Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7,13-28,30,32 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “In a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system having a transmit chain with a beamforming array, a digital pre-distorter (DPD) comprising” which appears to be a dangling participle. As such it is unclear how or whether the “digital pre-distorter (PDP) is part of the “transceiver system”.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “In a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system having a transmit chain with a beamforming array, a method digital pre-distortion comprising” which appears to be a dangling participle. As such, it is unclear whether the method is performed by the “transceiver system” and it is unclear what “a method digital pre-distortion” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13-14, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Jelonnek et al. US Patent Publication 20200212975 A1 (hereinafter Jelonnek) in view of Yan, US Patent Publication 20220021349 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jelonnek discloses a method and
in a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system having a transmit chain with a beamforming array, a digital pre-distorter (DPD) comprising: a plurality of inputs including at least:
a first input (DPD 180) to receive a first signal corresponding to a signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain or a modified version of the signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain, and
a second input to receive a second signal corresponding to a signal associated with the beamforming array (connected to the beam-forming unit) or a translated version of the signal associated with the beamforming array;
DPD 108 receives the baseband transmit signal from DSP 102 "a digital predistortion unit (DPD) 108 controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a pre-distorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs."[0013] The second input is the beamforming factor produced by beamforming unit BF 106.These are the control signals that tell the phase and magnitude shifters how to steer the antenna beam. "said predistortion unit is connected to the beam-forming unit and the power amplifiers' outputs."[0018] "At least one power amplifier model may be determined 306 on the basis of the power amplifiers' outputs and the beamforming factors."[0024]
And an output connected to provide a resulting pre-distorted signal (feeding a predistorted signal) to the transmit chain (parallel power amplifiers).
"The digital predistortion unit for the antennas may be controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs"[0018]
Jelonnek fails to expressly teach circuitry configured to apply digital predistortion to the signal desired to be transmitted based at least in part on combining the first and second signals;
However, Yan teaches a system and method compromising:
circuitry configured to apply digital predistortion to the signal desired to be transmitted based at least in part on combining the first and second signals;
Yan teaches " The one or more weighting coefficients are determined based on the digital baseband signal, the predistortion component, and a synthesized signal in a main lobe direction obtained by combining radio frequency signals from a beamforming array."[0007]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yan’s circuit structure with Jelonnek’s architectural framework a DPD connected to the beamforming unit beamforming factors used alongside the transmit signal in the predistortion computation. Jelonnek and Yan both address the identical problem of applying DPD in a beamforming multi antenna transmitter where predistortion musts account for both the transmit signal and a signal associated with the beamforming array. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the combining circuity of Yan into Jelonnek’s DPD framework. Jelonnek establishes that both signals must be combined for beam aware predistortion and Yan provides the known circuit technique to implement it. Yielding the predictable result of a DPD comprising circuitry that combines both signals to apply predistortion and no unexpected result arise from this combination.
Regarding claim 2, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the signal (beamforming unit (BF) 106) associated with the beamforming array (beamforming factors)is uncorrelated with the signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain.
"a beamforming unit (BF) 106 capable of determining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system" [0013]
Regarding claim 3, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the signal associated with the beamforming array is a beamforming control signal (beamforming factors) for controlling a behavior beamforming array (controlling transmission beams).
"beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system"[0013]"Beamforming factors may be obtained 304 for controlling transmission beams of the antennas."[0023]
Regarding claim 4, Limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the beamforming control signal is for controlling a state of the transmit chain (phase and magnitude shifters 109).
"The phase and magnitude shifters may be arranged to adjust the phase and magnitude of the radio signals fed to the power amplifiers." [0016]"phase and magnitude shifters 109 prior to the parallel power amplifiers…arranged to adjust the phase and magnitude of the radio signals fed to the parallel power amplifiers." [0013]
Regarding claim 5, Limitations of parent claim 4 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the state of the transmit chain is a scan angle (the beamforming factor at the time index) of the beamforming array.
"The parameters □.sub.□ [theta_i](denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. We consider multiple time index □ "[0036] "a beamforming unit (BF) 106 capable of determining beamforming factors for controlling transmission beams of antennas 112a, 112b, 112c in an analogue/hybrid beamforming system" [0013]
Regarding claim 6, Limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the beamforming control signal is provided to a control block (power amplifier control unit (PACNTL) 105) of the transmit chain for controlling the behavior of the beamforming array.
