Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “a circuit compartment is arranged inside the main housing, and the motor and the circuit compartment are detachably snap-fitted and electrically connected,” of claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the guide ribs” should be “the plurality of flow guide ribs.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the guide ribs” should be “the plurality of flow guide ribs.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of transmission in Claim 5; means of transmission in Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 2, “its” is indefinite. It is unclear what “its” is referring to. The claims were interpreted as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 2, “at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate,” is indefinite. The term “allow” is indefinite. Allow is not a definitive term. It is unclear if what fallows is required by the claim. Additionally, it is unclear ho the ribs being at an angle allows them to be spirally arranged. The nexus between each rib and the same angle and spirally is unclear. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 7, “in response to the output end of the motor being inserted into the motor connection hole,” is indefinite. The Examiner notes that these are apparatus claims claiming the resulting assembly / tool. These are not method of assembly claims. It is unclear what, if any, additional structure is added by the cited clause. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 15, “its” is indefinite. it is unclear what “its” is referring to. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 15, wherein each of the flow guide ribs is deflected at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate” is indefinite. The term “allow” is indefinite. Allow is not a definitive term. It is unclear if what fallows is required by the claim. Additionally, it is unclear how the ribs being at an angle allows them to be spirally arranged. The nexus between each rib and the same angle and spirally is unclear. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2022161971.
In re Claim 1, JP 2022161971 teaches an electric nose hair suction clipper (see Figs. 59-64), comprising: a cutter head (see Fig. 62, #84) , comprising a cutter head housing (see Fig. 62, #8411), wherein each of two ends of the cutter head housing is provided with an through opening (see Fig. 62, each of the ends of #8411 has an opening), and a cavity is provided between the two through openings (see Fig. 62, #8411, in view of Figs. 59-64, has a cavity between the upper and lower openings);
a main housing (see Fig. 62, #10/81/811), wherein the cutter head is connected to the main housing (see Fig. 62, showing #8411 and #80 connected in an assembly) , a top of the main housing is provided with an air inlet (see Fig. 62, hole in which filter #62 is located), and the cavity communicates with an interior of the main housing through the air inlet (see JP 2022161971, translation, which states: The cavity formed inside the filter 82 also constitutes a part of the air flow path 85 through which the air flow generated by the fan 87 passes); and
a shaft fan (see Fig. 62, fan #87), arranged inside the main housing (see Fig. 62, fan #87 is located within #80); wherein the shaft fan comprises a shaft (see Fig. 62, shaft #86), a lower end of the shaft is provided with a guide plate with an inward recessed bottom surface (see Fig. 62, #861), a plurality of flow guide ribs are fixedly arranged on an upper surface of the guide plate, and the plurality of flow guide ribs are arranged at intervals on the guide plate.
In re Claim 12, JP 2022161971 teaches an electric nose hair suction clipper (see Figs. 59-64), comprising:
a cutter head (see Fig. 62 #84), comprising a cutter head housing (se Fig. 62, #8411), wherein each of two ends of the cutter head housing is provided with an through opening, and a cavity is provided between the two through openings (see Fig. 62, each of the ends of #8411 has an opening), a blade cover is arranged inside the cutter head housing (see Fig. 62, #8411), an inner cutting knife is arranged inside the blade cover (See Fig. 62, #8422);
a main housing (see Fig. 62, #10/81/811), wherein the cutter head is connected to the main housing (see Fig. 62, showing #8411 and 80 connected in an assembly0, a top of the main housing is provided with an air inlet (see Fig. 62, hole in which filter #62 is located), and the cavity communicates with an interior of the main housing through the air inlet (see JP 2022161971, translation, which states: The cavity formed inside the filter 82 also constitutes a part of the air flow path 85 through which the air flow generated by the fan 87 passes); and
a shaft fan (see Fig. 62, the assembly of fan #87 and shaft #86), arranged inside the main housing (see Fig. 62, fan #87 is located within housing #80); wherein the shaft fan comprises a shaft (see Fig. 62, shaft #86); wherein an upper part of the shaft passes through a top of the main housing to connect with the inner cutting knife (see Fig. 62, shaft #86 transmits rotational force from the motor #15 to the inner cutting knife #8422a).
