Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/21/2026 to the application filed on 07/29/2024.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-28 ,30, 32 and 34-37 are pending in this case. Claims 3, 8-12, 29, 31, 33, 38-42 are canceled. Claims 1 and 37 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-14, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Jelonnek et al. US Patent Publication 20200212975 A1 (hereinafter Jelonnek) in view of Weber et al., US 20200186103 A1 (hereinafter Weber)
Regarding claim 1, Jelonnek discloses a method and
A digital pre-distorter (DPD) for use within a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system that includes a transmit chain having a beamforming array, the digital pre-distorter (DPD) comprising: a plurality of inputs including at least: a first input [the input path into the DPD that carries the baseband/transmission signal] to receive a first signal (baseband signal processing of transmissions) corresponding to a signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain or a modified version of the signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain, and a second input [input path into the DPD from the beamforming unit that carries the beamforming factors] to receive a second signal (Beamforming factors) corresponding to a beamforming control signal for controlling a behavior of the beamforming array (connected to the beam-forming unit) ;
(“The architecture comprises a beamforming unit (BF) 106 capable of determining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system… a digital predistortion unit (DPD) 108 controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs… The DSP may provide baseband signal processing of transmissions… the DSP may comprise a digital beamforming unit 106 and a digital predistortion (DPD) unit 108” [0013] Placing the DPD within the DSP that processes the baseband transmission signal “The digital predistortion unit for the antennas may be controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs and said predistortion unit is connected to the beam-forming unit and the power amplifiers' outputs” [0018] “Beamforming factors may be obtained 304 for controlling transmission beams of the antennas.” [0023] Jelonnek teaches that the DPD is connected to the beamforming unit, which determines beamforming factors used to control the transmission beams of the antennas. The second input is the beamforming factor produced by beamforming unit BF 106.These are the control signals that tell the phase and magnitude shifters how to steer the antenna beam.)
and an output connected to provide a resulting pre-distorted (feeding a predistorted signal) signal to the transmit chain (parallel power amplifiers).
(“The digital predistortion unit for the antennas may be controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs” [0018])
Jelonnek does not expressly teach circuitry configured to apply digital predistortion to the signal desired to be transmitted based at least in part on combining the first signal and the beamforming control signal
However Weber teaches circuitry configured to apply digital predistortion to the signal desired to be transmitted based at least in part on combining the first signal (transmission signal) and the beamforming control signal (beamforming coefficients)
(“the beamforming unit 901 may be configured to provide the calculated beamforming coefficients to the predistortion units 904, 914 to be used for determining the predistortion model and coefficients.” [0067] “The digital signal processing unit determines, in block 1104, the predistortion models and predistortion coefficients based on the output signals of the power amplifiers, the operating parameters and the beamforming coefficients and the beamforming coefficients such that error in the outputs of the power amplifiers is reduced. The digital signal processing unit modifies, in block 1105, the transmission signal according to the predistortion models and predistortion coefficients to produce two or more linearly independent signals.” [0075])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Weber’s use of beamforming coefficients to determine predistortion models and coefficients into Jelonnek’s DPD system, so that the predistortion applied to the transmission signal accounts for the beamforming configuration, for the benefit of reducing distortion while maintaining the desired beamforming phases and magnitudes.
Regarding claim 2, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the beamforming control signal (beamforming factors) is uncorrelated with the signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain.
(“a beamforming unit (BF) 106 capable of determining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system" [0013] the beamforming factors control the transmission beam and are separate from the signal desired to be transmitted)
Regarding claim 4, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the beamforming control signal is for controlling a state of the transmit chain (phase and magnitude shifters 109).
(“The phase and magnitude shifters may be arranged to adjust the phase and magnitude of the radio signals fed to the power amplifiers." [0016]"phase and magnitude shifters 109 prior to the parallel power amplifiers…arranged to adjust the phase and magnitude of the radio signals fed to the parallel power amplifiers." [0013])
Regarding claim 5, Limitations of parent claim 4 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the state of the transmit chain is a scan angle (the beamforming factor at the time index) of the beamforming array.
("The parameters □.sub.□ [theta_i](denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. We consider multiple time index □ "[0036] "a beamforming unit (BF) 106 capable of determining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system" [0013])
Regarding claim 6, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the beamforming control signal is provided to a control block (power amplifier control unit (PACNTL) 105) of the transmit chain for controlling the behavior of the beamforming array.
