DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 04/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claims 6 and 17, the brackets in the limitation should be removed.
claim 18 depends directly from claim 17 and is objected to for the same reasons as claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach et al. (US 2022/0217017), hereinafter "Zach", in view of Suh et al. (WO 2025/063319), hereinafter “Suh”, published 27 March, 2025 (see “WO2025063319_Translation.pdf” for citations), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0150841), hereinafter “Sun”, and further in view of Kazmi et al. (US 2013/0201848), hereinafter “Kazmi”.
Regarding claims 1, 20, Zach teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Zach, Fig. 14, par. [0270]: FIG. 14 shows a diagram of a system 1400 including a device 1405 that supports non-linear reference signal design in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1405 may be an example of or include the components of a device 1105, a device 1205, or a UE 115 as described herein), or a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Zach, Fig. 21, par. [0367]: FIG. 21 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 2100 that supports non-linear reference signal design in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of the method 2100 may be implemented by a UE or a base station or its components as described herein), comprising:
one or more memories (see Zach, Fig. 14, par. [0270]: The device 1405 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1420, an input/output (I/O) controller 1410, a transceiver 1415, an antenna 1425, a memory 1430, code 1435, and a processor 1440); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Zach, Fig. 14, par. [0270]: The device 1405 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1420, an input/output (I/O) controller 1410, a transceiver 1415, an antenna 1425, a memory 1430, code 1435, and a processor 1440), individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
transmit nonlinearity (NL) cancellation capability information associated with the UE (see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, feedback information utilized to mitigate distortion corresponds to nonlinearity cancellation capability information);
receive a request to indicate a quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier (PA) of a network entity and a quantity of receive antennas of the UE (see Zach, par. [0112]: A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105) may receive, from a transmitting device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105), a CHEST-RS transmitted over a frequency band, the CHEST-RS associated with a PA configuration of the transmitting device. The receiving device may determine a channel estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the CHEST-RS. The receiving device may receive, from the transmitting device, a NLEST-RS transmitted over a subset of the frequency band, the NLEST-RS associated with the PA configuration. The receiving device may determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the NLEST-RS and the CHEST-RS, the non-linear estimation measurement identifying a non-linear response of the PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0134]: UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine the PA configuration, antenna configuration, multiplexing technique, etc., used for, or otherwise associated with, the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS). This may include UE 210 determining whether the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS) was transmitted on a first PA configuration or a second PA configuration, using a first antenna configuration or a second antenna configuration, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal, and see Zach, par. [0289]: the communications manager 1520 may support wireless communication at a receiving device in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. For example, the communications manager 1520 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for determining a dynamic numerology scheme associated with one or more NLEST-RSs to be transmitted from a transmitting device according to corresponding one or more antenna configurations, each NLEST-RS associated with a corresponding antenna configuration and a PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0292]: the communications manager 1520 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 1515, the one or more antennas 1525, or any combination thereof, and see Zach, par. [0186]: a dynamic numerology scheme may be used for the NL-RS transmissions to support the high quantity of numbers or indices that may be associated with NL-RS transmissions on a per-PA configuration, antenna configuration, beamforming configuration, etc., basis of the transmitting device; in this case, receiving the CHEST-RS and NLEST-RS which are used for estimation corresponds to receiving a request. Based on these signals, a non-linear estimation measurement associated with a PA configuration is measured (i.e. estimating parameters). A dynamic numerology may be determined based on the reference signals and is associated with an antenna configuration and PA configuration may be performed on a per-PA configuration using one or more antennas, corresponding to the request indicating a quantity of receive antennas); and
transmit a report that indicates the quantity of parameters and the quantity of receive antennas (see Zach, par. [0187]: the base station and/or UE may otherwise determine a dynamic numerology scheme associated with the NL-RS transmissions from the base station according to an antenna configuration (e.g., antenna port (layers) of DMRS, in that each antenna configuration may have its own set of time, frequency, etc., resource allocation and configuration under the same reference signal. The UE may receive a NL-RS transmission from the base station associated with a PA configuration and determine a numerology (e.g., a number or index) associated with the NL-RS transmission according to the dynamic numerology scheme and/or the antenna configuration. The UE may also determine the nonlinear response of the PA configuration based on the NL-RS transmission and the numerology, and see Zach, par. [0185]: The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS signal and the CHEST-RS. The nonlinear estimation measurement may generally identify or otherwise correspond to a nonlinear response of the PA configuration of the base station. The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station; in this case, the nonlinear estimation measurement is provided (i.e. transmitted) via feedback. The nonlinear estimation measurement is based on a PA configuration, including parameters for estimation, and the PA configuration may be based on a determined dynamic numerology scheme according to antenna configuration (i.e. quantity of receive antennas)).
However, Zach does not teach:
wherein the NL cancellation capability information indicates whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion;
receive an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity;
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation, and
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas.