" a power amplifier control unit (PACNTL) 105 capable of determining operating parameters for the power amplifiers on the basis of beamforming factors… The PA CNTL may be connected to the DPD, the BF and the power amplifiers' outputs "[0013]" operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0039]
Regarding claim 7, Limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the control block is configured to generate one or more hardware control signals (operating parameters) based on the beamforming control signal, the one or more hardware control signals used to control individual elements of the beamforming array.
" adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers may comprise reducing a supply voltage of one or more of the other power amplifiers than the power amplifier having the highest signal input power."[0042]
Regarding claim 13, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
comprising a processing block (power amplifier control unit) configured to receive the signal associated with the beamforming array (on the basis of beamforming factors) and to provide a processed output signal.
"The power amplifier control unit may be connected to the power amplifiers and to the predistortion unit and capable of determining operating parameters for the power amplifiers. The power amplifier control unit may be capable of determining operating parameters of the power amplifiers on the basis of beamforming factors"[0017]
Regarding claim 14, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
comprising a nonlinear combiner, wherein the processed output signal is provided to the nonlinear combiner.
"H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□)[H(xp)] is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model of pipe i under excitation signal □.sub.□x.sub..box-tangle-solidup. and θ.sub.i the respective model parameters vector of PA i in the signal combiner structure. The parameters □.sub.□ [theta_i](denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. "[0036]
Regarding claim 17, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
comprising at least one post processing block.
" Power amplifiers' outputs may be measured 404." [0031]"An error of the power amplifiers outputs may be determined 406. The error may be determined with respect to a defined cost function. The cost function may be frequency dependent, e.g. frequency weighted." [0033]"If 408 the operating parameters should be adjusted the method may proceed to adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers towards the determined power amplifier model such that all the power amplifiers have substantially similar non-linear behavior. "[0039]
Regarding claim 21, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to perform an algebraic transformation to the signal associated with the beamforming array.
"Formulation (1) is linear in parameters and can be solved in the least square sense by inverting the correlation regression matrix H*H as: {circumflex over (θ)}=(H*H).sup.−1H*y "[0037]
Claims 15, 16,19, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view of Yan in view of Pratt et al., US Patent Publication 20180167091 A1 (hereinafter Pratt).
Regarding claim 15, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
wherein the processed output signal is combined with another signal before being provided to the nonlinear combiner.
" the spatially-aggregated output, 'z,' can be a sum of respective PA circuit nonlinearities, 'G.sub.m,' represented as a function of a respective beam weighting coefficients, 'α.sub.m,' acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,'"[0024]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jelonnek’s beamforming factor aware DPD framework in which beamforming factors are used alongside the transmit signal to determine predistortion parameters with Pratt’s mathematical combining of beam weighting coefficients with the pre distorted transmission signal within a nonlinear model. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a DPD system in which the processed beamforming associated signal is explicitly combined with the transmit signal before being provided to the nonlinear combiner, such that the predistortion correction signals are computed as a direct algebraic function of both signals, yielding predicable results.
Regarding claim 16, Limitations of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
wherein the another signal is the signal desired to be transmitted or a translated version thereof.
"'α.sub.m,' acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,'"[0024]" FIG. 3 illustrates generally at technique, such as a method, that can include digitally applying a non-linear pre-distortion signal to the signal to be transmitted, and applying respective beam-forming weighting factors to a pre-distorted transmission signal."[0010]
Regarding claim 19, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Pratt teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to perform a nonlinear transformation to the signal associated with the beamforming array.
" In EQN. 2, a non-linear model, Ĝ.sub.m(α.sub.mx), can be used, such as unique to each PA circuit. The non-linear model can be extracted such as in an off-line manner from prior observations."[0025]
Regarding claim 37, Jelonnek discloses
In a radio frequency (RF) transceiver system having a transmit chain with a beamforming array, a method digital pre-distortion comprising: receiving a first signal corresponding to a signal desired to be transmitted via the transmit chain or a modified version of the signal desired to be transmitted;
Jelonnek teaches "a digital predistortion unit (DPD) 108 controllable by a single predistortion model for feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs."[0013]
receiving a second signal (Beamforming factors may be obtained 304) corresponding to a beamforming control signal (controlling transmission beams) for controlling a behavior beamforming array (antennas)or a modified version of the beamforming control signal;
Jelonnek teaches "Beamforming factors may be obtained 304 for controlling transmission beams of the antennas."[0023
and providing the predistorted signal to the transmit chain.
