohan discloses a method for providing gas to an ignition component [reference character 32] of a gas cooking appliance, comprising: receiving, from the ignition component, a feedback signal [reference characters 67 or 82] indicative of a temperature of the ignition component [see column 2 line 55 through column 3 line 3]; determining, by an enable circuit [see Figs. 3-5] of an ignition controller, an enable signal [reference character 71] based at least in part on the feedback signal; and providing gas to the ignition component based at least in part on the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals [reference character 71].
Bohan does not disclose that gas valve provides gas to the ignition component based on one or more redundancy signals and one or more redundancy circuits configured to provide one or more redundancy signals based at least in part on the feedback signal.
Kaplan discloses an ignition control circuit that includes a main processor [reference character 106] and a supervisory processor [reference character 108] that each independently receive a feedback signal (interpreted as the enable and redundancy signals) from a flame sense electrode [reference character 110] and the gas valves [reference character 102 and 104] provide gas to the igniter based on the enable and redundancy signals [via reference characters 116 and 118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the ignition control system taught by Bohan by including a redundant ignition control and flame monitoring circuit, as taught by Kaplan, in order to provide redundant and fail safe operation [see Abstract of Kaplan].
With respect to claim 11 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that a first redundancy signal provided by a first redundancy circuit, the first redundancy signal being based at least in part on the feedback signal [see Fig. 1 of Kaplan].
Bohan does not disclose a second redundancy signal provided by a second redundancy circuit, the second redundancy signal being based at least in part on the feedback signal. However, providing a second redundancy circuit involves an obvious duplication of the essential working parts of the invention, where providing a second redundancy circuit would provide secondary redundancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention was to provide a second redundancy circuit, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With respect to claim 12 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable circuit, the first redundancy circuit, and the second redundancy circuit, as described in the rejection for claim 12, are independent electrical pathways of the ignition controller. Since the enable and redundancy circuit by Kaplan are independent a person having ordinary skill in the art would also make the second redundancy circuit independent.
With respect to claim 13 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals are determined based at least in part on a comparison of the feedback signal to a threshold [see column 6 lines 18-27 of Bohan, where the threshold is binary between the presence or absence of a flame rectification signal] indicative of an ignition temperature of the ignition component.
With respect to claim 15 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals are provided based at least in part on a call for heat signal [reference characters 66 and 81 of Bohan], the call for heat signal indicating that a gas valve providing the gas to the ignition component corresponds to the ignition component.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohan (US 4,560,343) in view of Kaplan (US 2010/0075264 A1).
With respect to claim 18 a gas cooking appliance, comprising: one or more ignition components [reference character 32] configured to provide one or more feedback signals [reference characters 67 or 82] indicative of a temperature of the one or more ignition components [see column 2 line 55 through column 3 line 3]; one or more gas valves [reference character 45] configured to provide gas to the one or more ignition components based at least in part on an enable signal [reference character 71]; and an ignition controller [reference character 53] operably coupled to the one or more ignition components and the one or more gas valves [see Figs. 3-5], the ignition controller comprising: an enable circuit [see Figs. 3-5] configured to provide the enable signal based at least in part on a feedback signal
Bohan does not disclose that gas valve provides gas to the ignition component based on one or more redundancy signals and one or more redundancy circuits configured to provide one or more redundancy signals based at least in part on the feedback signal.
Kaplan discloses an ignition control circuit that includes a main processor [reference character 106] and a supervisory processor [reference character 108] that each independently receive a feedback signal (interpreted as the enable and redundancy signals) from a flame sense electrode [reference character 110] and the gas valves [reference character 102 and 104] provide gas to the igniter based on the enable and redundancy signals [via reference characters 116 and 118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the ignition control system taught by Bohan by including a redundant ignition control and flame monitoring circuit, as taught by Kaplan, in order to provide redundant and fail safe operation [see Abstract of Kaplan].
With respect to claim 19 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose that the enable signal and the one or more redundancy signals are provided based at least in part on a call for heat signal [reference characters 66 and 81 of Bohan], the call for heat signal indicating that a gas valve of the one or more gas valves corresponds to an ignition component of the one or more ignition components that provided the feedback signal.
With respect to claim 20 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan disclose a first redundancy circuit configured to provide a first redundancy signal based at least in part on the feedback signal [see Fig. 1 of Kaplan].
Neither Bohan nor Kaplan disclose a second redundancy circuit configured to provide a second redundancy signal based at least in part on the feedback signal. However, providing a second redundancy circuit involves an obvious duplication of the essential working parts of the invention, where providing a second redundancy circuit would provide secondary redundancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention was to provide a second redundancy circuit, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohan (US 4,560,343) in view of Kaplan (US 2010/0075264 A1) in view of Deng (US 9,022,064 B2).
With respect to claims 9 and 16 the combination of Bohan and Kaplan does not disclose that the enable circuit and the one or more redundancy circuits are positioned within a controller package of the ignition controller.
Deng discloses a burner control device where the control board [reference character 103] and associated ignition control circuits [see Fig. 2] are located within a controller package [reference character 100 in Figs. 2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the enable circuit and the redundancy circuit into a single housing, as taught by Deng, in order to allow for simple replacement of the unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762