Suh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the NL cancellation capability information indicates whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion (see Suh, Fig. 17, Tables 3 and 4, par. [0184]: In step S1703, the terminal (1710) that has received a UE capability inquiry message from the base station (1720) transmits a UE capability information message to the base station (1720). The UE capability information message includes information on the dual communication support capability and nonlinear interference cancellation of the terminal (1710), and can be transmitted in an indexed form as shown in [Table 3] and [Table 4]; in this case, Tables 3 and 4 describe that UE capability information can be transmitted such that it indicates UE capability to cancel NL distortion);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NL cancellation capability information of Zach with the NL cancellation capability information indicating whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion of Suh with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently sending and receiving signals and increasing power efficiency (see Suh, pars. [0022-0023]).
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh does not teach:
receive an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity;
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation, and
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity (see Sun, Fig. 2, pars. [0065-0066]: S201: When the uplink full-power transmission capability reported by the terminal device is the second UE capability or the third UE capability, the network device delivers a TPMI to the terminal device. The TPMI delivered by the network device is used to indicate that the terminal device is to perform uplink transmission based on a precoding codebook that is determined based on an uplink transmission parameter. The uplink transmission parameter includes the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device);
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas (see Sun, Fig. 2, pars. [0065-0066]: S201: When the uplink full-power transmission capability reported by the terminal device is the second UE capability or the third UE capability, the network device delivers a TPMI to the terminal device. The TPMI delivered by the network device is used to indicate that the terminal device is to perform uplink transmission based on a precoding codebook that is determined based on an uplink transmission parameter. The uplink transmission parameter includes the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device. S202: If the uplink transmission rank of the terminal device is equal to the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the terminal device performs uplink transmission based on the precoding codebook indicated by the TPMI that is delivered by the network device and based on the uplink transmit power obtained through scaling by the power scaling coefficient. The precoding codebook is determined based on the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device. S203: If the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set is different, and the uplink transmission rank of the terminal device is less than the number of uplink transmission antenna ports, the terminal device performs uplink transmission based on the uplink transmit power obtained through scaling by the power scaling coefficient, but not based on the precoding codebook indicated by the TPMI that is delivered by the network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus or method of the combination of Zach in view of Suh with the quantity of transmit antennas of Sun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved uplink transmit power and enhanced uplink coverage (see Sun, par. [0037]).
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, does not teach:
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation,
Kazmi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating in an NL estimation (see Kazmi, Fig. 6, pars. [0125-0127]: The radio node 101/103 is further configured to obtain 14 interference information. The processing circuitry 211 is configured to obtain the interference information. According to some of the example embodiments, the interference information may comprise at least one of a number of interfering radio nodes or interfering cells, time-frequency resources associated with interfering transmissions, received signal strength of at least one interferer, a type of interfering signals or channels, a measurement pattern, or assistance data for interference handling. According to some of the example embodiments in the interference information may be obtained from another radio node or network node, and see pars. [0078-0080]: signaling enchantments may comprise providing information associated with the measuring node's capability to adapt the number of parallel measurements and/or channel receptions when the enhanced receiver is used. The measuring node's capability to adapt the number of parallel measurements and/or control/common/broadcast/multicast channels when the enhanced receiver is used for performing the measurements and/or receiving the channels may be expressed as a pre-defined rule or it may be signaled by the measuring node to another node (e.g., to another user equipment or another network node). In other words any information associated with the adaptation ability described herein may be signaled by the measuring node to another user equipment or another network node. For example, a user equipment may signal its capability to the serving radio node and/or to other network nodes (e.g., core network node, positioning node, MME, MDT, coordinating node, etc.)),
Zach further teaches the quantity of parameters being a quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier of a network entity (see Zach, par. [0112]: A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105) may receive, from a transmitting device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105), a CHEST-RS transmitted over a frequency band, the CHEST-RS associated with a PA configuration of the transmitting device. The receiving device may determine a channel estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the CHEST-RS. The receiving device may receive, from the transmitting device, a NLEST-RS transmitted over a subset of the frequency band, the NLEST-RS associated with the PA configuration. The receiving device may determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the NLEST-RS and the CHEST-RS, the non-linear estimation measurement identifying a non-linear response of the PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0134]: UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine the PA configuration, antenna configuration, multiplexing technique, etc., used for, or otherwise associated with, the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS). This may include UE 210 determining whether the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS) was transmitted on a first PA configuration or a second PA configuration, using a first antenna configuration or a second antenna configuration, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal)
Therefore, since Kazmi teaches signaling capability of how many parameters a UE can estimate, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier of a network entity with the quantity of parameters indicating how many parameters a UE can estimate with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of communicating capabilities for measurements and reducing complexity (see Kazmi, par. [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to receive a request for the NL cancellation capability information (see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal. The nonlinear estimation measurement may generally identify or otherwise correspond to a nonlinear response of the PA configuration of the base station. The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, based on receiving the NLEST-RS signal, feedback information (corresponding to NL cancellation capability information) is provided, corresponding to the signal being a request for the information).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to transmit updated NL cancellation capability information (see Zach, Fig. 3B, par. [0137]: Resource configuration 300-b of FIG. 3B and resource configuration 300-c of FIG. 3C illustrate CHEST-RS/NLEST-RS resource configurations using different repetition patterns, and see Zach, par. [0129]: aspects of the described techniques provide for base station 205 (e.g., the transmitting device in this example) to transmit or otherwise convey CHEST-RS and/or NLEST-RS to UE 210 (e.g., the receiving device in this example) to use for channel estimation measurements and/or non-linear estimation measurements. Base station 205 and/or UE 210 may use these measurements to identify or otherwise quantify the PA response curve 215 of base station 205. Accordingly, base station 205 may use OTA-DPD and/or DPoD techniques for predistortion management, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, feedback information (corresponding to NL cancellation capability information) may be provided upon reception of the reference signals, which may be more than once, corresponding to transmitting updated information).