Jelonnek teaches "feeding a predistorted signal to the parallel power amplifiers for linearizing the power amplifiers' outputs and said predistortion unit is connected to the beam-forming unit and the power amplifiers' outputs."[0018]
Jelonnek fails to expressly teach translating the second signal; combining the translated second signal with the first signal to generate a predistorted signal;
However, Pratt teaches a system and method compromising:
translating the second signal;
Pratt teaches "In EQN. 2, a non-linear model, Ĝ.sub.m(α.sub.mx), can be used, such as unique to each PA circuit. The non-linear model can be extracted such as in an off-line manner from prior observations."[0025]
combining the translated second signal with the first signal to generate a predistorted signal;
Pratt teaches " the spatially-aggregated output, 'z,' can be a sum of respective PA circuit nonlinearities, “G.sub.m,” represented as a function of a respective beam weighting coefficients, “α.sub.m,” acting upon the pre-distorted transmission signal, 'x,'"[0024]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pratt’s mathematical combining of beam weighting coefficients with the pre distorted transmission signal within a nonlinear model with Jelonnek’s beamforming factor aware DPD framework in which beamforming factors are used alongside the transmit signal to determine predistortion parameters and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a DPD in which the processed beamforming associated signal is explicitly combined with the transmit signal before being provided to the nonlinear combiner, such that the predistortion correction signals are computed as a direct algebraic function of both signals, yielding predicable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view of Yan in view of Kim et al., International Application WO 2018067969 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 18, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Kim teaches
wherein the processed output signal is combined with an output of the nonlinear combiner.
"Using the directional predistortion signals to predistort the input driving signals to yield the plurality of predistorted driving signals may include converting the directional predistortion signals (404) to a plurality of correcting predistortion signals (405) of the same number of signals as the input driving signals (401), and combining respective ones of the plurality of input driving signals and the plurality of correcting predistortion signals to generate the plurality of predistorted driving signals (406)"[0018]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s parallel combing architecture in which processed correcting predistortion signals are combined with the original input driving signals at adder 560 with Jelonnek’s post processing adaptation loop in which PA output signals are measured and processed to adjust predistortion parameters. Which all address the identical problem of adaptively linearizing a beamforming array transmitter by processing DPD output signals and combing the processed correction signals with the transmit signal path and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of post processing block is combined with an output of the nonlinear combiner, such that the correction signals generated by the post processing adaption stage are additively merged with the nonlinear combiner output to reduce residual nonlinearity through a parallel correction path.
Claims 20, 22-28, 30, 32, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jelonnek in view Yan and further view of Gutman et al., US Patent Publication 20190089389 A1 (hereinafter Gutman).
Regarding claim 20, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the processing block comprises a lookup table (LUT) having a plurality of entries, wherein the signal associated with the beamforming array is used to select from among the plurality of LUT entries to be provided at the output of the processing block.
"FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a lookup table for storing predistortion coefficients for different transmit beam directions according to certain aspects of the present discourse."[0020]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s lookup table 710 comprising multiple sets of predistortion coefficients indexed by transmit beam direction
with Jelonnek’s post processing adaptation loop in which PA output signals are measured and processed to adjust predistortion parameters and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. Which all address the identical problem of adapting DPD predistortion parameters to the selected transmits beam direction in a phased array transmitter using a single shared DPD. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a processing block comprising a lookup table in which the beam direction signal associated with beamforming array selects from among a plurality of predistortion coefficient sets, yielding reduced computational overhead in retrieving beam direction dependent predistortion parameters compared to computing those parameters in real time for each beam transition.
Regarding claim 22, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above.
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for nonlinearity, attenuation, and/or phase shift of at least one component of the transmit chain.