(" a power amplifier control unit (PACNTL) 105 capable of determining operating parameters for the power amplifiers on the basis of beamforming factors… The PA CNTL may be connected to the DPD, the BF and the power amplifiers' outputs "[0013]" operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0039])
Regarding claim 7, Limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the control block is configured to generate one or more hardware control signals (operating parameters) based on the beamforming control signal, the one or more hardware control signals used to control individual elements of the beamforming array.
(" adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers may comprise reducing a supply voltage of one or more of the other power amplifiers than the power amplifier having the highest signal input power."[0042])
Regarding claim 13, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
The DPD of claim 1 comprising a processing block (power amplifier control unit) configured to receive the beamforming control signal (beamforming factors) and to provide a processed output signal (operating parameters for the power amplifiers).
("The power amplifier control unit may be connected to the power amplifiers and to the predistortion unit and capable of determining operating parameters for the power amplifiers. The power amplifier control unit may be capable of determining operating parameters of the power amplifiers on the basis of beamforming factors"[0017])
Regarding claim 14, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
comprising a nonlinear combiner, wherein the processed output signal is provided to the nonlinear combiner.
("H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□)[H(xp)] is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model of pipe i under excitation signal □.sub.□x.sub..box-tangle-solidup. and θ.sub.i the respective model parameters vector of PA i in the signal combiner structure. The parameters □.sub.□ [theta_i](denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. "[0036])
Regarding claim 17, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
comprising at least one post processing block.
(" Power amplifiers' outputs may be measured 404." [0031]"An error of the power amplifiers outputs may be determined 406. The error may be determined with respect to a defined cost function. The cost function may be frequency dependent, e.g. frequency weighted." [0033]"If 408 the operating parameters should be adjusted the method may proceed to adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers towards the determined power amplifier model such that all the power amplifiers have substantially similar non-linear behavior. "[0039]))
Regarding claim 21, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
The DPD of claim 13 wherein the processing block is configured to perform an algebraic transformation to the beamforming control signal (beamforming factor).
(" Formulation (1) is linear in parameters and can be solved in the least square sense by inverting the correlation regression matrix H*H as: {circumflex over (θ)}=(H*H).sup.−1H*y "[0037] “The parameters… denote the beamforming factor at the time index □.” [0036] performing an algebraic transformation on the information that includes the beamforming factors, corresponding to the claimed beamforming control.)
Claims 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view of Weber, in further view of Pratt et al., US Patent Publication 20180167091 A1 (hereinafter Pratt).
Regarding claim 15, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
wherein the processed output signal is combined with another signal before being provided to the nonlinear combiner.
(" the spatially-aggregated output, 'z,' can be a sum of respective PA circuit nonlinearities, 'G.sub.m,' represented as a function of a respective beam weighting coefficients, 'α.sub.m,' acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,'"[0024])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pratt’s mathematical combining of beam weighting coefficients with the pre distorted transmission signal within a nonlinear model with Jelonnek’s beamforming factor aware DPD framework in which beamforming factors are used alongside the transmit signal to determine predistortion parameters and Weber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a DPD system in which the processed beamforming associated signal is explicitly combined with the transmit signal before being provided to the nonlinear combiner, such that the predistortion correction signals are computed as a direct algebraic function of both signals, yielding predicable results.
Regarding claim 16, Limitations of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
wherein the another signal is the signal desired to be transmitted or a translated version thereof.
(" 'α.sub.m,' acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,'"[0024]" FIG. 3 illustrates generally at technique, such as a method, that can include digitally applying a non-linear pre-distortion signal to the signal to be transmitted, and applying respective beam-forming weighting factors to a pre-distorted transmission signal."[0010])
Regarding claim 19, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
The DPD of claim 13 wherein the processing block is configured to perform a nonlinear transformation to the beamforming control signal.
(" In EQN. 1, above, the spatially-aggregated output, ‘z,’ can be a sum of respective PA circuit nonlinearities, ‘G.sub.m,’ represented as a function of a respective beam weighting coefficients, ‘α.sub.m,’ acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, ‘x,’ multiplied by a propagation factor, ‘h.sub.m.’” [0024]" In EQN. 2, a non-linear model, Ĝ.sub.m(α.sub.mx), can be used, such as unique to each PA circuit. The non-linear model can be extracted such as in an off-line manner from prior observations."[0025])
Claims 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view of Pratt.
Regarding claim 37, Jelonnek discloses
A method digital pre-distortion within a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system
( "a digital predistortion unit (DPD) 108 controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs."[0013])
receiving a second signal (Beamforming factors may be obtained 304) corresponding to a beamforming control signal (Beamforming factors) for controlling a behavior beamforming array (controlling transmission beams of the antennas) or a modified version of the beamforming control signal;
("Beamforming factors may be obtained 304 for controlling transmission beams of the antennas."[0023])
and providing the predistorted signal to the transmit chain.