Regarding claim 14, Zach teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see Zach, Fig. 15, par. [0281]: FIG. 15 shows a diagram of a system 1500 including a device 1505 that supports non-linear reference signal design in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1505 may be an example of or include the components of a device 1105, a device 1205, or a base station 105 as described herein), comprising:
one or more memories (see Zach, Fig. 15, par. [0281]: The device 1505 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1520, a network communications manager 1510, a transceiver 1515, an antenna 1525, a memory 1530, code 1535, a processor 1540); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Zach, Fig. 15, par. [0281]: The device 1505 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1520, a network communications manager 1510, a transceiver 1515, an antenna 1525, a memory 1530, code 1535, a processor 1540), individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity (see Zach, par. [0285]: The processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the device 1505 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
receive nonlinearity (NL) cancellation capability information associated with a user equipment (UE) (see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, feedback information utilized to mitigate distortion corresponds to nonlinearity cancellation capability information);
transmit, based at least in part on the NL cancellation capability information, a request to indicate a quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier (PA) of the network entity and a quantity of receive antennas of the UE (see Zach, par. [0112]: A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105) may receive, from a transmitting device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105), a CHEST-RS transmitted over a frequency band, the CHEST-RS associated with a PA configuration of the transmitting device. The receiving device may determine a channel estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the CHEST-RS. The receiving device may receive, from the transmitting device, a NLEST-RS transmitted over a subset of the frequency band, the NLEST-RS associated with the PA configuration. The receiving device may determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the NLEST-RS and the CHEST-RS, the non-linear estimation measurement identifying a non-linear response of the PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0134]: UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine the PA configuration, antenna configuration, multiplexing technique, etc., used for, or otherwise associated with, the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS). This may include UE 210 determining whether the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS) was transmitted on a first PA configuration or a second PA configuration, using a first antenna configuration or a second antenna configuration, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal, and see Zach, par. [0289]: the communications manager 1520 may support wireless communication at a receiving device in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. For example, the communications manager 1520 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for determining a dynamic numerology scheme associated with one or more NLEST-RSs to be transmitted from a transmitting device according to corresponding one or more antenna configurations, each NLEST-RS associated with a corresponding antenna configuration and a PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0292]: the communications manager 1520 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 1515, the one or more antennas 1525, or any combination thereof, and see Zach, par. [0186]: a dynamic numerology scheme may be used for the NL-RS transmissions to support the high quantity of numbers or indices that may be associated with NL-RS transmissions on a per-PA configuration, antenna configuration, beamforming configuration, etc., basis of the transmitting device; in this case, transmitting the CHEST-RS and NLEST-RS which are used for estimation corresponds to transmitting a request. Based on these signals, a non-linear estimation measurement associated with a PA configuration is measured (i.e. estimating parameters). A dynamic numerology may be determined based on the reference signals and is associated with an antenna configuration and PA configuration may be performed on a per-PA configuration using one or more antennas, corresponding to the request indicating a quantity of receive antennas); and
receive a report that indicates the quantity of parameters and the quantity of receive antennas (see Zach, par. [0187]: the base station and/or UE may otherwise determine a dynamic numerology scheme associated with the NL-RS transmissions from the base station according to an antenna configuration (e.g., antenna port (layers) of DMRS, in that each antenna configuration may have its own set of time, frequency, etc., resource allocation and configuration under the same reference signal. The UE may receive a NL-RS transmission from the base station associated with a PA configuration and determine a numerology (e.g., a number or index) associated with the NL-RS transmission according to the dynamic numerology scheme and/or the antenna configuration. The UE may also determine the nonlinear response of the PA configuration based on the NL-RS transmission and the numerology, and see Zach, par. [0185]: The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS signal and the CHEST-RS. The nonlinear estimation measurement may generally identify or otherwise correspond to a nonlinear response of the PA configuration of the base station. The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station; in this case, the nonlinear estimation measurement is provided (i.e. received) via feedback. The nonlinear estimation measurement is based on a PA configuration, including parameters for estimation, and the PA configuration may be based on a determined dynamic numerology scheme according to antenna configuration (i.e. quantity of receive antennas)).