Jelonnek teaches "At least one power amplifier model may be determined 306 on the basis of the power amplifiers' outputs and the beamforming factors. "[0024]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039]
Regarding claim 23, Limitations of parent claim 22 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
Gutman teaches "the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 24, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for attenuation of at least one component of the transmit chain relative to a baseline configuration.
Jelonnek teaches " operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0040]
Regarding claim 25, Limitations of parent claim 24 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
Gutman teaches " the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 26, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for insertion phase of at least one component of the transmit chain relative to a baseline configuration (selected transmit beam direction).
Gutman teaches "A beamformer controller 250 controls the phase shifts (labeled P.sub.1 to P.sub.N) of the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) in the transmit chains 210(1)-210(N) according to a selected transmit beam direction for the antenna array."[0043]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s compensation for phase-dependent PA behavior through the beamforming factor aware predistortion model and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a processing block configured to compensate for insertion phase of transmit chain components relative to a baseline, such that per beam DPD coefficients are calibrated to account for the specific insertion phase introduced by the phase shifters at each beam direction, yielding accurate predistortion across all beam directions.
Regarding claim 27, Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Gutman teaches
wherein the at least one component of the transmit chain comprises a phase shifter or a switch network of the beamforming array.
Gutman teaches " the phase shifters 220(1)-220(N) are used to electronically steer the transmit beam of the antenna array by applying a different phase shift to the signal for each antenna 114(1)-114(N) of the array."[0041]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s phase shifters 220(1) through 220(N)in each transmit chain uses to electronically steer the transmit beam by applying a different phase shit to the signal for each antenna with Jelonnek’s phase and magnitude shifters 109 in the transmit chain prior to the parallel power amplifiers and Yan’s combining circuitry that uses both transmit signal and beamforming array signal to produce predistortion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a transmit chain in which phase shifters serve as the known standard beam steering components between the DPD output and the power amplifiers.
Regarding claim 28, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for a frequency response of at least one component of the transmit chain.
"Predistortion parameters may be determined 308 such that after the operating parameters of the power amplifiers have been adjusted, errors in power amplifiers' outputs are reduced. The errors may be determined with respect to a defined cost function. The cost function may be frequency dependent, e.g. frequency weighted."[0027]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039]
Regarding claim 30, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for attenuation of at least one component of the transmit chain.
Jelonnek teaches "adjusting 412 the operating parameters of the power amplifiers may comprise reducing a supply voltage of one or more of the other power amplifiers than the power amplifier having the highest signal input power."[0042]
Regarding claim 32, Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the processing block is configured to compensate for a phase of at least one component of the transmit chain.
Jelonnek teaches "At least one power amplifier model may be determined 306 on the basis of the power amplifiers' outputs and the beamforming factors. "[0024]"the linear/nonlinear frequency dependency of the behavior can change for different supply and bias, whereby the non-linear behavior may be referred to non-linear dynamic behavior."[0039]
Regarding claim 34, limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the transmit chain comprises a state actuation circuit (PA CNTL) separate from the beamformer controller (BF).
Jelonnek teaches "The PA CNTL may be connected to the DPD, the BF and the power amplifiers' outputs"[0013]
Regarding claim 35, Limitations of parent claim 34 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
wherein the state actuation circuit comprises a power management circuit (PMC) for supply modulation.
Jelonnek teaches" operating parameters of the power amplifier may comprise a supply voltage/current or bias voltage/current. Accordingly, in various embodiments described herein, instead of supply voltage or bias voltage, the supply current or bias current of the power amplifier may be adjusted 412."[0040]
Regarding claim 36, limitations of parent claim 34 have been discussed above. Jelonnek teaches
configured to apply digital predistortion ("H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□) is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model) to the first signal (excitation signal) based at least in part on combining (signal combiner structure) the first signal with at least one of the beamforming control signal (beamforming factor) or a control signal for the state actuation circuit or a translated version thereof.
Jelonnek teaches "H.sub.i(□.sub.□x.sub.□) is the regression matrix of a generic nonlinear dynamic model of pipe i under excitation signal □.sub.□x.sub..box-tangle-solidup. and θ.sub.i the respective model parameters vector of PA i in the signal combiner structure. The parameters □.sub.□ (denote the beamforming factor at the time index □. "[0036]
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646