DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 2 has a flow chart of an exemplary method, but does not highlight the details of any individual steps, other than assigning them reference numbers. Similarly, figures 1 and 4-6 show boxes with reference numbers, but no details as to what the boxes represent. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 discloses, “a State of Health, SoH, indicator of the battery …” For the sake of clarity, it is suggested that the claim state, “a state of Health (SoH) indicator of the battery.
Claim 6 discloses, “a Battery Management System, BMS, associated with the battery. For the sake of clarity, it is suggested that the claim state, “a Battery Management System (BMS) associated with the battery
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 14 is directed to a computer program product comprising program code, which is interpreted as program code. This is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
From the perspective of Subject Matter Eligibility, claims 1-13 and 15 qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Under step 2A, prong one, neither independent claim 1, nor independent claim 11, recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. All other claims depend on independent claims 1 and 11.
Therefore, claims 1-13 and 15 are not directed to a judicial exception. They qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crymble et al (US PgPub 20240288501).
With respect to claim 1, Crymble et al discloses:
A computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to handle detection of a wake up signal indicative of a hazard in a battery associated with a vehicle (figure 4; abstract), the processing circuitry being further configured to:
during one or more detection periods, attempt to detect the wake up signal (figures 13-14; Paragraph 0017 states, “BMS 130 periodically wakes to transition from OFF mode 214 to TIMED-OFF mode 316 to monitor the state of the battery system. Once in TIMED-OFF mode 316, BMS 130 signals to each MD 120 (e.g., by sending a command) to wake and measure properties of respective cells …” Paragraph 0025 states, “Once in Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930, BMS 1030 informs CMDs 1020 accordingly, for example, by sending a respective wake-up signal to CMDs 1020 (step 1133) to cause CMDs 1020 to transition from the safe monitoring mode to the operational mode.” Paragraph 0288 states, “In some embodiments, instead of BMS 1030 and CMDs 1020 exchanging wake-up and sleep signals, BMS 1030 and CMDs 1020 transition between respective modes according to a pre-defined schedule or at regular intervals.” Paragraph 0305 states, “While BMS 1330 is in Safe Sleeping mode 920, CMD 1320 is in a sleep monitoring mode … CMD 1320 is also operable to issue and transmit an alert signal to BMS 1330 indicating that one or more monitored cells experienced a fault, upon determining such a fault. Responsive to receiving the alert signal, BMS 1330 wakes and transitions from Safe Sleep mode 1220 to Safe Sleep (alert mode) 1240.” Crymble et al discloses many operating modes that are broadly construed to anticipate the current claimed limitations.)
during one or more idle periods, refrain from attempting to detect the wake up signal (Paragraph 0017 states, “BMS 130 then signals to MDs 120 to transition to sleep state (e.g., by sending a command) and transitions to OFF mode 214. BMS 130 may transition from OFF mode 214 to TIMED-OFF mode 316 at regular intervals …” Paragraphs 0264-0266 state, “BMS 1030 is operable in three modes: ON mode 910 (first mode), Safe Sleep mode 920 (second mode), and Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930 (third mode) … While in Safe Sleep mode 920, BMS 1030 is not operated and consumes only minimal power. Repeatedly, BMS 1030 wakes up and transitions from Safe Sleep mode 920 to Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930 to assess the state of the monitored battery system …” It would appear that both OFF mode and Safe Sleep mode broadly anticipate the claimed idle periods where there’s a refraining from attempting to detect the wake up signal.)
With respect to claim 2, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein during the one or more detection periods and/or the one or more idle periods, the vehicle is arranged in a low power mode (paragraph 0266 states, “While in Safe Sleep mode 920, BMS 1030 is not operated and consumes only minimal power.”)
With respect to claim 3, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry being further configured to:
determine a respective duration associated with any one or both out of the one or more detection periods and the one or more idle periods (paragraph 0161 discloses timing information) based on one or more parameters, the one or more parameters comprising any one or more out of:
i. a State of Health (SOH) indicator of the battery,
ii. a usage profile of the battery, and
iii. an environmental parameter associated with the battery and/or the vehicle (paragraph 0281 states, “the frequency can be adjusted responsive to measurements obtained at the monitored cells (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, pressure, etc.), a detected state of the monitored cells, measurement trends exhibited by the monitored cells, intended use of the monitored cells, a state of health of the monitored cells, etc.”)