(“ feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs and said predistortion unit is connected to the beam-forming unit and the power amplifiers' outputs."[0018] )
Jelonnek does not expressly teach translating the beamforming control signal into a digital representation of an analog response of a beamformer of the beamforming array; combining the translated beamforming control signal with the first signal to generate a predistorted signal;
However, Pratt teaches translating the beamforming control signal (beam weights) into a digital representation of an analog response of a beamformer of the beamforming array;
( “beam weights can be stored in a beam weight storage circuit 232, such as defining respective beam weighting coefficients, ‘α.sub.m.’ A propagation model can be extracted from such beam weights, such as to obtain phase shift or other values ĥ.sub.m=α.sub.m.sup.−1, because the beam weights are generally known, such as based upon array steering control. ” [0025] “A beam forming circuit 114 can apply respective beam-forming weighting factors Am,ϕm to the output of the DPD circuit, ‘x.’ such as in the analog domain” [0017])
combining the translated beamforming control signal with the first signal to generate a predistorted signal;
( “the spatially-aggregated output, 'z,' can be a sum of respective PA circuit nonlinearities, ‘G.sub.m,’ represented as a function of a respective beam weighting coefficients, ‘α.sub.m,”’acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,' and comparing the resulting information to the non-pre-distorted message signal, ‘w.’ [0024] “The system 200A can be configured to perform adaptation of the digital pre-distortion applied to an input signal, “w,” to be transmitted” [0021] “the DPD circuit 102 digitally applies a pre-distortion signal to provide a digitally pre-distorted output x.” [0019] using the beam weight derived model to control the DPD applied to the first/input signal W, thereby producing the predistorted signal x)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pratt’s beam weight derived propagation modeling into Jelonnek’s beamforming factor aware DPD system and Weber, so that the predistortion model accounts for and tracks the beamforming response associated with the selected beam weights, for the benefit of more accurately adapting the DPD to the beamforming configuration.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view of Weber in further view of Kim et al., International Application WO 2018067969 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 18, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Kim teaches
wherein the processed output signal is combined with an output of the nonlinear combiner.
("Using the directional predistortion signals to predistort the input driving signals to yield the plurality of predistorted driving signals may include converting the directional predistortion signals (404) to a plurality of correcting predistortion signals (405) of the same number of signals as the input driving signals (401), and combining respective ones of the plurality of input driving signals and the plurality of correcting predistortion signals to generate the plurality of predistorted driving signals (406)"[0018])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s parallel combing architecture in which processed correcting predistortion signals are combined with the original input driving signals at adder 560 with Jelonnek’s post processing adaptation loop in which PA output signals are measured and processed to adjust predistortion parameters and Weber. A person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of post processing block is combined with an output of the nonlinear combiner, such that the correction signals generated by the post processing adaption stage are additively merged with the nonlinear combiner output to reduce residual nonlinearity through a parallel correction path.
Claims 20, 22-28, 30, 32, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view Weber and further view of Gutman et al., US Patent Publication 20190089389 A1 (hereinafter Gutman).
Regarding claim 20, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the processing block comprises a lookup table (LUT) having a plurality of entries, wherein the beamforming control signal is used to select from among the plurality of LUT entries to be provided at the output of the processing block.
("FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a lookup table for storing predistortion coefficients for different transmit beam directions according to certain aspects of the present discourse."[0020] “the DPD controller 124 receives a signal indicating the selected transmit beam direction of the antenna array. The DPD controller 124 then retrieves the set of predistortion coefficients corresponding to the selected transmit beam direction from the lookup table 710, and inputs the retrieved predistortion coefficients to the DPD 104” [0069])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gutman’s lookup table storing predistortion coefficients for different transmit beam directions into the combined system of Jelonnek and Weber, so that the beamforming control signal selects the corresponding predistortion coefficients, for the benefit of efficiently retrieving beam dependent predistortion parameters for the selected transmit beam direction.
Regarding claim 22, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above.
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for nonlinearity, attenuation, and/or phase shift of at least one component of the transmit chain.
(Jelonnek teaches "At least one power amplifier model may be determined 306 on the basis of the power amplifiers' outputs and the beamforming factors. "[0024]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039])
Regarding claim 23, Limitations of parent claim 22 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
(Gutman teaches "the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Weber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 24, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for attenuation of at least one component of the transmit chain relative to a baseline configuration.