In re Claim 13, JP 2022161971 teaches wherein the blade cover is provided with a plurality of slots (see Fig. 61, showing #8412 having slots).
In re Claim 14, JP 2022161971 teaches a lower end of the shaft is provided with a guide plate (the assembly of #87/86 includes a plate at the bottom of fan #87 surrounding shaft #86) a plurality of flow guide ribs are fixedly arranged on an upper surface of the guide plate (the fan includes ribs or fan blades which are arranged extending from the “bottom” surface of the fan #87 in Fig. 62), and the plurality of flow guide ribs are arranged at intervals on the guide plate (the fan blades of fan #87 are arranged at intervals about the axis of rotation).
In re Claim 16, JP 2022161971 teaches wherein an air outlet is provided on a side wall of the main housing (see Fig. 62, #8112), the air outlet is located in a position corresponding to an arrangement position of the guide ribs (see Fig. 62, illustrating air-port #8112 adjacent to the fan blades of fan #87), and the air outlet is in communication with the air inlet (air flow path #85 is in communication with air-port #8112).
In re Claim 18, JP 2022161971 teaches wherein a bottom end of the shaft is provided with a motor connection hole, and an output end of a motor is connected to the shaft with an interference through the motor connecting hole (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, teaching #867 which is part of the shaft assembly and receives drive shaft #16 of motor #15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 3,731,379 to Williams.
In re Claim 2, JP 2022161971 does not teach wherein each of the flow guide ribs is deflected at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate.
However, Williams teaches the flow guide ribs (see fan blade of Williams in Fig. 4 and Fig. 2) is deflected at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate (see Williams Fig. 4, showing the fan blades at 90 degrees to each other and having spiral surfaces).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to provide a four bladed spiral blade as taught by Williams. Doing to is the substitution of one known fan design for another known fan design to ensure that the air is pulled passed the blade and into the housing to exit the side of the housing (see MPEP 2143, I, B, in view of Williams Col. 5, ll. 1-33).
In re Claim 3, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, teaches wherein an air outlet is provided on a side wall of the main housing (see Fig. 62, #8112), the air outlet is located in a position corresponding to an arrangement position of the guide ribs (see Fig. 62, illustrating air-port #8112 adjacent to the fan blades of fan #87), and the air outlet is in communication with the air inlet (air flow path #85 is in communication with air-port #8112).
In re Claim 4, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, teaches wherein a blade cover is arranged at an upper opening of the cutter head housing (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, #8412), an inner cutting knife is arranged inside the blade cover (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, #8422a), and an upper part of the shaft passes through a top opening of the main housing to connect with the inner cutting knife (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, teaching 86 transmitting power from motor #15 to blade #8422).
In re Claim 6, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, teaches wherein a bottom end of the shaft is provided with a motor connection hole, and an output end of a motor is connected to the shaft with an interference through the motor connecting hole (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, teaching #867 which is part of the shaft assembly and receives drive shaft #16 of motor #15).
In re Claim 15, JP 2022161971 does not teach wherein each of the flow guide ribs is deflected at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate.
However, Williams teaches the flow guide ribs (see fan blade of Williams in Fig. 4 and Fig. 2) is deflected at a same angle as its adjacent flow guide rib to allow the plurality of the flow guide ribs to be spirally arranged on the guide plate (see Williams Fig. 4, showing the fan blades at 90 degrees to each other and having spiral surfaces).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to provide a four bladed spiral blade as taught by Williams. Doing to is the substitution of one known fan design for another known fan design to ensure that the air is pulled passed the blade and into the housing to exit the side of the housing (see MPEP 2143, I, B, in view of Williams Col. 5, ll. 1-33).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 3,731,379 to Williams, and further in view of US 2021/0237291 to Tran.