However, Zach does not teach:
wherein the NL cancellation capability information indicates whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion;
transmit an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity;
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation, and
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas.
Suh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the NL cancellation capability information indicates whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion (see Suh, Fig. 17, Tables 3 and 4, par. [0184]: In step S1703, the terminal (1710) that has received a UE capability inquiry message from the base station (1720) transmits a UE capability information message to the base station (1720). The UE capability information message includes information on the dual communication support capability and nonlinear interference cancellation of the terminal (1710), and can be transmitted in an indexed form as shown in [Table 3] and [Table 4]; in this case, Tables 3 and 4 describe that UE capability information can be transmitted such that it indicates UE capability to cancel NL distortion);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NL cancellation capability information of Zach with the NL cancellation capability information indicating whether the UE has a capability to cancel NL distortion of Suh with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently sending and receiving signals and increasing power efficiency (see Suh, pars. [0022-0023]).
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh does not teach:
transmit an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity;
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation, and
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transmit an indication of a quantity of transmit antennas of a network entity (see Sun, Fig. 2, pars. [0065-0066]: S201: When the uplink full-power transmission capability reported by the terminal device is the second UE capability or the third UE capability, the network device delivers a TPMI to the terminal device. The TPMI delivered by the network device is used to indicate that the terminal device is to perform uplink transmission based on a precoding codebook that is determined based on an uplink transmission parameter. The uplink transmission parameter includes the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device);
wherein the quantity of parameters is based at least in part on the quantity of transmit antennas (see Sun, Fig. 2, pars. [0065-0066]: S201: When the uplink full-power transmission capability reported by the terminal device is the second UE capability or the third UE capability, the network device delivers a TPMI to the terminal device. The TPMI delivered by the network device is used to indicate that the terminal device is to perform uplink transmission based on a precoding codebook that is determined based on an uplink transmission parameter. The uplink transmission parameter includes the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device. S202: If the uplink transmission rank of the terminal device is equal to the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the terminal device performs uplink transmission based on the precoding codebook indicated by the TPMI that is delivered by the network device and based on the uplink transmit power obtained through scaling by the power scaling coefficient. The precoding codebook is determined based on the number of uplink transmission antenna ports of the terminal device, the uplink transmission rank, and the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured by the network device. S203: If the number of antenna ports for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set is different, and the uplink transmission rank of the terminal device is less than the number of uplink transmission antenna ports, the terminal device performs uplink transmission based on the uplink transmit power obtained through scaling by the power scaling coefficient, but not based on the precoding codebook indicated by the TPMI that is delivered by the network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus or method of the combination of Zach in view of Suh with the quantity of transmit antennas of Sun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved uplink transmit power and enhanced uplink coverage (see Sun, par. [0037]).
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, does not teach:
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating per PA of the network entity in an NL estimation,
Kazmi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the quantity of parameters indicates how many NL model parameters the UE is capable of estimating in an NL estimation (see Kazmi, Fig. 6, pars. [0125-0127]: The radio node 101/103 is further configured to obtain 14 interference information. The processing circuitry 211 is configured to obtain the interference information. According to some of the example embodiments, the interference information may comprise at least one of a number of interfering radio nodes or interfering cells, time-frequency resources associated with interfering transmissions, received signal strength of at least one interferer, a type of interfering signals or channels, a measurement pattern, or assistance data for interference handling. According to some of the example embodiments in the interference information may be obtained from another radio node or network node, and see pars. [0078-0080]: signaling enchantments may comprise providing information associated with the measuring node's capability to adapt the number of parallel measurements and/or channel receptions when the enhanced receiver is used. The measuring node's capability to adapt the number of parallel measurements and/or control/common/broadcast/multicast channels when the enhanced receiver is used for performing the measurements and/or receiving the channels may be expressed as a pre-defined rule or it may be signaled by the measuring node to another node (e.g., to another user equipment or another network node). In other words any information associated with the adaptation ability described herein may be signaled by the measuring node to another user equipment or another network node. For example, a user equipment may signal its capability to the serving radio node and/or to other network nodes (e.g., core network node, positioning node, MME, MDT, coordinating node, etc.)),