(Jelonnek teaches " operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0040])
Regarding claim 25, Limitations of parent claim 24 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
(Gutman teaches " the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Weber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 26, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for insertion phase of at least one component of the transmit chain relative to a baseline configuration (selected transmit beam direction).
(Gutman teaches "A beamformer controller 250 controls the phase shifts (labeled P.sub.1 to P.sub.N) of the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) in the transmit chains 210(1)-210(N) according to a selected transmit beam direction for the antenna array."[0043])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s compensation for phase-dependent PA behavior through the beamforming factor aware predistortion model and Weber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a processing block configured to compensate for insertion phase of transmit chain components relative to a baseline, such that per beam DPD coefficients are calibrated to account for the specific insertion phase introduced by the phase shifters at each beam direction, yielding accurate predistortion across all beam directions.
Regarding claim 27, Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
(Gutman teaches " the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Weber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 28, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for a frequency response of at least one component of the transmit chain.
("Predistortion parameters may be determined 308 such that after the operating parameters of the power amplifiers have been adjusted, errors in power amplifiers' outputs are reduced. The errors may be determined with respect to a defined cost function. The cost function may be frequency dependent, e.g. frequency weighted."[0027]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039])
Regarding claim 30, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for attenuation of at least one component of the transmit chain.
(Jelonnek teaches "adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers may comprise reducing a supply voltage of one or more of the other power amplifiers than the power amplifier having the highest signal input power."[0042])
Regarding claim 32, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for a phase of at least one component of the transmit chain.
(Jelonnek teaches "At least one power amplifier model may be determined 306 on the basis of the power amplifiers' outputs and the beamforming factors. "[0024]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039])
Regarding claim 34, limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the transmit chain comprises a state actuation circuit (PA CNTL) separate from the beamformer controller (BF).
(Jelonnek teaches "The PA CNTL may be connected to the DPD, the BF and the power amplifiers' outputs"[0013])
Regarding claim 35, Limitations of parent claim 34 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the state actuation circuit comprises a power management circuit (PMC) for supply modulation.
(Jelonnek teaches" operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0040])
Regarding claim 36, limitations of parent claim 34 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
configured to apply digital predistortion ("H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□) is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model) to the first signal (excitation signal) based at least in part on combining (signal combiner structure) the first signal with at least one of the beamforming control signal (beamforming factor) or a control signal for the state actuation circuit or a translated version thereof.
(Jelonnek teaches "H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□) is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model of pipe i under excitation signal □.sub.□x.sub..box-tangle-solidup. and θ.sub.i the respective model parameters vector of PA i in the signal combiner structure. The parameters □.sub.□ (denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. "[0036])
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Based on the amendments the claim rejections under 112 for claims 1-2, 4- 7, 13-28, 30, 32, and 34-37 are withdrawn. Claim 3 is canceled, and the rejection thereof is moot.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Independent Claim 1
Applicant’s argues that Yan’s synthesized signal is a feedback signal and does not correspond to the claimed beamforming control signal for controlling a behavior of the beamforming array [pages 8 -10]. Applicant’s argument are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Yan.
As stated in the rejection above, Jelonnek teaches obtaining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of the antennas [Jelonnek, 0023], and teaches that the predistortion unit is connected to the beam forming unit [0018]. Thus, Jelonnek’s beamforming factors correspond to the claimed second signal corresponding to a beamforming control signal for controlling a behavior of the beamforming array.
Weber further teaches using beamforming coefficients in determining the predistortion model and coefficients applied to the transmission signal. Thus, Weber teaches the use of beamforming control information in determining the predistortion applied to the claimed first signal. Accordingly, Jelonnek in view of Weber teaches the amended limitations of claim 1. The combination rests on the teachings of the references and not on Applicant’s disclosure, and therefore is not based on hindsight.
Dependent Claims 2-7, 13-28, 30, 32, and 34-36
Claim 3 is canceled, and the rejection thereof is moot. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the dependent claims have been considered but are not persuasive. As stated in the rejection above, Jelonnek in view of Weber teaches the amended limitations of claim 1, and the amened claims 2, 4, 6, 13, 19, 20 and 21 are addressed in their respective rejections. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are taught by the respective secondary references as set forth above.
Independent Claim 37
Applicant argues that Pratt does not teach a beamforming control signal used for digital predistortion [pages 10-11].
Applicant’s argument regarding claim 37 are not persuasive. As discussed above, Jelonnek teaches the beamforming control signal, and Pratt teaches deriving propagation values from the beam weights, and teaches, or renders obvious, using that beam weight derived model to control the DPD applied to the input signal. Applicant’s arguments directed to Yan are moot because Yan is not relied upon in the rejection of Claim 37.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646