In re Claim 5, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, does not teach wherein a cross-section of the shaft is non-circular, and a mounting hole is provided at a bottom of the inner cutting knife, a size and a cross-sectional shape of the mounting hole is consistent with those of the inner cutting knife, and the inner cutting knife is connected to the shaft by means of transmission.
However, Tran teaches that it is known to provide a drive shaft that is non-circular (see Tran, Fig. 2, #20) and a corresponding mounting hole (see Tran, Fig. 2, #10and Para. 0041).
In the same field of invention, nose hair trimmers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the drive shaft non-circular with a corresponding mounting hole, as taught by Tran. Doing so is the substation of one known connection style or type for another known connection style or type to achieve the results of transmitting rotation power. Doing so provides a significant enhancement of connection between blade and drive shaft (see Tran, Para. 0041).
Such a combination would read on a mounting hole is provided at a bottom of the inner cutting knife, a size and a cross-sectional shape of the mounting hole is consistent with those of the inner cutting knife, and the inner cutting knife is connected to the shaft by means of transmission.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 3,731,379 to Williams, and further in view of DE 199 29 590 A1.
In re Claim 7, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, teaches wherein a bottom width of the guide plate is greater than a width of the motor, an upper end of the motor is accommodated in a recessed space formed in the bottom of the guide plate, in response to the output end of the motor being inserted into the motor connection hole.
However, DE 199 29 590 A1 teaches that it is known in the of fans for electrical motors to provide a bottom with of the guide plate is greater than the width of the motor (see Fig. 4 of DE 199 29 590 A1, showing the bottom surface/closest to the motor of fan #34 is larger than the motor), an upper end of the motor is accommodated in a recessed space formed in the bottom of the guide plate, in response to the output end of the motor being inserted into the motor connection hole (see Fig. 4, #34/38 in view of #36).
In the same field of invention, fans for electrical motors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to extend the fan blades over the outer diameter of the motor, as taught by DE 199 29 590 A1. Doing so is the substitution of one known electrical motor fan for another known electrical motor fan to move air (see MPEP 2143, I, B). such a fan crease a strong air flow during operation (see translation
Claim 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 3,731,379 to Williams, and further in view of US 2006/0230619 to Williams.
In re Claim 8, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, teaches wherein the main housing comprises a first housing and a second housing (see Fig. 59, #80/#11),
JP 2022161971, in re Claim 2, does not teach the first housing is provided with at least two female buckles, the second housing is provided with at least two male buckles corresponding to and matching a position of the female buckles, the first housing and the second housing are detachably buckled and snapped through the male buckles and the female buckles. The Examiner notes that buckles were interpreted as snap-fit structure – see Applicant’s Para. 0022.
However, Williams teaches that it is known in the art of housings for hair trimmers to provide a housing with two female buckles (see Williams, Fig. 6, recesses #130 that receive the snap fit protrusions; see also Para. 0034), and a second housing with male buckles (see Williams, Fig. 6, snap fit protrusions that are inserted in to recesses #133; see also Para. 0034), the first housing and the second housing are detachably buckled and snapped through the male buckles and the female buckles (see Williams Fig. 6 and Para. 0034).
In the same field of invention, housings for hair trimmers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to make the housing out of two part with a snap fit arrangement in order to disassemble the assembly without tools. Doing so allows the user to clear the debris created by the use of the tool as well as replace individual parts thereby saving cost over a replacement housing assembly.
In re Claim 10, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 8, teaches wherein an end of a connected first housing and second housing are detachably connected to a fastener (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, #83), and a filter is arranged inside the fastener to reduce the possibility of hair debris entering the inside of the main housing (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82).
In re Claim 11, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 8, teaches wherein a through hole is defined in a center of a surface of the filter (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 has a hole that #86 passes through), a size of the through hole is greater than an outer diameter of the shaft to allow the shaft to pass through the through hole (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 has a hole that #86 passes through), and the filter does not follow the rotation of the shaft, in response to the rotation of the shaft (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 has a hole that #86 passes through).
