DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bass et al. (Patent No. 6144668).
- With respect to claim 1, Bass teaches a device comprising: a transceiver (e.g. Fig. 3 discloses transmit and receive frame); and a processor configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a first frame in accordance to a communication protocol (e.g. the protocol processing receive frame from block 302 in Fig. 3); and forward, via the transceiver (e.g. the frame from protocol 304 to 306 in Fig. 3), the first frame, wherein forwarding the first frame comprises: selecting a forwarding mode from a plurality of forwarding modes based on a current state of the communication protocol (e.g. block 306 in Fig. 3 determines the forwarding mode for the frame as cut through / store and forward), and forwarding the first frame in accordance to the selected forwarding mode (see col. 6, lines 1-35 discloses “This can include network protocol processing, unicast and multicast frame support, determining which output port the frame is sent to, etc. When the protocol processing logic 304 processes a multicast frame, it can create any number of different versions of the original received frame. The method the protocol processing logic 304 uses to perform multicasting of frames is outside the scope of this invention and is fully described in the cross-referenced related application "Multicast Frame Support in Hardware Routing Assist" incorporated by reference herein. The cut-through/store-and-forward decision logic 306 is responsible for determining whether a frame can be forwarded by cut-through or by store-and-forward, and then indicating to the transmit frame I/O logic 308 when the frame can be transmitted. If a frame can be forwarded by cut-through, cut-through/store-and-forward logic 306 indicates to the transmit frame I/O logic 308 that a frame can be transmitted when the protocol processing logic 304 has completed processing the frame. If a frame must be forwarded by store-and-forward, cut-through/store-and-forward logic 306 must wait to indicate to the transmit frame I/O logic 308 that the frame can be transmitted until after the frame is completely received by the receive frame I/O logic 302. The transmit frame I/O logic 308 is responsible for actually transmitting the frames in frame memory 300 to the external network ports.”).
- With respect to claim 2, Bass teaches wherein the plurality of forwarding modes include auto-forward (AD) mode, and cut-through (CT) mode (e.g. block 306 in Fig. 3 with cut through / store and forward).
- With respect to claim 3, Bass teaches wherein the plurality of forwarding modes include time triggered send (TTS) mode (e.g. col. 3, lines 63-65).
- With respect to claim 4, Bass teaches wherein the plurality of forwarding modes include loop back mode (e.g. Fig. 10 shows loop back mode).
- With respect to claim 11, Bass teaches wherein the first frame includes a status field indicative of the current state of the communication protocol (e.g. col. 1, lines 50-53).
- With respect to claim 16, Bass teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform error detection using a sideband signal (e.g. col. 2 line 12-14 discloses frame is checked for error).
- With respect to claim 17, Bass teaches further comprising a memory, wherein the plurality of forwarding modes are stored in a list stored in the memory (e.g. memory discloses in Fig. 3).
- With respect to claim 19, Bass teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive, via the transceiver, a startup frame that includes a source address field and a destination address field (see col. 1, lines 50-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass et al. (Patent No. 6144668) in view of Nagai et al. (Pub No. 20090067429).
- With respect to claim 12, Bass fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a startup frame that includes a status field indicative of the current state of the communication protocol. Nagai discloses a startup frame that includes a status field indicative of the current state of the communication protocol (e.g. Fig. 3C block 333). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling to implement the status field into frame of Bass to determine current state of communication.
- With respect to claim 18, Nagai teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a second frame that includes type field indicative of a frame type of the second frame, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, wherein a size of the CRC code is based on the frame type of the second frame (e.g. Fig. 3 shows CRC, par. 66-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 13-15, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471