Zach further teaches the quantity of parameters being a quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier of a network entity (see Zach, par. [0112]: A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105) may receive, from a transmitting device (e.g., a UE 115 and/or base station 105), a CHEST-RS transmitted over a frequency band, the CHEST-RS associated with a PA configuration of the transmitting device. The receiving device may determine a channel estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the CHEST-RS. The receiving device may receive, from the transmitting device, a NLEST-RS transmitted over a subset of the frequency band, the NLEST-RS associated with the PA configuration. The receiving device may determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based at least in part on the NLEST-RS and the CHEST-RS, the non-linear estimation measurement identifying a non-linear response of the PA configuration, and see Zach, par. [0134]: UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine the PA configuration, antenna configuration, multiplexing technique, etc., used for, or otherwise associated with, the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS). This may include UE 210 determining whether the NLEST-RS (and/or CHEST-RS) was transmitted on a first PA configuration or a second PA configuration, using a first antenna configuration or a second antenna configuration, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal)
Therefore, since Kazmi teaches signaling capability of how many parameters a UE can estimate, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the quantity of parameters to estimate per power amplifier of a network entity with the quantity of parameters indicating how many parameters a UE can estimate with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of communicating capabilities for measurements and reducing complexity (see Kazmi, par. [0018]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity (see Zach, par. [0285]: The processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the device 1505 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to receive updated NL capability information (see Zach, Fig. 3B, par. [0137]: Resource configuration 300-b of FIG. 3B and resource configuration 300-c of FIG. 3C illustrate CHEST-RS/NLEST-RS resource configurations using different repetition patterns, and see Zach, par. [0129]: aspects of the described techniques provide for base station 205 (e.g., the transmitting device in this example) to transmit or otherwise convey CHEST-RS and/or NLEST-RS to UE 210 (e.g., the receiving device in this example) to use for channel estimation measurements and/or non-linear estimation measurements. Base station 205 and/or UE 210 may use these measurements to identify or otherwise quantify the PA response curve 215 of base station 205. Accordingly, base station 205 may use OTA-DPD and/or DPoD techniques for predistortion management, and see Zach, par. [0139]: The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, feedback information (corresponding to NL cancellation capability information) may be provided upon reception of the reference signals, which may be more than once, corresponding to receiving updated information).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity (see Zach, par. [0285]: The processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the device 1505 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to transmit a request for the NL cancellation capability information (see Zach, Figs. 2 and 3A, par. [0139]: The UE may receive the NLEST-RS 310 transmitted over a subset of the frequency band (e.g., over a portion of the full bandwidth being used for communications between the base station and the UE). The UE may measure, identify, or otherwise determine a non-linear estimation measurement associated with the PA configuration based on the NLEST-RS 310 signal. The nonlinear estimation measurement may generally identify or otherwise correspond to a nonlinear response of the PA configuration of the base station. The UE may provide feedback information associated with the channel estimation measurement and/or the non-linear estimation measurement to the base station, which may be utilized to mitigate or eliminate distortion or interference into the channel resulting from the PA configuration non-linearity; in this case, based on a NLEST-RS signal sent from the base station (i.e. transmitted from the network entity), feedback information (corresponding to NL cancellation capability information) is provided, corresponding to the signal being a request for the information)
Claims 3-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 above, and further in view of Eliaz et al. (US 2017/0141875), hereinafter "Eliaz".
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
receive a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels that correspond to one or more respective equation to parameters ratios (EPRs) for an error vector magnitude (EVM) threshold; and
transmit the compression information.
Eliaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels that correspond to one or more respective equation to parameters ratios (EPRs) for an error vector magnitude (EVM) threshold (see Eliaz, Fig. 2, par. [0035]: At step 204, the AP 108 receives a high-EVM compression mode capability message from the device 101 that includes control information indicating whether the device 101 includes a transmitter 106 and receiver 104 configured to operate in the high-EVM compression mode and the low-EVM compression mode. Likewise, the AP 108 transmits a high-EVM compression mode capability message to the device 101 that includes control information indicating whether the AP 108 includes a dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104, and see Eliaz, par. [0036]: At step 206, the AP 108 (or device 101) decodes the capability message received from the device 101 (or AP 108) and determines whether to enable high-EVM communications with the device 101 (or AP 108) at the transmitter 106 and/or the receiver 104, and see Eliaz, par. [0033]: FIG. 2 is an exemplary flowchart of a multi-mode communication process 200. The multi-mode communication process 200 is described herein with respect to the AP 108 that includes the dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104, which can also be applied to the device 101a,d that also includes the dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104. Stated another way, the AP 108 and the dual-compression mode devices 101 can be referred to interchangeably throughout the description of the multi-mode communication process 200, and see Eliaz, pars. [0030-0031]: any particular transmitter 106 (each transmitter 106 may reside in a device 101 or access point 108) may operate in a dual compression mode where when in a first (high-EVM) compression mode, transmissions by the transmitter 106 are compressed, resulting in an EVM above a predetermined EVM threshold, such as a threshold set forth in an applicable standard. When operating in the low-EVM compression mode, the EVM of the transmissions by the transmitter 106 of the AP and/or devices 101 are less than the predetermined EVM threshold. In order to successfully (e.g., with an error rate below a determined threshold) demodulate and decode the transmission in the high-EVM compression mode, the receiver 104 of the AP 108 and/or device 101a,d may apply distortion mitigation techniques to the received signal. In a second (low-EVM) compression mode, transmissions by the transmitter 106 are substantially linear (e.g., having EVM below a determined threshold, such as a threshold set forth in an applicable standard); in this case, a high-EVM compression mode capability message is received and used to determine whether to enable high-EVM communications. This corresponds to receiving a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels. The compression mode (i.e. compression level) corresponds to EVM above or below an EVM threshold (corresponding to one or more equation to parameter ratios for an EVM threshold)); and