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 3,731,379 to Williams, and further in view of US 2021/0237291 to Tran, and further in view of US 2021/0348630 to Bachu.
In re Claim 9, modified JP 2022161971 teaches wherein a circuit compartment is arranged inside the main housing (see JP 2022161971, #59-64 showing the switch on the housing – see e.g., Fig. 7 illustrating the switch and components – circuit on the inside of the main housing), and the motor and the circuit compartment are detachably snap-fitted and electrically connected.
However, Bachu teaches that it is known in the art of electrical connections to provide a snap fit connection for electrical connections (see Bachu, Fig. 5A, #570/440, see also Para. 0065). In the same field of invention, electrical connections, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to utilize a snap fit connection to secure the electrical components, as taught by Bachu. Doing so ensures that the electrical component is secured in the correct position.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 2021/0237291 to Tran.
In re Claim 17, JP 2022161971 does not teach wherein a cross-section of the shaft is non-circular, and a mounting hole is provided at a bottom of the inner cutting knife, a size and a cross-sectional shape of the mounting hole is consistent with those of the inner cutting knife, and the inner cutting knife is connected to the shaft by means of transmission.
However, Tran teaches that it is known to provide a drive shaft that is non-circular (see Tran, Fig. 2, #20) and a corresponding mounting hole (see Tran, Fig. 2, #10and Para. 0041).
In the same field of invention, nose hair trimmers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the drive shaft non-circular with a corresponding mounting hole, as taught by Tran. Doing so is the substation of one known connection style or type for another known connection style or type to achieve the results of transmitting rotation power. Doing so provides a significant enhancement of connection between blade and drive shaft (see Tran, Para. 0041).
Such a combination would read on a mounting hole is provided at a bottom of the inner cutting knife, a size and a cross-sectional shape of the mounting hole is consistent with those of the inner cutting knife, and the inner cutting knife is connected to the shaft by means of transmission.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022161971 in view of US 2006/0230619 to Williams.
In re Claim 19, JP 2022161971 teaches an end of a connected first housing and second housing are detachably connected to a fastener(see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, #83 and filter #82), and a filter is arranged inside the fastener to reduce the possibility of hair debris entering the inside of the main housing (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 reduces the possibility of debris entering the main housing).
However, JP 2022161971 does not teach wherein the main housing comprises a first housing and a second housing, the first housing is provided with at least two female buckles, the second housing is provided with at least two male buckles corresponding to and matching a position of the female buckles, the first housing and the second housing are detachably buckled and snapped through the male buckles and the female buckles. The Examiner notes that buckles were interpreted as snap-fit structure – see Applicant’s Para. 0022.
Williams teaches that it is known in the art of housings for hair trimmers to provide a housing with two female buckles (see Williams, Fig. 6, recesses #130 that receive the snap fit protrusions; see also Para. 0034), and a second housing with male buckles (see Williams, Fig. 6, snap fit protrusions that are inserted in to recesses #133; see also Para. 0034), the first housing and the second housing are detachably buckled and snapped through the male buckles and the female buckles (see Williams Fig. 6 and Para. 0034).
In the same field of invention, housings for hair trimmers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to make the housing out of two part with a snap fit arrangement in order to disassemble the assembly without tools. Doing so allows the user to clear the debris created by the use of the tool as well as replace individual parts thereby saving cost over a replacement housing assembly.
In re Claim 20, modified JP 2022161971, in re Claim 19, teaches wherein a through hole is defined in a center of a surface of the filter (see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 has a hole that #86 passes through), a size of the through hole is greater than an outer diameter of the shaft to allow the shaft to pass through the through hole(see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 has a hole that #86 passes through), and the filter does not follow the rotation of the shaft, in response to the rotation of the shaft(see JP 2022161971, Fig. 62, filter #82 does not rotate).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724