DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 15 and 21-32 are pending, and claims 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13-14 and 16-20 are canceled according to preliminary claim amendment filed on 02/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 15, 22-23 and 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US20200229092A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D5 in EPO search report), hereinafter Wu in view of Seo et al. US 20220264464 A1, hereinafter Seo.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal, the method comprising:
(Wu: Summary, para. [0285] and FIG. 20 UE 2000 include a monitoring module 2001 and an executing module 2002. Para. [0333] UE, the UE includes: a processor; and a memory configured to store machine readable instructions that, when executed by the processor)
receiving, from a wireless network node, a first high layer signaling (Wu: para. Para. [0010] power saving signal is received based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) using a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), and the PS-RNTI is obtained by radio resource control (RRC) signaling) associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window (preconfigured time frequency resource) or associated with an existence of a service related configuration;
(Wu: para. [0061-0063 & 0158-0170] and Fig. 1 Step S101, monitoring, by a UE, a physical layer power saving signal; Step S102: start or stop a monitoring of the PDCCH based on a result of the monitoring of the physical layer power saving signal. Para. [0063] UE receives the configuration information of the physical layer power saving signal transmitted by the base station, wherein the physical layer power saving signal is used to perform a specific power saving operation, and then the UE monitors the physical layer power saving signal on the preconfigured time frequency resource, also para. [0158-0170])
wherein the time window is configured to start at a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion (Wu: para. [0094] and FIG. 5, the UE is configured with a short DRX cycle, and regardless of whether the UE applies the short DRX cycle or the long DRX cycle, the WUS has an one-to-one correspondence with each On-Duration, that is, the UE monitors the WUS before each On-Duration, and determines whether to start the drx-onDurationTimer and start monitoring the PDCCH at the starting position of the corresponding On-Duration based on the monitoring result of the WUS) or at a first symbol of a first slot
after an expiry of an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer;
(Wu: para. [0093] If the short DRX cycle is configured, when the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires or the DRX Command MAC CE is received, the UE firstly applies the short DRX cycle, and start the drx-ShortCycleTimer)
or
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion (long DRX cycle after time gap) in the time window (Wu: para. [0094] UE monitors the WUS before each On-Duration, and determines whether to start the drx-onDurationTimer and start monitoring the PDCCH at the starting position of the corresponding On-Duration based on the monitoring result of the WUS. And Fig. 5 and para. [0093] long DRX cycle) or a first slot of the time window is after a time instant which is a time offset (Wu: para. [0072] and Fig. 5 first time gap (corresponds to claim limitation “time offset”) is existed between the time of the UE receiving the physical layer power saving signal and the time of the UE starting the drx-onDurationTimer, and the UE determines the time domain position of the physical layer power saving signal based on the starting time of the On-Duration and the first time gap) after a slot at which an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer starts or ends.
(Wu: Fig. 5 and para. [0093] If the short DRX cycle is configured, when the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires (corresponds to claim limitation “onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer ends”) or the DRX Command MAC CE is received, the UE firstly applies the short DRX cycle, and start the drx-ShortCycleTimer, and apply the long DRX cycle only when the drx-ShortCycleTimer expires or the Long DRX Command MAC CE is received)
It is noted that Wu does not explicitly disclose: receiving, from a wireless network node, a first high layer signaling associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window or associated with an existence of a service related;
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the time window or a first slot of the time window,..
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receiving, from a wireless network node, a first high layer signaling associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window or associated with an existence of a service related; (Seo: para. [0315 & 0322] wireless device may be implemented in the form of, XR device (100 c of FIG. 30)… The wireless device may be used in a mobile or fixed place according to a use-example/service (which corresponds to claim limitation “associated with an existence of a service related”), and para. [0148] and Table 5, DRX configuration information may be received through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Whether DRX is ON or OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of a MAC layer. If the DRX is configured, PDCCH monitoring may be performed discontinuously. Para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH)
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the time window (Seo: para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH) or a first slot of the time window,..