transmit the compression information (see Eliaz, Fig. 2, par. [0038]: At step 208, in response to deciding to enable high-EVM communications with the device 101 (or AP 108), the AP 108 (or device 101) exchanges one or more high-EVM parameters with the device 101 (or AP 108) in a high-EVM compression mode parameter message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the compression information exchange of Eliaz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling co-existence between high-EVM compression and low-EVM compression modes (see Eliaz, par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
receive a communication (see Zach, par. [0139]: the base station and UE may perform wireless communications based on the channel estimation measurement and the non-linear response of the PA configuration);
The combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach, but Eliaz teaches:
cancel NL distortion of the communication based at least in part on an allowed compression level of the one or more allowed compression levels (see Eliaz, par. [0031]: In order to successfully (e.g., with an error rate below a determined threshold) demodulate and decode the transmission in the high-EVM compression mode, the receiver 104 of the AP 108 and/or device 101a,d may apply distortion mitigation techniques to the received signal, and see Eliaz, par. [0022]: The distortion mitigation techniques can be interchangeably referred to as nonlinearity mitigation techniques; in this case, distortion mitigation (i.e. cancelling NL distortion) may be performed based on using the high-EVM compression mode (corresponding to based on an allowed compression level)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the cancelling distortion based on compression level of Eliaz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling co-existence between high-EVM compression and low-EVM compression modes (see Eliaz, par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity (see Zach, par. [0285]: The processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the device 1505 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
transmit a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels that correspond to one or more respective equation to parameters ratios (EPRs) for an error vector magnitude (EVM) threshold; and
receive the compression information.
Eliaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transmit a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels that correspond to one or more respective equation to parameters ratios (EPRs) for an error vector magnitude (EVM) threshold (see Eliaz, Fig. 2, par. [0035]: At step 204, the AP 108 receives a high-EVM compression mode capability message from the device 101 that includes control information indicating whether the device 101 includes a transmitter 106 and receiver 104 configured to operate in the high-EVM compression mode and the low-EVM compression mode. Likewise, the AP 108 transmits a high-EVM compression mode capability message to the device 101 that includes control information indicating whether the AP 108 includes a dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104, and see Eliaz, par. [0036]: At step 206, the AP 108 (or device 101) decodes the capability message received from the device 101 (or AP 108) and determines whether to enable high-EVM communications with the device 101 (or AP 108) at the transmitter 106 and/or the receiver 104, and see Eliaz, par. [0033]: FIG. 2 is an exemplary flowchart of a multi-mode communication process 200. The multi-mode communication process 200 is described herein with respect to the AP 108 that includes the dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104, which can also be applied to the device 101a,d that also includes the dual compression mode transmitter 106 and receiver 104. Stated another way, the AP 108 and the dual-compression mode devices 101 can be referred to interchangeably throughout the description of the multi-mode communication process 200, and see Eliaz, pars. [0030-0031]: any particular transmitter 106 (each transmitter 106 may reside in a device 101 or access point 108) may operate in a dual compression mode where when in a first (high-EVM) compression mode, transmissions by the transmitter 106 are compressed, resulting in an EVM above a predetermined EVM threshold, such as a threshold set forth in an applicable standard. When operating in the low-EVM compression mode, the EVM of the transmissions by the transmitter 106 of the AP and/or devices 101 are less than the predetermined EVM threshold. In order to successfully (e.g., with an error rate below a determined threshold) demodulate and decode the transmission in the high-EVM compression mode, the receiver 104 of the AP 108 and/or device 101a,d may apply distortion mitigation techniques to the received signal. In a second (low-EVM) compression mode, transmissions by the transmitter 106 are substantially linear (e.g., having EVM below a determined threshold, such as a threshold set forth in an applicable standard); in this case, a high-EVM compression mode capability message is transmitted and used to determine whether to enable high-EVM communications. This corresponds to transmitting a request for compression information that indicates one or more allowed compression levels. The compression mode (i.e. compression level) corresponds to EVM above or below an EVM threshold (corresponding to one or more equation to parameter ratios for an EVM threshold)); and
receive the compression information (see Eliaz, Fig. 2, par. [0038]: At step 208, in response to deciding to enable high-EVM communications with the device 101 (or AP 108), the AP 108 (or device 101) exchanges one or more high-EVM parameters with the device 101 (or AP 108) in a high-EVM compression mode parameter message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the compression information exchange of Eliaz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling co-existence between high-EVM compression and low-EVM compression modes (see Eliaz, par. [0023]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, as applied to claims 3-4 and 15 above, and further in view of Olgaard (US 2007/0009021), hereinafter “Olgaard”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, teaches the apparatus.
The combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach, but Eliaz teaches:
wherein canceling the NL distortion includes canceling the NL distortion using a model that approximates a PA model (see Eliaz, par. [0020]: receiver circuitry makes use of distortion mitigation techniques based on a generated model of the nonlinearity of the transmitter, and see Eliaz, par. [0019]: The high PAPR may dictate that a power amplifier (PA) operates at a high power backoff, which results in reduced efficiency. Alternatively, operating the PA with less power backoff compresses the signal (due to PA saturation), which results in nonlinear distortion when an instantaneous signal level enters a nonlinear region of the PA response. Accordingly, one or more distortion mitigation techniques may be applied to a signal before or during transmission of the signal. Such distortion mitigation techniques may include, for example, PAPR reduction techniques and Digital Pre-Distortion (DPD))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the cancelling distortion based a model of Eliaz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling co-existence between high-EVM compression and low-EVM compression modes (see Eliaz, par. [0023]).
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, does not teach:
a model as a finite polynomial expression, and wherein a quantity of different power degrees corresponds to the quantity of parameters.
Olgaard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
a model as a finite polynomial expression, and wherein a quantity of different power degrees corresponds to the quantity of parameters (see Olgaard, Fig. 5, pars. [0034-0036]: FIG. 5 illustrates a graph 500 showing an example of multiple plots or curves of EVM(dB) versus compression level. Compression level is expressed as dB values of projected X dB intersect points, where values of X are chosen at 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.25, and 1.5 to correspond to the plots or curves 510, 520, 530, 540 and 550. By measuring multiple X dB intersect points for each received plurality of data packets signals, a CCDF curve fit may be obtained and a more accurate EVM estimate may be found with minimal extra calculations. For example, for a given output power level and corresponding received plurality of data packet signals, the values of the curves 510, 520, 530, 540 and 550 may be used to locate a curve fit point. This curve fitting likewise may be done for each transmitted plurality of data packet signals transmitted at various output power levels. In this manner, a curve fit may be found for the curves 510, 520, 530, 540 and 550. Naturally, this process could be taken to the extreme by performing a best curve fit for many more curves in addition to curves 510, 520, 530, 540 and 550, and from the best curve fit the EVM could be estimated. More variation is shown in the curves 510, 520, 530, 540 and 550 at lower EVM levels. This variation may be due to the compression not being the dominant source of EVM at the associated output power levels. Naturally, multiple measurements could be used to obtain an even better average of the compression--thus better estimate to the EVM; in this case, the values of curves are determined based on parameters (corresponding to a quantity of different power degrees corresponding to parameters) for a model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the model of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, with the model as a polynomial expression of Olgaard with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of optimizing system performance using calibration based on EVM and transmitter output power (see Olgaard, par. [0044]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, as applied to claims 3-4 and 15 above, and further in view of Shilo et al. (WO 2025/031585), hereinafter “Shilo”.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, does not teach:
receive a request for the EVM threshold; and
transmit an indication of the EVM threshold.
Shilo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive a request for the EVM threshold (see Shilo, page 12, lines 5-10: the AP 120 may be configured to request the indication of the power backoff values 137 and the Tx EVM values 138 from the non-AP station 110 or a group of non-AP stations, including the non-AP station 110. In an embodiment, this request may be part of a trigger frame 130 or issued by the AP as a stand-alone dedicated poll frame 130. In an embodiment, the poll frame 130 may include one or more identifiers of the non-AP station(s) 110 (e.g. a STA ID List) and/or an indication of one or more MCSs (e.g. a MCSs List); in this case, receiving a request for Tx EVM values corresponds to receiving a request for the EVM threshold); and
transmit an indication of the EVM threshold (see Shilo, page 11, lines 28-31: the non-AP station 110 (that supports indication of back-off and/or Tx EVM values) may indicate the power back-off 137 and/or Tx EVM 138 similar to the conventional UL Power Headroom as a respective control field per MCS in an UL frame 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, with the EVM threshold exchange of Shilo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing efficient MIMO transmissions (see Shilo, page 1, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity (see Zach, par. [0285]: The processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the device 1505 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to:
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, does not teach:
receive a request for the EVM threshold; and
transmit an indication of the EVM threshold.
