DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“transport unit configured to transport” in claim 1. No corresponding structure for transport is provided.
“first holding unit configured to hold” in claim 1. The corresponding structure for the first holding unit is recited as a template holding unit (see [0065], [0085]) or a substrate holding unit (see [0097], [0114]).
“second holding unit configured to hold” in claim 1. The corresponding structure for the second holding unit is recited as a template holding unit (see [0099], [0117]) or a substrate holding unit (see [0067], [0087]).
“measuring unit configured to measure” in claim 1. The corresponding structure for the measuring unit is recited as a camera that can measure alignment marks on the substrate (see [0044]), and a displacement sensor that can detect the distance to the substrate (see [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, no corresponding structure for the claimed transport unit is provided in the specification of 06/06/2024.
Claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon and because the fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The claim limitation “transport unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure for the claimed transport unit is provided in the specification of 06/06/2024. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon and because the fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (US 2019/0255760 A1), in view of Kawasaki (US 2020/0089108 A1 – of record as JP 2020043315).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses a planarized layer forming apparatus. The recitation “apparatus configured to perform a planarization process of forming a planar layer on a substrate by bringing a planar surface of a template into contact with a curable composition on the substrate and then curing the curable composition” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02
The apparatus to include having a mold 18 – (corresponds to a template) loaded into the apparatus by a mold conveying system – (construed as a transport unit configured to transport the template) and held by a mold chuck 17 – (construed as a first holding unit configured to hold the template transported by the transport unit), see [0057]. The mold/template is moved downward to contact a substrate 1 that is held on a substrate stage 7 – (construed as a second holding unit), see [0058] , [0064]. It being considered, the contact between the mold/template and the substrate held on the substrate stage is representative of “a second holding unit configured to receive the mold/template held by the mold chuck/first holding unit from the mold chuck/first holding unit”.
While Hirano discloses the use of an off-axis position measurement apparatus; it does not explicitly disclose the measuring unit is configured to measure a position of the substrate or the template held by the second holding unit in a plane direction, wherein the measuring unit obtains an amount of positional shift of the position from a reference position.
Kawasaki discloses a planarization apparatus. The apparatus being configured to use an alignment scope 23 for observing a reference mark provided on a substrate stage 3 and an alignment mark provided on a mold 11. And for measuring the positional deviation therebetween, see [0027] – (construed as the measuring unit is configured to measure a position of the substrate or the template held by the second holding unit in a plane direction, wherein the measuring unit obtains an amount of positional shift of the position from a reference position).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the off-axis position measurement apparatus of Hirano to measure the position of the substrate and mold/template to include positional changes therebetween, as taught by Kawasaki to ensure alignment between the mold/template and substrate as suggested by Kawasaki [0027].
Regarding claims 2-3, as previously discussed, modified Hirano discloses a mold/template 18 is held by a mold chuck 17 – (construed as a first holding unit), see [0057] – (corresponds to the first holding unit includes a template holding unit that holds the template in the planarization process), and a substrate 1 is held by a substrate stage 7 – (construed as a second holding unit), see [0058] – (corresponds to the second holding unit includes a substrate holding unit that holds the substrate in the planarization process).
While the discussion of claim 1, presented the first holding unit as the mold/template and second holding unit as the substrate stage; one of ordinary skill would readily envision the reverse. That is, the first holding unit is the substrate stage 7 that holds the substrate 1 in the planarization process, and the second holding unit is the mold chuck 17/template that holds the template in the planarization process.
Regarding claims 4-5, 8, modified Hirano discloses is performed for the first time after loading the substrate 1 into the imprint apparatus, the substrate 1 is moved under the off-axis scope 24, and the off-axis scope 24 measures the position of the substrate 1. This pre-alignment is performed with accuracy such that the alignment mark formed in each shot region of the substrate 1 falls within the measurement range of the alignment measurement device 12 in the mark measurement processing performed before the mold 18 is brought into contact with the imprint material on the substrate 1 – (construed as an adjustment of a position of the substrate holding unit, and the substrate held by the substrate holding unit in the plane direction is performed in the planarization process on the basis of the amount of positional shift; and where the adjustment is performed so that the template and the substrate are aligned in the plane direction before the planar surface of the template is brought into contact with the surface of the substrate to which the curable composition is applied; and where the reference position is a position of the substrate held by the substrate holding unit in the plane direction which is measured using the measuring unit after the substrate is transported to the substrate holding unit in the planarization process).
Regarding claim 7, as modified Hirano discloses the off-axis scope is supported by the alignment scope shelf. The off-axis scope is used for a global alignment process for detecting alignment marks provided in a plurality of shot regions of the substrate to determine the position of each shot region, see Kawasaki [0026]. And where the pre-alignment of the substrate and substrate stage is performed before contact with the template. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide modified Hirano’s planarization apparatus with the claimed functionality since: modified Hirano clearly contemplates such functionality. This being suitable for performing a global alignment scheme.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6, 9-11 present structure and/or functionality not taught or reasonably suggested by the closest prior art Hirano in view of Kawasaki as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-4 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749