(Seo: para. [0132] 4) a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH monitoring)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the first high layer signaling is a radio resource control signaling, (Wu: para. Para. [0010] power saving signal is received based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) using a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), and the PS-RNTI is obtained by radio resource control (RRC) signaling) wherein the first high layer signaling comprises a bit indicating whether the service related configuration exists, (Wu: para. [0234] GTS field is 1 bit. When the indication value is “0”, the UE should continue monitoring the PDCCH; when the indication value is “1”, the UE should stop the drx-onDurationTimer and/or the drx-InactivityTimer, and then stop monitoring the PDCCH. Para. [0235] Optionally, when the UE is configured with a short DRX cycle, the GTS field is 2 bits. When the indication value is “00”, the UE should continue monitoring the PDCCH; when the indication value is “01”, the UE should stop the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer, and enter the short DRX cycle; when the indication value is “10”, the UE should stop the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer, and enter the long DRX cycle; the indication value “11” is the reserved value) and
wherein the first high layer signaling is broadcasted or unicasted to the wireless terminal. (Wu: para. [0223] E being in the RRC idle mode or the in-active mode acquires configuration information of the physical layer power saving signal by using system broadcast information)
Regarding claim 5, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, Wu does not explicitly teach: further comprising: receiving, from the wireless network node, a second high layer signaling configuring the time window for the control information monitoring.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receiving, from the wireless network node, a second high layer signaling (additionally RRC signalling) configuring the time window for the control information monitoring. (Seo: para. [0187 & 0182-0189 & 0195-0196] UE may be additionally instructed whether UL/DL/flexible through DCI format 2_0 for a resource indicated as “flexible” by RRC signaling (cell-specific & UE-specific RRC signaling)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 5, Wu does not explicitly teach: wherein the second high layer signaling configures the time window by configuring at least one of a duration parameter indicating a duration of the time window or a reference point parameter associated with determining a starting point of the time window, or the second high layer signaling configures the time window by configuring a duration parameter indicating a duration of the time window.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the second high layer signaling (additionally RRC signalling) configures the time window by configuring at least one of a duration parameter indicating a duration of the time window (resource) or a reference point parameter associated with determining a starting point of the time window, or the second high layer signaling (additionally RRC signalling) configures the time window (resource) by configuring a duration parameter indicating a duration of the time window. (Seo: para. [0187 & 0182-0189 & 0195-0196] by means of UE-specific RRC signaling (TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated), it may be indicated whether UL/DL/flexible for a resource defined as “flexible” in the cell-specific RRC signaling. Thereafter, the UE may be additionally instructed whether UL/DL/flexible through DCI format 2_0 for a resource indicated as “flexible” by RRC signaling (cell-specific & UE-specific RRC signaling). In general, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring in a resource indicated by downlink (DL) by RRC signaling and/or DCI) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 6, Wu does not explicitly teach: wherein the duration parameter indicates the duration by indicating a number of search space sets, a number of physical downlink control channel monitoring occasions, a number of slots or a time-domain value.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the duration parameter indicates the duration by indicating a number of search space sets, a number of physical downlink control channel monitoring occasions, a number of slots or a time-domain value. (Seo: para. [0131] For each search space set, the UE may be provided with at least one of the following information. Para. [0132] 1) search space set index s (0≤s<40), 2) an association between a CORESET p and the search space set s, 3) a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and a PDCCH monitoring offset (slot unit), 4) a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH monitoring), 5) the number of slots in which the search space set s exists, 6) the number of PDCCH candidates per CCE aggregation level, 7) information indicating whether the search space set s is CSS or USS) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein a unit of the time offset is millisecond or slot. (Wu: para. [0186] and Fig. 4-6 gap can be based on millisecond (ms) or the number of the slots)
Regarding claim 12, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein a starting point of the time window (start of long DRX cycle) is determined based on a start or an end of an onDurationTimer (short DRX cycle drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires), or wherein the time window starts or ends at a time instant having a time offset (Wu: Fig. 5 gap, and para. [0093-0094] If the short DRX cycle is configured, when the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires or the DRX Command MAC CE is received, the UE firstly applies the short DRX cycle, and start the drx-ShortCycleTimer, and apply the long DRX cycle only when the drx-ShortCycleTimer expires or the Long DRX Command MAC CE is received) with respect to a time-domain resource of a last configured grant physical uplink shared channel or a last semi persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel, (Wu: para. [0227 & 0224-0225] DCI that carries the physical layer power saving signal is further used to schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the UE)