With respect to claim 4, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein when the one or more parameters comprise the usage profile of the battery, the processing circuitry is configured to determine the respective duration associated with any one or both out of the one or more detection periods and the one or more idle periods based on one or more parameters, by any one or more out of:
when the usage profile of the battery indicate a charge or discharge of the battery to be below a predefined intensity threshold, the duration of the one or more detection periods is determined to be a first detection duration, and/or the duration of the one or more idle periods is determined to be a first idle duration
when the usage profile of the battery indicate a charge or discharge of the battery to be above a predefined intensity threshold, the duration of the one or more detection periods is determined to be a second detection duration, and/or the duration of the one or more idle periods is determined to be a second idle duration, and
wherein the first detection duration is shorter than the second detection duration and/or the first idle duration is longer than the second idle duration (Paragraph 0038 states, “The operational fault may be determined when the at least one measurement obtained at the cell group meets at least one of the following conditions: a current flowing through the cell group exceeds a maximum charge current predefined for the one or more battery cells in the cell group, the current flowing through the cell group exceeds a maximum discharge current predefined for the one or more battery cells in the cell group …” Paragraph 0161 states, “Fault data includes timing information …” Determining duration of potential fault conditions related to parameters, such as those claimed, is therefore suggested by the total teachings of Crymble et al.)
With respect to claim 5, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein when the one or more parameters comprise the SoH indicator of the battery, the processing circuitry is configured to determine the respective duration associated with any one or both out of the one or more detection periods and the one or more idle periods based on one or more parameters, by any one or more out of:
when the SoH indicates that the SoH of the battery fulfils a quality condition, the duration of the one or more detection periods is determined to be a first detection duration, and/or the duration of the one or more idle periods is determined to be a first idle duration
when the SoH indicates that the SoH of the battery does not fulfil the quality condition, the duration of the one or more detection periods is determined to be a second detection duration, and/or the duration of the one or more idle periods is determined to be a second idle duration, and
wherein the first detection duration is shorter than the second detection duration and/or the first idle duration is longer than the second idle duration (suggested by Crymble’s state of health (paragraphs 0098, 0240, 0281, 0330) and timer (paragraph 0161) teachings, as contextualized by Crymble’s various disclosed wake/sleep modes (as discussed in claim 1 above).)
With respect to claim 6, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry being further configured to receive at least part of the one or more parameters from a Battery Management System, BMS, associated with the battery (abstract discloses battery management system; BMS further disclosed all throughout the disclosure of Crymble)
With respect to claim 7, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry being further configured to determine the respective duration associated with any one or both out of the one or more detection periods and the one or more idle periods based on a timing configuration indicative of when the wake up signal can be transmitted from a Battery Management System, BMS, associated with the battery (figure 11, reference 1131; figure 12, box “Regular timed event”; Paragraph 0067 states, “The method may comprise, responsive to the alert signal, transmitting a status update request from the BMS to the first CMD, wherein the fault indicator and related fault data may be received from the first CMD responsive to the status update request.” Duration suggested by timer and timing information disclosed in paragraph 0161.)
With respect to claim 8, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the timing configuration is indicative of any one or more out of:
one or more first BMS time periods when the BMS is configured to transmit the wake up signal in response to a sensed hazard of the battery
one or more second BMS time periods when the BMS is configured to refrain from detecting sensed hazards of the battery (figure 11, reference 1131 discloses “Timer Event e.g., every X minutes”; figure 12, reference “Regular timed event”; paragraph 0161)
With respect to claim 9, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry being further configured to:
in response to detecting the wake up signal, triggering an alert (figure 12; box “Alert from Cell Monitoring Device”; figure 14, reference 1431 discloses, “BMS wakes on alert from Cell Monitor Device.”)