Shilo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive a request for the EVM threshold (see Shilo, page 12, lines 5-10: the AP 120 may be configured to request the indication of the power backoff values 137 and the Tx EVM values 138 from the non-AP station 110 or a group of non-AP stations, including the non-AP station 110. In an embodiment, this request may be part of a trigger frame 130 or issued by the AP as a stand-alone dedicated poll frame 130. In an embodiment, the poll frame 130 may include one or more identifiers of the non-AP station(s) 110 (e.g. a STA ID List) and/or an indication of one or more MCSs (e.g. a MCSs List); in this case, receiving a request for Tx EVM values corresponds to receiving a request for the EVM threshold); and
transmit an indication of the EVM threshold (see Shilo, page 11, lines 28-31: the non-AP station 110 (that supports indication of back-off and/or Tx EVM values) may indicate the power back-off 137 and/or Tx EVM 138 similar to the conventional UL Power Headroom as a respective control field per MCS in an UL frame 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, and further in view of Eliaz, with the EVM threshold exchange of Shilo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing efficient MIMO transmissions (see Shilo, page 1, lines 4-6).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 above, and further in view of Tangudu et al. (US 2024/0297621), hereinafter “Tangudu”.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus.
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of basis functions of an assumed NL model.
Tangudu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of basis functions of an assumed NL model (see Tangudu, par. [0007]: The apparatus includes power amplifier (PA) circuitry having an input terminal coupled to the output terminal of the DPD corrector circuitry, the DPD corrector circuitry configured to: access at least one lookup table based on first delayed versions of an envelope of the signal to determine first values, second values, and third values of non-linear functions that model a non-linearity of the PA circuitry; in this case, parameters may be values of functions for a non-linearity model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the parameters of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the basis functions of Tangudu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving digital pre-distortion (see Tangudu, par. [0002]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 above, and further in view of Jaenecke (US 2007/0018722), hereinafter “Jaenecke”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus.
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of different power degrees at a PA polynomial.
Jaenecke, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of different power degrees at a PA polynomial (see Jaenecke, par. [0080]: The functional form from P (i.e., the number and degree of its polynomials) defines the amplifier model; assumed to be already known).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the parameters of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the power degrees of Jaenecke with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of cost reduction and higher efficiency (see Jaenecke, par. [0025]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2025/0119337), hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus.
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of components at a neural network associated with estimating a PA model.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the quantity of parameters includes a quantity of components at a neural network associated with estimating a PA model (see Park, Fig. 3, par. [0116]: the processing circuitry may perform some operations (e.g., the operations described herein as being performed by the linearity calibration model 112a, the linearity calibration model 112b, the power amplifier estimation model, the linearity calibration model 112c, the output layer OL_1, the hidden layer HL and/or the output layer OL_2) by artificial intelligence and/or machine learning. As an example, the processing circuitry may implement an artificial neural network (e.g., the linearity calibration model 112a, the linearity calibration model 112b, the power amplifier estimation model, and/or the linearity calibration model 112c; in this case, the parameters include a number of linearity calibration models associated with a power amplifier estimation model as part of a neural network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the parameters of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the neural network of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving nonlinearity correction performance (see Park, par. [0064]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19-21 above, and further in view of Reuven et al. (US 2015/0049843), hereinafter “Reuven”.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, teaches the apparatus. Zach further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE (see Zach, par. [0274]: The processor 1440 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1430) to cause the device 1405 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting non-linear reference signal design)) to
However, the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, does not teach:
receive an indication of a 1 decibel compression point.
Reuven, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive an indication of a 1 decibel compression point (see Reuven, Fig. 4, par. [0036]: The receiver 400 may generate the nonlinearity model and/or determine the CFR algorithm based on parameters characterizing nonlinearity and/or crest factor reduction algorithm of the transmitter from which the signal 518 originated. Such characteristics may include, for example, parameters (e.g., gain, 1 dB compression point, power backoff, etc.), and see Reuven, par. [0031]: The RF front end is operable to receive signal 518 over the channel and process the signal; in this case, the 1dB compression point may be determined based on a received signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of the combination of Zach in view of Suh, and further in view of Sun, and further in view of Kazmi, with the indication of a 1 decibel compression point of Reuven with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving performance over conventional predistortion (see Reuven, par. [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach “wherein a respective EPR of the one or more respective EPRs corresponds to a ratio of (the quantity of receive antennas of the UE times a quantity of subcarriers dedicated to pilots) to (the quantity of transmit antennas of the network entity times the quantity of parameters per PA of the network entity)” in combination with other limitations of the claims.
Claim 18 is dependent on claim 17 and is therefore objected to for the same reasons as claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Forenza et al. (US 2012/0314570) teaches a system and methods are described which compensate for the adverse effect of Doppler on the performance of DIDO systems.
Lee et al. (US 2017/0079050) teaches a method and a receiver for processing a received signal, the method dividing a plurality of resource elements (RE) to create RE groups by considering the inter-relationships between the channels of the plurality of REs, selecting a reference RE for each RE group, and generating, for each RE group, a detection signal from a received signal on the basis of channel information of the reference RE.
Moses et al. (US 2025/0081015) teaches methods, systems, and devices for enhanced non-linearity correction based on statistical moments.
Yokomakura et al. (US 2015/0003370) teaches a control station device that is capable of using an easy scheduling scheme in spectrum-overlapped resource management.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409