or
Wu does not explicitly teach: wherein the wireless communication method further comprises: receiving, from the wireless network node, a third high layer signaling indicating at least one of a system frame number index, a subframe index and a slot index as a starting point of the time window.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the wireless communication method further comprises: receiving, from the wireless network node, a third high layer signaling (additionally RRC signalling) indicating at least one of a system frame number index, a subframe index and a slot index as a starting point of the time window. (Seo: para. [0187 & 0182 & 0189] UE may be additionally instructed whether UL/DL/flexible through DCI format 2_0 for a resource indicated as “flexible” by RRC signaling (cell-specific & UE-specific RRC signaling). In general, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring in a resource indicated by downlink (DL) by RRC signaling and/or DCI. Para. [0175] ‘monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset’ of Table 6 may inform slots for PDCCH monitoring based on periodicity and offset, and para. [0170-0172] and Table 6 indicate slot number) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: activating the control information monitoring in the time window, or activating a timer associated with the time window (Wu: para. [0005] and Fig. 5 UE wakes up at the starting position of the On-Duration of each DRX cycle to start the drx-onDurationTimer, that is, to start to monitor the PDCCH), wherein the activated timer is configured by an RRC signaling (Wu: para. Para. [0010] power saving signal is received based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) using a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), and the PS-RNTI is obtained by radio resource control (RRC) signaling), wherein the timer is an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer; (Wu: para. [0005 & 0055] and Fig. 5 UE wakes up at the starting position of the On-Duration of each DRX cycle to start the drx-onDurationTimer, that is, to start to monitor the PDCCH)
wherein the indication comprises downlink control information, DCI (DCI), a DCI format (DCI format), a DCI bit field (DCI field), a media access control control element, MAC CE (MAC CE), or a reference signal (reference signal),
(Wu: para. [0228-0238] and Fig. 17 and Fig. 18 UE is configured with a UE-specific DCI format containing a power saving signaling field by using the high layer signaling, and then the UE monitors the UE-specific DCI containing the power saving signaling field, after the UE monitors the UE-specific DCI, the UE decodes the indication value of the power saving signaling field contained in the UE-specific DCI. Para. [0063] reference signal)
wherein the DCI is received in: a last physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion, PDCCH MO, in a timer interval of a running onDurationTimer or a running inactivityTimer, or a first PDCCH MO after an expiry of the onDurationTimer or in a DRX-off period;
(Wu: para. [0063] when the UE receives the configuration information of the physical layer power saving signal transmitted by the base station, wherein the physical layer power saving signal is used to perform a specific power saving operation, and then the UE monitors the physical layer power saving signal on the preconfigured time frequency resource, and performs a corresponding power saving operation based on whether the physical layer power saving signal is monitored, for example, starts monitoring the PDCCH while waking up from the sleep mode, or stops monitoring the PDCCH and enters the sleep mode)
wherein the indication is configured with a valid time indicating a number of DRX cycles in which the indication is valid. (Wu: para. [0085] FIG. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, the On-Durations of two consecutive DRX cycles correspond to one WUS, that is, the WUS and the On-Duration may also be an one-to-multiple correspondence. When the DRX cycle is relatively small, the one-to-multiple correspondence can further reduce the overall power consumption of the UE on the WUS detection and reduce the overall resource overhead of the WUS)
Wu does not explicitly teach: wherein the wireless communication method further comprises: receiving, from the wireless network node, an indication associated with activating time window or the timer.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the wireless communication method further comprises: receiving, from the wireless network node, an indication associated with activating time window or the timer, (Seo: para. [0149-0155 & 0148] MAC-CellGroupConfig may include information for defining DRX as follows. Value of drx-OnDurationTimer: This defines a length of a starting duration of a DRX cycle. Value of drx-InactivityTimer: This defines a length of a time duration in which the UE is in an awake state, after a PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicating initial UL or DL data is detected. Para. [0182 & 0080] A transmission direction in a slot/symbol designated as “flexible” through (UE common/UE specific) RRC signaling can be dynamically changed by DCI format 2_0, and PDCCH monitoring is not performed in a slot/symbol designated as UL by RRC and DCI format 2_0) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, Wu does not explicitly teach: further comprising: monitoring a physical downlink control channel when a behavior of monitoring control information in the time window is activated or the activated timer is running, wherein the monitored PDCCH comprises at least one of a DCI format configured for a specific transmission, or a DCI format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for the specific transmission, and wherein the specific transmission is a quasi-periodic traffic or an extended reality traffic.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising: monitoring a physical downlink control channel when a behavior of monitoring control information in the time window is activated or the activated timer is running, wherein the monitored PDCCH