With respect to claim 10, Crymble et al discloses:
A vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1 (paragraph 0013 states, “For example, powering up battery system 100 in an electric vehicle would power up BMS 130 …”)
With respect to claim 11, Crymble et al discloses:
A computer-implemented method, for handling detection of a wake up signal indicative of a hazard in a battery associated with a vehicle (figure 4; abstract; paragraph 0013), the method comprising:
by a processing circuitry comprised in a computer system, during one or more detection periods, attempting to detect the wake up signal (figures 13-14; Paragraph 0017 states, “BMS 130 periodically wakes to transition from OFF mode 214 to TIMED-OFF mode 316 to monitor the state of the battery system. Once in TIMED-OFF mode 316, BMS 130 signals to each MD 120 (e.g., by sending a command) to wake and measure properties of respective cells …” Paragraph 0025 states, “Once in Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930, BMS 1030 informs CMDs 1020 accordingly, for example, by sending a respective wake-up signal to CMDs 1020 (step 1133) to cause CMDs 1020 to transition from the safe monitoring mode to the operational mode.” Paragraph 0288 states, “In some embodiments, instead of BMS 1030 and CMDs 1020 exchanging wake-up and sleep signals, BMS 1030 and CMDs 1020 transition between respective modes according to a pre-defined schedule or at regular intervals.” Paragraph 0305 states, “While BMS 1330 is in Safe Sleeping mode 920, CMD 1320 is in a sleep monitoring mode … CMD 1320 is also operable to issue and transmit an alert signal to BMS 1330 indicating that one or more monitored cells experienced a fault, upon determining such a fault. Responsive to receiving the alert signal, BMS 1330 wakes and transitions from Safe Sleep mode 1220 to Safe Sleep (alert mode) 1240.” Crymble et al discloses many operating modes that are broadly construed to anticipate the current claimed limitations.)
by the processing circuitry, during one or more idle periods, refraining from attempting to detect the wake up signal (Paragraph 0017 states, “BMS 130 then signals to MDs 120 to transition to sleep state (e.g., by sending a command) and transitions to OFF mode 214. BMS 130 may transition from OFF mode 214 to TIMED-OFF mode 316 at regular intervals …” Paragraphs 0264-0266 state, “BMS 1030 is operable in three modes: ON mode 910 (first mode), Safe Sleep mode 920 (second mode), and Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930 (third mode) … While in Safe Sleep mode 920, BMS 1030 is not operated and consumes only minimal power. Repeatedly, BMS 1030 wakes up and transitions from Safe Sleep mode 920 to Safe Sleep (polled) mode 930 to assess the state of the monitored battery system …” It would appear that both OFF mode and Safe Sleep mode broadly anticipate the claimed idle periods where there’s a refraining from attempting to detect the wake up signal.)
With respect to claim 12, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein during the one or more detection periods and/or the one or more idle periods, the vehicle is arranged in a low power mode, such as in a parking mode (paragraph 0266 states, “BMS 130 is not operated and consumes only minimal power …”)
With respect to claim 13, Crymble et al discloses:
wherein the method further comprises:
by the processing circuitry, determining a respective duration associated with any one or both out of the one or more detection periods and the one or more idle periods based on one or more parameters, the one or more parameters comprising any one or more out of:
i. a State of Health, SoH, indicator of the battery,
ii. a usage profile of the battery, and
iii. an environmental parameter associated with the battery and/or the vehicle, e.g., an ambient temperature and/or an atmospheric pressure of the battery and/or the vehicle (see rejection of claim 3 above)
With respect to claim 14, Crymble et al discloses:
A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 11 (paragraph 0047 states, “there is provided a storage medium … storing computer-executable instructions …”)
With respect to claim 15, Crymble et al discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 11 (paragraph 0047)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fuchs et al (US PgPub 20220123570) discloses vehicle communication and monitoring.
Sukhatankar et al (US PgPub 20220105793) discloses a system and method of a mobile electrical system.
Islam et al (US PgPub 20220124622) discloses a system and method of adaptation of reference signal (RS) monitoring for user equipment (UE) power saving.
Chandra et al (US Pat 10313967) discloses a power efficient base station.
Ren et al (US PgPub 20250330033) discloses a battery management system with in situ cell rejuvenation.
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 08/09/26