(Seo: para. [0157] UE may know a starting point of a DRX cycle, a duration (duration time) of the DRX cycle, a starting point of an on duration timer, and a duration of the on duration timer according to a DRX configuration)
comprises at least one of a DCI format configured for a specific transmission, or a DCI format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for the specific transmission,
(Seo: para. [0179] DCI format 2_0 is a DCI format used for notifying the slot format, and the following information may be transmitted by means of the DCI format 2_0 with CRC scrambled by SFI-RNTI)
and wherein the specific transmission is a quasi-periodic traffic or an extended reality traffic. (Seo: para. [0315 & 0322] wireless device may be implemented in the form of, XR device (100 c of FIG. 30)… The wireless device may be used in a mobile or fixed place according to a use-example/service (with XR device/service traffic, which corresponds to claim limitation “extended reality traffic”), and para. [0148] and Table 5, DRX configuration information may be received through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Whether DRX is ON or OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of a MAC layer. If the DRX is configured, PDCCH monitoring may be performed discontinuously. Para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring a physical downlink control channel in a period of non-active time when: (Wu: para. [0006] UE is able to stop the monitoring of the PDCCH only after the expiration of both the drx-onDurationTimer and the drx-InactivityTimer, that is, to enter the Opportunity-for-DRX)
detecting no physical downlink control channel with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for a specific transmission before an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer expires,
or
an onDurationTimer expires and an inactivityTimer is not activated, (Wu: para. [0006] UE is able to stop the monitoring of the PDCCH only after the expiration of both the drx-onDurationTimer and the drx-InactivityTimer, that is, to enter the Opportunity-for-DRX)
Wu does not explicitly teach: wherein the monitored PDCCH comprises at least one of a DCI format configured for a specific transmission, or a DCI format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for the specific transmission, and wherein the specific transmission is a quasi-periodic traffic or an extended reality traffic.
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the monitored PDCCH comprises at least one of a DCI format configured for a specific transmission, or a DCI format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for the specific transmission, (Seo: para. [0179] DCI format 2_0 is a DCI format used for notifying the slot format, and the following information may be transmitted by means of the DCI format 2_0 with CRC scrambled by SFI-RNTI) and wherein the specific transmission is a quasi-periodic traffic or an extended reality traffic.
(Seo: para. [0315 & 0322] wireless device may be implemented in the form of, XR device (100 c of FIG. 30)… The wireless device may be used in a mobile or fixed place according to a use-example/service (with XR device/service traffic, which corresponds to claim limitation “extended reality traffic”), and para. [0148] and Table 5, DRX configuration information may be received through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Whether DRX is ON or OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of a MAC layer. If the DRX is configured, PDCCH monitoring may be performed discontinuously. Para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claim 25, Wu teaches a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the method comprising:
(Wu: Summary, para. [0053-0055] base station may transmit DRX operation configuration to UE. Para. [0049] one or more computer programs, each of which may be formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium. The terms “application” and “program” refer to one or more computer programs, software components, sets of instructions)
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first high layer signaling Wu: para. Para. [0010] power saving signal is received based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) using a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), and the PS-RNTI is obtained by radio resource control (RRC) signaling) associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window
(Wu: para. [0061-0063 & 0158-0170] and Fig. 1 Step S101, monitoring, by a UE, a physical layer power saving signal; Step S102: start or stop a monitoring of the PDCCH based on a result of the monitoring of the physical layer power saving signal. Para. [0063] UE receives the configuration information of the physical layer power saving signal transmitted by the base station, wherein the physical layer power saving signal is used to perform a specific power saving operation, and then the UE monitors the physical layer power saving signal on the preconfigured time frequency resource, also para. [0158-0170])
or associated with an existence of a service related configuration,
wherein the time window is configured to start at a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion (Wu: para. [0094] and FIG. 5, the UE is configured with a short DRX cycle, and regardless of whether the UE applies the short DRX cycle or the long DRX cycle, the WUS has an one-to-one correspondence with each On-Duration, that is, the UE monitors the WUS before each On-Duration, and determines whether to start the drx-onDurationTimer and start monitoring the PDCCH at the starting position of the corresponding On-Duration based on the monitoring result of the WUS), or at a first symbol of a first slot
after an expiry of an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer;
(Wu: para. [0093] If the short DRX cycle is configured, when the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires or the DRX Command MAC CE is received, the UE firstly applies the short DRX cycle, and start the drx-ShortCycleTimer)
or
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the time window (Wu: para. [0094] UE monitors the WUS before each On-Duration, and determines whether to start the drx-onDurationTimer and start monitoring the PDCCH at the starting position of the corresponding On-Duration based on the monitoring result of the WUS. And Fig. 5 and para. [0093] long DRX cycle)
or a first slot of the time window
is after a time instant which is a time offset
(Wu: para. [0072] and Fig. 5 first time gap (corresponds to claim limitation “time offset”) is existed between the time of the UE receiving the physical layer power saving signal and the time of the UE starting the drx-onDurationTimer, and the UE determines the time domain position of the physical layer power saving signal based on the starting time of the On-Duration and the first time gap)
after a slot at which an onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer starts or ends. (Wu: Fig. 5 and para. [0093] If the short DRX cycle is configured, when the drx-onDurationTimer and/or drx-InactivityTimer expires (corresponds to claim limitation “onDurationTimer or an inactivityTimer ends”) or the DRX Command MAC CE is received, the UE firstly applies the short DRX cycle, and start the drx-ShortCycleTimer, and apply the long DRX cycle only when the drx-ShortCycleTimer expires or the Long DRX Command MAC CE is received)
It is noted that Wu does not explicitly disclose: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first high layer signaling associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window or associated with an existence of a service related;
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the time window or a first slot of the time window,..
However, Seo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first high layer signaling associated with enabling a control information monitoring in a time window or associated with an existence of a service related; (Seo: para. [0315 & 0322] wireless device may be implemented in the form of, XR device (100 c of FIG. 30)… The wireless device may be used in a mobile or fixed place according to a use-example/service (which corresponds to claim limitation “associated with an existence of a service related”), and para. [0148] and Table 5, DRX configuration information may be received through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Whether DRX is ON or OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of a MAC layer. If the DRX is configured, PDCCH monitoring may be performed discontinuously. Para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH)
wherein a first physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the time window (Seo: para. [0146] The DRX cycle defines a time interval in which the on duration is cyclically repeated. The on duration indicates a time duration in which a UE performs monitoring to receive a PDCCH) or a first slot of the time window,..
(Seo: para. [0132] 4) a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH monitoring)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Seo in the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for it is clearly specified how the UE will operate in the next DRX-on duration. Through this, ambiguity does not occur between the UE and the network, and an increase in response latency can be prevented (Seo: para. [0014]), for providing DRX operation to save power for the UE (Seo: para. [0165-0168]).
Regarding claims 26-31, Wu and Seo teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 2, 5, 6, 8, 11-12 and 15, and therefore method claims 26-31 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 32, Wu and Seo teaches a wireless terminal, comprising: a communication unit, (Wu: Summary, para. [0285] and FIG. 20 UE 2000 include a monitoring module 2001 and an executing module 2002. Para. [0333] UE, the UE includes: a processor; and a memory configured to store machine readable instructions that, when executed by the processor) and Wu and Seo teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 32 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Seo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi US 20220104134 A1, hereinafter Shi.
Regarding claim 24, Wu and Seo teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, Wu does not explicitly teach: further comprising: starting an inactivityTimer after an onDurationTimer expires when:the onDurationTimer expires and the inactivityTimer does not start, or detecting no physical downlink control channel with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for a specific transmission before the onDurationTimer or the inactivityTimer expires.
However, Shi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising: starting an inactivityTimer after an onDurationTimer expires when:the onDurationTimer expires and the inactivityTimer does not start, (Shi: para. [0045] When the drx-onDurationTimer expires, the on duration ends, and the terminal device can prolong the on duration by starting the drx-InactivityTimer) or detecting no physical downlink control channel with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network temporary indicator allocated for a specific transmission before the onDurationTimer or the inactivityTimer expires. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shi in the method of Wu and Seo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to reduce power consumption and PDCCH resource overhead of the terminal device. Specifically, implementations provide a method for wake-up signal (WUS) monitoring, a method for information transmission, and devices, which can reduce power consumption and physical PDCCH resource overhead of a terminal device (Shi: para. [0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Nimbalker et al. US 20220078879 A1 teaches Discontinuous Reception (DRX) includes monitoring for a first wakeup signal (WUS) during a first WUS monitoring occasion and on duration cycle and inactivity timer.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418